Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

ACCOUNTING STANDARDS APPLICABLE TO EMPLOYEE FUTURE BENEFITS: WHAT QUEBEC-BASED COMPANIES LISTED ON THE S&P/TSX INDEX DO?

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 10 N. 14, November 2007

Several private sector companies will soon be finalizing their budgets for the upcoming fiscal year and preparing their financial statements for the current fiscal year. Included among the accompanying notes that should be prepared for these financial statements are those pertaining to costs for defined benefit (DB) pension plans and group insurance plans offered to retirees (other post-employment benefits).

The assumptions required to determine the accrued benefit obligation and the cost must be established by the company's management. To help companies select these assumptions, we have analyzed the annual reports of 25 Quebec-based companies listed on the S&P/TSX Index whose fiscal year ended between September 30, 2006 and March 31, 2007. All of these companies sponsored at least one DB pension plan and 19 of them offered at least one group insurance plan to their retired employees.

Our analysis is divided into three sections. The first section presents the assumptions used by the companies included in our analysis in percentile format. The charts present a comparison of the assumptions used for fiscal years ending in 2006 (between September 30, 2006 and March 31, 2007) and in 2005 (between September 30, 2005 and March 31, 2006). The second section summarizes the findings from these charts and additional results that could be obtained only through data analysis. The third and final section presents our comments with respect to some measures that could potentially impact future results.

Please note that this is the third year that we have conducted this analysis. We therefore invite you to consult Bulletin No. 14, Vol. 9, to review last year's results, findings and comments. However, given that the composition of the S&P/TSX Index varies regularly based on predefined criteria, the group of companies analyzed this year differs from that analyzed last year. The results presented on a comparable basis for 2005 may also differ from those presented last year.

1. Selection of assumptions

The following charts present the analysis results, in percentile format, for the key economic assumptions used for DB pension plans and other post-employment benefits
 

2.Findings

  • For DB pension plans, the median annual discount rate used at the end of 2006 was 5.25%, the same rate used at the end of 2005. As was the case at the end of 2005, close to 90% of the companies analyzed used an annual discount rate between 5.00% and 5.50% at the end of 2006. Thus there is little variance in this choice of assumption. The variance observed in this assumption may be explained in part by the demographic profile of the members of the analyzed companies and the relative weight of DB pension plans outside Canada (a different discount rate may be used for DB pension plans outside Canada).
  • The median annual expected long-term rate of return on DB pension plan assets was 7.15% for 2006, as compared to 7.25% for 2005. Close to one third of the companies analyzed reduced this assumption over the two observation years. This reduction followed the decline in the median rate by around 0.25% from 2004 to 2005. The companies gradually recognized that long-term rates of return should not be as high as those observed in the past few decades. It is also important to note that all of the companies that use an expected long-term rate of return higher than 7.50% have sizeable operations in the United States, where the rates used are typically higher.
  • 60% or more of DB pension plan assets was invested in equities at the end of 2006 for 40% of the companies analyzed. This proportion compares to 35% of companies at the end of 2005 and 15% at the end of 2004. This increase is due in part to the good returns on Canadian equities between 2004 and 2006.
  • Several companies sponsor DB pension plans and group insurance plans that offer salary-based benefits. These companies must establish an assumption related to the compensation growth rate. At the end of 2006, the median annual compensation growth rate was 3.50%, a rate identical to the median rates used at the end of 2005 and 2004.
  • For companies offering a group insurance plan to retired employees, the median discount rate was slightly higher than the rate used for DB pension plans. At the end of 2006, around 35% of the companies analyzed were using a discount rate that was higher than the rate disclosed for DB pension plans, which may be explained by the demographic profile of the members (they may not be the same) and the timing of benefits (incidence, inflation and use levels may differ). The discount rate for the remaining 65% of companies was the same as the rate for DB pension plans.
  • The trend rate for health care costs is the most important assumption for group insurance plans offered to retirees. Given the significant increases witnessed over the last few years, health costs are generally expected to rise at a higher level in the short term (initial period) and gradually fall to a lower level during the final period. At the end of 2006, around 65% of the companies analyzed had used an initial rate equal to or higher than 9.00%, a percentage similar to the one observed at the end of 2005 and 2004. The variability of the trend rate may be explained in part by the nature of the benefits (prescription drugs, hospitalization, dental care, etc.) and the experience of the plans.
  • The final median trend rate for health care costs was 5.00%, the same rate observed at the end of 2005 and 2004.

