Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

2007 Bulletins

NB Bulletin Vol. 10 N. 16, December 2007
The 2008 Social Security Programs Parameters

The Year's Maximum Pensionable Earnings (YMPE) for 2008 will be $44,900, an increase of 2.7% over the 2007 YMPE ($43,700). The basic exemption remains at the current level of $3,500, which is the level applicable since January 1st, 1998. Employee and employer contribution rates will remain at 4.95% of contributory earnings in 2008. The annual maximum contribution is $2,049.30. The maximum monthly retirement pension at age 65 is set at $884.58 for 2008, based on the average YMPE over the last five years.
 

NB Bulletin Vol. 10 N. 15, December 2007
RAMQ interpretation of amendments to the Act respecting prescription drug insurance

Our March bulletin discussed the new interpretation by the Régie de l'assurance maladie du Québec (RAMQ) on application of the Act respecting prescription drug insurance (the Act) to drugs not on the list of medications covered by the RAMQ. According to the RAMQ, at that time, the Act required private group insurance plans covering such drugs to offer reimbursement conditions at least as generous as those provided under the Act for listed drugs. This interpretation affected calculations of out-of-pocket maximums for plan members, among other things.
 

NB Bulletin Vol. 10 N. 14, November 2007
ACCOUNTING STANDARDS APPLICABLE TO EMPLOYEE FUTURE BENEFITS: WHAT QUEBEC-BASED COMPANIES LISTED ON THE S&P/TSX INDEX DO?

Several private sector companies will soon be finalizing their budgets for the upcoming fiscal year and preparing their financial statements for the current fiscal year. Included among the accompanying notes that should be prepared for these financial statements are those pertaining to costs for defined benefit (DB) pension plans and group insurance plans offered to retirees (other post-employment benefits). 

NB Bulletin Vol. 10 N. 13, October 2007
Scotia Capital indices renamed DEX

On October 22, TSX Group's subsidiary, PC-Bond, announced that the Scotia Capital family of fixed income indices will be renamed to become the DEX fixed income indices. The goal of this change is to reflect the transition from a system where pricing is determined by a single dealer to one where pricing is determined by multiple dealers.

NB Bulletin Vol. 10 N. 12, October 2007
The rates of Health Care Professionals in 2007

During the summer, Normandin Beaudry conducted its 10th annual survey of fees charged by health care professionals in Quebec. Since health care services provided by these specialists are generally covered by group insurance plans, we believe that the results of our survey will be of great interest to you. The average fees per visit could be useful in establishing the maximum amounts payable under your group insurance plans. Moreover, the average fee per visit increase compared to that of 2006 allows you to validate the inflation assumption used by your insurer in renewing your health premium rates.

NB Bulletin Vol. 10 N. 11, August 2007
The impact of mergers and acquisitions on the S&P/TSX Composite Index

Over the last few years, a growing number of Canadian companies have undergone mergers or acquisitions. This trend recently culminated with the acquisitions of BCE by Teachers and Alcan by Rio Tinto, both slated for completion within the next six months. These mergers and acquisitions have changed the content of the Canadian stock market and, in turn, its benchmark, the S&P/TSX Composite Index.

NB Bulletin Vol. 10 N. 10, August 2007
Investment fund performance since the start of 2007

We are pleased to present our mid-year review analyzing the performance as at June 30, 2007, of managers comprising the Normandin Beaudry Investment Funds Universe. The goal of this review is to keep you up-to-date on the recent performance of financial markets and institutional managers. You will receive this review each year after the end of the first half year.
 

NB Bulletin Vol. 10 N. 9, August 2007
The decisions of the Accounting Standards Board on employee future benefits future benefits

In a bulletin published in April 2007 (Vol. 10, No. 5), we presented highlights of the Accounting Standards Board (ASB) Exposure Draft, which was proposing amendments to Section 3461 (Employee Future Benefits) of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants (CICA) Handbook. The proposed modifications were an attempt of harmonization with the new US standards (Statement of Financial Accounting Standards No. 158) issued in September 2006, aim to improve the transparency and uniformity of companies' balance sheets.

