Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

2006 Bulletins

Bulletin NB Vol. 9 N. 14, December 2006
What companies listed on the S&P/TSX Index do in regard to the accounting standards applicable to employee future benefits

Several companies in the private sector will soon finalize their budgets for the upcoming fiscal year and will be preparing their financial statements for the fiscal year that is drawing to a close. Among the disclosure notes that should be prepared for these financial statements is one which pertains to costs for defined benefit (DB) pension plans and group insurance plans offered to retirees (other post-employment benefits).

Bulletin NB Vol. 9 N. 13, December 2006
The Act Respecting Prescription Drug Insurance

Bill 130, assented to by the Government of Quebec on December 13, 2005, amends various aspects of the Act respecting prescription drug insurance. Some amendments affect the administration of private group insurance plans. A few provisions came into effect on the date of assent or on specified dates in 2006, whereas others will take effect in 2007.
 

Bulletin NB Vol. 9 N. 12, December 2006
The 2007 Social Security Programs Parameters

As in previous years, we are pleased to inform you about the parameters that will be used by the major social security programs in 2007.
 

Bulletin NB Vol. 9 N. 11, December 2006
The Act to amend the Supplemental Pension Plans Act, particularly with respect to the funding and administration of pension plans (Bill 30)

The Act to amend the Supplemental Pension Plans Act (the "Act"), particularly with respect to the funding and administration of pension plans was assented to on Wednesday, December 13, 2006.
 

Bulletin NB Vol. 9 N. 10, December 2006
The Canadian government's announcement concerning the tax treatment of income trusts

The Canadian government recently made the decision to amend the tax treatment of income trusts to close a breach that leads to the loss of significant tax revenue. Indeed, Canadian companies set up as income trusts do not currently pay corporate taxes. They rather hand out most of their income to unitholders, who then pay tax on these distributions. Combined with the tax exemptions granted to non-taxable investors, such as pension funds and RRSPs, these provisions provide governments with very little tax revenue from the income generated by income trusts, which results in annual losses of hundreds of millions of dollars in income tax collected.

Bulletin NB Vol. 9 N. 9, November 2006
The rates of Health Care Professionals

During the summer, we conducted our annual survey of fees charged by health care professionals in Quebec. Since health care services provided by these specialists are generally covered by group insurance plans, we believe that the results of our survey will be of great interest to you. The average fees per visit could be useful in establishing the maximum amounts payable under your group insurance plans. Moreover, the average fee per visit increase compared to 2005 allows you to validate the inflation assumption used by your insurer in renewing your premium rates.
 

Bulletin NB Vol. 9 N. 8, September 2006
The aging population's impact on the cost of group insurance plans

It is a known fact that the Canadian population, and thus the Canadian workforce, is aging. According to Statistics Canada's most recent projections, the average age of the Canadian population will increase by 3.4 years over the next 15 years, climbing from 38.8 in 2006 to 42.2 in 2021.
 

Bulletin NB Vol. 9 N. 7, July 2006
Changes to the Quebec Prescription Drug Insurance Plan

Lately, the Board of Directors of the Régie de l'assurance maladie du Québec (RAMQ) announced the latest modifications to the Quebec Prescription Drug Insurance Plan effective on July 1, 2006.
 

Bulletin NB Vol. 9 N. 6, June 2006
Maple bonds

The Canadian bond market has been evolving since the removal of the foreign content limit stated in the federal budget in early 2005. Maple bonds were a key element in this transformation. Named after the Canadian flag, Maple bonds are Canadian dollar-denominated bonds issued by foreign issuers. Issuers may be governments, corporations (primarily banks), sovereign issuers or supranational organizations.

Bulletin NB Vol. 9 N. 5, June 2006
The continuation of disability insurance coverage when an employee is terminated

A recent decision by the Ontario Court of Appeal has drawn attention to the possible risks associated with disability insurance coverage for an employer when he terminates an employee. The case involved the company Alcatel and a former employee (Egan) who was dismissed in July 2002.
 

Bulletin NB Vol. 9 N. 4, June 2006
The bill affecting the funding and governance of pension plans in Quebec

Bill 30, an Act to amend the Supplemental Pension Plans Act (SPPA), particularly with respect to the funding and governance of pension plans, was finally tabled at the Quebec National Assembly on Wednesday, June 14 by Mrs Michelle Courchesne, the Minister of Employment and Social Solidarity and Minister responsible for the Régie des rentes du Québec. A public parliamentary hearing, most likely to take place this fall, should allow the various parties involved to put forward their point of view on the bill.

