Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The exposure draft on employee future benefits issued by the Accounting Standards Board

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 10 N. 5. April 2007

On March 30, the Accounting Standards Board (AcSB) issued an exposure draft to amend Section 3461 (Employee Future Benefits) of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountant’s (CICA) Handbook. These amendments, which are modeled after the new US standards (Statement of Financial Accounting Standards No. 158) issued in September 2006, aim to improve the transparency and uniformity of companies’ balance sheets.

Please note that, in spite of simplification efforts, given the subject matter and use of terms defined in Section 3461, this document contains technical content.

The highlights of the exposure draft are as follows:

Application

  • The amendments proposed by the AcSB would apply to all defined benefit plans (including post-retirement benefits other than pension and post-employment benefits) for all types of organizations, contrary to the provisions of SFAS 158, which do not apply to post-employment benefits.
  • The majority of provisions would be effective for fiscal years ending on or after December 31, 2007 for publicly accountable enterprises and not-for-profit organizations, and December 31, 2008 for non-publicly accountable enterprises. These provisions could, however, be adopted at an earlier date.
  • Persons interested in submitting comments on the AcSB’s proposed amendments to Section 3461 must do so by June 30, 2007. The AcSB expects to issue the final amended standard in the second half of 2007.

Recognition of funded status in the balance sheet  

  • Funded status (difference between the fair value of plan assets and the accrued benefit obligation) would be recognized in the balance sheet. Funded status is currently disclosed in the notes to the financial statements.
  • Upon initial application of these new provisions, amounts that have not been accounted for in cost recognized at fiscal year end (unamortized amounts) would be recognized as components of the closing balance for accumulated other comprehensive income (OCI).
  • Recognition of the funded status in the balance sheet would improve the transparency of the funded status of defined benefit plans because financial statement users would no longer need to consult the notes to find this information. The impact of this type of measure on the balance sheet would depend, among other things, on the current funded status of the plan and the size of the unamortized amounts (actuarial gains and losses, past service costs and transitional asset or obligation). Because the financial ratios would be changed, some organizations would be forced to review their financial arrangements.

Cost recognized

  • The cost recognized would not be affected. However, because cost recognized includes amortization amounts already reflected in the funded status, an adjustment would be recorded in the OCI.

Valuation allowance

  • The valuation allowance, which is not included in the US standards, would remain unchanged. Any changes in valuation allowance would, however, be recorded as debits or credits to the OCI.

Measurement date

  • Going forward, companies would be required to measure the plan assets and accrued benefit obligations as of the balance sheet date. This would eliminate the possibility of using a measurement date that falls within the three-month period preceding the fiscal year end date. Provisions regarding the measurement date would be effective for fiscal years ending on or after December 31, 2008.
  • As indicated in Bulletin No. 14, Vol. 9 in December 2006, our analyses reveal that approximately one quarter of companies were using a measurement date different than the fiscal year end date. The AcSB’s proposed amendments to the measurement date would require companies to adopt a tighter schedule for finalizing their financial statements.

Disclosures

  • With the exception of information to be disclosed in the financial statements, which would be adjusted after the proposed amendments are implemented, no disclosure requirements would be added.

Other findings

  • Despite the convergence toward the US SFAS 158 standards in the short-term, the CICA has reaffirmed its intention to converge the Canadian standards toward the international standards (that differ from the US standards) by 2011. We can therefore expect other changes between now and 2011.
 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

L'exposé-sondage du Conseil des normes comptables touchant les avantages sociaux futurs

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 10 N. 5, avril 2007

Le Conseil des normes comptables (CNC) a publié, le 30 mars dernier, un exposé-sondage portant sur des modifications au Chapitre 3461 (Avantages sociaux futurs) du Manuel de l’Institut canadien des comptables agréés (ICCA). Ces modifications, qui s’inspirent des nouvelles normes américaines (Statement of Financial Accounting Standards No. 158 ) publiées en septembre 2006, visent à améliorer la transparence et l’uniformité du bilan financier des entreprises.

