Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The 2007 Social Security Programs Parameters

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

Bulletin NB Vol. 9 N. 12, December 2006

As in previous years, we are pleased to inform you about the parameters that will be used by the major social security programs in 2007.

The Quebec Pension Plan and the Canada Pension Plan

The Year’s Maximum Pensionable Earnings (YMPE) for year 2007 will be $43,700, an increase of 3.8% over the 2006 YMPE ($42,100). The basic exemption remains at the current level of $3,500, which is the level applicable since January 1, 1998. Employee and employer contribution rates will remain at 4.95% of contributory earnings in 2007. The annual maximum contribution is $1,989.90. The maximum monthly retirement pension at age 65 is set at $863.75 for 2007, based on the average YMPE over the last five years.

Employment Insurance

On November 9, 2006, the Canada Employment Insurance Commission confirmed a reduction of $0.07 in the premium rate for employees effective January 1, 2007. The premium rate for employees in Quebec will then be reduced from $1.53 to $1.46 per $100 of insurable employee earnings. For employers in Quebec, the premium rate will be reduced from $2.14 to $2.04, which is 1.4 times the employee rate outlined above. These rates consider the Quebec Parental Insurance Plan (QPIP) in place since January 1, 2006.

The Employment Insurance premium rates for employees and employers outside Quebec will be reduced respectively from $1.87 to $1.80 and from $2.62 to $2.52 per $100 of insurable employee earnings. The maximum insurable earnings will increase from $39,000 to $40,000 for the year 2007.

Employer contributions can be further reduced for employers offering a salary continuation program (SCP) registered with the Employment Insurance Commission. There are four types of SCPs each offering a unique Employment Insurance premium rate reduction.

Type 1: SCP based on the accumulation of paid sick days of at least one day per month and a maximum of at least 75 days.
Type 2: SCP based on the accumulation of paid sick days of at least one day and 2/3 per month and a maximum of at least 125 days.
Type 3: SCP providing a weekly indemnity1 for at least 15 weeks.
Type 4: SCP providing a weekly indemnity1 for at least 52 weeks (this reduction is only available to employers of public and para-public sectors).

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1 The SCP weekly indemnity must be at least equal to the benefits provided by the Employment Insurance.

 

Employer Premium Rates as of January 1, 20071

         Reduced Rates 2
       
 Regular Rates      Applicable
Rates
Employee
Premium Factor
 
   
SCP
Type
QuebecOther
Provinces
 ReductionQuebec 3Other
Provinces
Quebec 3, 4Other
Provinces 5

1$2.04$2.52  $0.26$1.78$2.26 1.222 1.256
2$2.04$2.52  $0.38$1.66$2.14 1.140 1.189
3$2.04$2.52  $0.36$1.68$2.16 1.153 1.200
4$2.04$2.52  $0.39$1.65$2.13 1.133 1.183

1 Per $100 of insurable employee earnings.
2 The reduced premium rates are applicable for one complete year. In the event a plan is registered during the year, an adjustment is applied to the premium rate in proportion with the time of registration.
3 For employers in Quebec for which all employees work in Quebec.
4 Premium factor to be applied to the employee premium rate of $1.46 per $100 of insurable employee earnings.
5 Premium factor to be applied to the employee premium rate of $1.80 per $100 of insurable employee earnings.


 Quebec Parental Insurance Plan (QPIP)

The QPIP contribution rates for year 2007 per $100 of insurable income will remain equal to $0.416 for employees, $0.583 for employers and $0.737 for self-employed workers. The maximum insurable income will increase from $57,000 to $59,000 for the year 2007.

Régime d’assurance maladie du Québec

The current contribution rate will remain unchanged for the year 2007. This rate is set at 4.26% of total payroll for certain public-sector employers and for companies with a total payroll of more than $5 million. For companies with a total payroll of less than $1 million, the rate is set at 2.70% of total payroll. For companies which have a total payroll of more than $1 million but less than $5 million, the rate is a function of total payroll and ranges from 2.70% to 4.26% of total payroll according to the following formula:

2.31% plus (0.39% of total payroll divided by $1 million).

Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail

The contribution rate to the Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail is a function of the type of industry and, if applicable, of the claims experience. The maximum earnings for the income replacement benefit will increase from $57,000 to $59,000 for the year 2007.

Commission des normes du travail

The current contribution rate will remain unchanged for the year 2007, and is set at 0.08% of earnings subject to contribution. The earnings subject to contribution will increase from $57,000 to $59,000 for 2007.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les nouveaux paramètres des programmes de sécurité sociale pour l'année 2007

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 9 N. 12

Comme à chaque année, il nous fait plaisir de vous communiquer les paramètres qui seront utilisés par les principaux programmes de sécurité sociale pour l’année 2007.

Régime de rentes du Québec et Régime de pensions du Canada

Le maximum des gains admissibles (MGA) sera de 43 700 $ pour l’année 2007, soit une hausse de 3,8 % par rapport au MGA de 42 100 $ pour l’année 2006. L’exemption de base est fixée à 3 500 $ depuis le 1er janvier 1998. De plus, le taux de cotisation pour les employés et l’employeur demeure à 4,95 % des gains cotisables en 2007, pour une cotisation annuelle maximale de 1 989,90 $. Finalement, la rente mensuelle maximale de retraite à 65 ans, calculée sur la base des MGA des cinq dernières années, s’établira à 863,75 $ pour l’année 2007.

