Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The Quebec Parental Insurance Plan

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 8 N. 5, March 2005

The final Canada-Quebec agreement on the Quebec Parental Insurance Plan was signed on March 1, 2005. The provincial plan offering parental benefits will therefore begin January 1, 2006.

On May 25, 2001, the National Assembly adopted Bill 140, an Act respecting parental insurance. The Bill outlined the structure of a future parental insurance plan within the province of Quebec. However, before implementing the plan, the Government of Quebec had to reach an agreement with the Government of Canada to recover a portion of contributions to the federal program by Quebec workers and employers.

The Agreement

Beginning with the first effective year of the plan, the final agreement between the two governments provides that the Government of Canada will reduce the annual Employment Insurance contributions of Quebec workers and employers by approximately $750 million. This represents the approximate cost of one year of maternity and parental Employment Insurance benefits to Quebec residents. The Government of Canada also agreed to transfer a lump sum amount to ease the transition, as well as a minimum annual amount to cover the administration costs that the Government of Quebec will assume in its place. Individuals whose benefits commence prior to January 1, 2006 will continue to receive benefits under the federal plan.

The Plan

The objective of the new provincial plan, based on the Act respecting parental insurance, is to grant eligible Quebec workers maternity, paternity, parental and adoption benefits which would be more generous than what is currently offered by the federal plan.

The rules in the provincial plan will be different than those in the federal plan. For example, the minimum number of hours worked in a year is replaced by an eligibility criteria based on annual insurable earnings ($2,000), self-employed workers are eligible and the two weeks waiting period is eliminated.

The weekly benefit amount will be equal to a variable percentage of insurable earnings. Based on the two options offered for maternity and parental leaves, the percentages could be equal to 70% for the first 25 weeks and 55% for the following 25 weeks or 75% for 40 weeks. Different provisions would apply for adoption and paternity leaves. Insurable earnings are subject to the maximum in effect at the Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CSST), estimated at $57,500 for 2006, which is a significant increase relative to the maximum projected at $39,000 for 2006 under the federal plan.

The contribution rate of Quebec workers to the federal plan will be reduced for the parental insurance portion effective January 1, 2006. However, effective on the same date, Revenue Quebec will start collecting contributions to the provincial plan. Nevertheless, it is not certain that the contribution rate fixed by the Government of Quebec will be equivalent to the reduction of the contribution rate to the federal plan. The agreement between the two governments does not allow for the full funding of the more generous plan; the gap is estimated at $250 million. This gap could also lead the government to change the income replacement ratios, while keeping them equal to or above 55%, which is the current income replacement ratio under the federal plan.

Impact on group benefit plans

It is interesting to note that if the income replacement ratios are above 55%, employers offering a supplement to maternity and parental benefits for their employees (either through their income replacement plan or a supplementary unemployment benefit plan) will see their private plan costs decrease.

Normandin Beaudry will remain up to date on decisions regarding the provincial parental insurance plan, in particular the income replacement ratios and the contribution rates, and will keep you informed of any major developments in this regard.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Le Régime québécois d'assurance parentale

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 8 N. 5, mars 2005

L’entente finale Canada-Québec sur le Régime québécois d’assurance parentale (RQAP) a été signée le 1er mars dernier. Le régime provincial de prestations parentales verra ainsi le jour le 1er janvier 2006.

Rappelons que l’Assemblée Nationale avait adopté, le 25 mai 2001, le projet de Loi 140, devenu la Loi sur l’assurance parentale. Ce projet de loi établissait les grandes lignes d’un futur régime d’assurance parentale pour la province de Québec. Toutefois, afin de mettre en vigueur ce régime, le gouvernement du Québec devait s’entendre avec le gouvernement du Canada pour récupérer une partie des cotisations d’assurance-emploi que les travailleurs et les employeurs québécois versent à l’actuel programme fédéral.

L’entente

L’entente finale entre les deux gouvernements prévoit que, dès la première année de mise en vigueur du RQAP, le gouvernement du Canada réduira d’un montant d’environ 750 millions de dollars les cotisations annuelles d’assurance-emploi des travailleurs et employeurs du Québec, soit approximativement le coût pour une année complète de prestations parentales et de maternité de l’assurance-emploi aux résidents du Québec. Le gouvernement du Canada a également convenu de verser un montant forfaitaire pour faciliter la transition ainsi qu’un montant annuel minimal afin de couvrir les coûts de gestion que le gouvernement du Québec assumera à sa place. Finalement, l’entente prévoit que pour la première année de mise en oeuvre du régime, le régime fédéral continuera de verser les prestations ayant débuté avant le 1er janvier 2006.

Le régime

L’objet du nouveau régime provincial, selon la Loi sur l’assurance parentale, est d’accorder à tout travailleur admissible des prestations de congés de maternité, de paternité, parental et d’adoption plus généreuses que celles présentement offertes en vertu du régime fédéral.

Les règles d’admissibilité au régime provincial seront différentes de celles au régime fédéral, en remplaçant le critère de nombre minimal d’heures travaillées dans une année par un critère établi en fonction du revenu annuel assurable (2 000 $), en couvrant les travailleurs autonomes et en éliminant le délai de carence de deux semaines.

Le montant des prestations hebdomadaires sera égal à un pourcentage variable des revenus assurables. Selon les deux options offertes pour les congés de maternité et parentaux, ces pourcentages pourraient être de 70 % pour les 25 premières semaines et de 55 % pour les 25 semaines suivantes ou de 75 % pour une durée de 40 semaines. Des modalités différentes s’appliquent pour les congés d’adoption et de paternité. Le maximum des revenus assurables correspond au maximum annuel assurable en usage à la Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CSST) pour l’année en cause, estimé à 57 500 $ pour 2006, ce qui représente une augmentation substantielle par rapport au maximum appliqué en vertu du régime fédéral, projeté à 39 000 $ pour 2006.

Le taux de cotisation des travailleurs et des employeurs québécois au régime fédéral d’assurance-emploi sera réduit pour la portion d’assurance parentale à compter du 1er janvier 2006. Toutefois, à compter de la même date, Revenu Québec percevra la nouvelle cotisation pour le régime québécois. Cependant, le taux de cotisation fixé par le gouvernement québécois ne sera pas nécessairement équivalent à la réduction du taux de cotisation au régime fédéral. En effet, l’entente entre les deux gouvernements ne permet pas de couvrir entièrement les coûts du nouveau régime plus généreux; le manque à gagner serait d’environ 250 millions de dollars. Ce manque à gagner pourrait également justifier une réduction des prestations prévues à la Loi sur l’assurance parentale. Ces prestations ne seraient toutefois pas inférieures au niveau actuel de 55 %.

Effet sur les régimes d’avantages sociaux

Il est intéressant de noter que si les taux de remplacement de revenu du RQAP demeurent plus élevés que 55 %, les employeurs offrant un supplément complémentaire aux prestations de maternité et parentales à leurs employés (soit par leur régime d’assurance salaire ou un régime de prestations supplémentaires de chômage) verront les coûts de leur programme privé diminuer.

Normandin Beaudry demeurera informé relativement aux décisions concernant le régime, en particulier les taux de remplacement de revenu et les taux de cotisations, et vous avisera promptement de tout développement important à cet égard.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6