Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Non-refundable tax credits for medical expenses

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

Bulletin NB Vol. 11 N. 1, February 2008

Once again this year, Normandin Beaudry is informing Canadian taxpayers about non-refundable tax credits for medical expenses that can be claimed on income tax returns. This document is a complement to our March 2005 bulletin (Vol. 8, No. 4). As with the Information Bulletins issued in previous years, this bulletin presents the annual updates applicable to the parameters used to calculate the tax credit. It also highlights the key changes that will impact expenses that qualify for this tax credit.

Modifications to eligible expenses

The Ministère du Revenu du Québec amended section 7 of its reference document, which deals with transportation and travel expenses. Reasonable expenses incurred for operating a vehicle now qualify as medical expenses if the transportation service is not readily available. The distance to travel to obtain medical services unavailable within the locality where the patient lives must be at least 40 kilometres.

No other major changes have been made to the federal and provincial lists of eligible medical expenses that were used for 2006 tax returns. Minor changes, introduced only to facilitate understanding, have been made to some portions of the Quebec reference document.

Some examples of eligible medical expenses are listed in our bulletin issued in March 2005 (Vol. 8, No. 4). Please visit the websites mentioned at the end of this bulletin for a complete list of eligible expenses.

Federal Tax Return and Provincial Tax Return - provinces other than Quebec

Taxpayer, spouse and dependent children under 18 years of age
(line 330 of the federal tax return, line 5868 of the provincial tax return)

To qualify for a tax credit, the total eligible medical expenses must exceed the lesser of the following amounts:

  • Federal:
    • 3% of net income (line 236); and
    • $1,926 ($1,884 in 2006).
  • Provincial:
    • 3% of net income (line 236 of the federal tax return); and
    • A fixed amount that varies between $1,630 and $1,994 according to the province or territory of residence (difference of $69 or less from 2006 depending on the province or territory).

Because net income is determined individually for each spouse both federally and provincially, it may be advantageous to claim all of the eligible medical expenses on the tax return of the spouse with the lower net income.

Other dependents

(line 331 of the federal tax return, line 5872 of the provincial tax return)

You can also claim a tax credit for medical expenses paid by yourself or your spouse for the following individuals, provided that the individuals are your dependents or the dependents of your spouse:

  • Your or your spouse's children over 18 years of age and grandchildren;
  • Your or your spouse's parents, grandparents, brothers, sisters, uncles, ants, nephews and nieces who resided in Canada at any time during the year.

Unlike the calculation in the previous section, a separate calculation must be done for each of these dependents, using the particular dependent's net income. An example illustrating the calculation method is provided on page 44 of the federal General Income Tax and Benefit Guide.

It is important to note that the maximum credit for each dependent is $10,000 at the federal level and varies at the provincial level based on the province of residence. Thus, the maximum credit for New Brunswick and the Northwest Territories is $5,000, the maximum for Alberta is $10,577 and the maximum for Ontario is $10,435. The maximum credit for all other provinces is $10,000.

Provincial Tax Return - Quebec

(line 381)

A single tax credit calculation applies to all eligible dependents, as described above for lines 330 and 331 of the federal tax return.

To qualify for a tax credit, the total eligible medical expenses must exceed 3% of the family income. Family income is defined as the sum of the amounts on line 275 of the taxpayer's and the spouse's tax returns. Thus, unlike the federal tax return, there is no tax benefit in claiming all of the medical expenses on the tax return of the spouse with the lower income.

Additional Information

To be considered eligible by any government authority (including the Government of Quebec), the medical expenses must have been paid over a 12-month consecutive period ending in 2007. Therefore, expenses paid in 2006 can be considered provided that the period separating the payment date for the first expenses submitted and the payment date for the last expenses submitted does not exceed 12 months. Of course, all expenses for which a credit claim is submitted must not have been submitted for the 2006 tax return and must have a payment date of December 31, 2007 or before. Please note that the portion of medical expenses that is reimbursed under an insurance plan does not qualify as an eligible expense. The health insurance premium paid by the employee, as well as the portion paid by the employer in Quebec, can, however, be included in the eligible expenses.

 Please note that the information presented in this bulletin does not constitute an official opinion for tax purposes. For more information on tax returns, please consult a tax professional or visit the following government websites:

Canada Revenue Agency: www.cra-arc.gc.ca
Ministère du Revenu du Québec :www.revenu.gouv.qc.ca

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Crédit d'impôt non remboursables pour frais médicaux

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 11 N. 1, février 2008

À nouveau cette année, Normandin Beaudry informe les contribuables canadiens au sujet des crédits d'impôt non remboursables pour frais médicaux pouvant être inclus aux fins des déclarations de revenus. Ce document est un complément de notre communiqué du mois de mars 2005 (vol. 8, no 4). À l'instar des bulletins d'information parus au cours des années précédentes, celui-ci synthétise les mises à jour annuelles apportées aux paramètres utilisés dans le calcul du crédit d'impôt. Les principaux changements qui affecteront les frais admissibles à ce crédit d'impôt sont également soulignés.

Modifications des frais admissibles

Le Ministère du Revenu du Québec a modifié la section 7 de son document de référence, laquelle traite des frais de transport ou de déplacement. Ainsi, toute somme jugée raisonnable pour le fonctionnement du véhicule d'une personne peut désormais être incluse dans les frais admissibles dans le cas où le service de transport ne serait pas immédiatement disponible. La distance à parcourir pour obtenir des soins médicaux non dispensés dans la localité où elle habite doit être d'au moins 40 kilomètres.

