Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The Act to amend the Supplemental Pension Plans Act, particularly with respect to the funding and administration of pension plans (Bill 30)

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

Bulletin NB Vol. 9 N. 11, December 2006

The Act to amend the Supplemental Pension Plans Act (the "Act"), particularly with respect to the funding and administration of pension plans was assented to on Wednesday, December 13, 2006.

Following the public parliamentary hearing held in the fall of 2006, amendments were made to the initial version of Bill 30, which was tabled at the Quebec National Assembly on June 14, 2006 by Mrs. Michelle Courchesne, Minister of Employment and Social Solidarity and Minister responsible for the Régie des rentes du Québec. The final version of the Act was adopted by the government on Wednesday, December 13, 2006. This bulletin provides information on the final version of the Act by presenting the amendments made to Bill 30 and the provisions presented in our June 2006 bulletin (Vol. 9, No. 4) that remain unchanged.

Amendments to Bill 30

  • Application of the equitable treatment requirement with respect to the appropriation of surplus assets to the payment of the value of additional obligations arising from an amendment to the plan: When a sponsor intends to fund an amendment using surplus assets, the pension committee must notify every member and beneficiary of the plan, in writing, of its intention. Members and beneficiaries may then notify the pension committee, in writing, of their opposition to the proposed appropriation of the surplus assets. If 30% or more of the members of a group (active members or non-active members and beneficiaries) are opposed, it is presumed that the requirement has not been satisfied. Should the sponsor decide to use the surplus assets to fund the amendment in spite of the opposition of 30% or more of the members of a group, the sponsor would be required to prove that the amendment is equitable in case of legal proceedings.
  • Elimination of amortization payments to amortize a solvency deficiency: The final version of the Act stipulates that amortization payments remaining to be paid in connection with any solvency deficiency can be eliminated if the plan’s assets are greater than its liabilities, even if the provision for adverse deviation is not wholly accumulated, unless these amortization payments are in connection with a deficiency created following an amendment to the plan.
  • Rights of new retirees, beginning January 1, 2010, to request that their pension be guaranteed by an insurance company: This provision of Bill 30 has been completely removed from the final version of the Act.
  • Selection of delegatees, representatives and service providers: the Act confirms the pension committee’s responsibility with respect to selection and stipulates that, if it so chooses, the pension committee may continue to delegate this responsibility.
  • Roles and responsibilities of delegatees, representatives and service providers: The final version of the Act clarifies the responsibilities of the various parties. Only those representatives and service providers who exercise a discretionary power belonging to the committee will have to assume the same duties and responsibilities that the pension committee would have assumed under that same circumstance. A discretionary power corresponds to a decision made without the need for the pension committee’s approval. For instance, an investment manager will exercise a discretionary power when making an investment decision. Conversely, a trustee who makes pension payments to retirees in compliance with the instructions provided by the pension committee does not exercise a discretionary power.
  • Internal by-laws of the pension committee: In contrast to the initial version, the Act stipulates that the text of the pension plan will prevail over the internal by-laws with respect to certain aspects pertaining to the operation of the pension committee (appointment of officers, quorums and voting) under the condition that the text of the pension plan expressly provides for it. As regards to the other aspects concerning the operation and governance of the pension committee, the internal by-laws will prevail over the pension plan text. In addition, in cases of discrepancy, the investment policy will prevail over the internal by-laws.

Coming into force

As initially proposed, the measures applicable to pension plan funding will take effect on January 1, 2010; however, there are some exceptions. Some funding provisions concerning the determination of the degree of solvency and payment of members’ benefits will take effect on the date of assent. To better reflect the particularities of pension plan members with a defined contribution component ("DC component"), plans with a DC component must redetermine the plan’s degree of solvency as soon as possible, by excluding contributions for the DC component, voluntary contributions and amounts transferred to the plan based on the results of the last actuarial valuation, and by paying members’ benefits according to the new degree of solvency.

