Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

2008 Bulletins

NB Bulletin Vol. 11 N. 16, December 2008
Les mesures d'allègement temporaires proposées

This bulletin is not available in english.

If you want to read the french version click here.

NB Bulletin, Vol. 11 N. 15, December 2008
The 2009 Social Security Programs Parameters

The Year's Maximum Pensionable Earnings (YMPE) for 2009 will be $46,300, an increase of 3.1% over the 2008 YMPE of $44,900. The basic exemption remains at the current level of $3,500, which is the level applicable since January 1st, 1998. Employee and employer contribution rates will remain at 4.95% of contributory earnings in 2009, for an annual maximum contribution of $2,118.60. The maximum monthly retirement pension at age 65 is set at $908.75 for 2009, based on the average YMPE over the last five years.

Bulletin NB Vol. 11 N. 14, December 2008
Accounting standards applicable to employee future benefits: what Quebec-based compagnies listed on the S&P/TSX index do

Several private sector companies will soon be finalizing their budgets for the upcoming fiscal year and preparing their financial statements for the current fiscal year. Included among the accompanying notes that should be prepared for these financial statements are those pertaining to costs for defined benefit (DB) pension plans and group insurance plans offered to retirees (other post-retirement benefits).
 

Bulletin NB, Vol.8 N. 2, November 2008
Actuaries in the City

During the Table Québec-Municipalités held on October 31, 2008, the Union des municipalités du Québec (UMQ) urged a motion before the Ministère des Affaires municipales et des Régions (MAMR) to review accounting rules applicable to defined benefit pension plans for municipal organizations, given the current economic context that has lead to a significant increase of the pension expense.

Bulletin NB Vol. 11 N. 13, October 2008
Rates for Health Care Professionals in 2008

The average fees per visit could be useful in establishing the maximum amounts payable under your group insurance plans. Moreover, the average fee per visit increase compared to that for 2007 allows you to validate the inflation assumption used by your insurer in renewing your health premium rates.

Bulletin NB Vol 11 N. 12, October 2008
Developments Relating to the "Healthy Enterprise" Standard

Last month, the Group for Prevention and Promotion Strategies (GP2S) and the Bureau de normalisation du Québec (BNQ) outlined the process that companies must successfully complete to become certified under the new "Healthy Enterprise" standard. This bulletin summarizes the main features of the standard and presents new developments concerning the certification process.

Bulletin NB Vol. 11 N. 11, October 2008
Financial Position of Pension Plans

The low level of interest rates and the stock market setbacks in the third quarter of 2008 will, in all likelihood, have a major impact on the financial position of pension plans.
 

Bulletin NB Vol. 11 N. 10, September 2008
Bonds linked to the revenues of the Canadian economy

The C.D. Howe Institute, backed by an advisory panel made up of important players from the Canadian pension industry, is proposing the introduction of a new debt security, the "Trill." Similar to an equity stake in a corporation, this security would offer investors an equity stake in the Canadian economy. The Trill would pay a fraction of the revenues generated by Canada, i.e. the gross domestic product (GDP). The Trill is so named because the GDP's value stands at around $1 trillion.
 

Bulletin NB Vol. 11 N. 9, August 2008
Review of the institutional fund performances over the first semester of 2008

The goal of this review is to keep you up-to-date on the recent performance of financial markets and institutional managers. You will receive this review each year after the end of the first semester.
 

Bulletin NB Vol. 11 N. 8, July 2008
New Financial Parameters for the Quebec Prescription Drug Insurance Plan

The Régie de l'assurance maladie du Québec recently announced the new financial parameters that will apply to the public prescription drug insurance plan for the period of July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2009. One of the provisions of Quebec's Act respecting prescription drug insurance provides for the revision of these parameters on July 1 each year to take into account the increase in plan costs.
 