Bulletin NB Vol. 9 N. 3, May 2006
Group critical illness insurance

Critical illness insurance has been available on the Canadian market in the form of individual insurance since the mid-1990s. As for group critical illness insurance, this is a relatively new product that has been gaining popularity over the past few years.

Bulletin NB Vol. 9 N. 2, April 2006
The use of the social insurance number (SIN) as a participant identification number in group insurance plans

The protection of personal information is a growing concern for employers and employees. On January 1, 2001, the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act came into effect. The purpose of this Act is to better protect individuals' privacy, including the security of their social insurance number (hereinafter called SIN). Several recommendations were made. For instance, the Commission d'accès à l'information du Québec (CAI) is against the use of the SIN as a participant identification number for group insurance plan.

Bulletin NB Vol. 9 N. 1, March 2006
Non-refundable tax credits for medical expenses

For the second consecutive year, Normandin Beaudry is issuing a bulletin about non-refundable tax credits for medical expenses that can be claimed on income tax returns. This is a follow-up to our March 2005 bulletin (Vol. 8, No. 4).

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Communiqués 2006

Communiqué NB Vol. 9 N. 14, décembre 2006
Ce que font les entreprises listées sur le S&P/TSX en égard aux normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs

Plusieurs entreprises du secteur privé finaliseront bientôt leurs budgets pour la prochaine année fiscale et prépareront leurs états financiers pour l'année fiscale en cours. Parmi les notes complémentaires devant être préparées pour ces états financiers se trouve celle relative aux coûts constatés pour les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées (régimes PD) et pour les régimes d'assurance collective offerts aux retraités (autres avantages sociaux).
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 9 N. 13, décembre 2006
La Loi sur l'assurance médicaments du Québec

Le projet de Loi 130, sanctionné le 13 décembre 2005 par le gouvernement québécois, prévoit des modifications à la Loi sur l'assurance médicaments, lesquelles ont également des impacts sur l'administration des régimes privés d'assurance collective. Quelques clauses sont entrées en vigueur à la date de sanction, d'autres au courant de l'année 2006 et d'autres encore prendront effet en 2007.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 9 N. 12
Les nouveaux paramètres des programmes de sécurité sociale pour l'année 2007

Comme à chaque année, il nous fait plaisir de vous communiquer les paramètres qui seront utilisés par les principaux programmes de sécurité sociale pour l'année 2007.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 9 N. 11, décembre 2006
La Loi modifiant la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite du Québec, notamment en matière de financement et d'administration (projet de loi 30)

La Loi modifiant la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite, notamment en matière de financement et d'administration (la « Loi ») a été sanctionnée mercredi le 13 décembre 2006.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 9, no 10, décembre 2006
L'annonce du gouvernement canadien relativement au traitement fiscal des fiducies de revenu

Le gouvernement canadien a récemment décidé de modifier le traitement fiscal auquel sont assujetties les fiducies de revenu pour ainsi colmater une brèche qui laisse s'échapper d'importants revenus d'impôt. En effet, toute entreprise canadienne constituée sous forme de fiducie de revenu ne paie présentement aucun impôt. Elle verse plutôt la quasi-totalité de ses profits aux détenteurs de parts, qui eux sont imposés sur ces distributions. Combinées à l'exonération d'impôt accordée aux investisseurs non imposables, tels les caisses de retraite et les REER, ces dispositions font en sorte que les gouvernements ne touchent que très peu de recettes fiscales sur les revenus générés par les fiducies de revenu, ce qui réduit les impôts perçus de plusieurs centaines de millions de dollars annuellement.