3.Comments  

Exposure draft withdrawn

At the end of 2006, around one third of the companies analyzed were using a measurement date different than the fiscal year end date. As permitted under Section 3461 of the CICA Handbook, they were using a measurement date within three months preceding the fiscal year end. Among other things, this provision is used by companies wishing to allocate more time to the preparation of notes to financial statements.

The same provisions exist in the United States under FAS standards. However, the adoption of FAS 158 in September 2006 abolished this provision for fiscal years ending after December 15, 2008. As a result of this initiative, at the end of March 2007, the CICA issued an exposure draft modeled after FAS 158 and prescribing the application of provisions for all fiscal years ending on or after December 31, 2008.

The exposure draft was, however, withdrawn in August 2007. As a result, Canadian companies are not forced to disclose their financial statements on a measurement date corresponding to their fiscal year end date.

Funded status vs. accrued benefit liability

Pension plans for around 90% of the companies analyzed were in a deficit position at the end of 2006. However, an accrued benefit asset as opposed to an accrued benefit liability was reported on the balance sheet for about 70% of these companies. For the remaining companies, the accrued benefit liability was lower than the deficit at the end of 2006. The difference is due in large part to the substantial actuarial losses accumulated (representing around 15% of the accrued benefit obligations at the end of 2006) that will be recognized in part (only the portion exceeding the 10% corridor) over the next 15 years or so.

In the United States, the adoption of FAS 158 requires companies to recognize, for fiscal years ending after December 15, 2006, the funded status of pension plans and other retirement benefits in their balance sheet. The exposure draft issued by the CICA in late March 2007 and withdrawn in August 2007, provided for an application similar to FAS 158 for fiscal years ending on or after December 31, 2007.

One of the reasons behind the withdrawal of the exposure draft is the project targeting the convergence of Canadian standards toward international standards (IAS 19), effective on or after January 1, 2011. The introduction of the FAS standard would have created two sets of modifications over a short period of time.

With the exposure draft withdrawn in August 2007, for the time being, Canadian companies are not forced to present the funded status of their pension plans and other retirement benefits in their respective balance sheets. However, depending on the approach adopted to harmonize Canadian standards with international standards, some companies may be obligated to recognize a larger portion of actuarial losses accumulated and past service costs in their balance sheet. This could have a negative impact on the balance sheets of Canadian companies in the coming years.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs: que font les entreprises québécoises inscrites à l'indice S&P/TSX?

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 10 N. 14, novembre 2007

Plusieurs entreprises du secteur privé finaliseront bientôt leurs budgets pour la prochaine année fiscale et prépareront leurs états financiers pour l'année fiscale en cours. Parmi les notes complémentaires devant être préparées pour ces états financiers se trouve celle relative aux coûts constatés pour les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées (régimes PD) et pour les régimes d'assurance collective offerts aux retraités (autres avantages sociaux). 

Les hypothèses requises pour déterminer l'obligation au titre des prestations constituées et le coût constaté doivent être établies par la direction de l'entreprise. Ainsi, afin d'aider les entreprises à sélectionner ces hypothèses, nous avons analysé les rapports annuels de 25 entreprises québécoises faisant partie de l'indice S&P/TSX et dont l'exercice financier se terminait entre le 30 septembre 2006 et le 31 mars 2007. Toutes ces entreprises parrainaient au moins un régime PD et 19 d'entre elles offraient au moins un régime d'assurance collective à leurs retraités. 

Notre analyse est divisée en trois parties. La première partie illustre, en rang centile, les hypothèses utilisées par les entreprises incluses dans notre analyse. Les tableaux permettent de comparer les hypothèses utilisées pour les exercices se terminant à la fin de 2006 (entre le 30 septembre 2006 et le 31 mars 2007) et à la fin de 2005 (entre le 30 septembre 2005 et le 31 mars 2006). La deuxième partie résume les constats tirés de ces tableaux et en ajoute certains qui ne peuvent être déduits que par l'analyse des données. Finalement, la troisième partie de notre analyse présente nos commentaires sur certaines mesures qui pourraient affecter les résultats futurs. 

