Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

What companies listed on the S&P/TSX Index do in regard to the accounting standards applicable to employee future benefits

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 8 N. 16, December 2005

Several companies in the private sector will soon be finalizing their financial statements for the fiscal year that is drawing to a close. Among the disclosure notes that should be prepared for these financial statements one pertains to costs for defined benefit (DB) pension plans and group insurance plans offered to retirees (other post-employment benefits). 

The required assumptions to determine the accrued benefit obligation and the cost must be established by the management of the company. To help companies select these assumptions, we have analyzed the annual reports of 26 Quebec-based companies listed on the S&P/TSX Index whose fiscal year ended between September 30, 2004 and March 31, 2005. All of these companies sponsored at least one DB pension plan and 22 of them offered at least one group insurance plan to their retired employees. 

Our analysis is divided into three sections. The first section presents the assumptions used in percentile format. The charts present a comparison of the assumptions used for fiscal years ending in 2004 (between September 30, 2004 and March 31, 2005) and in 2003 (between September 30, 2003 and March 31, 2004). The second section summarizes the results of these charts along with additional data analysis. The third and final section presents our comments with respect to the selection of some assumptions.

1.Selection of assumptions

The following charts present the survey results of the key economic assumptions used for DB pension plans and other post-employment benefits in percentile format.
 


 End of 2004
(Sept. 30, 2004 to March 31, 2005)
End of 2003
(Sept. 30, 2003 to March 31, 2004)

Defined Benefit Pension Plans


Discount Rate
5th percentile6.50%6.75%
25th percentile6.24%6.50%
50th percentile6.00%6.25%
75th percentile5.83%6.00%
95th percentile5.75%5.83%

Expected Long-Term Rate of Return on Assets
5th percentile7.98%7.98%
25th percentile7.75%7.75%
50th percentile7.50%7.50%
75th percentile7.03%7.03%
95th percentile7.00%7.00%

Compensation Growth Rate (also applicable in some cases to other post-employment benefits)
5th percentile4.97%4.99%
25th percentile4.00%4.00%
50th percentile3.50%3.50%
75th percentile3.48%3.48%
95th percentile3.27%3.05%

Other Post-Employment Benefits


Discount Rate
5th percentile6.50%6.75%
25th percentile6.24%6.45%
50th percentile6.00%6.25%
75th percentile6.00%6.00%
95th percentile5.80%5.90%

Trend Rate for Health Care Costs - Initial Period
5th percentile12.47%12.28%
25th percentile10.00%10.00%
50th percentile9.85%9.65%
75th percentile7.75%8.30%
95th percentile6.91%6.20%

Trend Rate for Health Care Costs - Ultimate Period
5th percentile7.32%7.16%
25th percentile5.30%5.83%
50th percentile5.00%5.30%
75th percentile4.80%5.00%
95th percentile4.40%5.00%

 2.Findings

  • For DB pension plans, the median discount rate used at the end of 2004 was 6.00%, compared to a median rate of 6.25% at the end of 2003. Close to 80% of the surveyed companies used a discount rate between 5.75% and 6.25% at the end of 2004. As a result, there is little variance in this assumption. Although the median discount rate fell by 0.25% from 2003 to 2004, about one quarter of the companies maintained or increased their discount rate between those dates. The observed range in this assumption might be explained, in particular, by the demographic profile of the members of the surveyed companies and the relative weight of DB pension plans outside Canada (a different discount rate may be used for DB pension plans outside Canada).
  • The median expected long-term rate of return on DB pension plan assets was 7.50% for 2004. All but one of the surveyed companies used an assumption equal to or higher than 7.00%. Since actuarial valuations may be performed once every three years, it is conceivable that this assumption might be reduced at the next actuarial valuation, as it was the case for many funding valuations made as of December 31, 2004 or more recently. Although the purposes of funding valuations might be different from those of accounting valuations, a discount rate below 7.00% was almost always used for our clients’ funding valuations as at December 31, 2004.
  • In accordance with the new disclosure requirements of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants (CICA), at the end of 2004, companies were required to identify the proportion of DB pension plan assets invested in equities and fixed income securities. Close to 80% of the surveyed companies had between 50% and 60% of DB pension plan assets invested in equities. As the proportion of assets invested in equities should be aligned with the investment policy, the range in the expected long-term rate of return assumption was not explained entirely by the actual asset mix. However, similarly to the discount rate, the relative weight of DB pension plans outside Canada (a different expected long-term rate of return may be used for DB pension plans outside Canada) may partially explain the variance in the expected long-term rate of return assumption.
  • Many companies sponsor DB pension plans and group insurance plans to their retirees that offer salary-based benefits. These companies must establish an assumption related to the compensation growth rate. At the end of 2004, the median compensation growth rate was 3.50%, a rate identical to the one used at the end of 2003. Half of the surveyed companies used a rate that varied between 3.50% and 4.00% at the end of 2004. The differences can be explained, in particular, by a company’s business sector, demographics of the covered group and the definition of compensation.
  • For companies offering a group insurance plan to their retirees, the median discount rate was identical to the rate used for DB pension plans. At the end of 2004, around 30% of the surveyed companies were using a discount rate that was higher than the rate disclosed for DB pension plans, which might be explained by the demographic profile of the members (they may not be the same) and the timing of benefits (incidence and level of benefits may be different).
  • The trend rate for health care costs is the most important assumption for group insurance plans offered to retirees. Given the significant increases witnessed over the last few years, health care costs are generally expected to rise at a higher rate in the short term (initial period) and gradually fall to a lower ultimate level. About 60% of the surveyed companies had used an initial rate higher than 9.00% in 2004. The variation of the trend rate might be explained, in particular, by the nature (drugs, hospital, dental care, etc.) and the particular experience of the plans.
  • The ultimate median trend rate for health care costs was 5.00% at the end of 2004, compared to a rate of 5.30% at the end of 2003. Around two thirds of the companies used an ultimate rate between 4.50% and 5.50% at the end of 2004. These rates likely vary for the same reasons as the initial trend rates vary.

