Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Member-funded pension plans

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 10 N. 2, March 2007

On February 28, 2007, the Gazette officielle du Québec published the Regulation to amend the Regulation respecting the exemption of certain categories of pension plans from the application of the Supplemental Pension Plans Act. This new regulation, which comes into effect on March 15, 2007, provides for creation of member-funded pension plans (MFPPs).

This bulletin describes the key features of an MFPP.

Definition

An MFPP is a defined benefit plan with a career average earnings or flat benefit formula without automatic indexation in which the risks of plan funding are borne entirely by the members. Employer contributions are set in advance and do not vary in case of actuarial deficit.

Actuarial deficits incurred while the plan is in force are funded by active members. Asset shortfalls on plan termination result in a reduction of the pension payable to members and beneficiaries. On the other hand, surplus assets while the plan is in force or on its termination are used to increase benefits or give members a contribution holiday, subject to certain constraints. In other words, employee contributions fluctuate depending on actuarial deficits and surpluses.

Establishing and amending an MFPP

The decision to set up, amend or terminate an MFPP must be made jointly by the employer and each association certified to represent plan members. MFPPs cannot be established by converting a traditional pension plan.

An amendment cannot be registered if it would place an MFPP in a deficit position on a going concern or a solvency basis. In addition, amendments or employee contribution holidays will not be approved unless pensions have first been indexed.

Benefits payable

Rules governing payment of retirement benefits under an MFPP are identical to those under a traditional plan-apart from the rule that the employer’s contribution must be at least 50%, which does not apply to an MFPP. In addition, in case of termination of membership, the value of transferable entitlements will be adjusted upward or downward depending on the pension plan’s degree of solvency, whether it is more or less than 100%. Degree of solvency must be estimated at least annually, at the end of the fiscal year.

Going-concern and solvency valuations for an MFPP

Like traditional plans, MFPPs are subject to going-concern and solvency actuarial valuations. The going-concern valuation of the MFPP must include an assumption that the plan will provide pension benefits for members and beneficiaries indexed based on annual increases in the Consumer Price Index, to a maximum of 4%. This provides a cushion against a possible deficit (which would mean increasing employee contributions).

Comment

The MFPP is not really an alternative to the traditional defined-benefit plan for the following reasons:  

  • It requires termination of the existing plan (which can have a negative financial impact on an employer whose plan is in a deficit position).
  • Given the required MFPP funding cushion, the parties must contribute more to maintain the current benefit level, making it a less efficient option.
  • It does not offer the options for end-of-career human resources management available in traditional plans (an employer subsidized early retirement program, for example).

The MFPP is, however, an alternative to defined contribution plans. It is also a solution for employers who do not offer a pension plan. For employees with a defined contribution pension plan, the MFPP replaces individual investment risk with a group funding risk, adding a cushion to mitigate the volatility of contributions and a guarantee that members can use any surpluses. We are of the opinion, however, that it is important to make sure employees are well-informed of the underlying risks and possible impacts on their retirement income before considering to introduce a plan of this type.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les régimes de retraite par financement salarial

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 10 N. 2, mars 2007

Le 28 février dernier, la Gazette officielle du Québec a publié le Règlement modifiant le Règlement sur la soustraction de certaines catégories de régimes de retraite à l’application de dispositions de la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite (le « Règlement »). Ce Règlement, qui entrera en vigueur le 15 mars 2007, permettra la création des régimes de retraite par financement salarial (« RRFS »).

Ce communiqué énumère et commente les principales caractéristiques du RRFS.

Définition

Un RRFS est un régime de retraite à prestations déterminées non indexées de type prestations uniformes ou salaires de carrière dont les risques liés au financement du régime sont assumés entièrement par les participants. Ainsi, les cotisations patronales sont déterminées à l’avance et ne fluctuent pas en fonction des déficits actuariels.

Les déficits actuariels en cours d’existence seront capitalisés par les participants actifs et si le régime se termine en situation de déficit, les rentes de tous les participants et bénéficiaires seront réduites. En contrepartie, les excédents d’actif d’un RRFS, tant en cours d’existence qu’à la terminaison du régime, serviront à bonifier les prestations des participants ou à offrir des congés de cotisations salariales, sujet à certaines contraintes. Les cotisations salariales fluctueront donc au gré des déficits et des surplus actuariels.

Création et modification d’un RRFS

La décision de mettre en place un RRFS, de le modifier ou de le terminer devra être prise conjointement entre l’employeur et chaque association accréditée à représenter les participants. Un RRFS ne peut être créé par la conversion d’un régime de retraite traditionnel.

Toute modification entraînant un déficit sur base de capitalisation ou de solvabilité ne pourra être enregistrée. De plus, aucune modification ou aucun congé de cotisation salariale ne sera accepté si les rentes n’ont pas été préalablement indexées.

Prestations payables d’un RRFS

Les règles applicables au versement des prestations de retraite d’un RRFS sont identiques à celles d’un régime traditionnel, à l’exception de la règle de cotisation minimale de l’employeur de 50 %, laquelle ne s’applique pas à un RRFS. De plus, suite à une cessation de participation, la valeur des droits transférables sera ajustée à la hausse ou à la baisse en fonction du degré de solvabilité du régime, que ce degré soit supérieur ou inférieur à 100 %. Le degré de solvabilité devra être estimé, au minimum, à la fin de chaque exercice financier.

Évaluations actuarielles de capitalisation et de solvabilité pour un RRFS

Comme pour les régimes traditionnels, le RRFS sera soumis à des évaluations actuarielles de capitalisation et de solvabilité. L’évaluation de capitalisation d’un RRFS devra tenir compte d’une provision pour l’indexation des rentes des participants et des bénéficiaires (basée sur l’indice des prix à la consommation jusqu’à concurrence de 4 %). Ainsi, un coussin de sécurité sera créé afin de limiter les risques que le régime se retrouve éventuellement en déficit (ce qui résulterait en une augmentation des cotisations salariales).

Commentaires

Le RRFS n’est pas vraiment une alternative aux régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées « traditionnels » car :

  • il nécessite la terminaison du régime existant (ce qui pourrait entraîner des conséquences financières néfastes pour les employeurs dont le régime est en situation de déficit);
  • compte tenu des mécanismes de prudence imposés dans le financement du RRFS, il faudra que les parties cotisent davantage pour maintenir les prestations à leur niveau actuel, ce qui en fait un outil moins efficient;
  • il ne peut supporter la gestion des ressources humaines en fin de carrière comme le permet le régime traditionnel (par exemple, un programme de retraite anticipée subventionné par l’employeur).

Le RRFS est cependant une alternative aux régimes de retraite à cotisation définie ou une solution pour les employeurs qui n’offrent pas de régimes de retraite. Pour les employés bénéficiant d’un régime de retraite à cotisation définie, le RRFS propose, au lieu du risque individuel de placement, un risque collectif de financement dont les mécanismes de prudence atténuent la volatilité des cotisations et garantissent aux participants l’utilisation des éventuels excédents d’actif. Nous sommes d’avis qu’il sera toutefois important de s’assurer de bien informer les employés quant aux risques sous-jacents et aux implications possibles sur les revenus de retraite avant d’avoir à décider de la mise en place ou non d’un tel régime.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6