Veuillez noter que cette analyse est effectuée pour une troisième année. Nous vous invitons donc à consulter le Communiqué no. 14, vol. 9, pour connaître les résultats, les constats et les commentaires de l'an dernier. Cependant, comme la composition de l'indice S&P/TSX varie régulièrement selon des critères préétablis, le groupe de compagnies de l'analyse de cette année est différent de celui de l'année dernière et, par conséquent, les résultat présentés sur base comparative pour l'année 2005 peuvent être différents de ceux présentés l'an dernier. 

1. Sélection des hypothèses 

Les tableaux suivants illustrent, en rang centile, les hypothèses économiques les plus importantes utilisées par les entreprises analysées pour leurs régimes PD et les autres avantages sociaux. 

  

2. Constats 

  • Pour les régimes PD, le taux annuel d'actualisation médian utilisé à la fin de 2006 était le même que celui utilisé à la fin de 2005, soit 5,25 %. Comme à la fin de 2005, près de 90 % des entreprises analysées ont utilisé, à la fin de 2006, un taux annuel d'actualisation variant entre 5,00 % et 5,50 %. Il y a donc peu de variance dans le choix de cette hypothèse. L'écart observé dans cette hypothèse peut être expliqué, entre autres, par le profil démographique des participants et le poids des régimes PD hors Canada (un taux d'actualisation différent peut être utilisé pour ces derniers).
  • Le taux annuel médian de rendement espéré à long terme sur les actifs des régimes PD était de 7,15 % au cours de l’année 2006 en comparaison à 7,25 % au cours de l’année 2005. Près du tiers des entreprises ont revu à la baisse cette hypothèse entre les deux années d’observation. Cette nouvelle baisse fait suite à une diminution précédente du taux médian d’environ 0,25 %, laquelle est survenue entre les années 2004 et 2005. Les entreprises ont donc graduellement reconnu que les rendements à long terme ne devraient pas être aussi importants que ceux qui ont été observés au cours des dernières décennies. Il est également utile de mentionner que les entreprises qui utilisent un taux de rendement espéré à long terme supérieur à 7,50 % ont toutes d’importantes opérations aux États-Unis, où les taux utilisés sont généralement plus élevés.
  • La proportion des actifs des régimes PD investis en actions représentait 60 % ou plus des actifs de ces régimes à la fin de l'année 2006 et ce, pour 40 % des entreprises observées. Cette statistique se compare à une proportion observée de 35 % des entreprises à la fin de l'année 2005 et de 15 % à la fin de l'année 2004. Cette augmentation est due en partie aux bons rendements obtenus sur les actions canadiennes au cours des années 2004 à 2006.
  • Plusieurs entreprises parrainent des régimes PD et des régimes d'assurance collective offrant des prestations basées sur le salaire. Ces dernières doivent ainsi établir une hypothèse de taux de croissance de la rémunération. Le taux annuel médian de croissance de la rémunération était de 3,50 % à la fin de 2006, soit un taux identique aux taux médians utilisés à la fin des années 2005 et 2004.
  • Pour les entreprises offrant un régime d'assurance collective à ses retraités, le taux d'actualisation médian était légèrement supérieur à celui utilisé pour les régimes PD. En effet, environ 35 % des entreprises analysées utilisaient, à la fin de 2006, un taux d'actualisation supérieur à celui divulgué pour les régimes PD. Ceci peut s'expliquer par le profil démographique des participants (il ne s'agit pas nécessairement des mêmes participants) et l'échelonnement des prestations (l'incidence, l'inflation et l'utilisation des protections peuvent être différentes). Pour les entreprises faisant partie du 65 %, restant le taux d'actualisation était le même que pour les régimes PD.
  • Le taux de croissance des coûts des soins de santé est l'hypothèse la plus importante eu égard aux régimes d'assurance collective offerts aux retraités. Compte tenu des hausses majeures observées au cours des dernières années, les coûts des soins de santé augmenteront vraisemblablement à un taux plus élevé à court terme (période initiale), puis éventuellement augmenter à un taux moins élevé durant la période ultime. Environ, 65 % ,des entreprises analysées utilisaient, à la fin de 2006, un taux initial supérieur ou égal à 9,00 %, soit un pourcentage similaire à celui observé à la fin des années 2005 et 2004. La variabilité du taux d'une entreprise à l'autre peut être expliquée, entre autres, par la nature des prestations (médicaments, hospitalisation, soins dentaires, etc.) et l'expérience des régimes.
  • Le taux annuel médian de croissance des coûts des soins de santé était, dans sa portion ultime, de 5,00 %, soit le même qu'à la fin des années 2005 et 2004.

