Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The rates of Health Care Professionals in 2007

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 10 N. 12, October 2007

During the summer, Normandin Beaudry conducted its 10th annual survey of fees charged by health care professionals in Quebec. Since health care services provided by these specialists are generally covered by group insurance plans, we believe that the results of our survey will be of great interest to you. The average fees per visit could be useful in establishing the maximum amounts payable under your group insurance plans. Moreover, the average fee per visit increase compared to that of 2006 allows you to validate the inflation assumption used by your insurer in renewing your health premium rates.

Methodology

We first consulted professional associations for each specialty. These associations recommend price levels but do not set mandatory fee schedules. A number of associations, however, compile data based on the fee schedules of their members. These recommendations and statistics are presented on the table below.

We surveyed a sample of private clinics in the Montreal, Quebec City and Outaouais areas. Our results are presented on an average fee per visit basis rather than on an hourly rate basis since group insurance plans usually establish their maximum reimbursements on a per visit basis. Also, please note that a number of specialists charge additional fees for the initial assessment. These additional fees are not included in our survey results.

Highlights  

  • Overall, we observed an average fee increase of approximately 3% in the Montreal area and of 6% in the Quebec City and Outaouais areas since the summer of 2006, which represents a $5 to $10 increase per visit.
  • The results obtained show that average fees are similar or lower in Quebec City than in Montreal, with the exception of fees charged by dietitians and occupational therapists. We observed a higher fee increase for dietitians in Quebec City. This is explained by a significant increase in the average duration of the visit in this region, compared to what we observed in 2006 and compared to the average visit duration in other areas. Moreover, the average fees provided by the Quebec Professional Association of Dietitians is $70 for a one-hour consultation, but according to the information given by private clinics, the duration of a consultation is usually shorter.
  • The average fees per visit in Outaouais are similar or slightly lower than those observed in the Montreal area. However, we observed an exception for massage therapists, dietitians and psychologists, whose average rates are higher than those for the Montreal area.
  • We noticed an important fees decrease for occupational therapists in the Outaouais area. This is explained by a decrease in the average duration of the visit in this region and by the fact that specialized sessions for children were not considered in our 2007 survey.

Comparative Table of Average Fees per Visit (Summer 2007)


SpecialtyProfessionnal
Associations
Private Clinics
   
   MontrealQuebecOutaouais

  • Acupuncturist
$40 to $60 $50 $45 $50
  • Audiologist and
    Speech Therapist
$90 to $100 $85 $85 $85
  • Chiropractor
$25 to $45 $40 $35 $35
  • Dietitian
$70 $35 $65 $40
  • Occupational
    Therapist
$60 to $100 $55 $65 $50
  • Homeopath
$60 to $100 $65 $50 $65
  • Masseur and
    Massage
    Therapist
$50 to $80 $60 $55 $70
  • Naturopath
$60 to $90 $70 $60 $70
  • Osteopath
$50 to $100 $75 $65 $70
  • Physiotherapist
n/a $55 $50 $45
  • Podiatrist
$50 to $80 $65 $45 n/a (1)
  • Psychologist
$70 to $125 $90 $80 $100


(1) The results for podiatrists in the Outaouais area are not presented since the number of specialists working in private clinics is too limited.

The schedules of reasonable and customary fees used by insurers for claims handling in Quebec are slightly higher than the average expenses per visit observed for the surveyed specialists.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les tarifs des spécialistes de la santé en 2007

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 10 N. 12, octobre 2007

Au cours de l’été, Normandin Beaudry a mené sa 10e enquête annuelle sur les tarifs exigés par les spécialistes de la santé au Québec. Les soins donnés par ces spécialistes étant généralement couverts par les régimes d’assurance collective, les résultats de notre sondage sauront sûrement vous intéresser. L’information sur les frais moyens par visite peut notamment être utile dans l’établissement des plafonds de remboursement de vos régimes d’assurance collective. De la même manière, l’augmentation moyenne des frais par visite comparativement à ceux de 2006 peut vous permettre de valider les hypothèses d’inflation utilisées par votre assureur pour le renouvellement de vos taux de prime d’assurance maladie.

