Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The re-engineering of the Canada Revenue Agency Registered Plans Directorate

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 8 N. 14, November 2005

You may have recently received correspondence from the Registered Plans Directorate (RPD) of the Canada Revenue Agency informing you about its re-engineering. This bulletin summarizes the main changes in the RPD and informs you about the objectives and consequences of this re-engineering.

The RPD is the entity responsible for registering and monitoring pension plans, and it ensures compliance with the Income Tax Act (ITA) and Regulations. On November 7, a new internal structure was put in place at the RPD. This re-engineering followed consultations with various registered plan stakeholders. Its main objective is to improve how the Registered Plans program is delivered and regulated.

Since 1989, the RPD has done an "all-encompassing review" of pension plan documents to ensure compliance with the ITA and Regulations. Since the RPD found that the large majority of the documents it received followed the rules, it will now perform a "selective review" of plan documents, focusing on auditing on-going plan operations rather than the content of plan documents.

The RPD will focus particularly on auditing pension adjustments (PAs), past service pension adjustments (PSPAs), transfers in and out of plans, contributions, pension benefits and proper reporting on returns, slips and summaries. Under this auditing process, the RPD may request additional information from plan administrators.

Consequences of the re-engineering

The new internal structure of the RPD will have no impact on some plans, such as deferred profit sharing plans (DPSPs) and registered retirement savings plans (RRSPs).

Also, some administrators of defined benefit (DB) and defined contribution (DC) plans may get faster service from the RPD, such as acceptance of plan amendments and approval of actuarial valuation report funding recommendations.

We must bear in mind, however, that although the RPD will no longer review some documents, it could perform audits at a later time, even for low risk plans. Therefore, plan administrators must ensure the compliance of all documents submitted to the Canada Revenue Agency.

With this new approach that focuses on selective reviews and audits based on risk criteria, additional audits will be performed for plans that have a higher level of risk.

The notion of "risk" as used by the RPD refers to the risk of non-compliance with the ITA and Regulations. Some examples of plans that the RPD considers high risk are combination DB/DC plans, plans where the costs are shared between the sponsor and members, individual pension plans, designated plans and plans with persons connected to the employer. Although the RPD does not specify all risk indicators that will be considered or the probability that high risk plans will be reviewed or audited, we believe that the majority of plans will not be considered high risk.

A parallel can be made between this new approach adopted by the RPD and the Régie des rentes du Québec’s approach to regulating plans. As at the provincial level, this re-engineering will increase the responsibility of plan administrators, i.e. pension committees in Quebec, with regards to compliance with all applicable laws. This new element once again confirms the importance of sound governance practices for plan administrators.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

La réorganisation de la Direction des régimes enregistrés de l'Agence du revenu du Canada

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 8 N. 14, novembre 2005

Il se peut que vous ayez récemment reçu une communication de la Direction des régimes enregistrés (DRE) de l’Agence du revenu du Canada vous faisant part de leur réorganisation. Le présent communiqué résume les principaux changements apportés à la DRE et vous informe sur les objectifs et les conséquences de cette réorganisation.

La DRE est l’entité responsable de l’agrément et du contrôle des régimes de pension et elle veille, en ce sens, au respect de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu (LIR) et de son Règlement. Depuis le 7 novembre dernier, une nouvelle structure interne est en place à la DRE. Cette réorganisation fait suite à une consultation auprès des divers intervenants en matière de régimes enregistrés et a pour objectif principal d’améliorer l’exécution et la réglementation du Programme des régimes enregistrés.

Depuis 1989, la DRE procédait à un « examen approfondi et complet » de tous les documents relatifs aux régimes de pension afin d’en assurer la conformité avec la LIR et son Règlement. Suite au constat de la DRE à l’effet que la grande majorité des documents reçus respectent les règles établies, un « examen sélectif » des documents sera dorénavant effectué et l’emphase sera désormais mise sur une vérification des activités des régimes, plutôt que sur le contenu des documents.

La DRE se concentrera particulièrement sur la vérification des facteurs d’équivalence (FE), des facteurs d’équivalence pour services passés (FESP), des transferts entre régimes, des cotisations, des prestations et de la production des déclarations, des feuillets et des sommaires. Aux fins de ces vérifications, il est possible que la DRE demande des renseignements additionnels aux administrateurs de régimes.

Conséquences de la réorganisation

La nouvelle structure interne de la DRE n’aura aucun impact pour certains régimes tels les régimes de participation différée aux bénéfices (RPDB) ou les régimes enregistrés d’épargne retraite (REER).

De plus, plusieurs administrateurs de régimes à prestations déterminées (PD) ou à cotisation déterminée (CD) pourront s’attendre à des services plus rapides de la DRE, comme l’enregistrement d’une modification et l’approbation des recommandations de financement d’un rapport d’évaluation actuarielle.

Il faut comprendre que même si plusieurs documents ne seront plus examinés par la DRE, des vérifications ultérieures pourront être effectuées et ce, même pour les régimes à faible risque. Les administrateurs de régimes devront donc s’assurer de la conformité de chaque document présenté à l’Agence du revenu du Canada.

Dans le cadre de la nouvelle approche de la DRE, axée sur les examens sélectifs et la vérification en fonction de critères de risque, des vérifications additionnelles seront effectuées par la DRE pour les régimes comportant un niveau de risque plus élevé.

Cette notion de risque utilisée par la DRE fait référence à un risque de non-conformité à la LIR et à son Règlement. Des exemples de risques élevés établis par la DRE sont les régimes à double volet (PD et CD), les régimes à partage de coûts entre promoteur et participants, les régimes individuels, les régimes désignés ou les régimes auxquels participent des personnes rattachées à l'employeur. Bien que la DRE ne précise pas tous les indicateurs de risque qui seront considérés ni la probabilité que les régimes à risque élevé fassent l’objet d’un examen ou d’une vérification, nous croyons que la majorité des régimes ne seront pas considérés comme étant des régimes à risque élevé.

Un parallèle peut être fait entre cette nouvelle approche entreprise par la DRE et celle de la Régie des rentes du Québec en matière de réglementation des régimes. Tout comme au niveau provincial, cette réorganisation augmentera la responsabilité des administrateurs de régimes, soit les comités de retraite au Québec, en matière de conformité aux lois applicables. Ce nouvel élément confirme une fois de plus l’importance d’une saine gouvernance pour les administrateurs de régimes.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6