The measures applicable to the administration of pension plans came into effect on the bill’s date of assent, December 13, 2006, with the exception of the provisions pertaining to internal by-laws that will take effect one year after the date of assent, and the provisions concerning the compensation of pension committee members through the pension fund in cases involving lawsuits, which will apply retroactively to June 14, 2006.

You will find below a list of measures included in the final version of the Act which were unchanged from the initial version of Bill 30. Please consult our bulletin issued in June 2006 (Vol. 9, No. 4) for further details.

Measures affecting funding

  • Annual actuarial valuation;
  • Provision for adverse deviation;
  • Amortization of solvency deficiencies over a period not exceeding five years;
  • Measures concerning amendments that reduce the degree of solvency below the level of 90%;
  • Use of letters of credit;
  • Consolidation of actuarial deficits at the time of each actuarial valuation.

Measures affecting the administration of pension plans

  • Improved governance structures for pension committees;
  • Introduction of internal by-laws;
  • Presumption of prudence of committee members;
  • Service providers will be unable to limit their liability;
  • Liability insurance deductible can be paid from the pension fund.

A Regulation will clarify the application of certain measures established under the Act. We will keep you informed of any developments concerning this Regulation as soon as the information is made available.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

La Loi modifiant la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite du Québec, notamment en matière de financement et d'administration (projet de loi 30)

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 9 N. 11, décembre 2006

La Loi modifiant la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite, notamment en matière de financement et d’administration (la « Loi ») a été sanctionnée mercredi le 13 décembre 2006.

Suite à la commission parlementaire publique tenue au cours de l’automne 2006, certaines modifications et bonifications ont été apportées à la version initiale du projet de loi 30 qui avait été déposée le 14 juin 2006 à l’Assemblée nationale du Québec par la ministre de l’Emploi et de la Solidarité sociale et ministre responsable de la Régie des rentes du Québec, Madame Michelle Courchesne. La Loi a été adoptée mercredi le 13 décembre par le gouvernement dans sa version finale. Le présent communiqué vous informe sur la version finale de la Loi en vous présentant les modifications apportées au projet de loi 30 ainsi que les dispositions du projet de loi 30 qui ont été maintenues telles que présentées dans notre communiqué transmis en juin 2006 (vol. 9, no. 4).

Modifications apportées au projet de loi 30

  • Application du principe d’équité concernant l’affectation de l’excédent d’actif en cours de régime pour financer une modification : lorsqu’un promoteur aura l’intention de financer une modification avec un excédent d’actif, le comité de retraite devra aviser par écrit les participants et les bénéficiaires de cette intention. Les participants et les bénéficiaires qui s’opposent à la modification seront invités à présenter leur opposition par écrit au comité de retraite. Il y aura présomption d’iniquité dans le cas où plus de 30 % des participants de l’un ou l’autre du groupe des participants actifs et du groupe des participants non actifs et bénéficiaires se seront opposés. Dans l’éventualité où le promoteur du régime déciderait quand même d’utiliser l’excédent d’actif pour financer la modification, il devra prouver, en cas de poursuite, que la modification est équitable considérant la présomption d’iniquité.
  • Élimination des paiements d’amortissement de déficits de solvabilité : la version finale de la Loi précise que les paiements d’amortissement de déficits de solvabilité pourront être éliminés lorsqu’un régime est en surplus sur base de solvabilité même si la provision pour écarts défavorables n’est pas pleinement constituée, sauf si ces paiements d’amortissement se rapportent à un déficit créé suite à une modification au régime.
  • Droits des nouveaux retraités à compter du 1er janvier 2010 de demander que leur rente soit assurée auprès d'une compagnie d'assurance : cette disposition du projet de loi 30 a été complètement retirée dans la version finale.
  • Choix des délégataires, représentants et prestataires de services : la Loi confirme la responsabilité du comité de retraite à cet égard et précise que le comité de retraite pourra continuer de déléguer cette responsabilité s’il le souhaite.
  • Rôles et responsabilités des délégataires, représentants et prestataires de services : la version finale de la Loi vient clarifier les responsabilités des différents intervenants. En effet, seuls les représentants et les prestataires de services qui exercent un pouvoir discrétionnaire du comité assumeront les mêmes obligations et responsabilités que celles qu’aurait assumées le comité de retraite s’il s’était acquitté de ce pouvoir. Un pouvoir discrétionnaire correspond à une décision prise sans avoir besoin de l’autorisation du comité de retraite. Par exemple, un gestionnaire de placements exercera un pouvoir discrétionnaire lorsqu’il fera un choix de placements. Toutefois, un fiduciaire qui verse les rentes aux retraités en conformité avec les instructions du comité n’exercera pas un pouvoir discrétionnaire.
  • Règlement intérieur du comité de retraite : contrairement à la version initiale, la Loi précise que le texte du régime prévaudra sur le règlement intérieur à l’égard de certains aspects reliés au fonctionnement du comité de retraite (désignation des officiers, quorum et vote) à condition que le texte le prévoie expressément. En ce qui concerne les autres éléments reliés au fonctionnement et à la gouvernance du comité de retraite, le règlement intérieur prévaudra sur le texte du régime. De plus, en cas de divergence, la politique de placement prévaudra sur le règlement intérieur.

