Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Accounting standards : significant increase in costs expected for 2006

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 8 N. 13, November 2005

For private sector companies whose fiscal year ends on December 31, fall marks the time of the year when budgets are determined. Among other things, your budget will include costs for defined benefit pension plans and group insurance plans offered to retirees.

As a result of the decline in long-term bond yields in 2005 (used to determine the discount rate), a significant increase in these costs is expected for 2006. This increase could vary from 20% to 40%, or even more, based on the demographic profile of active members, the maturity of the plan (large number of retirees) and the financial position, or owing to special circumstances (amendments, settlements or curtailments).

The annual discount rate used for the purpose of disclosing the accrued benefit obligation as at December 31, 2004 and for calculating the cost for 2005 was around 5.75%. Since the beginning of 2005, this rate has fallen to around 5.00%, for a reduction of 0.75%. By comparison, the rate reduction for 2004 was around 0.25%.

To give you a better understanding of this increase in the cost for future employee benefits, we are providing you with a few «rules of thumb» (applicable for 2005 and to forecast for 2006) for each of the components that make up the cost: 

  • Current service cost for the employer

Each 1% reduction in the discount rate results in an increase of around 20% in the current service cost for the employer. The increase will be greater for contributory pension plans and group insurance plans for which the cost assumed by the retirees has a set dollar amount. Conversely, the increase will not be as great for plans for which the average age of the active members is high (over 45 years of age). 

  • Interest on the average accrued benefit obligation

Since the interest on the average obligation results from the multiplication of the average obligation by the discount rate, little impact is expected from this component. In fact, the increase in the average obligation will be offset by a lower discount rate.

  • Expected return on average assets 

For funded pension plans, the expected return on average assets results from the multiplication of the average assets by the expected long term return. Any gain in relation to the expected long-term return assumption on plan assets will directly reduce the cost. The more mature the plan, the more significant the reduction in the cost. The good returns in 2004 (SEI median for balanced funds of 10.4%) lessened the impact of the 0.25% reduction in the discount rate. For 2005, it is less likely that the returns will entirely eliminate the impact of the 0.75% reduction in the discount rate.

  • Amortization of actuarial gains and losses

Many companies have incurred actuarial losses over the last years. When the balance is sufficient (greater than the 10% margin), the excess is amortized. Then, for many companies, around 5% (20-year amortization period) to 10% (10-year amortization period) of the loss recorded in 2005 will be recognized in 2006. The magnitude of the loss on the accrued benefit obligation will depend on the maturity of the plan. As a general rule, a 1% reduction in the discount rate will increase the obligation linked to retirees by around 10% and the obligation linked to active members by around 20%. For health care plans offered to retirees, the high inflation expected on health care costs will add to this increase.

  • Special circumstances

Other factors such as amendments, settlements and curtailments pertaining to the plan can also impact the cost.


Potential increases will vary according to the status of each plan. By identifying the impacts now, you will avoid any surprises following the completion of the budget exercise.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les normes comptables: augmentation marquée des coûts constatés prévue pour 2006

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 8 N. 13, novembre 2005

Pour les entreprises du secteur privé dont l’exercice fiscal se termine le 31 décembre, l’automne est la saison des budgets. Parmi les éléments de votre budget figurent ceux relatifs aux coûts qui seront constatés pour les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées et les régimes d’assurance collective offerts aux retraités.

Une augmentation importante de ces coûts est anticipée pour l’année 2006 en raison de la diminution des taux de rendement sur les obligations à long terme au cours de l’année 2005, puisque ces taux de rendement servent à déterminer le taux d’actualisation. Cette augmentation pourrait varier de 20 % à 40 %, voire plus, selon le profil démographique des participants actifs, la maturité des régimes (proportion importante de retraités) et leur situation financière, ou en raison d’événements spéciaux (modifications, règlements ou compressions).

En effet, le taux annuel d’actualisation utilisé aux fins de la divulgation de l’obligation au titre des prestations constituées au 31 décembre 2004 et aux fins du calcul du coût constaté pour l’année 2005 était d’environ 5,75 %. Depuis le début de l’année 2005, ce taux a diminué jusqu’à environ 5,00 %, soit une baisse de 0,75 %. À titre comparatif, la diminution des taux au cours de l’année 2004 avait été d’environ 0,25 %.

Afin de comprendre cette augmentation du coût constaté pour les avantages sociaux futurs, nous vous présentons quelques «règles de pouce» (applicables à l’année 2005 pour estimer l’année 2006) pour chacun des éléments constituant le coût constaté :
 

  • Coût de l’employeur pour le service courant

Pour chaque diminution de 1 % du taux d’actualisation, le coût de l’employeur pour le service courant sera augmenté d’environ 20 %. L’augmentation sera plus élevée pour les régimes de retraite contributifs et les régimes d’assurance collective dont le coût assumé par les retraités est fixe en dollars. D’un autre côté, l’augmentation sera moins élevée pour les régimes dont l’âge moyen des participants actifs est élevé (plus de 45 ans). 

  • L’intérêt sur l’obligation moyenne au titre des prestations constituées

Comme l’intérêt sur l’obligation moyenne est le résultat de la multiplication de l’obligation moyenne par le taux d’actualisation, cet élément sera peu affecté par la diminution des taux. En effet, l’augmentation de l’obligation moyenne sera contrebalancée par un taux d’actualisation plus bas.

  • Le rendement prévu sur l’actif moyen

Pour les régimes de retraite capitalisés, le rendement sur l’actif moyen est le résultat de la multiplication de l’actif moyen par le taux de rendement prévu à long terme. Cet élément agissant en réduction du coût constaté, tout gain par rapport à l’hypothèse de rendement prévu à long terme sur l’actif du régime vient directement réduire le coût constaté. Plus le régime est mature, plus l’effet réducteur est important sur le coût constaté. En 2004, les bons rendements (médiane SEI des fonds équilibrés de 10,4 %) ont permis de réduire l’effet de la diminution de 0,25 % du taux d’actualisation. Pour 2005, il est moins probable que les rendements viennent éliminer complètement l’impact de la baisse du taux d’actualisation de 0,75 %.

  • Amortissements des gains et pertes actuariels

Plusieurs entreprises ont accumulé des pertes actuarielles au cours des dernières années. Lorsque le solde est suffisamment important (plus que le corridor de 10 %), l’excédent est amorti. Ainsi, pour plusieurs entreprises, environ 5 % (période d’amortissement de 20 ans) à 10 % (période d’amortissement de 10 ans) de la perte enregistrée en 2005 sera reconnue en 2006. L’ampleur de la perte sur l’obligation au titre des prestations constituées dépendra de la maturité du régime. De façon générale, une diminution de 1 % du taux d’actualisation fera augmenter l’obligation relative aux retraités d’environ 10 % et celle relative aux participants actifs d’environ 20 %. Pour les régimes de soins de santé offerts aux retraités, l’augmentation sera encore plus marquée en raison de l’inflation importante prévue pour ces soins.

  • Événements spéciaux

Finalement, le coût constaté pourra être influencé par d’autres éléments, tels les modifications, les règlements de régimes ou les compressions.


Comme vous avez pu le constater, les hausses potentielles varieront selon la situation de chaque régime. Il est donc impératif d’en déterminer l’impact dès maintenant afin d’éviter les surprises une fois l’exercice budgétaire complété.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6