Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

What companies listed on the S&P/TSX Index do in regard to the accounting standards applicable to employee future benefits

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

Bulletin NB Vol. 9 N. 14, December 2006

Several companies in the private sector will soon finalize their budgets for the upcoming fiscal year and will be preparing their financial statements for the fiscal year that is drawing to a close. Among the disclosure notes that should be prepared for these financial statements is one which pertains to costs for defined benefit (DB) pension plans and group insurance plans offered to retirees (other post-employment benefits).

The required assumptions to determine the accrued benefit obligation and the cost must be established by the management of the company. To help companies select these assumptions, we have analyzed the annual reports of 29 Quebec-based companies listed on the S&P/TSX Index whose fiscal year ended between September 30, 2005 and March 31, 2006. All of these companies sponsored at least one DB pension plan and 23 of them offered at least one group insurance plan to their retired employees.

Our study is divided into three sections. The first section presents the assumptions used in percentile format. The charts present a comparison of the assumptions used for fiscal years ending in 2005 (between September 30, 2005 and March 31, 2006) and in 2004 (between September 30, 2004 and March 31, 2005). The second section summarizes the results of these charts along with additional data analysis. The third and final section presents our comments with respect to measures which would potentially affect future results.

Please note that this is the second year for this study. We therefore invite you to consult our Bulletin no. 16, vol. 8 to see the results, conclusions and comments of last year’s study. Please note, however, since the companies listed on the S&P/TSX change regularly with respect to predetermined criteria, the group of companies in this year’s study differ from those of last year’s study. This year’s results for year 2004 may then be different than last year’s results for year 2004.

1.Selection of assumptions

The following charts present the survey results of the key economic assumptions used for DB pension plans and other post-employment benefits in percentile format. 

 

 
 

End of 2005
(Sept. 30 2005 to March 31, 2006)

End of 2004
(Sept. 30 2004 to March 31, 2005)
 
Defined Benefit Pension Plans
 

Discount Rate
5th percentile5,56%6,50%
25th percentile5,30%6,00%
50th percentile5,25%6,00%
75th percentile5,00%5,80%
95th percentile4,97%5,48%

Expected Long-Term Rate of Return on Assets
5th percentile7,81%7,96%
25th percentile7,50%7,70%
50th percentile7,25%7,50%
75th percentile7,00%7,00%
95th percentile6,62%6,62%

Compensation Growth Rate (also applicable on some cases to other post-employment benefits)
5th percentile4,74%4,97%
25th percentile3,80%4,00%
50th percentile3,50%3,50%
75th percentile3,24%3,40%
95th percentile2,81%3,04%
     
 
Other Post-Employment Benefits
 

Discount Rate
5th percentile5,75%6,50%
25th percentile5,48%6,15%
50th percentile5,30%6,00%
75th percentile5,23%5,85%
95th percentile5,00%5,75%

Trend Rate for Health Care Costs - Initial Period
5th percentile12,00%12,80%
25th percentile10,50%10,50%
50th percentile9,50%9,90%
75th percentile7,90%7,70%
95th percentile7,12%6,98%

Trend Rate for Health Care Costs - Ultimate Period
5th percentile6,14%6,52%
25th percentile5,38%5,30%
50th percentile5,00%5,00%
75th percentile4,60%4,70%
95th percentile4,50%4,42%

