Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The Quebec Parental Insurance Plan

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 8 N. 15, December 2005

The Quebec Parental Insurance Plan (QPIP) will come into effect on January 1, 2006. This is a follow-up to our March bulletin (Vol. 8, No. 5, March 2005) and updates the information concerning the benefits payable and the premiums paid by employees, employers and self-employed workers.

BENEFITS

Future parents must choose between the basic plan and the special plan in the calendar week when they wish to start receiving benefits. The choice of plan is determined by the first parent to receive benefits. The choice cannot be modified, and applies to all benefit types for the same event. For example, if the first parent selects the basic plan for maternity benefits, the basic plan will also apply for paternity benefits and parental benefits.

Under the basic plan, for a birth, the mother may receive benefits for up to 50 weeks whereas under the special plan, the maximum is 40 weeks. The level of benefits depends on which plan is chosen.

Parents may take their weeks of benefits consecutively or simultaneously.

Benefits

   Duration, Income replacement(1)
   
Type of benefitsBeneficiaryBasic planSpecial plan

For a birth
 
Maternity benefitsMother18 weeks, 70%15 weeks, 75%
Paternity benefitsFather5 weeks, 70%3 weeks, 75%
Parental benefitsMother and father
(can be shared)
7 weeks, 70%, and
25 weeks, 55%
25 weeks, 75%

For an adoption
 
Adoption benefitsMother and father
(can be shared)
12 weeks, 70%
25 weeks, 55%
28 weeks, 75%

(1)   Benefits are a percentage of income up to a maximum annual income of $57,000.

 Note:

  • To be eligible, a parent must have at least $2,000 of earned income in the 52 weeks preceding the start of benefits;
  • Benefits commence in the first week of maternity leave; and
  • Benefits are taxable.

PREMIUMS

As set out in the Canada-Quebec Agreement, the premium rate paid by Quebec workers and employers to the federal employment insurance plan will be reduced for the parental insurance portion effective January 1, 2006. However, on the same date, Revenue Quebec will start collecting the new QPIP premiums from employees (through deductions at source), employers and self-employed workers. One important change is that when maternity and parental benefits came under employment insurance, self-employed workers were not eligible to receive benefits.


 Premiums as at January 1, 2006
 
 Employment insurance
2005(1)
QPIP 2006(2)Employment insurance
2006(1) - Quebec only

Employees$1.95 / $100 of
insurable income
0.416% of
insurable income
$1.53 / $100 of
insurable income
Employers$2.73 (3) / $100 of
insurable income
0.583% of
insurable income
$2.14 (3) / $100 of
insurable income
Self-employed
workers
Not eligible0.737% of
insurable income
Not eligible

(1)   Insurable income includes taxable benefits; the maximum is $39,000 per year.
(2)   Insurable income includes taxable benefits; the maximum is $57,000 per year.
(3)   Non-reduced rate 


 For employees whose insurable income does not exceed $39,000, the premiums of employees and employers payable to the employment insurance plan and the QPIP starting January 1, 2006 will remain the same as the employment insurance premiums paid in 2005.

However, for employees whose insurable income exceeds $39,000, the QPIP premiums will cost the employee and employer more. This is because the maximum insurable income under the employment insurance plan is $39,000 per year while the maximum under the QPIP is $57,000.

For more information about the QPIP, you can go to the following address: www.RQAP.gouv.qc.ca.

IMPACT ON OTHER BENEFIT PLANS

The QPIP will have very little impact on group insurance plans since they rarely include the payment of disability benefits during maternity and parental leaves. For plans that do pay disability benefits during maternity or parental leaves, the disability benefits could be integrated with the QPIP benefits.

The cost of Supplemental Unemployment Benefits for maternity and parental leave will go down for employers that already supplement maternity and parental benefits for their employees. This is because the QPIP income replacement rates are higher than the current rate for employment insurance (55%) and the maximum insurable income is higher with the QPIP than with employment insurance. However, as we mentioned above, for employees whose insurable earnings exceed $39,000, QPIP premiums will cost them more.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Le régime québécois d'assurance parentale

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 8 N. 15, décembre 2005

Le 1er janvier prochain, le Régime québécois d’assurance parentale (RQAP) verra le jour. Ce communiqué fait suite à celui publié en mars dernier (vol. 8 no. 5, mars 2005) et met à jour l’information concernant les prestations payables ainsi que les cotisations des employés, des employeurs et des travailleurs autonomes.

LES PRESTATIONS

Les futurs parents doivent choisir entre le régime de base et le régime particulier au cours de la semaine civile à compter de laquelle ils désirent recevoir des prestations. Le choix du régime de prestations est déterminé par le premier des deux parents qui recevra les prestations. Ce choix ne peut être modifié et s’applique à tous les types de prestations pour le même événement. Par exemple, si le premier parent choisit le régime de base pour les prestations de maternité, le régime de base s’appliquera également aux prestations de paternité et aux prestations parentales.

