Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The rates of Health Care Professionals

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

Bulletin NB Vol. 9 N. 9, November 2006

During the summer, we conducted our annual survey of fees charged by health care professionals in Quebec. Since health care services provided by these specialists are generally covered by group insurance plans, we believe that the results of our survey will be of great interest to you. The average fees per visit could be useful in establishing the maximum amounts payable under your group insurance plans. Moreover, the average fee per visit increase compared to 2005 allows you to validate the inflation assumption used by your insurer in renewing your premium rates.

Methodology

We first consulted professional associations for each specialty. These associations recommend price levels but do not set mandatory fee schedules. A number of associations, however, compile data based on the fee schedules of their members. The table presented on the following page presents these recommendations and statistics.

As in the previous year, we surveyed a sample of private clinics in the Montreal, Quebec City and Outaouais regions. The results are presented on an average fee per visit basis rather than by an hourly rate since group insurance plans usually establish their maximum reimbursement amounts on a per visit basis. Also, please note that a number of specialists charge additional fees for opening a file as well as for conducting an assessment during the first visit. These additional fees are not included in our survey results.

Highlights

  • Overall, we observed an average fee increase of approximately 4% in the Montreal region and of 7% in the Quebec City and Outaouais regions since summer 2005, which represents a $5 to $10 increase per visit. However, it is important to note that although this average increase is higher than in past years, fairly significant variations in fees per visit were recorded for certain specialties.
  • The results obtained show that average fees were lower in Quebec City than in Montreal, with the exception of fees charged by dieticians and occupational therapists. A difference of approximately $10 per visit was observed, but these differentials vary depending on the specialty.
  • The average fees per visit for the Outaouais region are similar or slightly lower than those observed for the Montreal region. However, we observed an exception for occupational therapists, massage therapists and psychologists, whose average rates are higher than those for the other regions. A much longer average visit length in Outaouais compared to Montreal explains this difference.
  • We also noticed a decrease in fees for dieticians in the Outaouais region. This is explained by a decrease in the average length of visits in this region compared to what we observed during summer 2005.

Comparative Table of Average Fees per Visit (Summer 2005)


SpecialtyProfessionnal
Associations
Private Clinics
   
   MontrealQuebecOutaouais

  • Acupuncturist
$40 to $60 $50 $40 $45
  • Audiologist and
    Speech Therapist
n/a $90 $80 $85
  • Chiropractor
$25 to $40 $40 $35 $30
  • Dietician
$70 $35 $45 $35
  • Occupational
    Therapist
n/a $50 $55 $65
  • Homeopath
$60 to $100 $65 $50 $65
  • Masseur and
    Massage
    Therapist
$50 to $70 $55 $50 $65
  • Naturopath
$60 to $90 $70 $55 $65
  • Osteopath
$50 to $100 $70 $65 $70
  • Physiotherapist
n/a $55 $45 $45
  • Podiatrist
$50 to $80 $60 $50 n/a (1)
  • Psychologist
$85 to $100 $85 $75 $90


(1)The results for podiatrists in the Outaouais region are not presented since the number of specialists working in private clinics is too limited.

The schedules of reasonable and customary fees used by insurers for claims handling in Quebec are slightly higher than the average expenses per visit observed for the surveyed specialists.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les tarifs des spécialistes de la santé en 2006

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 9 N. 9, novembre 2006

Au cours de l’été, nous avons mené notre enquête annuelle sur les tarifs exigés par les spécialistes de la santé au Québec. Étant donné que la majorité des soins donnés par ces spécialistes sont couverts par les régimes d’assurance collective, les résultats de notre sondage sauront sûrement vous intéresser. L’information quant aux frais moyens par visite peut notamment être utile dans l’établissement des maximums remboursables de vos régimes d’assurance collective. De la même manière, l’augmentation moyenne des frais par visite comparativement à 2005 peut vous permettre de valider les hypothèses d’inflation utilisées par votre assureur pour le renouvellement de vos taux de prime.

Méthodologie

Nous avons d’abord consulté les associations professionnelles de chaque spécialité. Ces associations font des suggestions, mais ne fixent pas de tarifs obligatoires. Certaines compilent toutefois des statistiques à partir de la grille de tarifs de leurs membres. Le tableau à la page suivante présente ces informations.

Tout comme l’an dernier, nous avons poursuivi notre enquête auprès d’un échantillon de cliniques privées des régions de Montréal, de Québec et de l’Outaouais. Comme les régimes d’assurance collective se basent habituellement sur les honoraires des spécialistes par visite pour établir les maximums de remboursement, nous présentons les tarifs moyens par visite plutôt que les tarifs horaires. Fait à noter, plusieurs spécialistes exigent des frais supplémentaires pour l’ouverture du dossier et l’évaluation lors de la première visite. Ces coûts ne sont pas inclus dans les résultats de notre enquête.

Faits saillants

  • Comparativement aux tarifs en vigueur à l’été 2005, nous observons une augmentation moyenne des tarifs d’environ 4 % à Montréal, et de 7 % à Québec et en Outaouais ce qui représente une hausse de 5 $ à 10 $ par visite. Selon les spécialités, ces variations peuvent être plus ou moins importantes.
  • Les résultats obtenus révèlent des tarifs moyens moins élevés à Québec qu’à Montréal, sauf pour les diététistes et les ergothérapeutes. Une différence moyenne d’environ 10 $ par visite est observée, mais l’écart entre les tarifs varie selon les spécialités.
  • En Outaouais, les tarifs sont similaires ou légèrement inférieurs à ceux observés dans la région de Montréal, à l’exception des ergothérapeutes, des massothérapeutes et des psychologues. Ces exceptions s’expliquent par une durée moyenne de la rencontre beaucoup plus longue en Outaouais qu’à Montréal.
  • Nous avons remarqué une diminution importante du tarif par visite des diététistes dans la région de l’Outaouais. Ceci s’explique par une réduction significative de la durée moyenne de la visite dans cette région, comparativement à ce qu’on a pu observer à l’été 2005.

 

Tableau comparatif des tarifs moyens par visite à l’été 2006


SpécialistesAssociations
professionnelles
Cliniques privées
   
   MontréalQuébecOutaouais

  • Acupuncteur
40 $ à 60 $50 $40 $45 $
  • Audiologiste et
    orthophoniste
n.d.90 $80 $85 $
  • Chiropraticien
25 $ à 40 $40 $35 $30 $
  • Diététiste
70 $35 $45 $35 $
  • Ergothérapeute
n.d.50 $55 $65 $
  • Homéopathe
60 $ à 100 $65 $50 $65 $
  • Masseur et
    massothérapeute
50 $ à 70 $55 $50 $65 $
  • Naturopathe
60 $ à 90 $70 $55 $65 $
  • Ostéopathe
50 $ à 100 $70 $65 $70 $
  • Physiothérapeute
n.d.55 $45 $45 $
  • Podiatre
50 $ à 80 $60 $50 $ n.d.(1)
  • Psychologue
85 $ à 100 $85 $75 $90 $


 (1) Les résultats pour les podiatres de l’Outaouais ne sont pas présentés puisque le nombre de spécialistes oeuvrant en clinique privée y est trop limité.

Les barèmes des frais raisonnables et d’ordre courant utilisés par les assureurs pour le traitement des demandes de remboursement au Québec sont légèrement supérieurs aux frais moyens par visite exigés par les spécialistes que nous avons sondés.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6