Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Investment fund performance since the start of 2007

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 10 N. 10, August 2007

We are pleased to present our mid-year review analyzing the performance as at June 30, 2007, of managers comprising the Normandin Beaudry Investment Funds Universe. The goal of this review is to keep you up-to-date on the recent performance of financial markets and institutional managers. You will receive this review each year after the end of the first half year.

All managers included in the Normandin Beaudry Universe must adopt an active portfolio management approach, have a performance history of at least three years and manage a minimum of 300 million dollars in assets. All performance statistics are presented before management fees.

The median return for balanced funds for the first half of 2007 was 2.82% and first quartile performance for these funds showed a return of more than 3.56%. Performances for Canadian asset managers, which account for the main components of balanced funds, are presented in the table below.

 

CANADIAN ASSET PERFORMANCE - FROM JANUARY 1, 2007 TO JUNE 30, 2007

CategoryCanadian bondsCanadian stocks
(large cap)
Canadian stocks
(small cap)

Number of funds 50 63 28
BenchmarkSC-UniverseS&P/TSXNesbitt Burns
Index rank -0.78% 9.04% 12.69%
Index percentile rank 43 67 64

Median      
Return -0.84% 9.81% 14.17%
Added value -0.06% 0.77% 1.48%

First quartile      
Return -0.63% 10.71% 15.33%
Added value 0.15% 1.67% 2.64%


 Interest rates for Canadian bonds underwent similar movements to those for the same period last year; i.e. rates rose in the first half-year and the bond market became more volatile. A greater median added value would have been expected; however, the medium return was less than 0.06% in comparison with the benchmark. The finding is similar for a first quartile performance, with a low added value of 0.15% for the same period.

In comparison with the benchmark, large cap Canadian stocks had a median added value of 0.77% in the first half year. This performance can be explained by and large by an overweighting of BCE and Alcan in the portfolios of institutional mangers. We can also note the strong added value of the first quartile manager, beating returns posted by the S&P/TSX index by more than 1.6%.

After several quarters of relatively poor performance owing to strong returns in the Materials sector on Canadian small cap stocks, managers performed well, posting a median added value of 1.48% in the first half of 2007. This performance is explained in part by the underweighting of the Materials sector, an underweighting historically observed in managers’ performance. Also, the first quartile manager added more than 2.6% in comparison with Nesbitt Burns.

As regards foreign assets, the main indexes in local currencies have performed well since the beginning of the year, as shown in the table below. These performances were, however, mitigated by the strength gained by the canadian dollar in relation to the most important currencies (pound sterling, euro, yen, us dollar, etc.) in the second quarter of 2007.

 

FOREIGN ASSET PERFORMANCE - JANUARY 1 TO JUNE 30, 2007

CategoryUS stocksInternational stocksGlobal stocks

Number of funds 71 64 50
BenchmarkS&P 500MSCI EAFEMSCI World
Index performance
(Canadian dollars)
-2.39% 1.38% -0.09%

Index percentile rank 55 54 52

Index performance
(local currency)
6.96% 9.80% 8.50%

Median      
Return -2.24% 1.57% -0.04%
Added value 0.15% 0.19% 0.05%

First quartile      
Return -0.88% 3.03% 1.43%
Added value 1.51% 1.65% 1.52%


The median returns for US stocks, as well as for international and global stocks were similar to those posted by their respective reference markets for the first six monthsof the year. The first quartile manager’s performance (added value of more than 1.5%) was similar for these three asset categories for this same period.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

La performance des fonds de placement depuis le début de l'année 2007

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol, 10 N. 10, août 2007

C’est avec plaisir que nous vous présentons notre revue semestrielle analysant la performance au 30 juin 2007 des gestionnaires composant l’Univers de fonds de placement Normandin Beaudry. Cette revue sera acheminée à chaque année suivant la fin du premier semestre dans l’intention de vous informer sur les récentes performances des marchés financiers et des gestionnaires institutionnels.

Tous les gestionnaires inclus dans l’Univers de Normandin Beaudry doivent avoir une approche de gestion active de leur portefeuille, un historique de rendement d’au moins 3 ans ainsi qu’un minimum d’actifs sous gestion de 300 millions de dollars. Mentionnons également que tous les rendements sont présentés avant les frais de gestion.