NB Bulletin Vol. 10 N. 8, July 2007
The changes made to the Quebec's Act respecting prescription drug insurance

This bulletin follows those issued in December 2006 and March 2007 concerning amendments made to Quebec's Act respecting prescription drug insurance.

NB Bulletin Vol. 10 N. 7, June 2007
The changes to the Quebec Prescription Drug Insurance Plan

The Board of Directors of the Régie de l'assurance maladie du Québec (RAMQ) recently announced the latest modifications to the Quebec Prescription Drug Insurance Plan, which will take effect on July 1, 2007.
 

NB Bulletin Vol. 10 N. 6, May 2007
Generational differences and their link to employee engagement

Each year, Normandin Beaudry's strategic partner, Hewitt Associates, conducts the Best Employers in Canada study. Hundreds of organizations participate in this national study. On the strength of this partnership, Normandin Beaudry is fortunate to be able to share with its clients the results from research carried out by Hewitt in Canada and throughout the world.
 

NB Bulletin Vol. 10 N. 5. April 2007
The exposure draft on employee future benefits issued by the Accounting Standards Board

On March 30, the Accounting Standards Board (AcSB) issued an exposure draft to amend Section 3461 (Employee Future Benefits) of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountant's (CICA) Handbook. These amendments, which are modeled after the new US standards (Statement of Financial Accounting Standards No. 158) issued in September 2006, aim to improve the transparency and uniformity of companies' balance sheets.
 

NB Bulletin Vol. 10 N. 4, March 2007
The Act Respecting Prescription Drug Insurance

On December 13, 2005, the Quebec government adopted Bill 130, an Act to amend the Act respecting prescription drug insurance. The bill's measures will have an impact on the administration of private group insurance plans. Some provisions came into effect on the date the bill was adopted, some took effect in 2006, and others will come into effect in 2007.
 

NB Bulletin Vol. 10 N. 3, March 2007
Fiscal measures from the 2007-2008 budget concerning retirees and promoting phased retirement

When the Quebec government delivered its provincial budget on February 20, 2007, it unveiled fiscal measures for individuals, including certain measures that specifically target retirees. It also reaffirmed its commitment to promote phased retirement to meet the challenges posed by significant demographic changes in the coming years.

NB Bulletin Vol. 10 N. 2, March 2007
Member-funded pension plans

On February 28, 2007, the Gazette officielle du Québec published the Regulation to amend the Regulation respecting the exemption of certain categories of pension plans from the application of the Supplemental Pension Plans Act. This new regulation, which comes into effect on March 15, 2007, provides for creation of member-funded pension plans (MFPPs)

NB Bulletin Vol. 10 N. 1, Febuary 2007
Non-refundable tax credits for medical expenses

This year again, Normandin Beaudry is issuing a bulletin about non-refundable tax credits for medical expenses that can be claimed on income tax returns. This document is a complement to our March 2005 bulletin (Vol. 8, No. 4). As done last year, this bulletin presents the annual updates applicable to the parameters used to determine the tax credits level. It also highlights the major changes that will impact tax credits calculation.

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Communiqués 2007

Communiqué NB Vol. 10 N. 16, décembre 2007
Les nouveaux paramètres des programmes de sécurité sociale pour l'année 2008

Le maximum des gains admissibles (MGA) sera de 44 900 $ pour l'année 2008, ce qui représente une hausse de 2,7 % par rapport au MGA de 43 700 $ pour l'année 2007. L'exemption de base est fixée à 3 500 $ depuis le 1er janvier 1998 et le taux de cotisation pour les employés et l'employeur demeurera à 4,95 % des gains cotisables en 2008, pour une cotisation annuelle maximale de 2 049,30 $. Finalement, la rente mensuelle maximale de retraite à 65 ans, calculée sur la base des MGA des cinq dernières années, s'établira à 884,58 $ pour l'année 2008.