Bulletin NB Vol. 11 N. 7, May 2008
Alberta to eliminate Health Care Premiums on January 1, 2009

While delivering the province's budget on April 22, 2008, Alberta's Minister of Finance and Enterprise confirmed that premiums under Alberta's publicly-funded health care program (Alberta Health Care Insurance Plan (AHCIP)) will be eliminated effective January 1, 2009. This measure was announced in February 2008 during the last electoral campaign. Premiums for Alberta residents age 65 and over were abolished in 2004.
 

Bulletin NB Vol. 11 N. 6, April 2008
Bill 68: Phased retirement and more

On April 2, 2008, the Quebec government introduced Bill 68 aimed at amending the Supplemental Pension Plans Act (SPPA). With this bill, the government hopes to offer defined benefit plan sponsors concrete measures for combating potential labour shortages.

Bulletin NB Vol. 11 N. 5, March 2008
Changes made to the Régie des rentes du Québec's Annual Information Return

The information that must be provided annually to the Régie des rentes du Québec will no longer be set out in the Regulations to the Supplemental Pension Plans Act. Going forward, the AIR will be used for this purpose and no amendments to the Regulations will be required.

Bulletin NB Vol. 11 N. 4, March 2008
Drugs available without a prescription remain eligible

In Budget 2008, the federal government proposes to clarify the wording of the provisions of the Income Tax Act concerning eligible drugs and medications under the METC to ensure that those that may be purchased without a prescription are clearly ineligible, whether they are obtained with or without a prescription. If adopted, this clarification would take effect retroactively to February 27, 2008.

Bulletin NB Vol. 11 N. 3, March 2008
Budget - A new savings vehicle: the Tax-Free Savings Account (TFSA)

The TFSA will allow taxpayers age 18 or older to contribute up to $5,000 annually through eligible investment vehicles. Investment income (interest, dividends or capital gains) earned through these contributions will not be taxed, and withdrawals will also be tax-free.
 

Bulletin NB Vol. 11 N. 2, February 2008
Leaves owing to a criminal offence

An employee may now be absent from work, without pay, for a period of not exceeding 104 weeks if the employee suffers serious bodily injury during or resulting directly from a criminal offence that renders the employee unable to hold his regular position1. Criminal offence refers to a criminal offence within the meaning of the Criminal Code and recognized under the Crime Victims Compensation Act2. Bodily injury corresponds to a serious physical or psychological injury, including a pregnancy resulting from the commission of a sexual offence or assault.

Bulletin NB Vol. 11 N. 1, February 2008
Non-refundable tax credits for medical expenses

The Ministère du Revenu du Québec amended section 7 of its reference document, which deals with transportation and travel expenses. Reasonable expenses incurred for operating a vehicle now qualify as medical expenses if the transportation service is not readily available. The distance to travel to obtain medical services unavailable within the locality where the patient lives must be at least 40 kilometres.

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Communiqués 2008

Communiqué NB Vol. 11 N. 16, décembre 2008
Les mesures d'allègement temporaires proposées

Le 17 décembre dernier, le ministre de l'Emploi et de la Solidarité sociale et ministre responsable de la Régie des rentes du Québec, M. Sam Hamad, a accepté les recommandations du comité de travail responsable d'identifier des mesures concrètes et réalistes afin d'assurer la solvabilité des régimes de retraite durant la crise financière actuelle.  

Communiqué NB Vol. 11 N. 15, décembre 2008
Les nouveaux paramètres des programmes de sécurité sociale pour l'année 2009

Le maximum des gains admissibles (MGA) sera de 46 300 $ pour l'année 2009, ce qui représente une hausse de 3,1 % par rapport au MGA de 44 900 $ pour l'année 2008. L'exemption générale est fixée à 3 500 $ depuis le 1er janvier 1998 et le taux de cotisation pour les employés et l'employeur demeurera à 4,95 % des gains cotisables en 2009, pour une cotisation annuelle maximale de 2 118,60 $. Finalement, la rente mensuelle maximale de retraite à 65 ans, calculée sur la base des MGA des cinq dernières années, s'établira à 908,75 $ pour l'année 2009 .