2.Findings

  • For DB pension plans, the median discount rate used at the end of 2005 was 5.25%, compared to an annual median rate of 6.00% at the end of 2004. Nearly 90% of the surveyed companies used a discount rate between 5.00% and 5.50% at the end of 2005. There is, however, little variance in this assumption. Although the annual median discount rate fell by 0.75% from 2004 to 2005, about one third of the companies decreased their discount rate by 1.00% or more or by 0.50% or less. The observed range in this assumption might be explained, in particular, by the demographic profile of the members of the surveyed companies and the relative weight of DB pension plans outside Canada (a different discount rate may be used for DB pension plans outside Canada).
  • The annual median expected long-term rate of return on DB pension plan assets was 7.25% for 2005 as compared to 7.50% in 2004. Nearly 40% of the companies decreased this assumption between the two years observed. Moreover, four of the companies used a rate under 7.00% for 2005, whereas only one company did so in 2004. Since actuarial valuations may be performed once every three years, it is conceivable that this assumption might continue to be reduced, as was the case for many funding valuations made as of December 31, 2004 or as of December 31, 2005.
  • The proportion of DB pension plan assets invested in equities represented more than 60% of DB pension plan assets at the end of 2005 for 35% of the companies, as compared to only 15% at the end of 2004. This increase is probably due to the significant returns obtained in the Canadian and international equity markets in 2005.
  • Many companies sponsor DB pension plans and group insurance plans that offer salary-based benefits. These companies must establish an assumption related to the compensation growth rate. At the end of 2005, the annual median compensation growth rate was 3.50%, a rate identical to the one used at the end of 2004. However, despite these statistics, nearly a quarter of the companies in the study lowered their assumption between 2004 and 2005.
  • For companies offering a group insurance plan to retired employees, the median discount rate was slightly higher to the rate used for DB pension plans. At the end of 2005, as was the case in 2004, around 30% of the surveyed companies were using a discount rate that was higher than the rate disclosed for DB pension plans. This might be explained by the demographic profile of the members (they may not be the same) and the timing of benefits (incidence and indexation of benefits may be different).
  • The trend rate for health care costs is the most important assumption for group insurance plans offered to retirees. Given the significant increases witnessed over the last few years, health care costs are generally expected to rise at a higher rate in the short term (initial period) and gradually fall to a lower ultimate level. About 65% of the surveyed companies had used an initial rate higher than 9.00% in 2005, a proportion similar to the one observed in 2004. The variation of the trend rate might be explained, in particular, by the nature of claims (drugs, hospital, dental care, etc.) and the particular experience of the plans.
  • The ultimate median trend rate for health care costs was 5.00% at the end of 2005, as was the case at the end of 2004.

3.Comments

Measurement date

Approximately one quarter of the surveyed companies at the end of 2005 used a measurement date that differed from their fiscal year-end date. They used, as permitted by Chapter 3461 of the CICA Handbook, a measurement date somewhere within a three-month period preceding the end of the fiscal year date. This provision is used, in particular, by companies who wish to give themselves more time to prepare the disclosure notes in their financial statements.

In the United States, the same provisions with respect to the measurement date exist in the FAS. However, the adoption of the new FAS 158 in September 2006 will abolish this provision for fiscal years ending after December 15, 2008. In light of the FAS 158, the CICA, in the first quarter of 2007, will issue an exposure draft inspired by the FAS 158 and anticipate application for fiscal years ending as of December 31, 2007.

Eventually, Canadian companies will more than likely be required to issue their financial statements using a measurement date that falls on their fiscal year-end date.

Financial position vs. accrued benefit liability

For all of the surveyed companies, with the exception of only one, the financial position of pension plans at the end of 2005 was in deficit. However, for approximately 60% of them, an accrued benefit asset instead of an accrued benefit liability was presented in their financial statements. For the other companies, the accrued benefit liability was inferior to the deficit at the end of 2005. The difference is a result of the significant accumulated actuarial losses (losses represented approximately 20% of the accrued benefit liability at the end of 2005), which will be, in part (only the portion exceeding the 10% corridor), recognized sometime over the next 15 years or so.

The CICA propose a convergence of the Canadian standards towards the International standards by 2011. Similarly to the International standards, FAS 158 and possibly the exposure draft to be issued by the CICA in the first quarter of 2007, will force companies to recognize, in their financial statements, a larger portion of the accumulated actuarial losses. This will significantly deteriorate the financial statements of many Canadian companies over the next few years. 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Ce que font les entreprises listées sur le S&P/TSX en égard aux normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 9 N. 14, décembre 2006

Plusieurs entreprises du secteur privé finaliseront bientôt leurs budgets pour la prochaine année fiscale et prépareront leurs états financiers pour l’année fiscale en cours. Parmi les notes complémentaires devant être préparées pour ces états financiers se trouve celle relative aux coûts constatés pour les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées (régimes PD) et pour les régimes d’assurance collective offerts aux retraités (autres avantages sociaux).

Les hypothèses requises pour déterminer l’obligation au titre des prestations constituées et le coût constaté doivent être établies par la direction de l’entreprise. Ainsi, afin d’aider les entreprises à sélectionner ces hypothèses, nous avons analysé les rapports annuels de 29 entreprises québécoises faisant partie de l’indice S&P/TSX et dont l’exercice financier s’est terminé entre le 30 septembre 2005 et le 31 mars 2006. Toutes ces entreprises parrainaient au moins un régime PD et 23 d’entre elles offraient au moins un régime d’assurance collective à ses retraités.

Notre analyse est divisée en trois parties. La première partie illustre, en rang centile, les hypothèses utilisées. Les tableaux permettent de comparer les hypothèses utilisées pour les exercices se terminant à la fin de 2005 (entre le 30 septembre 2005 et le 31 mars 2006) et à la fin de 2004 (entre le 30 septembre 2004 et le 31 mars 2005). La deuxième partie résume les constats tirés de ces tableaux et en ajoute certains qui ne peuvent être déduits que par l’analyse des données. Finalement, la troisième partie de notre analyse présente nos commentaires sur certaines mesures qui pourraient affecter les résultats futurs.