Communiqué NB Vol, 10 N, 15, décembre 2007
Interprétation de la RAMQ relativement aux modifications apportées à la Loi sur l'assurance médicaments du Québec

En mars dernier, nous vous faisions part de la nouvelle interprétation de la Régie de l'assurance maladie du Québec (RAMQ)relativement à la portée de la loi quant aux médicaments hors-liste, soit ceux ne faisant pas partie de la liste des médicaments couverts par la RAMQ. À ce moment, la RAMQinterprétait que la Loi sur l'assurance médicaments du Québec obligeait les régimes privés d'assurance collective couvrant les médicaments hors-liste à appliquer, pour ces médicaments, des modalités de remboursement au moins aussi généreuses que celles stipulées dans la Loi. Cette situation affectait, entre autres, la notion du calcul du déboursé maximal pour le participant.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 10 N. 14, novembre 2007
Normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs: que font les entreprises québécoises inscrites à l'indice S&P/TSX?

Plusieurs entreprises du secteur privé finaliseront bientôt leurs budgets pour la prochaine année fiscale et prépareront leurs états financiers pour l'année fiscale en cours. Parmi les notes complémentaires devant être préparées pour ces états financiers se trouve celle relative aux coûts constatés pour les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées (régimes PD) et pour les régimes d'assurance collective offerts aux retraités (autres avantages sociaux). 

Communiqué NB Vol. 10 N. 13, octobre 2007
Les indices Scotia Capital renommés DEX

Le 22 octobre dernier, la filiale PC-Bond du Groupe TSX a annoncé que la famille d'indices de titres à revenu fixe Scotia Capital serait désormais connue sous l'appellation des indices de titres à revenu fixe DEX. Cette modification a pour but de refléter le passage d'un système de détermination des prix sur la base d'un seul courtier à un système de détermination des prix sur la base de plusieurs courtiers.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 10 N. 12, octobre 2007
Les tarifs des spécialistes de la santé en 2007

Au cours de l'été, Normandin Beaudry a mené sa 10e enquête annuelle sur les tarifs exigés par les spécialistes de la santé au Québec. Les soins donnés par ces spécialistes étant généralement couverts par les régimes d'assurance collective, les résultats de notre sondage sauront sûrement vous intéresser. L'information sur les frais moyens par visite peut notamment être utile dans l'établissement des plafonds de remboursement de vos régimes d'assurance collective. De la même manière, l'augmentation moyenne des frais par visite comparativement à ceux de 2006 peut vous permettre de valider les hypothèses d'inflation utilisées par votre assureur pour le renouvellement de vos taux de prime d'assurance maladie.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 10 N. 11, août 2007
L'impact des fusions et acquisitions sur l'indice composé S&P/TSX

Au cours des dernières années, un nombre grandissant de sociétés canadiennes ont fait l'objet de fusions ou acquisitions. Cette tendance a culminé récemment avec les acquisitions de BCE et Alcan, par Teachers et Rio Tinto respectivement, dont les transactions devraient être complétées au cours des six prochains mois. Les fusions et acquisitions ont eu pour effet de modifier le contenu du marché boursier canadien et par le fait même, son indice de référence, l'indice composé S&P/TSX.
 

Communiqué NB Vol, 10 N. 10, août 2007
La performance des fonds de placement depuis le début de l'année 2007

C'est avec plaisir que nous vous présentons notre revue semestrielle analysant la performance au 30 juin 2007 des gestionnaires composant l'Univers de fonds de placement Normandin Beaudry. Cette revue sera acheminée à chaque année suivant la fin du premier semestre dans l'intention de vous informer sur les récentes performances des marchés financiers et des gestionnaires institutionnels.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 10 N. 9, août 2007
Les décisions du Conseil des normes comptables touchant les avantages sociaux futurs