Nous tenons à préciser que, malgré un effort de vulgarisation, le contenu du présent communiqué revêt un caractère technique étant donné la nature du sujet et l’utilisation de termes définis au Chapitre 3461.

Les grandes lignes de l’exposé-sondage sont les suivantes :

Application

  • Les modifications proposées par le CNC s’appliqueraient à tous les régimes à prestations déterminées (incluant les avantages complémentaires de retraite et les avantages postérieurs à l’emploi) de tous types d’organisations, contrairement aux dispositions du SFAS 158 qui, elles, ne s’appliquent pas aux avantages postérieurs à l’emploi.
  • La plupart des dispositions s’appliqueraient aux exercices se terminant le 31 décembre 2007 ou après. Toutefois, pour les entreprises sans obligation publique de rendre des comptes, la date d’application serait reportée aux exercices financiers se terminant le 31 décembre 2008 ou après. Une adoption plus rapide des dispositions serait cependant autorisée.
  • Les personnes intéressées ont jusqu’au 30 juin 2007 pour formuler leurs commentaires sur les modifications proposées au Chapitre 3461 par le CNC. Suite à ces commentaires, le CNC prévoit publier le texte final des modifications durant la seconde moitié de 2007.


Constatation au bilan de la situation financière

  • La situation financière (écart entre la juste valeur des actifs du régime et l’obligation au titre des prestations constituées) serait constatée au bilan. Actuellement, la situation financière est présentée aux notes complémentaires.
  • Lors de la première application des nouvelles dispositions, les montants n’ayant pas été pris en compte dans le coût constaté à la fin de l’exercice (c’est-à-dire les montants non amortis) seraient constatés à titre de composantes du solde de clôture du cumul des autres éléments du résultat étendu (AERE).
  • La constatation au bilan de la situation financière améliorerait la transparence de la situation financière des régimes à prestations déterminées, puisque les utilisateurs d’états financiers n’auraient plus à se référer aux notes complémentaires pour y trouver l’information. L’impact d’une telle mesure au bilan financier dépendrait, entre autres, de la situation financière actuelle des régimes ainsi que de la magnitude des montants non amortis (gains ou pertes actuarielles, coûts des services passés et actif ou obligation transitoire). Comme les ratios financiers seraient modifiés, certaines organisations seraient contraintes à revoir leurs arrangements financiers.


Coût constaté

  • Le coût constaté ne serait pas affecté. Toutefois, puisque le coût constaté inclut des montants d’amortissement déjà reflétés dans la situation financière, un ajustement devrait être enregistré dans les AERE.


Provision pour moins-value 

  • La provision pour moins-value, qui n’existe pas au niveau des normes américaines, demeurerait inchangée. Toutefois, la variation de cette provision devrait désormais être comptabilisée comme un débit ou un crédit dans les AERE.


Date de mesure

  • Les entreprises devraient dorénavant mesurer les actifs et les obligations du régime à la date du bilan, ce qui éliminerait la possibilité d’utiliser une date de mesure se situant à l’intérieur d’une période de trois mois précédant la date de fin d’année financière. Les dispositions touchant la date de mesure entreraient en vigueur pour les exercices financiers se terminant le 31 décembre 2008 ou après.
  • Lors de la publication de notre Communiqué no. 14, vol. 9 au mois de décembre 2006, nos analyses démontraient qu’environ le quart des entreprises utilisaient une date de mesure différente de la date de fin d’année financière. Les modifications proposées par le CNC à propos de la date de mesure obligeraient désormais ces entreprises à adopter un calendrier plus serré afin de finaliser leurs états financiers.


Informations à divulguer

  • À l’exception des informations à divulguer dans les états financiers, lesquelles seraient ajustées suite aux modifications proposées, aucune exigence de divulgation ne serait ajoutée.


Autres constats

  • Malgré la convergence vers les normes américaines SFAS 158 à court terme, l’ICCA a réaffirmé son intention de faire converger les normes canadiennes vers les normes internationales d’ici 2011 qui, elles, divergent des normes américaines. Il faut ainsi s’attendre à d’autres changements d’ici 2011.
 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6