Aucune autre modification notable n'a été apportée à la liste des frais médicaux admissibles par rapport à celle utilisée pour les déclarations de revenus de l'année 2006 et ce, tant au niveau fédéral que provincial. Veuillez noter que certains passages du document de référence québécois ont fait l'objet de modifications mineures afin d'en faciliter la compréhension.

Quelques exemples de frais médicaux admissibles paraissent dans notre communiqué du mois de mars 2005 (vol. 8, no 4). Pour obtenir une liste exhaustive des frais admissibles, veuillez consulter les sites Internet mentionnés à la fin du présent communiqué.

Déclaration fédérale et Déclaration provinciale - provinces autres que le Québec

Contribuable, conjoint(e) et enfants à charge de moins de 18 ans
(ligne 330 de la déclaration fédérale, ligne 5868 de la déclaration provinciale)

Pour donner droit à un crédit d'impôt, le total des frais médicaux admissibles doit dépasser le moindre des montants suivants :

  • Au fédéral :
    • 3 % du revenu net (ligne 236); et
    • 1 926 $ (1 884 $ en 2006).
  •  Au provincial :
    •  3 % du revenu net (ligne 236 de la déclaration fédérale); et
    • Un montant fixe variant de 1 630 $ à 1 994 $ selon la province ou le territoire de résidence (différence de 69 $ ou moins par rapport à l'année 2006 selon la province ou le territoire).

Le revenu net étant établi de façon individuelle pour chacun des conjoints, tant au niveau fédéral que provincial, il peut être avantageux d'inclure la totalité des frais médicaux admissibles dans la déclaration de l'individu ayant le revenu net le moins élevé.

Autres personnes à charge
(ligne 331 de la déclaration fédérale, ligne 5872 de la déclaration provinciale)

Vous pouvez également demander un crédit d'impôt pour les frais médicaux payés par vous ou votre conjoint(e) et ce, pour une ou plusieurs des personnes suivantes, pourvu qu'elles soient à votre charge ou
à celle de votre conjoint(e) :

  • Vos enfants de plus de 18 ans ou vos petits-enfants (ou ceux de votre conjoint(e));
  • Vos parents, grands-parents, frères, soeurs, oncles, tantes, neveux ou nièces qui résidaient au Canada à un moment de l'année (ou ceux de votre conjoint(e)).

Contrairement au calcul présenté à la section précédente, le calcul des frais médicaux des autres personnes à charge doit être effectué de façon distincte pour chacune d'elles et doit prendre en considération le revenu net propre à la personne à charge. Un exemple illustrant la méthode de calcul est fourni à la page 51 du guide de la déclaration fédérale.

Il est important de préciser que le crédit maximal accordé par le gouvernement fédéral pour chacune des personnes à charge est de 10 000 $. Le crédit maximal accordé par le gouvernement provincial varie, quant à lui, selon la province de résidence. Ainsi, le crédit maximal accordé est de 5 000 $ pour le Nouveau-Brunswick et les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, alors qu'il est de 10 557 $ pour l'Alberta et de 10 435 $ pour l'Ontario. Pour les autres provinces, le crédit maximal accordé est de 10 000 $.

Déclaration provinciale - Québec

(ligne 381)

Le calcul du crédit d'impôt se fait de façon unique pour l'ensemble des personnes à charges admissibles, telles que définies pour les lignes 330 et 331 de la déclaration fédérale.

Pour donner droit à un crédit d'impôt, le total des frais médicaux admissibles doit dépasser 3 % du revenu familial. Le revenu familial est défini comme la somme des lignes 275 de la déclaration du contribuable et de celle de son(sa) conjoint(e). Ainsi, contrairement à la déclaration fédérale, aucun avantage fiscal ne découle de l'attribution des frais médicaux au conjoint ayant le revenu le moins élevé. 

Complément d'information

Pour être considérés admissibles par l'une ou l'autre des instances gouvernementales (incluant le gouvernement du Québec), les frais médicaux doivent avoir été payés au cours d'une période de 12 mois consécutifs se terminant en 2007. Ainsi, il est possible de considérer des frais médicaux payés en 2006, à condition que la période séparant la date de paiement des premiers frais soumis et la date de paiement des derniers frais soumis n'excède pas 12 mois. Évidemment, tous les frais faisant l'objet d'une demande de crédit ne doivent pas avoir été considérés aux fins de la déclaration de revenus 2006 et doivent avoir une date de paiement antérieure ou égale au 31 décembre 2007. Veuillez noter que la portion des frais médicaux qui est remboursée par un régime d'assurance ne fait pas partie des frais admissibles. La prime d'assurance maladie payée par l'employé peut quant à elle être incluse dans les frais admissibles, ainsi que la part de l'employeur au Québec.

Veuillez noter que l'information présentée dans ce communiqué ne constitue pas une opinion fiscale. Pour plus de renseignements sur les déclarations de revenus, veuillez consulter un fiscaliste ou les sites Internet gouvernementaux suivants : 

Agence du revenu du Canada : www.cra-arc.gc.ca 
Ministère du Revenu du Québec : www.revenu.gouv.qc.ca
 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6