Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The 2008 Social Security Programs Parameters

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 10 N. 16, December 2007

As in previous years, we are pleased to inform you about the parameters that will be used by the major social security programs in 2008.

The Quebec Pension Plan and the Canada Pension Plan

The Year's Maximum Pensionable Earnings (YMPE) for 2008 will be $44,900, an increase of 2.7% over the 2007 YMPE ($43,700). The basic exemption remains at the current level of $3,500, which is the level applicable since January 1st, 1998. Employee and employer contribution rates will remain at 4.95% of contributory earnings in 2008. The annual maximum contribution is $2,049.30. The maximum monthly retirement pension at age 65 is set at $884.58 for 2008, based on the average YMPE over the last five years.

Canada Employment Insurance Commission

On October 29, 2007, the Canada Employment Insurance Commission confirmed a reduction of $0.07 per $100 of insurable employee earnings in the premium rate for employees effective January 1st, 2008. The premium rate for employees in Quebec will therefore be reduced from $1.46 to $1.39. For Quebec employers, the premium rate will be reduced from $2.04 to $1.95, which is 1.4 times the employee rate outlined above. These rates consider the Quebec Parental Insurance Plan (QPIP) in place since January 1st, 2006.

The Employment Insurance premium rates for employees and employers outside Quebec will be reduced respectively from $1.80 to $1.73 and from $2.52 to $2.42 per $100 of insurable employee earnings. The maximum insurable earnings will increase from $40,000 to $41,100 for 2008.

Employer contributions can be further reduced for those offering a salary continuation program (SCP) registered with the Employment Insurance Commission. There are four types of SCPs each offering a unique Employment Insurance premium rate reduction.

Type 1: SCP based on the accumulation of paid sick days of at least one day per month and a maximum of at least 75 days.

Type 2: SCP based on the accumulation of paid sick days of at least one day and 2/3 per month and a maximum of at least 125  days.

Type 3: SCP providing a weekly indemnity1 for at least 15 weeks.

Type 4: SCP providing a weekly indemnity1 for at least 52 weeks (this reduction is only available to employers of public and para-public sectors).
 
 

Quebec Parental Insurance Plan (QPIP)

The QPIP contribution rates for the year 2008 per $100 of insurable income will be $0.45 for employees, $0.63 for employers and $0.80 for self-employed workers. The maximum insurable income will increase from $59,000 to $60,500 for 2008.

Régime d'assurance maladie du Québec

The current contribution rate will remain unchanged for 2008. This rate is set at 4.26% of total payroll for certain public-sector employers and for companies with a total payroll of more than $5 million. For companies with a total payroll of less than $1 million, the rate is set at 2.70% of total payroll. For companies which have a total payroll of more than $1 million but less than $5 million, the rate is a function of total payroll and ranges from 2.70% to 4.26% of total payroll according to the following formula:
 
 

Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail

The contribution rate to the Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail is determined according to the type of industry and, if applicable, to the claims experience. The maximum earnings for the income replacement benefit will increase from $59,000 to $60,500 for 2008.

Commission des normes du travail

The current contribution rate will remain unchanged for 2008, and is set at 0.08% of earnings subject to contribution. The earnings subject to contribution will increase from $59,000 to $60,500 for 2008.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1 The SCP weekly indemnity must be at least equal to the benefits provided by the Employment Insurance.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les nouveaux paramètres des programmes de sécurité sociale pour l'année 2008

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 10 N. 16, décembre 2007

Comme à chaque année, il nous fait plaisir de vous communiquer les paramètres qui seront utilisés par les principaux programmes de sécurité sociale pour l'année 2008.

Régime de rentes du Québec et Régime de pensions du Canada

Le maximum des gains admissibles (MGA) sera de 44 900 $ pour l'année 2008, ce qui représente une hausse de 2,7 % par rapport au MGA de 43 700 $ pour l'année 2007. L'exemption de base est fixée à 3 500 $ depuis le 1er janvier 1998 et le taux de cotisation pour les employés et l'employeur demeurera à 4,95 % des gains cotisables en 2008, pour une cotisation annuelle maximale de 2 049,30 $. Finalement, la rente mensuelle maximale de retraite à 65 ans, calculée sur la base des MGA des cinq dernières années, s'établira à 884,58 $ pour l'année 2008.

