Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Bill 102, an Act Respecting the Funding of Certain Pension Plans

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 8 N. 8, May 2005

As a result of the stock market collapse in the early 2000s and the lowering of interest rates over the last few years, certain pension plan sponsors are experiencing increased pressure in terms of the funding of their defined benefit pension plans, particularly with respect to solvency rules.

On May 5, 2005, the Government of Québec introduced Bill 102 (an Act Respecting the Funding of Certain Pension Plans), which aims to ease, for the short-term, the burden associated with the funding of pension plans, while protecting the security of benefits promised to members. This bill proposes temporary measures that will apply for the next five years and may be replaced by new and permanent funding rules thereafter.

The bill provides two separate measures that apply only to the first full actuarial valuation of a pension plan carried out after December 30, 2004. The first measure allows for the consolidation of solvency deficiencies and the second allows for the relaxation of amortization requirements for the consolidated deficiencies.

Consolidation of Solvency Deficiencies

Under this measure, the unamortized portion of the solvency deficiency from previous actuarial valuations may be combined with the solvency deficiency resulting from the new valuation, and amortized over a period of five years. The pension committee who decides to have an actuarial valuation completed must notify the employer in writing within 10 days of this decision (30 days after the date of assent of this Act if the valuation has already been requested). Within 30 days of notification, the employer may send a written instruction to consolidate the solvency deficiencies and, if it so chooses, to set an earlier valuation date than the one selected by the pension committee (subject to certain restrictions).

The employer may also decide to request an actuarial valuation. The employer may, therefore, instruct the pension committee to consolidate the solvency deficiencies and set a date for the actuarial valuation (no more than 90 days before the date the written instruction is sent to the pension committee).

Comments

As the measure aims solely to consolidate solvency deficiencies, its effect will be limited for plans whose special amortization payments are largely determined by the going concern funding status of the plan.

Employers and pension committees of pension plans that will be required to file an actuarial valuation as at December 31, 2004, or those who have already requested the preparation of an actuarial valuation, must ensure that they are able to send out the required written notices as soon as the bill has received assent.

Relaxation of Amortization Requirements Linked to Solvency Deficiencies

This second measure allows for the amortization of the consolidated solvency deficiency over a period of ten years as opposed to five years. The special amortization payments required for the first five years will be determined as if the amortization period was ten years. The balance of the solvency deficiency remaining after five years will be considered a new deficiency at that date.

To benefit from this measure, the employer should have requested consolidation of the solvency deficiencies and should meet one of the following four conditions:

  • be a municipality or municipal body;
  • be an educational institution at the university level;
  • provide an appropriate guarantee such as a letter of credit:

The amount of the guarantee should correspond to the cumulative difference between the special amortization payments normally required and those authorized by the proposed measures. Other details related to the terms and conditions of the guarantee will be prescribed by regulation. 

  • obtain the consent of members and beneficiaries:

To obtain consent, each of the members and beneficiaries must be personally notified in writing and a notice must be published in a daily newspaper. Members and beneficiaries will be given 30 days to express their opposition and will be deemed to have consented unless 30% or more of each of the groups (group of active members and group of retirees and beneficiaries) have expressed their opposition. If all active members are represented by one or more unions, the consent of these unions will supersede the consent of the active members.

Comments

Because these measures will apply to only one actuarial valuation, the choice of a valuation date may become an important decision factor.

With the exception of the municipal and university sectors, employers and pension committees that plan on taking advantage of this measure should examine the different options to determine which condition (guarantee or consent) to favor.

Public Consultation

The Government of Québec also announced that it has mandated the Régie des rentes du Québec to hold, in the near future, a public consultation on the long-term funding principles for pension plans which should lead to the establishment of new and permanent funding rules.

We will be keeping a close watch on developments related to pension plan funding and will be sure to keep you informed.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Le projet de loi concernant le financement de certains régimes de retraite

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 8 N. 8, mai 2005

Conséquence de la déroute des marchés boursiers du début des années 2000 et de la baisse des taux d’intérêt au cours des dernières années, certains promoteurs de régimes de retraite doivent supporter une pression accrue sur le financement de leur régime à prestations déterminées, principalement en regard des règles de solvabilité.

Le 5 mai 2005, le gouvernement québécois déposait le projet de loi n° 102 (Loi concernant le financement de certains régimes de retraite) visant à alléger, à court terme, le fardeau lié au financement des régimes de retraite tout en protégeant la sécurité des prestations promises aux participants. Ce projet de loi prévoit des mesures temporaires applicables pour les cinq prochaines années, mesures qui pourraient être remplacées par de nouvelles règles de financement permanentes à être élaborées.

