Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Normandin Beaudry's policy pertaining to incentive compensation paid by insurers and investment managers

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Vol. 8 N. 1, January 2005

Over the last few months, several actuarial consulting and brokerage firms have been tarnished by an incentive compensation scandal as the result of an investigation by New York Attorney General Eliot Spitzer.

We feel it is important, at this point, to remind everyone of Normandin Beaudry’s policy on incentive compensation.

Methods of Payment

For work performed in the areas of retirement plans, asset management, general insurance and human resources, we are paid exclusively on a fee for service basis. Invoices detailing the work conducted are sent to our clients monthly.

For group insurance work, we are paid on a fee for service or commission basis. As an actuarial consulting firm, we are authorized to receive commissions from insurers for services rendered to our clients. The choice is left to the client regarding the form of payment.

Since our establishment in 1992, we have applied a clear and transparent policy when we have been paid on a commission basis by a client’s insurer. Our clients periodically receive a statement of the fees incurred compared to commissions received from their insurer. In the event of a deficit, the commissions are increased the following year. In the opposite scenario, commissions are reduced or returned to the client in the form of additional services.

What is incentive compensation?

Some insurers pay out commission bonuses (also called incentive compensation or contingent commissions) to intermediaries (brokers or actuaries) whose business volume reaches a certain level. To our knowledge, these bonuses only apply to business for which payment to the intermediary is based on commissions. When we receive such bonuses, they are entirely disclosed and returned to the concerned clients in the form of additional services or a reduction in regular commissions. The objective of this policy is to ensure our total independence and objectivity when recommending an insurer to our clients.

Relative to investment managers, some return client brokerage ("soft dollars") to the client’s advisors. Normandin Beaudry’s policy regarding soft dollars has been clear since 1992. No compensation is accepted through the use of soft dollars. Moreover, Normandin Beaudry receives no compensation in any form from investment managers who participate in our database.

We want to remind everyone that our consultants respect the Rules of Professional Conduct of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries, which include rules on the disclosure of all compensation received.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

La politique de Normandin Beaudry relativement à la rémunération incitative versée par les assureurs et les gestionnaires de placement

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 8 N. 1, janvier 2005

Au cours des derniers mois, plusieurs firmes d’actuaires-conseils ou de courtage ont été éclaboussées par un scandale relié à la rémunération incitative suite à l’enquête du procureur général de l’état de New York, Eliot Spitzer.

Nous croyons opportun de rappeler la politique de Normandin Beaudry relativement à la rémunération incitative.

Mode de rémunération

Pour les travaux effectués en régimes de retraite, en consultation en gestion d’actifs, en assurance générale et en ressources humaines, nous sommes exclusivement rémunérés sur base d’honoraires. Des factures montrant le détail des travaux effectués sont transmises à nos clients chaque mois.

Pour les travaux effectués en assurances collectives, nous sommes rémunérés sur base d’honoraires ou sur base de commissions. En effet, à titre de cabinet d’actuariat conseil, nous sommes autorisés à recevoir des commissions d’assureurs pour les services rendus à nos clients. Nous laissons donc le choix à nos clients quant à la forme de notre rémunération.

Lorsque nous sommes rémunérés sur base de commissions par l’assureur d’un client, nous avons, depuis notre fondation en 1992, une politique claire de transparence à cet égard. Nos clients reçoivent périodiquement un relevé des honoraires engagés comparés aux commissions reçues de leur assureur. En cas de déficit, les commissions sont ajustées à la hausse l’année suivante. Dans le cas contraire, les commissions sont revues à la baisse ou retournées au client sous forme de services additionnels.

Qu’est-ce que la rémunération incitative?

Certains assureurs versent des bonis de commission (aussi appelés rémunération incitative ou sur-commissions) aux intermédiaires (courtiers ou actuaires) dont le volume d’affaires atteint un certain niveau. À notre connaissance, ces bonis ne s’appliquent qu’aux affaires dont la rémunération de l’intermédiaire est sur base de commissions. Lorsque nous recevons de tels bonis, ils sont entièrement divulgués et retournés aux clients concernés sous forme de services additionnels ou en réduction des commissions régulières. Cette politique vise à assurer notre totale indépendance et objectivité lorsque nous recommandons un assureur à nos clients.

Pour ce qui est des gestionnaires de placement, certains versent des commissions dirigées « soft dollars » aux conseillers. La politique de Normandin Beaudry est sans équivoque depuis 1992 à l’effet que nous refusons toute forme de commissions dirigées. Aussi, Normandin Beaudry n’obtient aucune rémunération des gestionnaires qui font partie de notre base de données colligées sur les gestionnaires de placement.

Nous rappelons que nos conseillers respectent les Règles de déontologie de l’Institut canadien des actuaires qui incluent des règles relatives à la divulgation de toute rémunération reçue.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6