3.Comments 

  • Discount rate

The discount rate selected should generally be established based on the rates of return for high quality debt instruments with cash flows matching the timing of benefits.

In the United States, the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) has stated that high quality debt instruments correspond, for example, to a Moody’s AA corporate bond rating. The CICA has not provided any opinion on the specific level of high quality debt instruments. The CICA did, however, suggested that an appropriate measure was the return on a long term Government of Canada bond with an adjustment to account for the risk premium applicable to high quality corporate bonds.

In Canada, given the scarcity of long-term bonds that meet the American standards for high quality, some Canadian companies interpreted the notion of high quality as an A rating or higher, or even a BBB rating in some instances. This more liberal interpretation generally resulted in companies using a discount rate 0.25% higher than a rate selected according to the American standards. The use of a discount rate reduced by 0.25% would have translated into an increase of approximately 5% to 10% in the cost of employee future benefits.

Moreover, the CICA with the intervention of the Auditing and Assurance Standards (AASB) issued on November 15, 2005 an invitation to comment on its proposed new standard-setting approach that envisions the convergence of the Canadian standards with the International standards. The International standards require, for the determination of the discount rate, the use of high quality corporate bonds. However, when there is a scarcity of high quality corporate bonds in a local market, the International standards suggest using a government bond rate of return. In this context, it is conceivable that a lower discount rate would have been used by some companies.

Finally, other factors, like the materiality of results or the extrapolation method used for long-term maturities, may explain the variance in discount rates used by the surveyed companies. 

  • Expected long-term rate of return on assets

As stated in Section 2, more recent valuations may prompt management to review and reduce the assumption related to the expected long-term rate of return on DB pension plan assets. Based on the information presented by the surveyed companies, we believe that some companies were overestimating this assumption. Decreasing the expected long-term rate of return assumption would significantly increase the cost of employee future benefits.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Ce que font les entreprises listées sur le S&P/TSX en égard aux normes comptables applicables aux avantages sociaux futurs

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 8 N. 16, décembre 2005

Plusieurs entreprises du secteur privé finaliseront prochainement leurs états financiers pour l’année fiscale qui se termine. Parmi les notes complémentaires devant être préparées pour ces états financiers est celle relative aux coûts constatés pour les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées (régimes PD) et pour les régimes d’assurance collective offerts aux retraités (autres avantages sociaux). 

Les hypothèses requises pour déterminer l’obligation au titre des prestations constituées et le coût constaté doivent être établies par la direction d’une entreprise. Afin d’aider les entreprises à sélectionner ces hypothèses, nous avons analysé les rapports annuels de 26 entreprises québécoises faisant partie de l’indice S&P/TSX dont l’exercice financier s’est terminé entre le 30 septembre 2004 et le 31 mars 2005. Toutes ces entreprises parrainaient au moins un régime PD et 22 d’entre elles offraient au moins un régime d’assurance collective à ses retraités. 

Notre analyse est divisée en trois parties. La première partie illustre en rang centile les hypothèses utilisées. Les tableaux permettent de comparer les hypothèses utilisées pour les exercices se terminant à la fin de 2004 (entre le 30 septembre 2004 et le 31 mars 2005) et à la fin de 2003 (entre le 30 septembre 2003 et le 31 mars 2004). La deuxième partie résume les constats tirés de ces tableaux et en ajoute certains qui ne peuvent être déduits que par l’analyse des données. Finalement, la troisième partie présente nos commentaires en regard de la sélection de certaines hypothèses.

