Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The continuation of disability insurance coverage when an employee is terminated

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

Bulletin NB Vol. 9 N. 5, June 2006

A recent decision by the Ontario Court of Appeal has drawn attention to the possible risks associated with disability insurance coverage for an employer when he terminates an employee. The case involved the company Alcatel and a former employee (Egan) who was dismissed in July 2002.

The key issues raised by this case are as follows:

  • The decision of the Ontario Court of Appeal confirmed that an employee’s total compensation, including all employee benefits, must be continued beyond the statutory notice period following a termination and therefore throughout the common law notice period1. This position was already taken in other court decisions in Quebec and elsewhere in Canada.
  • For several reasons, disability insurance coverage is rarely continued beyond the statutory notice period:
    • Coverage continuation is not required by the employment standards;
    • Insurance contracts generally do not provide for this possibility;
    • Insurers who agree to offer coverage continuation often do so for a risk premium.
  • The employer is exposed to risk if it fails to make arrangements with its insurer to continue insurance coverage during the common law notice period or fails to reach an agreement with its employee to limit coverage continuation (for instance, to the end of the statutory notice period if this is what was agreed with the insurer). If the dismissed employee becomes disabled during a period when he/she should have been covered but was not, the employee can file suit against the employer and the employer may be liable to pay disability benefits in accordance with normal coverage provisions (for example, up to age 65 if the employee is disabled up to this age).
  • A written agreement with the employee to limit the continuation period or continuation of coverage throughout the common law notice period are examples of solutions to explore to minimize risk for the employer.
 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

La continuation des protections d'assurance salaire lors d'une cessation d'emploi

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 9 N. 5, juin 2006

Une récente décision de la Cour d’appel de l’Ontario a attiré l’attention sur les risques que peuvent représenter les protections d’assurance salaire pour un employeur lorsqu’il congédie un employé. Le cas impliquait la compagnie Alcatel et une employée (Egan) qui a été remerciée en juillet 2002.

Soulignons les principaux éléments à retenir de cette cause :

  • La décision de la Cour d’appel de l’Ontario a confirmé que la rémunération complète d’un employé, incluant l’ensemble de ses avantages sociaux, doit être poursuivie au-delà de la période d’avis légal suivant un congédiement, donc durant la période d’avis raisonnable 1 dans son entier. C’est une position qui a déjà été prise dans d’autres causes au Québec et ailleurs au Canada.
  • Présentement, les protections d’assurance salaire sont rarement maintenues au-delà de la période d’avis légal, et ce pour plusieurs raisons :
    • Les normes de travail ne l’exigent pas;
    • Les contrats d’assurance ne prévoient généralement pas cette possibilité;
    • Les assureurs qui acceptent d’offrir la continuation le font souvent en échange d’une prime de risque qui peut être coûteuse.
  • L’employeur s’expose à un risque s’il ne convient pas avec son assureur d’une continuation des protections d’assurance salaire durant la période d’avis raisonnable ou ne s’entend pas avec son employé pour limiter la continuation des protections (par exemple, à la période d’avis légal si c’est ce qui a été convenu avec l’assureur). Si l’employé congédié devient invalide durant une période où il aurait dû être couvert mais ne l’était pas, l’employé pourrait intenter des poursuites et l’employeur pourrait être tenu responsable des prestations d’invalidité, et ce, selon les dispositions normales des protections (par exemple, jusqu’à 65 ans si l’employé est invalide jusqu’à cet âge).
  • Une entente écrite avec l’employé pour limiter la période de continuation ou procéder à la continuation durant la période d’avis raisonnable avec l’assureur constituent des exemples de solutions à envisager pour minimiser le risque pour l’employeur.

1 Période d’avis basée sur les circonstances du congédiement, les pratiques du marché et la jurisprudence.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6