Méthodologie

Nous avons d’abord consulté les associations professionnelles de chaque spécialité. Ces associations font des suggestions de tarifs à appliquer, mais ne fixent pas de tarifs obligatoires. Certaines associations compilent toutefois des statistiques à partir de la grille de tarifs de leurs membres. Le tableau de la page suivante présente ces informations.

Nous avons mené notre enquête auprès d’un échantillon de cliniques privées des régions de Montréal, de Québec et de l’Outaouais. Nous présentons les tarifs moyens par visite plutôt que les tarifs horaires afin de s’aligner avec les dispositions généralement applicables dans les régimes d’assurance collective. Fait à noter, plusieurs spécialistes exigent des frais supplémentaires pour l’ouverture du dossier et l’évaluation lors de la première visite. Ces coûts ne sont pas inclus dans les résultats de notre enquête.


Faits saillants

  • Comparativement aux tarifs en vigueur à l’été 2006, nous observons une augmentation moyenne des tarifs d’environ 3 % à Montréal et de 6 % à Québec et en Outaouais, ce qui représente une hausse de 5 $ à 10 $ par visite.
  • Les résultats obtenus révèlent des tarifs moyens similaires ou moins élevés à Québec qu’à Montréal, sauf pour les diététistes et les ergothérapeutes. Nous avons constaté une augmentation importante du tarif par visite des diététistes dans la région de Québec. Ceci s’explique par une augmentation significative de la durée moyenne de la visite dans cette région, comparativement à ce qu’on a pu observer au cours de l’été 2006 et comparativement à la durée moyenne observée dans les autres régions. De plus, le tarif moyen fourni par l’Ordre professionnel des diététistes du Québec est de 70 $ pour une consultation d’une heure. Toutefois, selon ce qui nous a été confirmé par les cliniques privées, la durée des rencontres est généralement plus courte.
  • En Outaouais, les tarifs sont similaires ou légèrement inférieurs à ceux observés dans la région de Montréal, à l’exception des massothérapeutes, des diététistes et des psychologues.
  • Nous avons noté une baisse importante du tarif par visite pour une consultation en ergothérapie dans la région de l’Outaouais. Cette diminution est due à une réduction de la durée moyenne de la visite dans cette région et au fait que nous n’avons pas considéré l’ergothérapie spécialisée pour les enfants dans notre analyse.

 

Tableau comparatif des tarifs moyens par visite à l’été 2007


SpécialistesAssociations
professionnelles
Cliniques privées
   
   MontréalQuébecOutaouais

  • Acupuncteur
40 $ à 60 $50 $45 $50 $
  • Audiologiste et
    orthophoniste
90 $ à 100 $85 $85 $85 $
  • Chiropraticien
25 $ à 45 $40 $35 $35 $
  • Diététiste
70 $35 $65 $40 $
  • Ergothérapeute
60 $ à 100 $55 $65 $50 $
  • Homéopathe
60 $ à 100 $65 $50 $65 $
  • Masseur et
    massothérapeute
50 $ à 80 $60 $55 $70 $
  • Naturopathe
60 $ à 90 $70 $60 $70 $
  • Ostéopathe
50 $ à 100 $75 $65 $70 $
  • Physiothérapeute
n. d.55 $50 $45 $
  • Podiatre
50 $ à 80 $65 $45 $ n. d.(1)
  • Psychologue
70 $ à 125 $90 $80 $100 $

(1) Les résultats pour les podiatres de l’Outaouais ne sont pas présentés puisque le nombre de spécialistes oeuvrant en clinique privée y est trop limité.

(1) Les résultats pour les podiatres de l’Outaouais ne sont pas présentés puisque le nombre de spécialistes oeuvrant en clinique privée y est trop limité. 
(1) Les résultats pour les podiatres de l’Outaouais ne sont pas présentés puisque le nombre de spécialistes oeuvrant en clinique privée y est trop limité.

Les barèmes des frais raisonnables et d’ordre courant utilisés par les assureurs pour le traitement des demandes de remboursement au Québec sont légèrement supérieurs aux frais moyens par visite exigés par les spécialistes que nous avons sondés.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6