Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The new disclosure requirements regarding employee future benefits

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N. 7, June 2004

In April 2004 the Accounting Standards Board (AcSB) of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants (CICA) issued the final version of the amendments to the disclosure requirements regarding employee future benefits. These changes will apply to fiscal years ending on or after June 30¸ 2004. There are also new disclosure requirements for interim (quarterly) financial statements.

As in the past¸ some of the disclosure requirements do not apply to entities that are not public enterprises (those quoted on the stock market). Moreover¸ no changes were made in regard to multiemployer plans.

Objectives

In addition to harmonizing Canadian disclosure standards with U.S. and international standards¸ the primary purpose of AcSB´s review process was to improve transparency regarding the measurement of costs relating to employee future benefits. In fact¸ following the poor performance of the markets in 2001-2002 and the decline in the discount rates used to determine the accrued benefit obligation¸ financial statement users expressed numerous concerns and a need for more information about the assets and the obligation of existing plans.

The AcSB therefore decided to do a thorough review of the current disclosure standards contained in paragraphs 150 to 163 of Section 3461 of the CICA Handbook¸ knowing that broader information disclosure would increase costs.

Summary of the main amendments to the current disclosure requirements

The amendments to the paragraphs of Section 3461 include some additions and many more details relating to information disclosure in financial statements. Following is a summary of the main amendments to these paragraphs:

  • More detailed description of the accounting methods used¸ especially to determine the value of the obligation;
  • Description of the type of plan;
  • Measurement date used to determine assets and the obligation;
  • Dates of the most recent and next actuarial valuations;
  • Disclosure of the components of costs recognized for the period¸ showing first the amounts arising from occurrences during the period (modification or actuarial gains) and then the amounts postponed which will be amortized in subsequent periods;
  • Balance sheet classification of asset or liability (that is under which heading);
  • Reconciliation of the obligation to the balance sheet asset or liability;
  • Disclosure of the contributions paid by the employer¸ shown separately for defined benefit and defined contribution plans¸ direct payments to employees and payments to suppliers (insurers);
  • Asset allocation percentage by investment category;
  • Assumptions used presented in tabular form;
  • Impact of a 1% variance in the health care cost trend rate for post-retirement benefit plans.

Interim financial statements

Given the increased interest in employee future benefits¸ the AcSB decided that interim financial statements must show the total cost for the interim period and for the fiscal year to date.

Implications for your financial statements

As soon as possible¸ you must ensure that your financial statements contain all the information now required. You should do a complete review of the information disclosed regarding your employee future benefit plans before issuing your next financial statements.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les nouvelles exigences de divulgation en matière d'avantages sociaux futurs

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 7, juin 2006

Le Conseil des normes comptables (CNC) de l´Institut canadien des comptables agréés (ICCA) a publié en avril 2004 la version finale des modifications aux exigences de divulgation en matière d´avantages sociaux futurs. Ces modifications s´appliqueront aux exercices financiers se terminant le 30 juin 2004 ou après. La divulgation contenue dans les états financiers intermédiaires (trimestriels) devra également être revue afin de se conformer à de nouvelles exigences.

Il est à noter que¸ comme par le passé¸ les entités autres que les sociétés ouvertes (celles cotées en bourse) sont soustraites à certaines exigences de divulgation. De plus¸ aucune modification n´a été apportée relativement aux régimes interentreprises.

Objectifs visés

Outre l´harmonisation avec les normes de divulgation américaines et internationales¸ le processus de révision des normes actuelles entrepris par le CNC avait pour objectif premier d´améliorer la transparence quant aux calculs des coûts relatifs aux régimes d´avantages sociaux futurs. En effet¸ suite à la mauvaise performance des marchés boursiers en 2001-2002 et à la baisse des taux d´actualisation utilisés pour déterminer la valeur de l´obligation¸ de nombreuses inquiétudes ont été exprimées par les utilisateurs d´états financiers au sujet de leur besoin accru d´informations sur les actifs et sur l´obligation des régimes en place.

Le CNC a donc décidé de réviser en profondeur les normes de divulgation actuelles qui apparaissent aux articles 150 à 163 du Chapitre 3461 du manuel de l´ICCA¸ tout en sachant que des coûts additionnels seraient engendrés par la présentation plus exhaustive de certaines informations.

Résumé des principales modifications aux exigences actuelles de divulgation

Plusieurs ajouts et de nombreuses précisions ont été apportés aux articles du Chapitre 3461 se rapportant à la divulgation de l´information aux états financiers. Voici un sommaire des principales modifications apportées aux articles :

  • Description plus exhaustive des méthodes comptables utilisées¸ notamment pour évaluer l´obligation;
  • Description du type de régime;
  • Date de mesure (date de calcul) de l´obligation et des actifs;
  • Date de la plus récente et de la prochaine évaluation actuarielle;
  • Présentation des composantes des coûts constatés (charge comptable) pour l´exercice¸ en identifiant d´une part les montants découlant de faits survenus au cours de la période (modifications ou gains actuariels)¸ et d´autre part les montants reportés pour être amortis dans des périodes subséquentes;
  • Indication du classement au bilan de l´actif ou du passif (où il est inclus au bilan);
  • Rapprochement (conciliation) entre l´obligation et l´actif ou le passif au bilan;
  • Divulgation des cotisations versées par l´employeur¸ séparément pour les régimes à prestations déterminées et les régimes à cotisations déterminées¸ les paiements directs aux employés et les paiements aux fournisseurs (assureurs);
  • Pourcentages de répartition des actifs selon chaque catégorie d´investissement
  • Hypothèses utilisées présentées sous forme de tableau;
  • Impact d´une variation de 1 % du taux de croissance des coûts des soins de santé pour les régimes d´avantages sociaux post-retraite.

États financiers intermédiaires

Étant donné l´intérêt accru que suscitent les avantages sociaux futurs¸ le CNC a décidé d´exiger que soit montrée dans les états financiers intermédiaires la charge comptable pour la période intermédiaire considérée et pour la période écoulée depuis le début de l´exercice.

Implications pour vos états financiers

Vous devrez vous assurer que vos états financiers contiennent l´ensemble des informations désormais requises¸ et ce¸ dans les plus brefs délais. Une révision complète des informations présentées relativement à vos régimes d´avantages sociaux futurs s´impose avant la publication de vos prochains états financiers.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6