1.Sélection des hypothèses

Les tableaux suivants illustrent en rang centile les hypothèses économiques les plus importantes utilisées par les entreprises analysées pour les régimes PD et les autres avantages sociaux. 


 Fin 2004
(30 sept. 2004 au 31 mars 2005)
Fin 2003
(30 sept. 2003 au 31 mars 2004)

Régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées


Taux d'actualisation
5e rang centile6,50 %6,75 %
25e rang centile6,24 %6,50 %
50e rang centile6,00 %6,25 %
75e rang centile5,83 %6,00 %
95e rang centile5,75 %5,83 %

Taux de rendement espéré à long terme sur les actifs
5e rang centile7,98 %7,98 %
25e rang centile7,75 %7,75 %
50e rang centile7,50 %7,50 %
75e rang centile7,03 %7,03 %
95e rang centile7,00 %7,00 %

Taux de croissance de la rémunération1
5e rang centile4,97 %4,99 %
25e rang centile4,00 %4,00 %
50e rang centile3,50 %3,50 %
75e rang centile3,48 %3,48 %
95e rang centile3,27 %3,05 %
  1 Également applicables, dans certains cas, aux autres avantages sociaux

Autres avantages sociaux


Taux d'actualisation
5e rang centile6,50 %6,75 %
25e rang centile6,24 %6,45 %
50e rang centile6,00 %6,25 %
75e rang centile6,00 %6,00 %
95e rang centile5,80 %5,90 %

Taux de croissance des coûts des soins de santé - Période initiale
5e rang centile12,47 %12,28 %
25e rang centile10,00 %10,00 %
50e rang centile9,85 %9,65 %
75e rang centile7,75 %8,30 %
95e rang centile6,91 %6,20 %

Taux de croissance des coûts des soins de santé - Période ultime
5e rang centile7,32 %7,16 %
25e rang centile5,30 %5,83 %
50e rang centile5,00 %5,30 %
75e rang centile4,80 %5,00 %
95e rang centile4,40 %5,00 %

2.Constats

  • Pour les régimes PD, le taux d’actualisation médian utilisé à la fin de 2004 était de 6,00 % comparativement à 6,25 % à la fin de 2003. Près de 80 % des entreprises analysées ont utilisé à la fin de 2004 un taux d’actualisation variant entre 5,75 % et 6,25 %. Il y a donc peu de variance au niveau du choix de cette hypothèse. Bien que le taux d’actualisation médian ait diminué de 0,25 % de 2003 à 2004, environ le quart des entreprises ont maintenu ou augmenté leur taux d’actualisation. L’écart observé dans cette hypothèse peut être expliqué, entre autres, par le profil démographique des participants et le poids des régimes PD hors Canada (un taux d’actualisation différent peut être utilisé pour les régimes PD hors Canada).
  • Le taux médian de rendement espéré à long terme sur les actifs des régimes PD était de 7,50 % au cours de l’année 2004. À l’exception d’une entreprise, elles utilisaient toutes une hypothèse égale ou supérieure à 7,00 %. Comme il est permis d’effectuer des évaluations actuarielles à tous les trois ans, il est possible que cette hypothèse soit revue à la baisse lors de la prochaine évaluation actuarielle, comme cela a été le cas pour plusieurs évaluations effectuées aux fins de capitalisation au 31 décembre 2004 ou plus récemment. Bien que les objectifs poursuivis pour les évaluations de capitalisation puissent être différents de ceux des évaluations de comptabilisation, les évaluations de capitalisation effectuées pour nos clients au 31 décembre 2004 utilisaient presque toujours un taux d’actualisation inférieur à 7,00 %.
  • En vertu des nouvelles exigences de divulgation de l’Institut canadien des comptables agréés (ICCA), les entreprises devaient identifier à la fin de l’année 2004 la proportion des actifs des régimes PD investis en actions et en titres à revenus fixes. Près de 80 % des entreprises analysées avaient entre 50 % et 60 % des actifs des régimes PD investis en actions. Comme la proportion des actifs investis en actions doit se conformer à la politique de placement, l’écart observé dans l’hypothèse de taux de rendement espéré à long terme n’était donc pas entièrement expliqué par la répartition des actifs investis en actions. Par contre, de façon similaire au taux d’actualisation, le poids des régimes PD hors Canada (un taux de rendement espéré à long terme différent peut être utilisé pour les régimes PD hors Canada) peut également expliquer une partie de la variabilité.
  • Plusieurs entreprises parrainent des régimes PD et des régimes d’assurance collective à ses retraités offrant des prestations basées sur le salaire. Ces dernières doivent donc établir une hypothèse du taux de croissance de la rémunération. Le taux médian de croissance de la rémunération était de 3,50 % à la fin de 2004, ce qui était identique à celui utilisé à la fin de 2003. La moitié des entreprises analysées ont utilisé un taux variant entre 3,50 % et 4,00% à la fin de 2004. La disparité observée dans cette hypothèse peut être expliquée, entre autres, par le secteur d’activités de l’entreprise, le profil démographique du groupe de participants visés par le régime et la définition de la rémunération.
  • Pour les entreprises offrant un régime d’assurance collective à ses retraités, le taux d’actualisation médian était identique à celui utilisé pour les régimes PD. Par contre, environ 30 % des entreprises analysées utilisaient à la fin de 2004 un taux d’actualisation supérieur à celui divulgué pour les régimes PD. Ceci peut être expliqué par le profil démographique des participants (il ne s’agit pas nécessairement des mêmes participants) et l’échelonnement des prestations (l’incidence et le niveau des paiements peuvent être différents).
  • Le taux de croissance des coûts des soins de santé est l’hypothèse la plus importante eu égard aux régimes d’assurance collective offerts aux retraités. Compte tenu des hausses majeures observées au cours des dernières années, les coûts des soins de santé sont généralement présumés augmenter à un taux plus élevé à court terme (période initiale), pour réduire graduellement vers un niveau ultime. Environ 60 % des entreprises analysées utilisaient à la fin de 2004 un taux initial supérieur à 9,00 %. La variabilité du taux peut être expliquée, entre autres, par la nature (médicaments, hospitalisation, soins dentaires, etc.) et l’expérience des régimes.
  • Le taux médian de croissance des coûts des soins de santé était, dans sa portion ultime, de 5,00 % à la fin de 2004 comparativement à 5,30 % à la fin de 2003. Environ les deux tiers des entreprises utilisaient à la fin de 2004 un taux ultime variant entre 4,50 % et 5,50 %. La variabilité du taux ultime peut être expliquée par les mêmes raisons que celles évoquées pour le taux initial.

