Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Income trusts

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N. 6, June 2004

FEDERAL FINANCE MINISTER ANNOUNCES THE SUSPENSION OF SPECIAL CAPS ON PENSION FUNDS’ INVESTMENTS IN INCOME TRUSTS

On March 23 in its 2004 budget, the government of Canada proposed special measures limiting pension funds’ investments in income trusts. The purpose of these measures, which were supposed to take effect on January 1, 2005, was to prevent potential loss of government income tax revenues should pension funds invest massively in income trusts. Some large pension funds, including the Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan, as well as provincial governments and other organizations in the investment industry, expressed concerns about these proposed measures. As a result, on May 18, 2004, federal Finance Minister Ralph Goodale announced the suspension of the proposed measures while public consultations are held.

What is an income trust?

Often considered a hybrid instrument combining some of the characteristics of both stocks and bonds, income trusts are a type of business structure where, instead of issuing shares, a company creates a trust in which the public can invest.

The main objective of the company creating the trust is to provide unitholders with a stable income flow (like bond coupons). Thus, whereas companies that issue shares distribute a small part of their after-tax earnings in the form of dividends, income trusts distribute a large part (usually over 85%) of their pre-tax earnings. Although the objective is to provide a constant income flow, there is no guarantee that the distribution of the trust’s revenues will remain at a given level. This explains why the price of income trust units varies with economic conditions and the company’s profits, just as stock prices do.

In short, income trusts are not fixed income investments but a subcategory of equity securities, similar to mutual funds but traded on the stock exchange.

Unlike stocks, however, where shareholders’ liability is limited to their initial investment, there is no law limiting the liability of income trust unitholders to their initial investment. This unlimited liability, and the fact that there are no income trusts in the S&P/TSX Composite Index, are the main reasons why the majority of pension funds have steered clear of income trust securities.

The problem of unlimited liability, however, could be resolved in the near future. In its 2004 budget presentation, the Ontario government included a proposal to amend the Trust Beneficiaries’ Liability Act and eliminate the unlimited liability associated with income trusts. If this proposal is adopted, it would considerably increase pension funds’ investments in income trusts, especially since it is likely that some income trust securities will be added to the S&P/TSX Composite Index. This possibility is clearly related to the special measures outlined in the 2004 federal budget to limit investments by pension funds in income trusts.

2004 federal budget

The 2004 federal budget proposed to limit investments by pension funds in income trusts as follows:

  • No more than 1% of the book value of a pension fund’s assets could be invested in income trusts;
  • A pension fund could not hold more than 5% of the units in any given income trust.

While the limit of 5% of the units in any given income fund could significantly affect the large pension funds, the cap of 1% of the book value of a pension fund’s total assets invested in income trusts could have a considerable impact on all pension funds. In concrete terms, if a pension fund’s investment policy calls for an investment of 30% of its assets in Canadian equities, its investment in income trusts would be limited to 3.3% of its Canadian equities portfolio. This cap would be particularly restrictive for pension funds that favour indexed management of Canadian equities, since it is estimated that the weight of income trusts would be between 7% and 10% if they were included in the S&P/TSX Composite Index.

Finance Minister suspends income trust measures

Following concerns expressed by some pension funds, financial market participants and provincial governments and given the context of a looming election campaign, Finance Minister Ralph Goodale decided to delay application of the measures proposed in the 2004 federal budget. However, Mr. Goodale stressed that the government’s "[...] overarching goal remains to ensure that funding for priorities such as health care and education is not jeopardized by the erosion of the corporate tax base [...]". The indefinite delay will allow the Canadian government to consult with interested parties and then submit new legislation, which hopefully can accommodate the concerns of both the government and the investment industry.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les fiducies de revenu

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 6, juin 2007

LE MINISTRE DES FINANCES DU CANADA ANNONCE LA SUSPENSION DES MESURES SPÉCIALES LIMITANT L´INVESTISSEMENT DES CAISSES DE RETRAITE DANS LES FIDUCIES DE REVENU

Le 23 mars 2004¸ le gouvernement du Canada proposait dans son budget 2004 des mesures spéciales limitant l´investissement des caisses de retraite dans les fiducies de revenu. Ces mesures¸ devant prendre effet à compter du 1er janvier 2005¸ visaient essentiellement à prévenir les pertes potentielles sur les revenus d´impôts de l´État advenant un investissement massif des caisses de retraite dans des unités de fiducies de revenu. Plusieurs grandes caisses de retraite¸ dont le « Ontario Teachers´ Pension Plan »¸ de même que des gouvernements provinciaux et autres organismes reliés à l´investissement ont manifesté leurs préoccupations relativement aux mesures alors proposées par le gouvernement canadien. Ainsi¸ le 18 mai 2004¸ le ministre des Finances du Canada¸ Ralph Goodale¸ a annoncé la suspension des mesures proposées afin de permettre la tenue de consultations publiques.