Le rendement médian d’un fonds équilibré lors du premier semestre de 2007 a été de 2,82 % et une performance de premier quartile représente un rendement supérieur à 3,56 %. La performance des gestionnaires d’actifs canadiens, qui représentent les composantes principales des fonds équilibrés, est présentée dans le tableau ci-dessous.

 

PERFORMANCE DES ACTIFS CANADIENS - DU 1ER JANVIER 2007 AU 30 JUIN 2007

CatégorieObligations
canadiennes
Actions canadiennes
(grande capitalisation)
Actions canadiennes
(petite capitalisation)

Nombre de fonds 50 63 28
Indice de référenceSC-UniversS&P/TSXNesbitt Burns
Rendement de l’indice-0,78 %9,04 %12,69 %
Rang centile de l’indice 43 67 64

Médiane      
Rendement-0,84 %9,81 %14,17 %
Valeur ajoutée-0,06 %0,77 %1,48 %

Premier quartile      
Rendement-0,63 %10,71 %15,33 %
Valeur ajoutée0,15 %1,67 %2,64 %

 Pour les obligations canadiennes, le contexte de taux d’intérêt est similaire à celui de l’année dernière à la même période. Ainsi, les taux d’intérêt ont augmenté lors du premier semestre et la volatilité s’est accrue sur le marché obligataire. On aurait pu s’attendre à une valeur ajoutée médiane plus importante, mais le rendement médian a été inférieur de 0,06 % par rapport à l’indice de référence. Le constat est similaire pour une performance de premier quartile, soit une faible valeur ajoutée de 0,15 % pour la même période.

Pour les actions canadiennes de grande capitalisation, on observe que la valeur ajoutée médiane a été de 0,77 % lors du premier semestre, par rapport à son indice de référence. Cette performance est généralement expliquée par une surpondération de BCE et Alcan au sein du portefeuille des gestionnaires institutionnels. De plus, on peut noter la forte valeur ajoutée du gestionnaire de premier quartile avec plus de 1,6 % par rapport au S&P/TSX.

Après plusieurs trimestres de performances plus difficiles en raison de forts rendements dans le secteur des Matériaux, en actions canadiennes de petite capitalisation, les gestionnaires ont bien performé avec une médiane de valeur ajoutée de 1,48 % lors du premier semestre de 2007. Cette performance est en partie expliquée par une sous-pondération du secteur des Matériaux, sous-pondération historiquement observable chez les gestionnaires. On constate également que le gestionnaire de premier quartile a ajouté plus de 2,6 % par rapport au Nesbitt Burns.

Pour les actifs étrangers, soulignons la bonne performance des principaux indices en devises locales depuis le début de l’année, tel qu’indiqué dans le tableau ci-dessous. Il est à noter que ces performances ont été atténuées par la forte appréciation du dollar canadien face aux plus importantes devises, telles la livre sterling, l’Euro, le Yen et le dollar américain, lors du second trimestre de 2007.

 

PERFORMANCE DES ACTIFS ÉTRANGERS - DU 1ER JANVIER 2007 AU 30 JUIN 2007

CatégorieActions
américaines
Actions
internationales
Actions
mondiales

Nombre de fonds 71 64 50
Indice de référenceS&P 500MSCI EAFOMSCI Monde
Rendement de l’indice
(en dollars canadiens)
-2,39 %1,38 %-0,09 %

Rang centile de l’indice 55 54 52

Rendement de l’indice
(en devises locales)
6,96 %9,80 %8,50 %

Médiane      
Rendement-2,24 %1,57 %-0,04 %
Valeur ajoutée0,15 %0,19 %0,05 %

Premier quartile      
Rendement-0,88 %3,03 %1,43 %
Valeur ajoutée1,51 %1,65 %1,52 %

 

Autant du côté des actions américaines que des actions internationales et mondiales, le rendement médian a été similaire à son indice de référence lors des six premiers mois de l’année. En ce qui a trait au gestionnaire de premier quartile, la performance obtenue est semblable pour les trois catégories d’actifs, soit une valeur ajoutée supérieure à 1,5 % lors du premier semestre.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6