Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The Act Respecting Prescription Drug Insurance

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 10 N. 4, March 2007

This bulletin follows our December 2006 bulletin (Vol. 9, no 13).

On December 13, 2005, the Quebec government adopted Bill 130, an Act to amend the Act respecting prescription drug insurance. The bill’s measures will have an impact on the administration of private group insurance plans. Some provisions came into effect on the date the bill was adopted, some took effect in 2006, and others will come into effect in 2007.

Definition of eligible spouse and children

The various questions recently raised by our clients have prompted us to provide some clarification on this matter.

Since August 30, 2006, the Act respecting prescription drug insurance has stipulated that plan members are obligated to provide coverage to their spouses if the spouse lives with them. The Act also stipulates that spouseless children between the ages of 18 and 25 who attend an educational institution on a full-time basis must now be living with their father, mother or tutor to be considered as an eligible dependent child under a group insurance plan.

According to the Régie de l’assurance maladie du Québec’s (RAMQ) interpretation, members of a private group insurance plan will no longer be allowed to provide coverage to their spouses or children between the ages of 18 and 25 if they are not living with them. However, this restriction does not apply to a child studying away from home and who normally lives with his parents.

Application of the Act with respect to medications not on the list

Since the Act was implemented in 1997, RAMQ has focused on the idea that Quebec’s Act respecting prescription drug insurance would govern only prescription drugs included on the list of prescription drugs covered by RAMQ, and that reimbursement of other drugs (not included on the list) under private group insurance plans would not be subject to the Act (e.g.: out-of-pocket maximum for participants, reimbursement percentage, etc.).

RAMQ recently modified its interpretation with respect to drugs not included on the list, indicating that the Act requires private insurance plans which cover them to apply the conditions that are, at a minimum, as generous as those provided for in the Act to all drugs.

The majority of private group insurance plans insurers do not currently administer plans in this manner. The application of this new interpretation will not only add to their administrative burden, but also result in an increase in insurance costs for policyholders and members.

Several insurers oppose RAMQ’s new interpretation of the law and are banding together and working with the Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association Inc. (CLHIA) to prevent the application of this interpretation.

Rest assured that we will keep you informed of any developments on this subject.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

La loi sur l'assurance médicaments du Québec

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 10 N. 4, mars 2007

Ce communiqué fait suite à celui du mois de décembre 2006 (vol. 9, no 13).

Le projet de Loi 130, sanctionné le 13 décembre 2005 par le gouvernement québécois, prévoit des modifications à la Loi sur l’assurance médicaments, lesquelles ont également des impacts sur l’administration des régimes privés d’assurance collective. Quelques clauses sont entrées en vigueur à la date de sanction, d’autres au courant de l’année 2006 et d’autres encore prendront effet au cours de l’année 2007.

Définition du conjoint et des enfants admissibles

Les différentes questions reçues de notre clientèle dernièrement nous amènent à apporter quelques précisions à ce sujet.

Depuis le 30 août 2006, la Loi sur l’assurance médicaments stipule que l’obligation de pourvoir à l’assurance du conjoint s’applique si celui-ci est domicilié avec le participant au régime. La Loi stipule également qu’un enfant âgé de 18 à 25 ans, sans conjoint et aux études à temps complet doit désormais être domicilié avec son père, sa mère ou son tuteur afin d’être considéré comme un enfant à charge admissible à un régime d’assurance collective.

Selon l’interprétation de la Régie de l’assurance maladie du Québec (RAMQ), les participants à un régime privé d’assurance collective ne pourront plus couvrir leur conjoint ou leurs enfants âgés entre 18 et 25 ans s’ils ne sont pas domiciliés avec eux. Cette restriction ne s’applique toutefois pas à un enfant qui étudie en région et qui réside normalement chez ses parents.

Application de la Loi relativement aux médicaments hors-liste

Depuis l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi en 1997, la RAMQ véhiculait l’idée que la Loi sur l’assurance médicaments au Québec ne régissait que les médicaments faisant partie de la liste des médicaments couverts par la RAMQ et que le remboursement des autres médicaments (médicaments hors-liste) par les régimes privés d’assurance collective n’était pas assujetti aux modalités de la Loi (par exemple : maximum de déboursé pour le participant, pourcentage de remboursement, etc.)

La RAMQ a récemment modifié son interprétation quant aux médicaments hors-liste et indique que la Loi oblige les régimes privés d’assurance collective qui couvrent ces médicaments d’appliquer des modalités au moins aussi généreuses que celles stipulées dans la Loi au remboursement de ceux-ci.

Actuellement, les régimes privés d’assurance collective ne sont pas administrés de cette façon par la plupart des assureurs. Ainsi, l’application de cette nouvelle interprétation causerait à ceux-ci des problèmes administratifs importants, sans compter les hausses de coûts d’assurance que ceci engendrerait pour les preneurs de contrat et leurs employés.

Plusieurs assureurs s’opposent donc à cette nouvelle interprétation de la RAMQ et font actuellement front commun par l’entremise de l’Association des compagnies canadiennes d’assurance de personnes (ACCAP) afin de ne pas mettre en application ces nouvelles obligations.

Soyez assurés que nous vous tiendrons au courant des développements.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6