Qu´est-ce qu´une fiducie de revenu ?

Souvent perçues comme un titre hybride ayant des caractéristiques propres aux obligations comme aux actions¸ les fiducies de revenu sont essentiellement un type de structure d´entreprise; au lieu d´émettre des actions¸ une société crée une fiducie ouverte à l´épargne publique.

Le principal objectif de l´entreprise qui crée la fiducie est de procurer un revenu stable (comme les coupons d´une obligation) aux porteurs de parts de la fiducie. En effet¸ alors que les sociétés par action distribuent sous forme de dividendes une faible part de leurs bénéfices après impôt¸ les fiducies de revenu distribuent la majeure partie (habituellement plus de 85 %) de leurs bénéfices avant impôt. Bien que l´objectif soit de procurer des revenus constants¸ rien ne garantit que la distribution des revenus de la fiducie se maintiendra au niveau prévu. Cette caractéristique explique d´ailleurs la variation du prix des unités de fiducies de revenu en fonction de la conjoncture économique et des profits de l´entreprise¸ comme dans le cas des actions.

Bref¸ les fiducies de revenu ne constituent pas des placements à revenu fixe¸ mais plutôt une sous-catégorie de titres de participation¸ semblable aux fonds communs de placements¸ mais négocié en bourse.

Par ailleurs¸ contrairement aux actions¸ pour lesquelles la responsabilité des actionnaires est limitée à leur investissement initial¸ il
n´existe encore aucune loi limitant la responsabilité des porteurs de parts de fiducies de revenu à leur investissement initial. La responsabilité illimitée¸ combinée à l´exclusion des fiducies de revenu dans l´indice Composé S&P/TSX¸ a grandement contribué à éloigner la majorité des caisses de retraite des titres de fiducies de revenu.

Le problème de la responsabilité illimitée pourrait toutefois être résolu prochainement puisque le gouvernement ontarien incluait dans la présentation de son budget 2004 une proposition d´amendement au « Trust Beneficiaries´ Liability Act » visant à éliminer la responsabilité illimitée rattachée aux fiducies de revenu. L´adoption de cette proposition aurait pour impact d´augmenter considérablement l´investissement des caisses de retraite dans les fiducies de revenu¸ d´autant plus qu´il est probable que certains titres de fiducies de revenu soient ajoutés à l´indice Composé S&P/TSX. Cette éventualité n´est d´ailleurs pas étrangère aux mesures spéciales prévues dans le budget fédéral 2004 afin de limiter l´investissement des caisses de retraite dans les fiducies de revenu.

Budget fédéral 2004

Le budget fédéral 2004 proposait de limiter l´investissement des caisses de retraite dans des fiducies de revenu par les mesures suivantes :  

  • Limite d´investissement de 1 % de la valeur comptable des actifs d´une caisse de retraite pouvant être investi dans des fiducies de revenu;
  • Maximum d´investissement de 5 % des parts d´une même fiducie de revenu pouvant être détenus par une caisse de retraite.

Alors que la détention maximale de 5 % des parts d´une même fiducie de revenu pourrait affecter significativement les grandes caisses de retraite¸ la limite de 1 % de la valeur comptable des actifs totaux d´une caisse de retraite dans des fiducies de revenu pourrait avoir un impact considérable pour toutes les caisses de retraite. Concrètement¸ une caisse de retraite dont la politique de placement prévoit un investissement de 30 % des actifs en actions canadiennes verrait son investissement dans des fiducies de revenu limité à 3¸3 % du portefeuille d´actions canadiennes. Cette dernière limite s´avèrerait particulièrement contraignante pour les caisses de retraite favorisant la gestion indicielle des actions canadiennes¸ alors que l´on estime le poids des fiducies de revenu entre 7 % et 10 % advenant l´inclusion de celles-ci dans l´indice Composé S&P/TSX.

Report des mesures relatives aux fiducies de revenu par le ministre des Finances

Suite aux préoccupations exprimées par plusieurs caisses de retraite¸ participants aux marchés financiers et gouvernements provinciaux¸ et dans la foulée d´une campagne électorale qui était imminente¸ le ministre de Finances¸ Ralph Goodale¸ a décidé de différer la date d´application des mesures proposées dans le budget fédéral 2004. Monsieur Goodale a toutefois tenu à mentionner le désir du gouvernement de maintenir son « [...] objectif global de faire en sorte que le financement de priorités comme les soins de la santé et de l´éducation ne soit pas compromis par l´érosion de l´assiette de l´impôt sur les bénéfices des sociétés [...] ». Le délai¸ dont la durée n´a pas été déterminée¸ permettra donc au gouvernement canadien de consulter les intervenants des milieux concernés pour ensuite présenter de nouvelles propositions législatives.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6