Veuillez noter que cette analyse est effectuée pour la deuxième année. Nous vous invitons donc à consulter le Communiqué no. 16, vol. 8, pour connaître les résultats, les constats et les commentaires de l’année dernière. Cependant, comme les compagnies listées sur le S&P/TSX varient régulièrement selon des critères préétablis, le groupe de compagnies de l’analyse de cette année est différent de celui de l’année dernière et, par conséquent, les résultats présentés sur base comparative pour l’année 2004 peuvent être différents de ceux présentés l’année dernière.

1.Sélection des hypothèses

Les tableaux suivants illustrent, en rang centile, les hypothèses économiques les plus importantes utilisées pour les régimes PD et les autres avantages sociaux par les entreprises analysées.
 


 Fin 2005
(30 sept. 2005 au 31 mars 2006)
Fin 2004
(30 sept. 2004 au 31 mars 2005)

Régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées


Taux d'actualisation
5e rang centile5,56 %6,50 %
25e rang centile5,30 %6,00 %
50e rang centile5,25 %6,00 %
75e rang centile5,00 %5,80 %
95e rang centile4,97 %5,48 %

Taux de rendement espéré à long terme sur les actifs
5e rang centile7,81 %7,96 %
25e rang centile7,50 %7,70 %
50e rang centile7,25 %7,50 %
75e rang centile7,00 %7,00 %
95e rang centile6,62 %6,62 %

Taux de croissance de la rémunération1
5e rang centile4,74 %4,97 %
25e rang centile3,80 %4,00 %
50e rang centile3,50 %3,50 %
75e rang centile3,24 %3,40 %
95e rang centile2,81 %3,04 %
1Également applicables, dans certains cas, aux autres avantages sociaux
     

Autres avantages sociaux


Taux d'actualisation
5e rang centile5,75 %6,50 %
25e rang centile5,48 %6,15 %
50e rang centile5,30 %6,00 %
75e rang centile5,23 %5,85 %
95e rang centile5,00 %5,75 %

Taux de croissance des coûts des soins de santé - Période initiale
5e rang centile12,00 %12,80 %
25e rang centile10,50 %10,50 %
50e rang centile9,50 %9,90 %
75e rang centile7,90 %7,70 %
95e rang centile7,12 %6,98 %

Taux de croissance des coûts des soins de santé - Période ultime
5e rang centile6,14 %6,52 %
25e rang centile5,38 %5,30 %
50e rang centile5,00 %5,00 %
75e rang centile4,60 %4,70 %
95e rang centile4,50 %4,42 %