 3. Commentaires 

Exposé-sondage retiré 

Environ le tiers des entreprises analysées utilisaient, à la fin de l'année 2006, une date de mesure différente de  la date de fin d'année financière; elles utilisaient, tel que permis par le Chapitre 3461 du Manuel de l'ICCA, une date de mesure se situant à l'intérieur d'une période de trois mois précédant la fin de l'année financière. Cette disposition est, entre autres, utilisée par les entreprises désirant allouer plus de temps à la préparation des notes aux états financiers 

Aux États-Unis, les mêmes dispositions sur la date de mesure existent en vertu des normes FAS. Cependant, l'adoption de la nouvelle norme FAS 158 en septembre 2006 a abolit cette disposition pour les exercices financiers se terminant après le 15 décembre 2008. Dans la foulée de la norme FAS 158, l'ICCA a émis, à la fin du mois de mars 2007, un exposé-sondage s'inspirant de la norme FAS 158 et prévoyant une application pour les exercices financiers se terminant à compter du 31 décembre 2008. 

L'exposé-sondage a toutefois été retiré en août 2007. Ainsi, les entreprises canadiennes ne seront pas contraintes de divulguer leurs états financiers en utilisant une date de mesure correspondant à la date de fin de leur année financière.

Position financière vs passif au titre des prestations constituées 

Pour environ 90 % des entreprises analysées, la position financière des régimes de retraite présentait un déficit à la fin de l'année 2006. Par contre, pour environ 70 % d'entre elles, un actif plutôt qu'un passif au titre des prestations constituées était présenté à leur bilan. Pour les autres entreprises, le passif au titre des prestations constituées était inférieur au déficit à la fin de l'année 2006. La différence provient notamment des énormes pertes actuarielles accumulées (elles représentaient environ 15 % de l'obligation au titre des prestations constituées à la fin de l'année 2006) qui seront en partie (seule la partie en excédent du corridor de 10 %) reconnues au cours des quelques 15 prochaines années

Aux États-Unis, l'adoption de la nouvelle norme FAS 158 exige que les entreprises reconnaissent, pour les exercices financiers finissant après le 15 décembre 2006, la position financière des régimes de retraite et des autres avantages sociaux à leur bilan. L'exposé-sondage émis par l'ICCA à la fin du mois de mars 2007, mais retiré en août 2007, prévoyait une application similaire à la norme FAS 158 pour les exercices financiers se terminant à compter du 31 décembre 2007. 

L'une des raisons du retrait de l'exposé-sondage provient du projet de convergence des normes canadiennes vers les normes internationales (IAS 19) pour les exercices financiers débutant le 1er janvier 2011 ou après. L'introduction de la norme FAS aurait créé deux séries de modifications au cours d'une courte période de temps. 

L'exposé-sondage ayant été retiré en août 2007, les entreprises canadiennes ne seront pour l'instant pas contraintes de présenter la position financière de leurs régimes de retraite et de leurs autres avantages sociaux à leurs bilans respectifs. Par contre, selon l'approche utilisée pour harmoniser les normes canadiennes aux normes internationales, certaines entreprises pourraient avoir à reconnaître une plus grande partie des pertes actuarielles accumulées et des coûts des services passés à leur bilan. Ainsi, le bilan des entreprises canadiennes pourrait se détériorer au cours des prochaines années. 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6