Entrée en vigueur

Les mesures applicables au financement des régimes de retraite entreront en vigueur le 1er janvier 2010 comme proposé initialement sauf pour les précisions suivantes. Certaines dispositions visant le financement du régime ayant trait à la détermination du degré de solvabilité et à l’acquittement des droits des participants s’appliqueront dès la sanction du projet de loi. En effet, dans le but de rétablir l’équilibre pour les participants de régimes de retraite ayant un volet à cotisation déterminée (« volet CD »), les régimes ayant un volet CD devront procéder dans les meilleurs délais à la redétermination du degré de solvabilité du régime, en excluant les cotisations du volet CD, les cotisations volontaires et les sommes transférées au régime selon les résultats de la dernière évaluation actuarielle enregistrée et procéder à l’acquittement des prestations en fonction du nouveau degré de solvabilité.

Les mesures applicables à l’administration des régimes de retraite sont entrées en vigueur dès la sanction du projet de loi, soit le 13 décembre 2006, à l’exception des dispositions relatives au règlement intérieur qui entreront en vigueur un an après la date de sanction du projet de loi et des dispositions relatives à l’indemnisation des membres de comités de retraite par la caisse de retraite en cas de poursuite qui s’appliquent rétroactivement au 14 juin 2006.

Voici la liste des mesures qui ont été maintenues entre la version initiale du projet de loi 30 et la version finale de la Loi. Pour de plus amples détails, vous pouvez vous référer à notre communiqué transmis en juin 2006 (vol. 9, no. 4).

Mesures touchant le financement maintenues

  • Évaluation actuarielle annuelle complète;
  • Provision pour écarts défavorables;
  • Amortissement des déficits de solvabilité sur une période n’excédant pas cinq ans;
  • Mesures pour les modifications abaissant le degré de solvabilité en deçà de 90 %;
  • Utilisation d’une lettre de crédit;
  • Consolidation des déficits actuariels à chacune des évaluations actuarielles.

Mesures touchant l’administration des régimes de retraite maintenues

  • La Loi vise à améliorer les structures de gouvernance des comités de retraite;
  • Mise sur pied d’un règlement intérieur;
  • Présomption de prudence des membres de comité;
  • Impossibilité pour les fournisseurs de limiter leur responsabilité;
  • Possibilité de faire assumer le montant de la franchise de l’assurance responsabilité par la caisse de retraite.
     

Un Règlement viendra préciser l’application de certaines mesures établies en vertu de la Loi. Nous vous tiendrons au courant des développements relatifs au Règlement dès qu’il sera connu.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6