Communiqué NB Vol. 11 N. 14, novembre 2008
Normes Comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs : que font les entreprises québécoises inscrites à l'indice S&P/TSX?

Plusieurs entreprises du secteur privé finaliseront bientôt leurs budgets pour la prochaine année fiscale et prépareront leurs états financiers pour l'année fiscale en cours. Parmi les notes complémentaires devant être préparées pour ces états financiers, on retrouve celle relative aux coûts constatés pour les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées (« régimes PD ») et pour les régimes d'assurance collective offerts aux retraités (« autres avantages post-retraite ») .

Communiqué NB Vol. 8 N.2, novembre 2008
Des actuaires dans la ville

L'Union des municipalités du Québec (UMQ) a déposé, dans le cadre de la Table Québec-Municipalités tenue le 31 octobre 2008, une proposition auprès du Ministère des Affaires municipales et des Régions (MAMR) lui enjoignant de revoir les règles de financement des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminés des organismes municipaux, compte tenu que le contexte économique actuel entrainait une hausse importante de la charge comptable.

Communiqué NB Vol. 11 N. 13, octobre 2008
Les tarifs des spécialistes de la santé en 2008

L'information sur les frais moyens par visite peut notamment être utile dans l'établissement des plafonds de remboursement de vos régimes d'assurance collective. De la même manière, l'augmentation moyenne des frais par visite comparativement à ceux de 2007 peut vous permettre de valider les hypothèses d'inflation utilisées par votre assureur pour le renouvellement de vos taux de prime d'assurance maladie.

Communiqué NB Vol. 11 N. 12, octobre 2008
Nouveaux détails concernant la norme « Entreprise en santé »

Le mois dernier, le Groupe de promotion pour la prévention de la santé (GP2S) et le Bureau de normalisation du Québec (BNQ) ont présenté les grandes lignes du processus de certification que devront suivre les organisations souhaitant se prévaloir de la nouvelle norme « Entreprise en santé ». Le présent communiqué récapitule les principales caractéristiques de la norme et présente les nouveaux développements concernant le processus de certification.

Communiqué NB Vol. 11 N. 11, octobre 2008
Situation financière des régimes de retraite

Le faible niveau des taux d'intérêt et les déboires des marchés boursiers au cours du troisième trimestre de 2008 auront, selon toute vraisemblance, un impact majeur sur la situation financière des régimes de retraite.

Communiqué NB Vol. 11 N. 10, septembre 2008
Des obligations liées aux revenus de l'économie canadienne

L'Institut C.D. Howe, supporté par un comité formé d'intervenants de marque dans le milieu de la retraite canadien, propose l'introduction des « Trill ». Ces titres seraient comparables à une participation dans l'équité d'une société, dans ce cas-ci l'économie canadienne. Le rendement serait une fraction des revenus générés, soit le produit intérieur brut (PIB). La valeur du PIB est d'environ 1 trillion $, de là le nom « Trill ».

Communiqué NB Vol. 11 N. 9, août 2008
Performance des fonds de placement institutionnels pour le premier semestre de 2008

Chaque année, suivant la fin du premier semestre, nous vous faisons parvenir cette analyse dans l'intention de vous informer des plus récentes performances des marchés financiers et des gestionnaires institutionnels.

Communiqué NB Vol. 11 N. 8, juillet 2008
Nouveaux paramètres financiers du régime d'assurance médicaments du Québec

La Régie de l'assurance maladie du Québec a récemment annoncé les nouveaux paramètres financiers applicables au régime public d'assurance médicaments pour la période du 1er juillet 2008 au 30 juin 2009. En effet, une des dispositions de la Loi sur l'assurance médicaments du Québec prévoit la révision de ces paramètres au 1er juillet de chaque année afin de tenir compte de l'accroissement des coûts du régime.

