Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The retirement savings measures in the federal budget

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 8 N. 3, Febuary 2005

The February 23, 2005 federal budget contains some important changes affecting Canadian retirement savings plans, notably, higher contribution limits and the removal of the foreign property limit. This bulletin outlines these changes and their main impacts on your plans.

Higher contribution limits for retirement savings plans

This change increases the contribution limits for registered retirement savings plans (RRSPs), defined contribution plans (DCs) and deferred profit-sharing plans (DPSPs). As a result of the future increases in the contribution limits, the maximum pension payable under defined benefit plans (DBs) will also increase. The following table illustrates the differences between the old and new limits. 


 Old limitsNew limits
 

YearRRSP
contribution
DC
contribution(1)
Maximum
pension
(DB)
RRSP
contribution
DC
contribution(1)
Maximum
pension
(DB)

2005 $16,500 $18,000 $2,000 $16,500 $18,000 $2,000
2006 $18,000 Indexed(2) Indexed(2) $18,000 $19,000 $2,111
2007 Indexed(2) Indexed(2) Indexed(2) $19,000 $20,000 $2,222
2008 Indexed(2) Indexed(2) Indexed(2) $20,000 $21,000 $2,333
2009 Indexed(2) Indexed(2) Indexed(2) $21,000 $22,000 $2,444
2010 Indexed(2) Indexed(2) Indexed(2) $22,000 Indexed(2) Indexed(2)
2011 Indexed(2) Indexed(2) Indexed(2) Indexed(2) Indexed(2) Indexed(2)

(1) Annual DPSP limit is 50% of the DC limit.
(2) Indexation of the previous year’s limit by the increase in the Average Industrial Wage Index

Impact on capital accumulation plans 

  • For capital accumulation plans like group RRSPs, DPSPs and DCs, the higher contribution limits may potentially increase employee and employer contributions for higher paid members.
  • The higher contributions will also affect the pension expense recognized in the employer’s financial statements.
  • It may be necessary to amend the plan text if the maximum contributions are expressed as fixed dollar amounts and the plan sponsor’s intent is to offer the possibility for members to contribute up to the maximum allowed by the Income Tax Act (ITA). Following the previous increase in limits with respect to the 2003 budget, most plans are now written in such a way as to refer directly to the ITA limits.


Increase in liabilities and current service cost of DB plans
 

  • The increase in the maximum pension limits starting in 2006 will increase the funding liabilities for higher paid members as well as the current service cost of the plan. The impact will be more significant on final earnings plans due to salary projections.
  • The impact on the solvency liabilities will be less than on the funding liabilities and will become apparent gradually with the annual increase in the ITA limit.
  • The impact on plan costs will only be reflected in the next actuarial valuation, including valuations done prior to the budget.
  • DB liabilities and current service cost for accounting purposes will also increase, which means that the employer’s pension expense will rise. The effect of this increase could virtually be cancelled out by a reduction in the costs of a supplemental employee retirement plan (see below).
  • Like capital accumulation plans, most DBs now refer directly to the ITA limits and will not have to be amended. However, if the plan limits contributions to a fixed amount, the impact described above will not apply, unless the sponsor’s intent is to increase the maximum benefit allowed.

Supplemental employee retirement plan (SERP)
 

  • If a SERP exists to provide benefits to all employees in excess of the ITA limit, the SERP liabilities will decrease proportionally with the increase in the registered plan liabilities.
  • On the other hand, as the funded portion of the member’s total benefit increases, the member’s benefit will be better protected, especially on termination of employment.
  • For accounting purposes, the total expense for employers offering SERPs should not be significantly affected. For an unfunded SERP, the total assets on the balance sheet will increase in the future (or the liability will decrease) due to the increase in employer contributions. However, if the SERP is funded, the effect will be minimal.
  • For a SERP funded through a Retirement Compensation Arrangement (RCA), the liabilities and contributions under the RCA will decrease, resulting in a more tax efficient use of the employer’s money. The employer may also receive an additional refundable tax to reflect the reduction in RCA obligations.

As you can see, the changes to the ITA limits improve pension benefits from retirement savings plans for higher paid employees. Therefore the impact of these changes is more significant for an employer with several higher paid employees who are eligible for contributions or benefits exceeding the ITA limits.

Elimination of the foreign property rule for retirement savings plans

The 2005 federal budget completely eliminates the 30% limit on foreign property investments in retirement savings plans, i.e., RRSPs, DPSPs, DCs and DBs, effective immediately.

The removal of this 30% limit will increase investment opportunities for members of capital accumulation plans and for DB pension funds since Canadian markets represent less than 3% of global market capitalization.

