Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The changes made to the Quebec's Act respecting prescription drug insurance

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 10 N. 8, July 2007

This bulletin follows those issued in December 2006 and March 2007 concerning amendments made to Quebec’s Act respecting prescription drug insurance.

The Régie de l’assurance maladie du Québec (RAMQ) published a bulletin (available in French only) entitled "Info assurance médicaments", which provided an explanation of its interpretation of the definition of eligible dependents. According to this interpretation, the definition of eligible dependents under a private group insurance plan must reflect the definition set out in the Act and thus may not be more generous.

Since August 30, 2006, to be eligible under a private plan, spouses, disabled children and children between the ages of 18 and 25 who are full-time students and who do not have spouses must be domiciled with the member covering them as a dependent.

In addition, the following rules will apply with respect to eligible children effective October 1, 2007:

  • If the father and mother do not share the same domicile, the parent with whom the child is domiciled must cover the child.
  • If the parent with whom the child is domiciled does not have access to a private group insurance plan but the other parent qualifies for coverage under a private plan, the other parent must cover the child. If this parent is exempted from his/her employer’s plan to be covered as a dependent under his/her new spouse’s plan, he/she must discontinue coverage under his/her new spouse’s plan and enrol in his/her employer’s plan to ensure that coverage is provided to the child.
  • If the father and mother do not have access to a private group insurance plan and the spouse of the parent with whom the child is domiciled is required to cover that parent, the spouse must also cover the child.
  • The child of a child covered as a dependent under the private plan of one of his/her parents may also benefit from the same protection if the parent’s plan offers this type of coverage. If not, the child of the child must enrol in the public plan.

  • Keep in mind that the amendments to the Act also stipulate that the RAMQ may request the submission of group insurance contract texts to verify compliance.

Amendments to private group insurance plans

The majority of private group insurance plans terminate coverage for dependent children when these children reach the age of 21 if they are not full-time students. According to the RAMQ’s interpretation, going forward, coverage for dependent children must be terminated at the age of 18 if they are not full-time students. These individuals must enrol in the public plan if they do not otherwise have access to a private group insurance plan.

The definition of eligible dependents must also include the notion of a shared domicile with the member for the spouse and dependent children between the ages of 18 and 25 who are full-time students. Most private plans do not include this notion.

These two amendments to private insurance plans raise the following questions:

  • Quebec’s Act respecting prescription drug insurance and regulation respecting the basic prescription drug insurance plan govern only the "prescription drug" component of private group insurance plans. Will insurers be able to apply a different definition of eligible dependents for prescription drugs only?
  • Will the new definition of eligible dependents apply to all employees or only those residing in Quebec?
  • Will the RAMQ and insurers accept maintaining the current definition of dependent children with coverage that becomes supplementary to the public plan at age 18 if the child is no longer a student?

  • These questions were put forward by insurers and employers, who must provide answers to them if there is no change in the RAMQ’s position. We will keep you informed of any clarifications or amendments communicated by the RAMQ.

Premium waiver form

In our bulletin of December 2006, we notified you that effective January 1, 2007, it was mandatory for employers to deduct from the pay of each eligible employee, the prescription drug insurance premium for the group insurance plan offered to their employees. Employers were exempt from making these deductions only when an employee demonstrated that he/she was covered under another group insurance plan.

The RAMQ recently made available on its website a premium waiver form for coverage under the basic prescription drug insurance plan.

When this form is completed and signed by an employee who wishes to waive health insurance coverage under the group private insurance plan offered by his/her employer, the employee is not required to provide additional proof of coverage under another private plan. For these situations, we recommend that you use this form, which is available only in French by clicking here.

If you require our assistance to translate it, please contact your Normandin Beaudry consultant.

"Info assurance médicaments" bulletin

Other portions of the "Info assurance médicaments" bulletin explaining the RAMQ’s interpretation of other sections of the Act respecting prescription drug insurance will be available on the RAMQ website in the coming months. These explanations will likely clarify the RAMQ’s interpretation as regards to medications not on the list, which we touched on in our bulletin of March 2007.

Rest assured that we will keep you informed of any developments on this subject and their impacts on your group insurance plans.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les modifications apportées à la Loi sur l'assurance médicaments du Québec

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 10 N. 8, juillet 2007

Ce communiqué fait suite à ceux émis en décembre 2006 et mars 2007 lesquels traitent des modifications apportées à la Loi sur l’assurance médicaments du Québec.

La Régie de l’assurance maladie du Québec (RAMQ) a émis un bulletin « Info assurance médicaments » dans lequel elle précise son interprétation quant à la définition des personnes à charge admissibles. Selon cette interprétation, la définition des personnes à charge admissibles à un régime privé d’assurance collective doit refléter la définition de la Loi et ne peut donc être plus généreuse.

