Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The decisions of the Accounting Standards Board on employee future benefits future benefits

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 10 N. 9, August 2007

In a bulletin published in April 2007 (Vol. 10, No. 5), we presented highlights of the Accounting Standards Board (ASB) Exposure Draft, which was proposing amendments to Section 3461 (Employee Future Benefits) of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants (CICA) Handbook. The proposed modifications were an attempt of harmonization with the new US standards (Statement of Financial Accounting Standards No. 158) issued in September 2006, aim to improve the transparency and uniformity of companies’ balance sheets.

After considering the comments received on the Exposure Draft from a wide spectrum of stakeholders, the ASB decided at its most recent meeting to not proceed with the proposed modifications. In its summary of decisions made at this recent meeting, the ASB adds that although they continue to believe that the implementation of the proposed amendments would have enhanced Canadian financial reporting, its members agreed that now was not the right time to do it.

The ASB will now be focusing on the implications of adopting the international accounting standards, which is planned for 2011, and on the current project of the International Accounting Standards Board to amend these standards. We will make sure to keep you informed about these ASB’s projects.

Please feel free to contact one of our consultants for more information on the accounting standards and their potential modifications.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les décisions du Conseil des normes comptables touchant les avantages sociaux futurs

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 10 N. 9, août 2007

Dans un communiqué paru en avril dernier (vol. 10, no. 5), nous vous avions présenté les grandes lignes de l’exposé-sondage du Conseil des normes comptables (CNC) portant sur des modifications au Chapitre 3461 (Avantages sociaux futurs) du Manuel de l’Institut canadien des comptables agréés (ICCA). Les modifications proposées s’inspiraient des nouvelles normes américaines (Statement of Financial Accounting Standards No. 158) publiées en septembre 2006, visant à améliorer la transparence et l’uniformité du bilan financier des entreprises.

Après avoir examiné les commentaires formulés par un large éventail de parties prenantes à la suite de cet exposé-sondage, le CNC a pris la décision, lors de sa plus récente réunion, de ne pas y donner suite. Dans son résumé des décisions, le CNC ajoute que bien qu’il continue à croire que la mise en oeuvre des modifications aurait amélioré l’information financière fournie au Canada, ses membres ont convenu que ce n’était actuellement pas le bon moment pour apporter ces modifications.

L’attention du CNC se portera donc plutôt sur les impacts de l’adoption des normes internationales toujours prévue pour 2011 ainsi que sur le projet en cours de l’International Accounting Standards Board visant la modification de ces normes. Nous nous assurerons de vous tenir informés des développements concernant ces projets du CNC.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6