Administrators of capital accumulation plans and DBs should re-examine any synthetic foreign investments designed to get around the 30% limit. Where applicable, they should determine if there is a more efficient avenue to maintain or increase their foreign investment exposure, while hoping to reduce the tracking error.

DB plans

Administrators should reassess or reconfirm the investment policy of their DBs since removal of the foreign property limit will lead to better investment opportunities, not just for traditional asset classes but also for alternative classes like hedge funds, which are mainly composed of foreign property.

For plans considering an increase in the foreign content of their investments, greater attention must be paid to managing currency exposure. Although holding investments in foreign currencies has advantages in terms of diversification, greater foreign content increases currency-related risk, which must be taken into account since the underlying pension benefits are paid in Canadian dollars.

Capital accumulation plans

Capital accumulation plan administrators will most likely want to reexamine their investment platforms to determine if an increase in the number of foreign investment options is justified. Good education and proper communication with plan members about the appropriate asset distribution remain vital.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les mesures budgétaires visant l'épargne-retraite

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 8 N. 3, février 2005

Le budget fédéral déposé le 23 février 2005 apporte des modifications importantes touchant les régimes d’épargne-retraite canadiens, soit l’augmentation des plafonds de cotisations aux régimes d’épargne-retraite et l’élimination de la limite sur les biens étrangers pour ces régimes. Ce communiqué vise à vous présenter ces modifications ainsi que leurs principaux impacts sur vos régimes.

Augmentation des plafonds de cotisations aux régimes d’épargne-retraite

Une première modification vise l’augmentation des plafonds de cotisations aux régimes enregistrés d’épargne-retraite (REER), aux régimes à cotisations déterminées (CD) et aux régimes de participation différée aux bénéfices (RPDB). Ces augmentations futures des plafonds de cotisations entraînent également une augmentation des rentes maximales applicables aux régimes à prestations déterminées (PD). Le tableau suivant illustre la différence entre les anciens et les nouveaux plafonds :
 


 Anciens plafondsNouveaux plafonds
 

AnnéesCotisation au
REER
Cotisation
au CD(1)
Rente
maximale
(régime PD)
Cotisation au
REER
Cotisation
au CD(1)
Rente
maximale
(régime PD)

200516 500 $18 000 $2 000 $16 500 $18 000 $2 000 $
200618 000 $ Indexé(2) Indexé(2)18 000 $19 000 $2 111 $
2007 Indexé(2) Indexé(2) Indexé(2)19 000 $20 000 $2 222 $
2008 Indexé(2) Indexé(2) Indexé(2)20 000 $21 000 $2 333 $
2009 Indexé(2) Indexé(2) Indexé(2)21 000 $22 000 $2 444 $
2010 Indexé(2) Indexé(2) Indexé(2)22 000 $ Indexé(2) Indexé(2)
2011 Indexé(2) Indexé(2) Indexé(2) Indexé(2) Indexé(2) Indexé(2)

(1) Le plafond annuel pour un RPDB est égal à 50 % du plafond CD.
(2) Indexation du plafond de l’année précédente selon l’augmentation de l’indice du salaire industriel moyen. 


 Impact sur les régimes de capitalisation 

  • Pour les régimes de capitalisation tels les REER collectifs, les RPDB et les régimes CD, l’augmentation des plafonds de cotisations peut résulter en une augmentation des cotisations salariales et patronales pour les participants hauts salariés.
  • Cette augmentation de cotisations affectera également les coûts constatés aux états financiers de l’employeur (la charge de retraite).
  • Des modifications au règlement du régime pourraient s’avérer nécessaires si les cotisations maximales prévues sont exprimées en dollars fixes et que le promoteur du régime a l’intention d’offrir la possibilité de cotiser jusqu’à concurrence du maximum permis par la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu (LIR). Suite à l’augmentation passée des plafonds lors du budget de 2003, la majorité des règlements des régimes sont maintenant rédigés de façon à référer directement aux plafonds de la LIR.