Depuis le 30 août 2006, le conjoint, les enfants étudiant à temps complet, sans conjoint et âgés de 18 à 25 ans et les enfants handicapés doivent, afin d’être admissibles à un régime privé, être domiciliés avec le participant les couvrant à titre de personnes à charge.

De plus, les règles suivantes s’appliqueront à compter du 1er octobre 2007 relativement aux enfants admissibles :

  • Lorsque le père et la mère n’ont pas de domicile commun, le parent avec lequel l’enfant est domicilié doit pourvoir à la couverture de celui-ci;
  • Lorsque le parent avec lequel l’enfant est domicilié n’a pas accès à un régime privé d’assurance collective et que l’autre parent est admissible à un régime privé, ce dernier doit pourvoir à la couverture de l’enfant. Si ce parent s’est exempté du régime de son employeur afin d’être couvert en tant que personne à charge de son nouveau conjoint, il devra alors renoncer à être couvert par son nouveau conjoint et adhérer au régime de son employeur afin de pourvoir à la couverture de l’enfant;
  • Lorsque le père et la mère n’ont pas accès à un régime privé d’assurance collective et que le conjoint du parent avec lequel l’enfant est domicilié est tenu de pourvoir à la couverture de ce parent, cette couverture s’étend également à l’enfant;
  • L’enfant d’un enfant couvert à titre de personne à charge admissible par le régime privé de l’un de ses parents peut bénéficier de la même protection si le régime du parent offre cette possibilité. Sinon, l’enfant de l’enfant doit adhérer au régime public.

Rappelons que les modifications à la Loi précisent également que la RAMQ peut demander les textes de contrats d’assurance collective afin d’en vérifier la conformité.

Modification des régimes privés d’assurance collective

La plupart des régimes privés d’assurance collective cessent la couverture des enfants dès l’âge de 21 ans s’ils ne sont pas aux études à temps complet. Selon l’interprétation de la RAMQ, la couverture en tant que personne à charge doit désormais cesser dès l’âge de 18 ans si les enfants ne sont pas aux études à temps complet. Ceux-ci doivent alors adhérer au régime public s’ils n’ont pas autrement accès à un régime d’assurance collective privé.

La définition des personnes à charge admissibles doit également inclure la notion de domicile commun avec le participant pour le conjoint et les enfants âgés de 18 à 25 ans qui sont aux études à temps complet, ce qui n’est pas le cas dans la plupart des régimes privés.

La modification des régimes privés d’assurance collective relativement à ces deux éléments soulève les questions suivantes :

  • La Loi sur l’assurance médicaments du Québec et le règlement d’application du régime général d’assurance médicaments ne régissent que la portion « médicaments » des régimes privés d’assurance collective. Les assureurs pourront-ils administrer une définition différente de personnes à charge admissibles pour les médicaments seulement?
  • La nouvelle définition des personnes à charge admissibles s’appliquera-t-elle à tous les employés ou seulement à ceux résidant au Québec?
  • Le maintien de la définition actuelle des enfants à charge avec une protection devenant complémentaire au régime public à compter de 18 ans si l’enfant n’est plus aux études serait-il acceptable pour la RAMQ et les assureurs?

Ces questions ont été soulevées par les assureurs et employeurs et ceux-ci devront y répondre si aucune modification n’est apportée à la position de la RAMQ. Par conséquent, nous vous tiendrons informés de toute précision ou modification qui pourrait être communiquée par celle-ci.

Formulaire d’exemption du prélèvement de la prime

Dans notre communiqué de décembre 2006, nous vous avisions que depuis le 1er janvier 2007, l’employeur était dans l’obligation de prélever, sur la paie de chaque employé admissible, la prime d’assurance médicaments relative au régime d’assurance collective offert à ses employés. L’employeur était exonéré de cet acte uniquement lorsque l’employé démontrait qu’il était couvert par un autre régime d’assurance collective.

La RAMQ vient de rendre disponible sur son site Internet un formulaire d’exemption du prélèvement de la prime afférente aux garanties du régime général d’assurance médicaments.

Lorsque ce formulaire est complété et signé par l’employé qui désire s’exempter de la protection d’assurance maladie du régime privé d’assurance collective offert par son employeur, l’employé n’a pas à fournir de preuves additionnelles de sa couverture en vertu d’un autre régime privé. Dans ce contexte, nous vous suggérons d’utiliser ce formulaire, lequel est disponible à en cliquant ici.

Bulletin « Info assurance médicaments »

D’autres sections du bulletin « Info assurance médicaments » précisant l’interprétation de la RAMQ quant à d’autres articles de la Loi sur l’assurance médicaments seront disponibles sur le site Internet de la RAMQ dans les prochains mois. Ces précisions pourront probablement éclaircir l’interprétation de la RAMQ quant aux médicaments hors-liste dont il était question dans notre communiqué de mars 2007.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6