Dans un communiqué paru en avril dernier (vol. 10, no. 5), nous vous avions présenté les grandes lignes de l'exposé-sondage du Conseil des normes comptables (CNC) portant sur des modifications au Chapitre 3461 (Avantages sociaux futurs) du Manuel de l'Institut canadien des comptables agréés (ICCA). Les modifications proposées s'inspiraient des nouvelles normes américaines (Statement of Financial Accounting Standards No. 158) publiées en septembre 2006, visant à améliorer la transparence et l'uniformité du bilan financier des entreprises.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 10 N. 8, juillet 2007
Les modifications apportées à la Loi sur l'assurance médicaments du Québec

Ce communiqué fait suite à ceux émis en décembre 2006 et mars 2007 lesquels traitent des modifications apportées à la Loi sur l'assurance médicaments du Québec.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 10 N. 7, juin 2007
Les modifications au régime d'assurance médicaments du Québec

Le conseil d'administration de la Régie de l'assurance maladie du Québec (la « RAMQ ») a annoncé dernièrement les modifications qui s'appliqueront au régime d'assurance médicaments du Québec à compter du 1er juillet 2007.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 10 N. 6, mai 2007
Les différences générationnelles: y aurait-t-il un lien avec la mobilisation des employés?

Hewitt & Associés, partenaire stratégique de Normandin Beaudry, mène annuellement l'étude des Employeurs de choix au Canada, à laquelle participent des centaines d'organisations. Forte de ce partenariat, Normandin Beaudry a le privilège de partager avec ses clients les résultats se dégageant des recherches effectuées par Hewitt au Canada.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 10 N. 5, avril 2007
L'exposé-sondage du Conseil des normes comptables touchant les avantages sociaux futurs

Le Conseil des normes comptables (CNC) a publié, le 30 mars dernier, un exposé-sondage portant sur des modifications au Chapitre 3461 (Avantages sociaux futurs) du Manuel de l'Institut canadien des comptables agréés (ICCA). Ces modifications, qui s'inspirent des nouvelles normes américaines (Statement of Financial Accounting Standards No. 158 ) publiées en septembre 2006, visent à améliorer la transparence et l'uniformité du bilan financier des entreprises.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 10 N. 4, mars 2007
La loi sur l'assurance médicaments du Québec

Le projet de Loi 130, sanctionné le 13 décembre 2005 par le gouvernement québécois, prévoit des modifications à la Loi sur l'assurance médicaments, lesquelles ont également des impacts sur l'administration des régimes privés d'assurance collective. Quelques clauses sont entrées en vigueur à la date de sanction, d'autres au courant de l'année 2006 et d'autres encore prendront effet au cours de l'année 2007.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 10 N. 3, mars 2007
Les mesures fiscales du budget 2007-2008 en faveur des retraités et de la retraite progressive pour les régimes de retraite

Lors du dépôt du budget provincial le 20 février dernier, le gouvernement du Québec a annoncé des mesures fiscales en faveur des particuliers, certaines visant précisément les retraités. Il a de plus réaffirmé son engagement à favoriser la retraite progressive, dans le but d'aider les employeurs à faire face aux changements démographiques importants des prochaines années.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 10 N. 2, mars 2007
Les régimes de retraite par financement salarial

Le 28 février dernier, la Gazette officielle du Québec a publié le Règlement modifiant le Règlement sur la soustraction de certaines catégories de régimes de retraite à l'application de dispositions de la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite (le « Règlement »). Ce Règlement, qui entrera en vigueur le 15 mars 2007, permettra la création des régimes de retraite par financement salarial (« RRFS »).
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 10 N. 1, février 2007
Les crédits d'impôt non remboursables pour frais médicaux

À nouveau cette année, Normandin Beaudry vous présente un communiqué traitant des crédits d'impôt non remboursables pour frais médicaux pouvant être inclus aux fins des déclarations de revenus. Ce document se veut un complément de notre communiqué du mois de mars 2005 (vol. 8, no 4). Comme l'an dernier, ce communiqué synthétise les mises à jour annuelles apportées aux paramètres utilisés dans le calcul du crédit d'impôt. Les principaux changements qui affecteront les frais admissibles à ce crédit d'impôt sont également soulignés.