Augmentation du passif et du coût du service courant des régimes PD 

  • La hausse des plafonds de rente maximale à compter de l’année 2006 entraînera une augmentation du passif de capitalisation des participants hauts salariés ainsi que du coût du service courant du régime. Dû aux projections salariales, l’effet sera plus marqué pour les régimes de type salaire final.
  • L’impact sur le passif de solvabilité sera moindre que sur le passif de capitalisation et se révélera graduellement avec l’augmentation annuelle du plafond de la LIR.
  • L’effet sur le coût du régime sera reflété uniquement lors de la prochaine évaluation actuarielle, incluant les évaluations à une date antérieure au dépôt du budget.
  • Le passif et le coût du service courant aux fins de la comptabilisation d’un régime PD augmenteront également et auront pour effet de hausser les coûts constatés de l’employeur. L’effet de cette hausse pourrait être pratiquement annulé par une réduction des coûts d’un éventuel régime d’appoint (voir plus bas).
  • Tout comme pour les régimes de capitalisation, la majorité des règlements des régimes PD réfèrent désormais directement aux plafonds de la LIR et n’ont donc pas à être modifiés suite au dépôt du dernier budget. Cependant, dans le cas où le régime limiterait les prestations à un montant fixe, l’impact présenté précédemment ne s’appliquerait pas, à moins que l’intention du promoteur soit de hausser les prestations maximales permises.

Régime d’appoint 

  • Si l’employeur offre un régime d’appoint à tous ses employés couvrant la portion des prestations qui excède le plafond de la LIR, le passif du régime d’appoint diminuera proportionnellement avec l’augmentation du passif du régime agréé.
  • D’un autre côté, comme la portion capitalisée des prestations totales du participant augmente, ce dernier bénéficiera d’une meilleure protection de ses prestations et ce, particulièrement en cas de cessation d’emploi.
  • Aux fins de la comptabilisation, les coûts totaux constatés pour les employeurs offrant ces régimes d’appoint ne devraient pas être affectés de façon significative. Si le régime d’appoint est non capitalisé, l’actif total inscrit au bilan augmentera ultimement (ou le passif diminuera, le cas échéant) grâce à l’augmentation des cotisations de l’employeur. Toutefois, il ne variera que très peu si le régime d’appoint est capitalisé.
  • Pour les régimes d’appoint capitalisés sous une convention de retraite, le passif et les cotisations en vertu de cette convention diminueront, augmentant ainsi l’efficacité fiscale des sommes versées par l’employeur. L’employeur pourra également recevoir un remboursement de taxes supplémentaires pour refléter la baisse des obligations de cette convention de retraite.

Comme vous pouvez le constater, ces changements aux plafonds de la LIR permettent l’amélioration des prestations de retraite provenant des régimes d’épargne-retraite pour les hauts salariés. Les effets sont donc plus importants pour l’employeur comptant plusieurs employés hauts salariés qui sont admissibles à des cotisations ou prestations excédant les plafonds de la LIR.

Élimination de la limite sur les biens étrangers pour les régimes d’épargne-retraite

Le budget fédéral de 2005 élimine complètement la limite de 30 % applicable aux placements en biens étrangers pour les régimes d’épargne-retraite, soit les REER, les RPDB, les régimes CD et les régimes PD. Ce changement prend effet immédiatement.

L’abolition de cette limite de 30 % amènera des opportunités d’investissement grandissantes pour les participants aux régimes de capitalisation ainsi que pour les caisses de retraite des régimes PD, puisque les marchés canadiens représentent moins de 3 % de la capitalisation des marchés globaux.

Les administrateurs de régimes de capitalisation ou de régimes PD devraient ré-éxaminer leurs investissements étrangers par le biais de produits synthétiques visant à contourner la limite de 30 %. Le cas échéant, les administrateurs devraient déterminer s’il existe une avenue plus efficace de maintenir ou d’augmenter leur exposition en investissements étrangers, tout en espérant obtenir une réduction de l’erreur de calquage actuellement observée.

Régimes PD

Les administrateurs devraient revoir ou confirmer la politique de placement de leurs régimes PD, puisque l’élimination de la limite sur les biens étrangers amènera de meilleures opportunités d’investissement tant pour les classes d’actifs traditionnelles que pour des classes alternatives comme les fonds de couverture, qui sont principalement composés de biens étrangers.

Pour les régimes qui considéreront une augmentation du contenu étranger de leurs investissements, une attention particulière devra être portée quant à la gestion de l’exposition à la devise. En effet, la détention d’investissements en devises étrangères comporte des avantages au niveau de la diversification, mais le risque lié à la devise augmente avec un accroissement du contenu étranger et ce risque doit être pris en considération, puisque les prestations de retraite sous-jacentes sont versées en dollars canadiens.

Régimes de capitalisation

Les administrateurs de régimes de capitalisation voudront ré-examiner leurs plateformes d’investissements afin de déterminer si une augmentation du nombre d’options d’investissements étrangers est justifiée. Une bonne éducation et une communication adéquate aux participants à l’égard de la distribution d’actifs appropriée demeurera primordiale.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6