Assurance-emploi

Le 9 novembre dernier, la Commission de l’assurance-emploi du Canada confirmait une réduction de 0,07 $ du taux de cotisation des employés à compter du 1er janvier 2007. Le taux de cotisation des employés québécois au régime fédéral d’assurance-emploi est ainsi réduit de 1,53 $ à 1,46 $ par tranche de 100 $ de rémunération assurable. Pour leur part, les employeurs québécois verront leur taux de cotisation passer de 2,14 $ à 2,04 $ par tranche de 100 $ de rémunération assurable des employés, soit 1,4 fois le taux des employés. Ces taux tiennent compte de l’existence du Régime québécois d’assurance parentale (RQAP) depuis le 1er janvier 2006.

Le taux de cotisation des employés et des employeurs hors Québec au régime fédéral d’assurance-emploi est réduit de 1,87 $ à 1,80 $ et de 2,62 $ à 2,52 $ respectivement, par tranche de 100 $ de rémunération assurable. Le maximum de la rémunération assurable passera, quant à lui, de 39 000 $ à 40 000 $ pour l’année 2007.

Le taux de cotisation de l’employeur peut toutefois être plus bas pour les employeurs offrant un régime d’assurance salaire (RAS) enregistré auprès de la Commission de l’assurance-emploi. Il existe quatre catégories de RAS ayant chacun un taux distinct de réduction de la cotisation à l’assurance-emploi. Les quatre catégories se résument ainsi :

Catégorie 1 : RAS fondé sur l'accumulation de congés de maladie payés d'au moins une journée par mois et un nombre maximal de jours d'au moins 75 jours.
Catégorie 2 : RAS fondé sur l'accumulation de congés de maladie payés d'au moins une journée et 2/3 par mois et un nombre maximal de jours d'au moins 125 jours.
Catégorie 3 : RAS prévoyant des indemnités hebdomadaires1 pour au moins 15 semaines.
Catégorie 4 : RAS prévoyant des indemnités hebdomadaires1 pour au moins 52 semaines (cette réduction n’est disponible que pour les employeurs des secteurs public et parapublic).

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1 Les indemnités hebdomadaires prévues par le RAS doivent être au moins égales aux prestations d'assurance-emploi.

Taux de cotisation de l'employeur au 1er janvier 20071

         Taux réduits 2
       
 Taux réguliers      Taux
applicables
Multiple du taux
des employés
 
   
Catégorie
de RAS
QuébecAutres
provinces
 RéductionQuébec 3Autres
provinces
Québec 3, 4Autres
provinces 5

12,04 $2,52 $  0,26 $1,78 $2,26 $ 1,222 1,256
22,04 $2,52 $  0,38 $1,66 $2,14 $ 1,140 1,189
32,04 $2,52 $  0,36 $1,68 $2,16 $ 1,153 1,200
42,04 $2,52 $  0,39 $1,65 $2,13 $ 1,133 1,183

 

1 Par tranche de 100 $ de rémunération assurable des employés.
2 Les taux réduits sont applicables pour une année complète. Advenant le cas où le régime est enregistré en cours d’année, un      ajustement proportionnel est appliqué au taux de cotisation de l’employeur.
3 Pour les employeurs québécois ayant uniquement des employés au Québec.
4 Multiple à appliquer au taux de cotisation des employés de 1,46 $ par tranche de 100 $ de rémunération assurable.
5 Multiple à appliquer au taux de cotisation des employés de 1,80 $ par tranche de 100 $ de rémunération assurable.

Régime québécois d’assurance parentale (RQAP)

Les taux de cotisation au RQAP pour l’année 2007 par tranche de 100 $ de rémunération assurable demeurent inchangés. Ils sont établis à 0,416 $ pour les employés, 0,583 $ pour les employeurs et 0,737 $ pour les travailleurs autonomes. La rémunération assurable passera de 57 000 $ à 59 000 $ pour l’année 2007.

Régime d’assurance maladie du Québec

Le taux de cotisation actuel demeurera inchangé pour l’année 2007. Ce taux est établi à 4,26 % de la masse salariale pour certaines entreprises du secteur public et pour les entreprises dont la masse salariale est supérieure à cinq millions de dollars. Pour les entreprises dont la masse salariale est inférieure à un million de dollars, le taux est établi à 2,70 % de la masse salariale. Enfin, pour les entreprises dont la masse salariale est comprise entre un million et cinq millions de dollars, le taux est fonction de la masse salariale et varie de 2,70 % à 4,26 % de la masse salariale selon la formule suivante :

2,31 % plus (0,39 % multiplié par la masse salariale totale divisé par un million de dollars).

Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail

Le taux de cotisation à la Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail varie selon l’industrie et, le cas échéant, l’expérience de réclamations. Le revenu maximal pour l’indemnité de remplacement du revenu passera quant à lui de 57 000 $ à 59 000 $ en 2007.

Commission des normes du travail

Le taux de cotisation actuel demeurera inchangé pour l’année 2007, soit un taux de 0,08 % de la rémunération assujettie. La rémunération assujettie maximale passera de 57 000 $ à 59 000 $ en 2007.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6