Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Fiscal measures from the 2007-2008 budget concerning retirees and promoting phased retirement

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 10 N. 3, March 2007

When the Quebec government delivered its provincial budget on February 20, 2007, it unveiled fiscal measures for individuals, including certain measures that specifically target retirees. It also reaffirmed its commitment to promote phased retirement to meet the challenges posed by significant demographic changes in the coming years.

FISCAL MEASURES CONCERNING RETIREES

Two fiscal measures presented in the budget apply specifically to retirees. First, as of the 2007 taxation year, the maximum eligible retirement income used to determine the tax credit will be increased from $1,000 to $1,500. The tax credit is equal to 20% of the eligible income received by an individual (including life annuities paid under a pension plan and payments from an RRSP).

The second measure deals with retirement income splitting. As of the 2007 taxation year, taxpayers who receive retirement income will be permitted to allocate up to 50% of this income to their spouse. For spouses who have considerably different retirement incomes before splitting, retirement income splitting reduces the amount of income tax payable by the household. For example, a couple with one retirement income of $20,000 will pay $287 less in income tax. A couple with two retirement incomes totaling $70,000 will receive a tax cut of $535 (considering retirement incomes of $56,000 for one spouse and $14,000 for the other).

PROMOTING PHASED RETIREMENT

For a second consecutive budget, the Quebec government is committed to promoting measures encouraging the phased retirement of workers. Even though such measures are already in effect, very few workers are taking advantage of them.

Current phased retirement provisions

The measures currently stipulated in the Supplemental Pension Plans Act are outlined below. These measures are applicable to members who are less than 10 years from the normal retirement age and subject to an agreement with the employer to reduce work time.

  • Once a year, the member can receive a lump sum from the pension plan up to age 65. This amount is payable in a single annual payment and can not exceed the lesser of:
    • 70% of the pay reduction related to the decrease in hours worked;
    • 40% of the maximum pensionable earnings for the year ($17 480 in 2007); or
    • the value of the member’s benefits under the pension plan.
  • At final retirement, the benefits payable under the pension plan are reduced based on the value of the lump sums received.
  • The period not worked is treated as a leave of absence without pay (non-credited service).

Measures proposed in the "Promoting Phased Retirement" budget paper

Because these measures are financed by members from their accumulated pension benefits, very few members choose phased retirement in its current form. The constraints imposed by federal and provincial legislation currently in effect do not allow phased retirement to be funded through any other method.

To encourage individuals nearing retirement to continue to work, the Quebec government proposes to allow members to:

  • Receive a pension from their pension plan proportional to the decrease in work time; and
  • Accumulate service on the basis of the full-time salary they would have received.

Therefore, members could take advantage of the ancillary benefits offered by the plan, when applicable, including a bridging benefit and an early retirement subsidy, which are generally conditional to the payment of retirement benefits. These measures, however, are subject to an agreement with the employer and are allowed as of age 60 or 30 years of service.

The Quebec government will need to continue the discussions previously initiated with the federal government to amend the Income Tax Act before these types of measures can be put in place.

Comments

The new measures are attractive for both employees and employers. In certain cases, however, the impact will be limited given the size of the early retirement subsidies offered by the pension plans. In these situations, since members fail to take advantage of all of the benefits offered, it results in gains for the pension plans. It would be beneficial if the laws in force would allow for these gains to be used to enhance the offering to continue to work, especially by permitting some form of benefits increase. We feel that this flexibility is vital for optimizing efforts to encourage individuals to continue working, especially in light of the expected changes in the labour force in Quebec.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les mesures fiscales du budget 2007-2008 en faveur des retraités et de la retraite progressive pour les régimes de retraite

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 10 N. 3, mars 2007

Lors du dépôt du budget provincial le 20 février dernier, le gouvernement du Québec a annoncé des mesures fiscales en faveur des particuliers, certaines visant précisément les retraités. Il a de plus réaffirmé son engagement à favoriser la retraite progressive, dans le but d’aider les employeurs à faire face aux changements démographiques importants des prochaines années.

MESURES FISCALES EN FAVEUR DES RETRAITÉS

Deux mesures fiscales présentées dans le budget visent particulièrement les retraités. Premièrement, le montant maximal de revenus de retraite sur lequel s'applique le crédit d'impôt pour revenus de retraite sera majoré à compter de l’année 2007, passant de 1 000 $ à 1 500 $. Le crédit d'impôt correspond à 20 % des revenus de retraite admissibles reçus par un particulier (tels que les paiements de rentes provenant d’un régime de retraite et d'un REER).