Communiqué NB Vol. 9 N. 9, novembre 2006
Les tarifs des spécialistes de la santé en 2006

Au cours de l'été, nous avons mené notre enquête annuelle sur les tarifs exigés par les spécialistes de la santé au Québec. Étant donné que la majorité des soins donnés par ces spécialistes sont couverts par les régimes d'assurance collective, les résultats de notre sondage sauront sûrement vous intéresser. L'information quant aux frais moyens par visite peut notamment être utile dans l'établissement des maximums remboursables de vos régimes d'assurance collective. De la même manière, l'augmentation moyenne des frais par visite comparativement à 2005 peut vous permettre de valider les hypothèses d'inflation utilisées par votre assureur pour le renouvellement de vos taux de prime.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 9 N. 8, septembre 2006
L'effet du viellissement de la population sur les coûts des régimes d'assurance collective

Le constat n'est pas nouveau; l'ensemble de la population canadienne, et donc de la main-d'oeuvre, vieillit. Selon les dernières projections effectuées par Statistique Canada, l'âge moyen de la population canadienne augmentera de 3,4 ans au cours des 15 prochaines années, passant de 38,8 ans en 2006 à 42,2 ans en 2021.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 9 N. 7, juillet 2006
Les modifications au régime d'assurance médicaments du Québec

Le conseil d'administration de la Régie de l'assurance maladie du Québec (la « RAMQ ») a annoncé dernièrement les modifications qui s'appliquent au régime d'assurance médicaments du Québec depuis le 1er juillet 2006.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 9 N. 6, juin 2006
Les obligations « Maple »

Depuis le retrait de la limite sur le contenu étranger dans le cadre du budget fédéral au début de 2005, le marché obligataire canadien n'a cessé d'évoluer. Un élément déterminant de cette transformation a été les obligations « Maple ». Nommées ainsi en référence au drapeau canadien, elles représentent des obligations libellées en dollars canadiens, mais dont l'émetteur est une entité étrangère. Cette entité peut être un gouvernement, une corporation (principalement des banques), une organisation dont les émissions sont garanties par l'État ou une organisation supra-nationale.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 9 N. 5, juin 2006
La continuation des protections d'assurance salaire lors d'une cessation d'emploi

Une récente décision de la Cour d'appel de l'Ontario a attiré l'attention sur les risques que peuvent représenter les protections d'assurance salaire pour un employeur lorsqu'il congédie un employé. Le cas impliquait la compagnie Alcatel et une employée (Egan) qui a été remerciée en juillet 2002.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 9 N. 4, juin 2006
Le projet de loi sur le financement et la gouvernance des régimes de retraite au Québec

Le voilà enfin arrivé, le projet de loi tant attendu du gouvernement québécois modifiant la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite (Loi RCR) afin d'introduire de nouvelles règles de financement et de gouvernance des régimes de retraite. Le projet de loi 30 a été déposé à l'Assemblée nationale du Québec par la ministre de l'Emploi et de la Solidarité sociale et ministre responsable de la Régie des rentes du Québec, madame Michelle Courchesne, mercredi le 14 juin dernier. Une commission parlementaire publique, qui se tiendra selon toute vraisemblance cet automne, devrait permettre aux différents intervenants de faire valoir leur point de vue sur le projet de loi.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 9 N. 3, mai 2006
L'assurance maladies graves sur base collective

L'assurance maladies graves existe sur le marché canadien depuis le milieu des années 90 sous forme d'assurance individuelle. Pour ce qui est de l'assurance maladies graves sur base collective, celle-ci est un produit relativement nouveau et semble gagner en popularité depuis quelques années.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 9 N. 2, avril 2006
L'utilisation du numéro dassurance sociale (NAS) comme numéro d'identification dans les bases de données des assureurs

La protection des renseignements personnels est un souci grandissant pour les employeurs et les employés. Le 1er janvier 2001, la Loi fédérale sur la protection des renseignements personnels et des documents électroniques est entrée en vigueur afin d'assurer une meilleure protection du droit à la vie privée des individus, notamment de leur numéro d'assurance sociale (ci-après appelé NAS). Plusieurs recommandations ont été émises : par exemple, la Commission d'accès à l'information du Québec (CAI) s'oppose à l'utilisation du NAS comme numéro d'identification du participant à un régime d'assurance.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 9 N. 1, mars 2006
Les crédits d'impôt non remboursables pour frais médicaux

Pour une deuxième année consécutive, Normandin Beaudry vous présente un communiqué traitant des crédits d'impôt non remboursables pour frais médicaux pouvant être inclus aux fins des déclarations de revenus. Ce document se veut un complément à notre communiqué du mois de mars 2005 (vol. 8, no 4).