Commission de l'assurance-emploi du Canada

Le 29 octobre dernier, la Commission de l'assurance-emploi du Canada confirmait une réduction de 0,07 $ par tranche de 100 $ de rémunération assurable du taux de cotisation des employés à compter du 1er janvier 2008, le réduisant ainsi de 1,46 $ à 1,39 $. Pour leur part, les employeurs québécois verront leur taux de cotisation passer de 2,04 $ à 1,95 $ par tranche de 100 $ de rémunération assurable des employés, soit 1,4 fois le taux des employés. Ces taux tiennent compte de l'existence du Régime québécois d'assurance parentale (RQAP) depuis le 1er janvier 2006.

Le taux de cotisation des employés et des employeurs hors Québec au régime fédéral d'assurance-emploi est respectivement réduit de 1,80 $ à 1,73 $ et de 2,52 $ à 2,42 $, par tranche de 100 $ de rémunération assurable. Le maximum de la rémunération assurable passera quant à lui de 40 000 $ à 41 100 $ pour l'année 2008.

Le taux de cotisation de l'employeur peut toutefois être plus bas pour les employeurs offrant un régime d'assurance salaire (RAS) enregistré auprès de la Commission de l'assurance-emploi. Il existe quatre catégories de RAS ayant chacun un taux distinct de réduction de la cotisation à l'assurance-emploi. Les quatre catégories se résument ainsi :

Catégorie 1 : RAS fondé sur l'accumulation de congés de maladie payés d'au moins une journée par mois et un nombre maximal de jours d'au moins 75 jours.

Catégorie 2 : RAS fondé sur l'accumulation de congés de maladie payés d'au moins une journée et 2/3 par mois et un nombre maximal de jours d'au moins 125 jours.

Catégorie 3 : RAS prévoyant des indemnités hebdomadaires1 pour au moins 15 semaines.

Catégorie 4 : RAS prévoyant des indemnités hebdomadaires1 pour au moins 52 semaines (cette réduction n'est disponible que pour les employeurs des secteurs public et parapublic).  

 

Régime québécois d'assurance parentale (RQAP)

Les taux de cotisation au RQAP pour l'année 2008 par tranche de 100 $ de rémunération assurable seront établis à 0,45 $ pour les employés, 0,63 $ pour les employeurs et 0,80 $ pour les travailleurs autonomes. La rémunération assurable passera de 59 000 $ à 60 500 $ pour l'année 2008.

Régime d'assurance maladie du Québec

Le taux de cotisation actuel demeurera inchangé pour l'année 2008. Ce taux est établi à 4,26 % de la masse salariale pour certaines entreprises du secteur public et pour les entreprises dont la masse salariale est supérieure à cinq millions de dollars. Pour les entreprises dont la masse salariale est inférieure à un million de dollars, le taux est établi à 2,70 % de la masse salariale. Enfin, pour les entreprises dont la masse salariale est comprise entre un million et cinq millions de dollars, le taux est établi en fonction de la masse salariale et varie de 2,70 % à 4,26 % de la masse salariale selon la formule suivante :

   

Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail

Le taux de cotisation à la Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail varie selon l'industrie et, le cas échéant, l'expérience de réclamations. Le revenu maximal pour l'indemnité de remplacement du revenu passera quant à lui de 59 000 $ à 60 500 $ en 2008.

Commission des normes du travail

Le taux de cotisation actuel demeurera inchangé pour l'année 2008, soit un taux de 0,08 % de la rémunération assujettie. La rémunération assujettie maximale passera de 59 000 $ à 60 500 $ en 2008.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1 Les indemnités hebdomadaires prévues par le RAS doivent être au moins égales aux prestations d'assurance-emploi.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6