Sous le régime de base, dans le cas d’une naissance, le nombre de semaines de prestations peut atteindre 50 semaines pour une mère, alors que sous le régime particulier, le nombre est de 40 semaines. Le niveau des prestations dépend du régime choisi.

Les parents peuvent prendre leurs semaines de prestations l’un après l’autre ou concurremment. 

Prestations offertes

   Durée, remplacement de revenu(1)
   
Type de prestationsPrestataireRégime de baseRégime particulier

Dans le cas d’une naissance
 
Prestations de maternitéMère18 semaines, 70 %15 semaines, 75 %
Prestations de paternitéPère5 semaines, 70 %3 semaines, 75 %
Prestations parentalesMère et le père
(Partageable)
7 semaines, 70 %, et
25 semaines, 55 %
25 semaines, 75 %

Dans le cas d’une adoption
 
Prestations d’adoptionMère et le père
(Partageable)
12 semaines, 70 %
25 semaines, 55 %
28 semaines, 75 %

 (1) Les prestations sont en pourcentage du revenu jusqu’à concurrence d’un revenu annuel de 57 000 $.

Il est à noter que :

  • Pour être admissible, il faut avoir gagné un revenu d'au moins 2 000 $ au cours des 52 semaines précédent le début des prestations;
  • Les prestations débutent à compter de la première semaine du congé de maternité; et
  • Les prestations sont imposables.

LES COTISATIONS

Tel que convenu selon « l’entente Canada-Québec », le taux de cotisation des travailleurs et des employeurs québécois au régime fédéral d’assurance emploi sera réduit pour la portion d’assurance parentale à compter du 1er janvier 2006. Toutefois, à compter de la même date, Revenu Québec percevra la nouvelle cotisation du RQAP auprès des employés (par retenue à la source), des employeurs et des travailleurs autonomes. Il est à noter que lorsque les prestations de maternité et parentales étaient sous la gouverne de l’assurance emploi, les travailleurs autonomes n’étaient pas admissibles à recevoir des prestations.


 Cotisations au 1er janvier
 
 Assurance emploi 2005(1)RQAP 2006(2)Assurance emploi 2006(1)
Québec seulement

Employés1,95 $ / 100 $ de gains
assurables
0,416 % des gains
assurables
1,53 $ / 100 $ de gains
assurables
Employeurs2,73 $ (3) / 100 $ de gains
assurables
0,583 % des gains
assurables
2,14 $ (3) / 100 $ de gains
assurables
Travailleurs
autonomes
Non admissibles0,737 % des gains
assurables
Non admissibles

(1)   Les gains assurables incluent les avantages imposables et sont limités à 39 000 $par année.
(2)   Les gains assurables incluent les avantages imposables et sont limités à 57 000 $par année.
(3)   Taux non-réduit 


 Pour les employés dont les gains assurables ne dépassent pas 39 000 $, les cotisations des employés et des employeurs versées à l’assurance emploi et au RQAP à compter du 1er janvier 2006 seront maintenues au même niveau que celles payées à l’assurance emploi en 2005.

Cependant, pour tous les employés dont les gains assurables dépassent 39 000 $, les cotisations au RQAP constituent une charge supplémentaire pour l’employé et l‘employeur. Ceci est attribuable au fait que dans le régime d’assurance emploi, les gains assurables sont limités à 39 000 $ par année, alors que le RQAP les a plafonnés à 57 000 $.

Pour plus de renseignements sur le RQAP, vous pouvez vous rendre à l’adresse suivante : www.rqap.gouv.qc.ca

L’EFFET SUR LES RÉGIMES D’AVANTAGES SOCIAUX

Le RQAP aura très peu d’effet sur les régimes d’assurance collective, puisque ceux-ci prévoient rarement un paiement de prestations d’assurance salaire lors de congés de maternité ou parentaux. Pour les régimes payant des prestations d’assurance salaire lors de congés de maternité ou parentaux, les prestations d’assurance salaire pourraient être intégrées avec celles du RQAP.

Il est intéressant de noter que les employeurs offrant déjà un supplément complémentaire aux prestations de maternité et parentales à leurs employés verront les coûts de leur programme diminuer. Ceci est attribuable au fait que les taux de remplacement de revenu du RQAP sont plus élevés que celui actuellement en vigueur avec l’assurance emploi (55 %) et que le niveau maximal des gains assurables est plus élevé avec le RQAP qu’avec l’assurance emploi. Toutefois, tel que mentionné ci-dessus, pour tous les employés dont les gains assurables dépassent 39 000 $, les cotisations au RQAP constituent une charge supplémentaire.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6