La seconde mesure concerne quant à elle le fractionnement des revenus de retraite. Dès l'année 2007, le contribuable qui touche des revenus de retraite pourra allouer jusqu'à 50 % de ces revenus à son conjoint. Le fractionnement des revenus de retraite pourrait de cette façon entraîner une réduction de l'impôt à payer par le couple dans la mesure où les conjoints ont des revenus de retraite avant fractionnement assez différents. Par exemple, selon les informations fournies, un couple ayant un seul revenu de retraite de 20 000 $ bénéficiera d'une baisse d'impôt de 287 $. La baisse d’impôt pourrait attendre 535 $ pour un couple ayant deux revenus de retraite totalisant 70 000 $ (en considérant des revenus de retraite de 56 000 $ pour un conjoint et de 14 000 $ pour l’autre).

FAVORISER LA RETRAITE PROGRESSIVE

Pour un deuxième budget consécutif, le gouvernement s’engage à mettre de l’avant des mesures favorisant le départ graduel des travailleurs à la retraite. Bien que des mesures soient présentement en vigueur dans le but d’encourager la retraite progressive, peu de travailleurs s’en prévalent.

Dispositions actuellement prévues

Les mesures actuellement prévues à la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite sont les suivantes :

  • Applicable aux participants qui sont à moins de 10 ans de l’âge normal de la retraite sous réserve d’une entente avec l’employeur afin de réduire le temps de travail;
  • Le participant peut recevoir, annuellement, un montant forfaitaire du régime de retraite, et ce, jusqu’à l’âge de 65 ans. Ce montant, payable en un seul paiement annuel, ne peut excéder le moindre de :
    • 70 % de la réduction de la rémunération découlant de la diminution du temps de travail;
    • 40 % du Maximum des gains admissibles (MGA) de l’année (17 480 $ en 2007);
    • La valeur de la rente payable du régime de retraite.
  • Au moment de la retraite définitive, réduction de la rente payable du régime afin de tenir compte de la valeur des montants forfaitaires reçus;
  • La période non travaillée est traitée comme un congé sans solde (service non crédité);
     

Mesures proposées dans le fascicule « Favoriser la retraite progressive »

Ces mesures étant financées par le participant à même la valeur de la rente qu’il a accumulée, très peu de participants optent pour la retraite progressive sous sa forme actuelle. De plus, les contraintes imposées par les législations fédérales et provinciales présentement en vigueur ne permettent pas de financer autrement les efforts en matière de retraite progressive.

Ainsi, dans le but d’encourager le maintien en emploi auprès des individus près de la retraite, le gouvernement propose de permettre aux participants :

  • De recevoir une rente des régimes de retraite pour compenser la réduction de son temps de travail;
  • D’accumuler du service sur la base des salaires qu’il aurait reçus s’il avait travaillé à temps plein.

Ainsi, le participant pourrait profiter des bénéfices accessoires offerts par le régime, le cas échéant, tels la prestation de raccordement et le subside de retraite anticipée, ceux-ci étant habituellement conditionnels aux paiements d’une rente de retraite. Toutefois, ces mesures ne seraient permises que sous réserve d’une entente avec l’employeur d’une part et, d’autre part, uniquement à compter de l’âge de 60 ans ou après avoir complété 30 années de service.

Afin de permettre la mise en place de telles mesures, le gouvernement du Québec devra poursuivre les discussions déjà entamées avec le gouvernement fédéral afin de faire modifier la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu.

Commentaires

Les nouvelles mesures sont intéressantes pour les employés et les employeurs. Dans certains cas, toutefois, l’effet sera assez limité compte tenu de l’importance des subsides de retraite anticipée offerts par les régimes de retraite. Dans ces situations, puisque le participant ne prend pas avantage de tous les bénéfices offerts, il en découle des gains pour les régimes de retraite. Il serait intéressant que les lois en vigueur permettent l’utilisation de ces gains afin de bonifier l’offre de maintien en emploi, notamment en permettant une certaine bonification de la rente du régime de retraite. Cette flexibilité nous semble essentielle pour optimiser les efforts de maintien en emploi, principalement dans le contexte de l’évolution attendue du marché de la main d’oeuvre au Québec.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6