3.Commentaires 

  • Taux d’actualisation

Le taux d’actualisation sélectionné doit généralement être établi, pour chacun des régimes, en fonction du taux de rendement des titres de créance de qualité supérieure dont les flux de trésorerie correspondent à l’échelonnement des prestations.

Aux États-Unis, la Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) a émis l’opinion que les titres de créance de qualité supérieure correspondaient, par exemple, à une cote AA de Moody’s. De son côté, l’ICCA n’a émis aucune opinion sur le niveau minimal des titres de créance de qualité supérieure. L’ICCA a toutefois indiqué qu’il serait approprié d’utiliser le rendement d’une obligation du Gouvernement du Canada et de faire un ajustement pour tenir compte d’une prime de risque applicable aux obligations corporatives de qualité supérieure.

Au Canada, compte tenu de la rareté des obligations à long terme de qualité supérieure selon les standards américains, quelques entreprises canadiennes ont interprété la notion de qualité supérieure comme une cote A ou plus, voire même BBB dans certains cas. Cette interprétation plus libérale a généralement permis d’utiliser un taux d’actualisation de 0,25 % supérieur à ce qu’il aurait été selon les standards américains. L’utilisation d’un taux d’actualisation réduit de 0,25 % se serait traduit par une augmentation de 5 % à 10 % du coût constaté au titre des avantages sociaux futurs.

De plus, l’ICCA, par l’entremise du Conseil des normes de vérification et de certification (CNVC), a publié le 15 novembre 2005 un document de consultation proposant la convergence des normes canadiennes vers les normes internationales. Les normes internationales prévoient, aux fins de la détermination du taux d’actualisation, l’utilisation d’un taux de rendement sur des obligations corporatives de qualité supérieure. Toutefois, lorsqu’il y a rareté d’obligations corporatives de qualité supérieure dans un marché local, les normes internationales suggèrent d’utiliser le taux de rendement sur les obligations gouvernementales. Dans ce contexte, un taux inférieur aurait pu être utilisé pour certaines entreprises.

Finalement, d’autres facteurs, tels la matérialité des résultats ou la méthode d’extrapolation des taux pour les longues échéances, peuvent expliquer des écarts entre les taux utilisés par les compagnies analysées.

  • Taux de rendement espéré à long terme sur les actifs

Comme mentionné à la partie 2, des évaluations actuarielles plus récentes pourraient inciter la direction des entreprises à revoir à la baisse l’hypothèse de taux de rendement espéré à long terme sur les actifs des régimes PD. Sur la base des informations présentées par les entreprises analysées, nous sommes d’avis que quelques entreprises surestimaient l’hypothèse de taux de rendement espéré à long terme sur les actifs des régimes PD. Une baisse du taux de rendement espéré à long terme augmenterait de façon significative les coûts constatés pour les régimes PD.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6