Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The impact of mergers and acquisitions on the S&P/TSX Composite Index

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 10 N. 11, August 2007

Over the last few years, a growing number of Canadian companies have undergone mergers or acquisitions. This trend recently culminated with the acquisitions of BCE by Teachers and Alcan by Rio Tinto, both slated for completion within the next six months. These mergers and acquisitions have changed the content of the Canadian stock market and, in turn, its benchmark, the S&P/TSX Composite Index.

The global economy was and continues to be marked by the strong growth of emerging countries, including China and India, which supports a demand for raw materials. In addition, in recent years, central banks in industrialized countries have maintained relatively low interest rates in spite of recent increases. These conditions promote the financial health of businesses and the creation of significant liquidity.

This context set the stage for the series of mergers and acquisitions that have permeated the Canadian stock market in the last few quarters. The acquirers are primarily foreign companies and private equity funds. This wave drove up Canadian stock market prices, causing acquiring companies to offer premiums for stocks in companies targeted by the transactions. According to some analysts, merger and acquisition activities accounted for more than 40% of the increase in the S&P/TSX Composite Index for the one year period ending on May 31, 2007.

This new reality also decreased the number of Canadian large cap stocks. Once all of the transactions have been completed (as presented in the table below), eleven of the one hundred largest companies in terms of market capitalization within the S&P/TSX Composite Index will have been removed from the Canadian market. 

MAIN TAKEOVERS IN RECENT MONTHS

Acquiring companyTarget CompanySectorIndex
Rank(*)
Index
Weighting(*)

Royal dutch shellShell Canada Energy   9 3.2%
Teachers BCE Telecomm. 19 2.3%
Rio Tinto Alcan Materials 22 2.0%
Xstrata Falconbridge Materials 26 1.5%
CVRD Inco Materials 38 1.1%
Barrick GoldPlacer Dome Materials 40 1.0%
Advanced Micro DevicesATI Technologies Technology 53 0.4%
Kinder Morgan Terasen Energy 69 0.3%
Marathon OilWestern Oil Sand Energy 80 0.3%
Svendkt Stal AB Ipsco Materials 83 0.2%
Arcelor Dofasco Materials 89 0.2%

(*)Index market capitalization data for May 2006.

 The impact of the takeovers of these eleven companies on the S&P/TSX Composite Index is estimated at 12.5%. Only the transaction involving Barrick Gold and Placer Dome remains capitalized on the Canadian market.

The decreasing number of available large cap stocks is negatively impacting the importance of the Canadian market globally, as Canadian large cap stocks account for less than 3% of global market capitalization. Although the majority of transactions target the Energy and Materials sectors, the S&P/TSX Composite Index remains very concentrated in three sectors: Energy, Materials and Financial Services. These three sectors accounted for 75% of the S&P/TSX Composite Index as at June 30, 2007.

A number of factors are prompting institutional investors to support increased foreign diversification of assets: the decrease in the number of large cap stocks, the composite index’s concentration in three key sectors, the Canadian dollar’s strength in recent years and the excellent returns generated by the Canadian market.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

L'impact des fusions et acquisitions sur l'indice composé S&P/TSX

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 10 N. 11, août 2007

Au cours des dernières années, un nombre grandissant de sociétés canadiennes ont fait l’objet de fusions ou acquisitions. Cette tendance a culminé récemment avec les acquisitions de BCE et Alcan, par Teachers et Rio Tinto respectivement, dont les transactions devraient être complétées au cours des six prochains mois. Les fusions et acquisitions ont eu pour effet de modifier le contenu du marché boursier canadien et par le fait même, son indice de référence, l’indice composé S&P/TSX.

Le contexte économique mondial a été et continu en 2007 d’être marqué par la forte croissance de pays émergents, tels la Chine et l’Inde, ce qui soutient une forte demande en matières premières. De plus, lors des dernières années, les banques centrales des pays industrialisés ont maintenu les taux d’intérêt à un niveau relativement bas malgré leurs récentes hausses. Ces conditions favorisent une bonne santé financière des entreprises et la création d’importantes liquidités.

Ce contexte a mis la table à la série de fusions et acquisitions que connaît le marché boursier canadien depuis quelques trimestres. Les acquéreurs sont principalement des compagnies étrangères et des fonds de capital privé. Cette vague a pour effet d’alimenter à la hausse les cours boursiers canadiens, les acquéreurs offrant une prime pour les titres des compagnies ciblées par les transactions. Selon certains analystes, plus de 40 % de la hausse de l’indice composé S&P/TSX au cours de la période d’un an se terminant au 31 mai 2007 est attribuable aux activités de fusions et acquisitions.

Cette nouvelle réalité a également pour conséquence de diminuer le nombre de titres canadiens à forte capitalisation. Lorsque toutes les transactions seront complétées, tel qu’indiqué dans le tableau ci-dessous, onze sociétés parmi les cent plus grandes en terme de capitalisation boursière au sein de l’indice composé S&P/TSX auront été retirées du marché canadien.

 

PRINCIPALES PRISES DE CONTRÔLE LORS DES DERNIERS MOIS

AcquéreurCibleSecteurRang dans
l'indice(*)
Poids dans
l'indice(*)

Royal dutch shellShell Canada Énergie   93,2 %
Teachers BCE Télécomm. 192,3 %
Rio Tinto Alcan Matériaux 222,0 %
Xstrata Falconbridge Matériaux 261,5 %
CVRD Inco Matériaux 381,1 %
Barrick GoldPlacer Dome Matériaux 401,0 %
Advanced Micro DevicesATI Technologies Technologie 530,4 %
Kinder Morgan Terasen Énergie 690,3 %
Marathon OilWestern Oil Sand Énergie 800,3 %
Svendkt Stal AB Ipsco Matériaux 830,2 %
Arcelor Dofasco Matériaux 890,2 %

 

(*)Données de la capitalisation boursière de l’indice en date de mai 2006.

L’impact de la prise de contrôle de ces onze sociétés est estimé à 12,5 % sur l’indice composé S&P/TSX, seule la transaction impliquant Barrick Gold et Placer Dome demeure capitalisée sur le marché canadien.

Le nombre décroissant de titres à forte capitalisation disponibles réduit l’importance du marché canadien à l’échelle mondiale, représentant moins de 3 % de la capitalisation boursière mondiale. Malgré que la plupart des transactions visent les secteurs de l’Énergie et des Matériaux, l’indice composé S&P/TSX demeure très concentré dans trois secteurs, soit ceux de l’Énergie, des Matériaux et des Services financiers. À eux seuls, ces trois secteurs comptaient pour 75 % de l’indice composé S&P/TSX en date du 30 juin 2007.

En conclusion, de nombreux facteurs incitent les investissements institutionnels à préconiser une diversification accrue des actifs à l’étranger : la diminution du nombre de titres à grande capitalisation, la concentration de l’indice de référence au sein de trois importants secteurs, la forte appréciation du dollar canadien au cours des dernières années de même que les excellents rendements générés par le marché canadien.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6