Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The inclusion of income trusts in the S&P/TSX Composite Index

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 8 N. 2, Febuary 2005

In our June 2004 bulletin (Vol. 7, No. 6), we informed you about income trusts and the suspension of special measures proposed in the 2004 federal budget to limit pension funds’ investment in this investment vehicle. Upon writing that June bulletin, two main factors reduced the attractiveness of income trusts for the majority of pension funds. These were:

  • The unlimited liability of income trust unitholders in some provinces (unlike the shareholders of a corporation, whose liability is limited to their initial investment);
  • The fact that there were no income trusts in the S&P/TSX Composite Index.

Since then, the governments of Alberta and Ontario have announced legislative changes whereby income trust unitholders would have limited liability protection similar to that of shareholders of a corporation. Quebec law already included this protection.

These legislative changes by the Alberta and Ontario governments are clearly related to the Standard & Poor’s announcement made on January 26, 2005 of its intention to include income trusts in the S&P/TSX Composite Index in the near future. Although no timetable was given, some market players expect these trusts to be added to the Index gradually, with the process being completed within six to eight months. It is important to note that income trusts will be directly included in the S&P/TSX Composite Index. However, Standard & Poor’s also indicated that a parallel index that does not contain any income trusts (and is therefore identical to the current index) will be published under a new name. Furthermore, no income trusts will be included in the S&P/TSX 60 Index.

At the present time, there are 175 income trusts listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange, with a market capitalization of nearly $120 billions. The majority have their place of business in Ontario or Alberta. According to a study done by TD Securities, 53 of these 175 trusts could qualify to be included in the Index under Standard & Poor’s current eligibility criteria, excluding those issued in provinces (like British Columbia) that do not have any liability protection for unitholders. With these 53 issues, income trusts could represent about 8% of the Index, and more than half would be in the Energy sector.

For pension funds and other institutional investors, the main implications of this change in the benchmark index for Canadian large caps would be:

  • To reach an agreement with investment managers regarding which benchmark index to use for Canadian Equities mandates.
    • The majority of managers in active management should opt for the index that includes income trusts since this index will be more representative of the Canadian stock market and will allow them to take advantage of a larger pool of securities.
    • For passive management, it is expected that products based on the two indices will be offered to investors, the default option being the product that includes income trusts.
  • If the current index is maintained as the benchmark for Large Cap Canadian Equities, it will be necessary to amend the investment policy to allow income trust issues to be purchased, if desired.

It would also be recommended to follow the developments regarding the federal government’s special measures to limit pension funds’ investment in income trusts (see Bulletin, Vol. 7, No. 6).

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

L'inclusion des fiducies de revenu dans l'indice S&P/TSX

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 8 N. 2, février 2005

Un communiqué transmis en juin 2004 (Vol. 7¸ No. 6)¸ vous informait sur les fiducies de revenu et le report des mesures spéciales prévues au budget fédéral 2004 visant à limiter l´investissement des caisses de retraite dans ce véhicule d´investissement. Au moment d´écrire notre communiqué¸ deux principaux facteurs réduisaient l´attrait des fiducies de revenu pour la majorité des caisses de retraite :  

  • La responsabilité illimitée des porteurs de parts de fiducie de revenu sous certaines juridictions (contrairement à une responsabilité des actionnaires d´une société limitée à leur investissement initial);
  • L´exclusion des fiducies de revenu de l´indice Composé S&P/TSX.

Depuis¸ les gouvernements de l´Alberta et de l´Ontario ont annoncé une modification législative de sorte que les porteurs de parts de fiducie de revenu puissent bénéficier d´une protection quant à la responsabilité similaire à celle des actionnaires d´une société. Il est à noter que la législation québécoise prévoyait déjà une protection à ce niveau.

Ces changements législatifs des gouvernements albertain et ontarien ne sont certes pas étrangers à l´annonce par Standard & Poor´s¸ le 26 janvier 2005¸ de son intention d´inclure prochainement les fiducies de revenu dans l´indice Composé S&P/TSX. Même si Standard & Poor´s n´a pas divulgué d´échéancier pour l´inclusion des fiducies de revenu dans l´indice¸ plusieurs intervenants du marché s´attendent à ce qu´elles soient intégrées graduellement à l´indice et que cette intégration soit complétée à l´intérieur d´une période de six à huit mois. Il est important de noter que les fiducies de revenu seront incluses à même l´indice Composé S&P/TSX; Standard & Poor´s a toutefois précisé qu´un indice sans fiducie de revenu (et donc identique à l´indice actuel) sera publié parallèlement sous un autre nom. Les fiducies de revenu ne seront par ailleurs pas intégrées à l´indice S&P/TSX 60.

La bourse de Toronto compte actuellement 175 émissions de fiducies de revenu¸ dont la majorité ont place d´affaires en Ontario et en Alberta¸ représentant une capitalisation boursière de près de 120 milliards de dollars. Selon une étude de TD Securities¸ 53 de ces 175 émissions pourraient présentement se qualifier pour être incluses dans l´indice selon les critères d´admission actuellement établis par Standard & Poor´s¸ et en excluant les titres émis dans des provinces (comme la Colombie-Britannique) qui ne prévoient aucune protection relative à la responsabilité des porteurs de parts. Avec ces 53 émissions¸ les fiducies de revenu pourraient représenter environ 8 % de l´indice¸ dont plus de la moitié dans le secteur de l´Énergie.

Les principales implications de cette modification à l´indice de référence des actions canadiennes de grande capitalisation pour les caisses de retraite et autres investisseurs institutionnels seront les suivantes :  

  • Convenir avec les gestionnaires de l´indice de référence à utiliser pour les mandats d´actions canadiennes.
    • La majorité des gestionnaires en gestion active devraient opter pour l´indice incluant les fiducies de revenu étant donné que cet indice sera plus représentatif du marché des actions canadiennes et qu´il permettra aux gestionnaires de profiter d´un plus grand bassin de titres.
    • Pour la gestion indicielle¸ on s´attend à ce que des produits selon les deux indices soient offerts aux investisseurs¸ le produit par défaut étant celui qui inclura les fiducies de revenu.
  • Advenant le choix de maintenir l´indice de référence actuel¸ la politique de placement devra être modifiée afin de permettre l´achat d´émissions de fiducies de revenu¸ le cas échéant.

Finalement¸ il sera également opportun de suivre les développements relativement aux mesures spéciales du gouvernement fédéral visant à limiter l´investissement des caisses de retraite dans les fiducies de revenu (voir Communiqué Vol. 7¸ No. 6).

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6