 2.Constats

  • Pour les régimes PD, le taux annuel d’actualisation médian utilisé à la fin de 2005 était de 5,25 %, comparativement à 6,00 % à la fin de 2004. Près de 90 % des entreprises analysées ont utilisé, à la fin de 2005, un taux annuel d’actualisation variant entre 5,00 % et 5,50 %. Il y a donc peu de variance au niveau du choix de cette hypothèse. Bien que le taux annuel d’actualisation médian ait diminué de 0,75 % de 2004 à 2005, environ le tiers des entreprises ont diminué leur taux d’actualisation de 1,00 % ou plus ou de 0,50 % ou moins. L’écart observé dans cette hypothèse peut être expliqué, entre autres, par le profil démographique des participants et le poids des régimes PD hors Canada (un taux d’actualisation différent peut être utilisé pour les régimes PD hors Canada).
  • Le taux annuel médian de rendement espéré à long terme sur les actifs des régimes PD était de 7,25 % au cours de l’année 2005 en comparaison à 7,50 % au cours de l’année 2004. Près de 40 % des entreprises ont revu à la baisse cette hypothèse entre les deux années d’observation. Également, quatre entreprises ont utilisé, pour l’année 2005, un taux inférieur à 7,00 % alors qu’il n’y avait qu’une seule entreprise dans cette situation pour l’année 2004. Comme il est permis d’effectuer des évaluations actuarielles à tous les trois ans, il est possible que cette hypothèse continue d’être revue à la baisse, comme cela a été le cas pour plusieurs évaluations effectuées aux fins de capitalisation au 31 décembre 2004 ou au 31 décembre 2005.
  • La proportion des actifs des régimes PD investis en actions représentait plus de 60 % des actifs des régimes PD à la fin de l’année 2005, et ce, pour 35 % des entreprises alors que ce pourcentage était de 15 % à la fin de l’année 2004. Cette augmentation est due en partie aux bons rendements obtenus sur les actions canadiennes et internationales en 2005.
  • Plusieurs entreprises parrainent des régimes PD et des régimes d’assurance collective offrant des prestations basées sur le salaire. Ces dernières doivent donc établir une hypothèse du taux de croissance de la rémunération. Le taux annuel médian de croissance de la rémunération était de 3,50 % à la fin de 2005, soit un taux identique à celui utilisé à la fin de 2004. Malgré cette statistique, près du quart des entreprises analysées ont abaissé leur hypothèse entre la fin de l’année 2004 et la fin de l’année 2005.
  • Pour les entreprises offrant un régime d’assurance collective à ses retraités, le taux d’actualisation médian était légèrement supérieur à celui utilisé pour les régimes PD. Environ 30 % des entreprises analysées utilisaient, à la fin de 2005 tout comme à la fin de l’année 2004, un taux d’actualisation supérieur à celui divulgué pour les régimes PD. Ceci peut être expliqué par le profil démographique des participants (il ne s’agit pas nécessairement des mêmes participants) et l’échelonnement des prestations (l’incidence et l’indexation des paiements peuvent être différents).
  • Le taux de croissance des coûts des soins de santé est l’hypothèse la plus importante eu égard aux régimes d’assurance collective offerts aux retraités. Compte tenu des hausses majeures observées au cours des dernières années, les coûts des soins de santé sont généralement présumés augmenter à un taux plus élevé à court terme (période initiale), pour réduire graduellement vers un niveau ultime. Environ 65 % des entreprises analysées utilisaient, à la fin de 2005, un taux initial supérieur ou égal à 9,00 %, soit un pourcentage similaire à celui observé à la fin de 2004. La variabilité du taux d’une entreprise à l’autre peut être expliquée, entre autres, par la nature des prestations (médicaments, hospitalisation, soins dentaires, etc.) et l’expérience des régimes.
  • Le taux annuel médian de croissance des coûts des soins de santé était, dans sa portion ultime, de 5,00 %, autant à la fin de 2005 qu’à la fin de 2004.

3.Commentaires

Date de mesure

Environ le quart des entreprises analysées utilisaient, à la fin de l’année 2005, une date de mesure différente de la date de fin d’année financière; elles utilisaient, tel que permis par le Chapitre 3461 du Manuel de l’ICCA, une date de mesure se situant à l’intérieur d’une période de trois mois précédant la fin de l’année financière. Cette disposition est, entre autres, utilisée par les entreprises qui veulent se donner plus de temps pour préparer les notes aux états financiers.

Aux États-Unis, les mêmes dispositions sur la date de mesure existent en vertu des normes FAS. Cependant, l’adoption de la nouvelle norme FAS 158 en septembre 2006 abolira cette disposition pour les exercices financiers finissant après le 15 décembre 2008. Dans la foulée de la norme FAS 158, l’ICCA émettra, au premier trimestre de 2007, un exposé-sondage s’inspirant de la norme FAS 158 et prévoyant une application pour les exercices financiers se terminant à compter du 31 décembre 2007.

Tôt ou tard, les entreprises canadiennes risquent fort d’être contraintes de divulguer leurs états financiers en utilisant une date de mesure correspondant à la date de fin de leur année financière.

Position financière vs. passif au titre des prestations constituées

Pour toutes les entreprises analysées, à l’exception d’une seule, la position financière des régimes de retraite présentait un déficit à la fin de l’année 2005. Par contre, pour environ 60 % d’entre elles, un actif plutôt qu’un passif au titre des prestations constituées était présenté à leur bilan. Pour les autres entreprises, le passif au titre des prestations constituées était inférieur au déficit à la fin de l’année 2005. La différence provient des énormes pertes actuarielles accumulées (elles représentaient environ 20 % de l’obligation au titre des prestations constituées à la fin de l’année 2005) qui seront en partie (seule la partie en excédent du corridor de 10 %) reconnues au cours des quelques 15 prochaines années.

L’ICCA propose une convergence de normes canadiennes vers les normes internationales dans un horizon de quelques années, soit en 2011. Comme les normes internationales (IASB), la norme FAS 158 et possiblement l’exposé-sondage, lequel doit être publié par l’ICCA au premier trimestre de 2007, forceront les entreprises à reconnaître à leur bilan une plus grande partie des pertes actuarielles accumulées. Le bilan des entreprises canadiennes devrait donc se détériorer significativement au cours des prochaines années.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6