Le projet de loi propose deux mesures distinctes applicables uniquement à la première évaluation actuarielle complète du régime suivant le 30 décembre 2004, soit la consolidation des déficits de solvabilité et l’allègement des exigences d’amortissement de ces mêmes déficits.

Consolidation des déficits de solvabilité

Par cette mesure, il serait permis de combiner le solde non amorti des déficits de solvabilité découlant des évaluations actuarielles antérieures avec le déficit de solvabilité de la nouvelle évaluation et de l’amortir sur une période de cinq ans. Le comité de retraite qui déciderait de faire préparer une évaluation actuarielle devrait aviser par écrit l’employeur dans un délai de dix jours suivant cette décision (30 jours suivant la date d'entrée en vigueur de la Loi si l’évaluation a déjà été demandée). Dans les 30 jours suivants, l’employeur pourrait donner instruction par écrit de consolider les déficits de solvabilité et fixer, s’il le désire, une date d’évaluation antérieure à celle choisie par le comité de retraite, sujet à certaines restrictions.

L’employeur pourrait également prendre la décision de demander à ce qu’une évaluation actuarielle soit produite. L’employeur pourrait alors donner instruction au comité de retraite de consolider les déficits de solvabilité et pourrait fixer la date de l’évaluation actuarielle (pas plus de 90 jours avant celle de l’écrit transmis au comité de retraite).
 

Commentaires

Comme la mesure viserait uniquement à consolider les déficits de solvabilité, son effet serait limité pour les régimes dont les cotisations d’équilibres sont largement influencées par la capitalisation du régime.

Les employeurs et les comités de retraite des régimes qui devront faire l’objet d’une évaluation actuarielle au
31 décembre 2004, ou ceux qui ont déjà demandé la préparation d’une telle évaluation, devraient s’assurer d’être en mesure de transmettre les avis écrits requis dès que le projet de loi sera sanctionné.

 Allègement des exigences d’amortissement des déficits de solvabilité

Cette deuxième mesure permettrait d’amortir le déficit de solvabilité consolidé sur une période de dix ans au lieu de cinq ans. La cotisation d’équilibre requise pour les cinq premières années serait établie comme celle qui aurait été requise si la période d’amortissement avait été de dix ans. Le solde restant après cinq ans serait considéré comme un nouveau déficit à cette date.

Pour bénéficier de cette mesure, l’employeur devrait avoir demandé la consolidation des déficits de solvabilité et l’une des quatre conditions suivantes devrait être rencontrée :

  • être un employeur ou un organisme oeuvrant dans le secteur municipal;
  • être un établissement d’enseignement au niveau universitaire;
  • fournir une garantie appropriée (par exemple, une lettre de crédit) :

Selon cette condition, le montant de la garantie demandée devrait correspondre à l’écart cumulatif entre les cotisations d’équilibre normalement requises et celles autorisées par les mesures proposées. Les autres détails concernant les modalités entourant la garantie demandée seraient prévus par règlement;
 

  • obtenir le consentement des participants et des bénéficiaires :

Pour obtenir le consentement des participants, un avis écrit individuel devrait être transmis aux participants et bénéficiaires, et un avis devrait être publié dans un quotidien. Les participants et bénéficiaires disposeraient de 30 jours pour faire part de leur opposition et le consentement serait présumé obtenu si moins de 30 % de chacun des groupes visés s’y est opposé. Si tous les participants actifs sont représentés par une ou des associations accréditées, le consentement de ces associations remplacerait le consentement des participants actifs.
 

Commentaires

Puisque ces mesures seraient applicables à une seule évaluation actuarielle, le choix de la date d’évaluation pourrait devenir un facteur décisionnel important.

À l’exception des secteurs municipal et universitaire, les employeurs et les comités de retraite qui comptent bénéficier de cette mesure devraient analyser les alternatives afin de déterminer laquelle des conditions à rencontrer (garantie ou consentement) devrait être privilégiée.
 

 Consultation publique

Le gouvernement a aussi annoncé qu’il a mandaté la Régie des rentes du Québec pour tenir sous peu une consultation publique sur le financement à long terme des régimes de retraite qui devrait mener à l’élaboration de nouvelles règles de financement permanentes.

Nous suivrons assidûment l’évolution de ce dossier concernant le financement des régimes de retraite et nous vous en tiendrons informés.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6