Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The rates of Health Care Professionals

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 8 N. 12, November 2005

During the summer, we conducted our annual Quebec survey of fees charged by health care professionals. You will find the 2005 survey results below.

The results are presented on an average fee per visit basis rather than by an hourly rate since group insurance plans usually establish their maximum reimbursement amounts on a per visit basis. Also, please note that a number of specialists charge additional fees for opening a file as well as for conducting an assessment during the first visit. These additional fees are not included in our survey results.

Since health care services provided by these specialists are generally covered by group insurance plans, we believe that the results of our survey will be of great interest to you. The average fees per visit could be useful in establishing the maximum amounts payable under your group insurance plans.

Highlights

We first consulted professional associations for each specialty.  

  • These associations recommend price levels but do not set mandatory fee schedules. A number of associations, however, compile data based on the fee schedules of their members. The table presented on the following page contains recommendations/statistics.

As in the past, we surveyed private clinics in the Montreal and Quebec City regions. We also added to our survey by consulting, for the first time this year, private clinics from the Outaouais regions. This will be a permanent addition to the survey, providing it with a larger scope.

  • The results obtained show that average fees were lower in Quebec City than in Montreal, except for dieticians. These differentials vary depending on the specialty, but a difference of approximately $10 per visit is observed.
  • The average fees per visit for the Outaouais region are similar or slightly lower than those observed for the Montreal region. However, we observe an exception for dieticians, whose average rates are considerably higher than for the other regions. This difference is explained by a longer average visit length.
  • The results for occupational therapists in the Quebec and Outaouais regions as well as for the podiatrists in the Outaouais region are not presented since the number of specialists working in private clinics is too limited.
  • Overall, average fees increased by 2% since summer 2004. However, it is important to note that although this average increase is reasonable, relatively important variations in fees per visit were recorded for certain specialties.
  • Finally, we noticed a decrease in fees for naturopaths in the Quebec City region. This is explained by a decrease in the average length of visits.

Comparative Table of Average Fees per Visit (Summer 2005)
 


SpecialtyProfessionnal
Associations
Private Clinics
   
   MontrealQuebecOutaouais

  • Acupuncturist
$35 to $60 $45 $40 $45
  • Audiologist and
    Speech Therapist
n/a $85 $80 $70
  • Chiropractor
$30 $40 $30 $30
  • Dietician
$70 $35 $45 $75
  • Occupational
    Therapist
n/a $45 n/a n/a
  • Homeopath
$50 to $75 $65 $35 $65
  • Masseur and
    Massage
    Therapist
$40 to $70 $60 $50 $60
  • Naturopath
$50 to $75 $60 $50 $60
  • Osteopath
$65 $70 $65 $60
  • Physiotherapist
n/a $50 $40 $45
  • Podiatrist
$40 to $80 $60 $45 n/a
  • Psychologist
$60 to $100 $85 $70 $85

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les tarifs des spécialistes de la santé

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 8 N. 12, novembre 2005

Au cours de l’été, nous avons mené notre enquête annuelle sur les tarifs exigés par les spécialistes de la santé au Québec. Nous vous en présentons les résultats de l’édition 2005.

Comme les régimes d’assurance collective se basent habituellement sur les honoraires des spécialistes par visite pour établir les maximums de remboursement, nous présentons les tarifs moyens par visite plutôt que les tarifs horaires. Fait à noter, plusieurs spécialistes exigent des frais supplémentaires pour l’ouverture du dossier et l’évaluation lors de la première visite. Ces coûts ne sont pas inclus dans les résultats de notre enquête.

La majorité des soins donnés par ces spécialistes sont couverts par les régimes d’assurance collective; les résultats de l’enquête sauront donc sûrement vous intéresser. L’information quant aux frais moyens par visite peut être utile dans l’établissement des maximums remboursables par vos régimes d’assurance collective.

Faits saillants

Nous avons d’abord consulté les associations professionnelles de chaque spécialité.

  • Ces associations font des suggestions, mais ne fixent pas de tarifs obligatoires. Certaines compilent toutefois des statistiques à partir de la grille de tarifs de leurs membres. Le tableau à la page suivante présente ces informations.


Cette année encore, nous avons poursuivi notre enquête auprès des cliniques privées des régions de Montréal et de Québec. Une nouveauté cette année : nous avons également sondé des cliniques de la région de l’Outaouais. Notre étude sera ainsi élargie, puisque cette région fera désormais partie de notre enquête annuelle. 

  • Les résultats obtenus révèlent des tarifs moyens moins élevés à Québec qu’à Montréal, sauf pour les diététistes. L’écart entre les tarifs varie selon les spécialités, mais une différence moyenne d’environ 10 $ par visite est observée.
  • Quant à la région de l’Outaouais, les tarifs sont similaires ou légèrement inférieurs à ceux observés dans la région de Montréal, à l’exception des tarifs des diététistes qui sont largement supérieurs aux autres régions. Cet écart s’explique par une durée moyenne de la rencontre beaucoup plus longue.
  • Les résultats pour les ergothérapeutes de la région de Québec et de l’Outaouais et pour les podiatres de l’Outaouais ne sont pas présentés puisque le nombre de spécialistes oeuvrant en clinique privée y est trop limité.
  • Dans l’ensemble, une augmentation moyenne des tarifs d’environ 2 % a été observée comparativement aux tarifs en vigueur à l’été 2004. Il est toutefois important de noter que bien que cette augmentation moyenne soit raisonnable, des variations plus ou moins importantes des honoraires par visite ont été enregistrées dans certaines spécialités.
  • Enfin, nous avons remarqué une légère diminution du tarif par visite des naturopathes dans la région de Québec, qui s’explique par la réduction de la durée moyenne de la visite.


Tableau comparatif des tarifs moyens par visite à l’été 2005
 


SpécialistesAssociations
professionnelles
Cliniques privées
   
   MontréalQuébecOutaouais

  • Acupuncteur
35 $ à 60 $45 $40 $45 $
  • Audiologiste et
    orthophoniste
n.d.85 $80 $70 $
  • Chiropraticien
30 $40 $30 $30 $
  • Diététiste
70 $35 $45 $75 $
  • Ergothérapeute
n.d.45 $ n.d. n.d.
  • Homéopathe
50 $ à 75 $65 $35 $65 $
  • Masseur et
    massothérapeute
40 $ à 70 $60 $50 $60 $
  • Naturopathe
50 $ à 75 $60 $50 $60 $
  • Ostéopathe
65 $70 $65 $60 $
  • Physiothérapeute
n.d.50 $40 $45 $
  • Podiatre
40 $ à 80 $60 $45 $ n.d.
  • Psychologue
60 $ à 100 $85 $70 $85 $

 
 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6