Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The implications of the decision by the Supreme Court of Canada on June 9, 2005

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 8 N. 11, July 2005

On June 9, the Supreme Court of Canada struck down two sections of Quebec’s health legislation, thus allowing individuals to purchase private health insurance to cover medical treatments already covered by Quebec’s public health insurance plan.

For more information about the facts, you may consult the newsletter written by our strategic partner Hewitt: Hewitt Research Advisory.

In the following, our main focus is on the aspects that are still unclear in order to assess the implications of the decision, and what can be done in terms of planning and assessing your own situation while waiting for clarification concerning these aspects.

Grey areas  

  • The Quebec government has made a request to the Court for a stay of execution in regard to the decision. Will it be granted the 18-month implementation delay it is seeking?
  • The Supreme Court of Canada stated that, where there is a "lack of timely health care", patients have a right to purchase private insurance for health services already available under Quebec’s public health care plan. However, "timely" has not yet been clearly defined.
  • Reimbursements for medical procedures covered by medicare do not currently possess any advantageous tax treatments. With the Supreme Court decision, this is now an important issue. Effectively, a group insurance plan that covers this type of care would no longer comply with certain provisions of the federal Income Tax Act, resulting in an employer’s entire health care plan being disqualified for tax purposes. Therefore, it will be interesting to see what position the Canada Revenue Agency takes on this matter.
  • To date, insurers are unable to assess the implications of this decision. Most are waiting to see what the government decides to do before formulating an opinion.

In the meantime...  

  • Although a private system may already exist for some services (blood tests, other tests like MRIs), the Supreme Court decision offers the possibility of covering other types of procedures. It is important to review all the documentation relating to your group insurance plan (insurance contract, employee booklets and collective agreements) to ensure private services are not automatically covered.
  • Although this decision does not make any radical changes to our health care system as of yet, but it might be a good idea to start preparing for the possibility of a private health care system in the future: What would your position be if this happened?

The Supreme Court decision also offers some opportunities: for example, employees who are off work while waiting for medical treatment would have access to certain types of surgery in the private system which could get them back on the job quicker.

Obviously, there remains several aspects that are unclear. Over the coming months, the implications of this decision and, more specifically, its impact on group insurance plans will begin to take shape. We will keep you informed of any developments.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les conséquences de la décision de la Cour Suprême du Canada rendue le 9 juin 2005

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 8, N. 11, juillet 2005

Le 9 juin dernier, la décision de la Cour suprême du Canada a invalidé deux articles de la Loi québécoise sur la santé permettant ainsi à un particulier de souscrire une assurance médicale privée dans le but de se faire rembourser des soins médicaux déjà couverts par le régime public d’assurance maladie.

Dans le présent communiqué, nous désirons souligner les éléments qui restent à préciser avant de pouvoir évaluer la portée du jugement, ainsi que les réflexions et les vérifications qui peuvent être faites en attendant d’obtenir des précisions sur ces aspects encore inconnus.

Les zones grises 

  • Le gouvernement québécois a demandé à la Cour un sursis d’exécution du jugement. Le délai d’exécution de 18 mois sera-t-il accordé?
  • La Cour Suprême du Canada a fait savoir qu’en cas « d’impossibilité d’avoir accès en temps opportun à des soins médicaux », les patients sont en droit de souscrire une assurance privée pour ces traitements médicaux déjà couverts par le régime de santé publique. La définition d’un accès en temps opportun reste toutefois à être précisée.
  • Le remboursement de soins médicaux déjà couverts par le régime public d’assurance maladie ne reçoit actuellement aucun traitement fiscal avantageux. Avec le présent jugement, ceci est un enjeu important. Effectivement, un régime d’assurance collective incluant ce type de soins ne se conformerait plus aux dispositions de la Loi fédérale de l’impôt sur le revenu engendrant une disqualification à des fins fiscales de l’ensemble du régime de soins médicaux d’un employeur. La position que prendra l’Agence du Revenu du Canada est donc à surveiller.
  • Les assureurs ne sont, jusqu’à maintenant, pas en mesure d’évaluer la portée de ce jugement. La plupart attendent la décision du gouvernement avant d’émettre une opinion.

En attendant... 

  • Bien qu’un système privé soit déjà présent pour certains services (prises de sang, analyses ou tests comme la résonance magnétique), ce jugement offre la possibilité de couvrir d’autres soins. Il est important de vérifier tous les documents relatifs à l’assurance collective (contrat d’assurance, brochures aux employés et conventions collectives) pour vous assurer que les services privés ne sont pas automatiquement couverts.
  • Cette décision ne change pas encore radicalement notre système de santé, mais il peut être approprié de commencer à se préparer à l’éventualité d’un système de soins de santé privé : Quelle serait alors votre position?

Cette décision offre aussi quelques opportunités : par exemple, l’accès à certaines chirurgies dans le système privé pourrait permettre un retour au travail plus rapide pour les employés absents qui sont en attente d’une intervention médicale.

Comme nous pouvons le constater, beaucoup d’éléments demeurent inconnus. Au cours des prochains mois, la portée de cette décision et ses impacts sur les régimes d’assurance collective se préciseront. Nous vous tiendrons informés des développements.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6