Communiqué NB Vol. 11 N. 7, mai 2008
Abolition de la prime du régime public d'assurance maladie de l'Alberta à compter du 1er janvier 2009

Lors du dépôt de son budget le 22 avril dernier, la Ministre des Finances de l'Alberta a confirmé l'abolition de la prime du régime public d'assurance maladie de l'Alberta (Alberta Health Care Insurance Plan (AHCIP)) au 1er janvier 2009. Cette mesure avait d'ailleurs été annoncée en février dernier, lors de la dernière campagne électorale. Nous désirons rappeler que la prime pour les résidents de 65 ans et plus avait été abolie en 2004.

Communiqué NB Vol. 11 N. 6, avril 2008
Projet de loi no 68 : La retraite progressive et plus encore

Le gouvernement du Québec a présenté, le 2 avril dernier, le projet de loi no 68 visant à modifier la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite (« Loi RCR »). Grâce à ce projet de loi, le gouvernement espère offrir aux promoteurs de régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées des moyens concrets de faire face à une éventuelle pénurie de main d'oeuvre.

Communiqué NB Vol. 11 N. 5, mars 2008
Modifications apportées à la Déclaration annuelle de renseignements de la Régie des rentes du Québec

Les informations à transmettre annuellement à la Régie des rentes du Québec ne sont dorénavant plus prévues au Règlement de la Loi sur les Régimes complémentaires de retraite. La DAR jouera désormais ce rôle et pourra être modifiée sans qu'aucune modification au Règlement ne soit nécessaire.

Communiqué NB Vol. 11 N. 4, mars 2008
Les médicaments disponibles sans ordonnance demeurent des dépenses admissibles pour les régimes privés

Dans le budget 2008, le gouvernement fédéral a proposé de préciser le libellé des dispositions de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu concernant les médicaments et produits pharmaceutiques admissibles au CIFM de façon à ce que ceux qui peuvent être achetés en vente libre soient clairement inadmissibles, qu'ils soient obtenus avec ou sans ordonnance. Si elle est adoptée, cette précision entrerait en vigueur rétroactivement le 27 février 2008.

Communiqué NB Vol. 11 N. 3, mars 2008
Budget - Un nouveau véhicule d'épargne : le compte d'épargne libre d'impôt (CELI)

Le CELI permettra aux contribuables âgés de 18 ans ou plus de verser des cotisations allant jusqu'à 5 000 $ par année et d'investir ces sommes dans des instruments financiers admissibles. Les revenus de placement provenant de ces cotisations, qu'il s'agisse de revenus d'intérêt, de dividendes ou de gains en capital, seront exempts d'impôt fédéral, même en cas de retrait.

Communiqué NB Vol. 11 N.2, février 2008
Les absences pour cause d'acte criminel

Un salarié peut désormais s'absenter du travail pendant une période d'au plus 104 semaines, sans salaire, s'il subit un préjudice corporel grave à l'occasion ou résultant directement d'un acte criminel le rendant incapable d'occuper son poste habituel1. L'acte criminel auquel la Loi fait référence est celui défini au Code criminel et reconnu par la Loi sur l'indemnisation des victimes d'actes criminels2. Le préjudice corporel correspond quant à lui à une blessure grave, tant physique que psychique, et inclut également une grossesse résultant de la commission d'une infraction ou agression d'ordre sexuel.

Communiqué NB Vol. 11 N. 1, février 2008
Crédit d'impôt non remboursables pour frais médicaux

Le Ministère du Revenu du Québec a modifié la section 7 de son document de référence, laquelle traite des frais de transport ou de déplacement. Ainsi, toute somme jugée raisonnable pour le fonctionnement du véhicule d'une personne peut désormais être incluse dans les frais admissibles dans le cas où le service de transport ne serait pas immédiatement disponible. La distance à parcourir pour obtenir des soins médicaux non dispensés dans la localité où elle habite doit être d'au moins 40 kilomètres.