Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Making a life-insurance beneficiary designation

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N. 3, April 2004

At first glance, the designation of a life-insurance beneficiary might seem simple. However, in order to make an informed decision, it is important to be aware of the various subtleties involved. It should be noted that several aspects treated in this bulletin also apply to pension plans. However, the various subtleties pertaining to pension plans will be discussed in a later bulletin.

Please note that there have been no recent changes to the laws governing the designation of a beneficiary, and the goal of this bulletin is only intended to inform you on the subject as well as answer a few questions that have surfaced about this subject.

Revocable or irrevocable beneficiary?

First of all, it is important to explain this fundamental concept. When naming a life-insurance beneficiary, an insured has the option of making the designation either revocable or irrevocable. With a revocable designation, the insured can change his or her beneficiary at any time; with an irrevocable designation, the irrevocable beneficiary’s signature is required in order to invalidate the designation.

However, it is important to note that, in Quebec, the designation of a married or civil union spouse is automatically irrevocable1, unless the insured stipulates otherwise. The irrevocability becomes definitive only upon receipt of the designation by the insurer or the plan administrator. Moreover, the notice on a designation form that states that the absence of information, concerning the revocability of the beneficiary implies a revocable designation, has no effect if the designated beneficiary is the married or civil union spouse. Therefore, the best way to revocably designate a married or civil union spouse is to clearly specify that the designation is revocable.

Designating the estate (or legal heirs)

Sometimes, it may seem simpler to designate the estate as beneficiary. However, it is important to know that the death benefits could then be subject to creditors’ claims and estate taxes, which is not the case if a beneficiary is named explicitly.

In these cases, it may be advisable to write a will so that the death benefits are paid to specific individuals. However, there could still be complications. For example, if the designation in the will contradicts a previous designation, the will should specifically mention the insurance policy concerned, or the intent to change the designation should be clear. It is recommended to seek professional assistance in the preparation of a will.

Designating or changing a beneficiary online?

At present, designating or changing beneficiary is done through a specific form that requires the insured original signature. However, the recent adoption by Canadian provinces of legislation on information technology2 should eventually make it possible to name a beneficiary electronically, using a legally recognized electronic signature.

We conducted a mini-survey of a few insurers, and the answers that we received indicate that Canadian insurers are not yet prepared to handle on-line beneficiary designations, and we do not expect them to use this type of approach in the near future.

Other administrative aspects

"Who should keep the original designations?" Actually, there is no simple answer to this common question. Either the insurer or the employer could very well safeguard these documents. However, in practice, most insurers elect to keep these documents (except for Administrative Services Only (ASO) plans). It is important to point out that, at the time of death, the insurer requires the original designation in order to settle the claim.

Another question arises when a change of insurer or plan occurs. "Should there be a new designation, or is the old one still valid?" Once again, both options are possible, as long as employees are very clearly informed about this. In fact, we suggest that employees receive a notice informing them that, unless they make a new designation, the old one will be passed on to the new insurer. When an employee designates a new beneficiary, the insurer or the plan administrator must then pay special attention to prior irrevocable designations in order to avoid lawsuits. Consequently, we strongly recommend employers to keep a copy of the beneficiary designation.

Although the insured is expected to ensure that the new designation does not contradict an earlier irrevocable one, the fact remains that the insurer or the plan administrator could be held liable for neglecting to carry out the verification on its own. In order to avoid a troublesome situation, in which the insurer or the plan administrator might be forced to pay insurance benefits to a new validly designated beneficiary as well as damages to a former beneficiary, it is clear that an effective communication campaign by the plan sponsor concerning this matter could avoid many disagreements.

What happens if two beneficiaries submit claims when the insured dies? Once again, we questioned insurers about their practices. In such a case, the insurer can opt to deposit the benefits and interest with the Bureau général de dépôts or a trust company, and the party that is recognized by the Court as being the duly designated beneficiary would then be responsible for undertaking the procedures to collect the amount to which they are entitled. Another option is for the insurer to provide and deposit the insurance benefits to the Court, pending the outcome of the litigation. A final option for an insurer in dealing with a contentious case is to await the Court’s decision and hold on to the benefits until the ruling is made.

Please note that this bulletin is intended to explain the basic rules that apply to naming a beneficiary, and that some exceptions may apply. We recommend that you contact a lawyer or notary regarding any questions or interpretations concerning the law or common practice.


1 Note that designations made before October 20, 1976 are not governed by the same rules. The designation of a spouse as beneficiary becomes null and void in the event of divorce, annulment of the marriage, dissolution or annulment of the civil union, but remains in effect in the case of legal separation. However, in decreeing the separation, the Court may rule that the spouse’s rights are revocable or null and void.

2 For more information, please see our December 2001 bulletin concerning the Quebec Act to establish a legal framework for information technology.


 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

La désignation de bénéficiaire en assurance vie

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 3, avril 2004

Au premier abord, la désignation d'un bénéficiaire en assurance vie peut paraître simple. Toutefois, afin de faire un choix éclairé, il est bon d'en connaître les diverses subtilités. Il est à noter que plusieurs aspects traités dans le présent communiqué sont également applicables aux régimes de retraite. Toutefois, les différentes subtilités reliées aux régimes de retraite seront abordées dans un communiqué ultérieur.

Nous tenons à préciser qu'aucun changement législatif n'a été apporté aux lois réglementant la désignation de bénéficiaire dernièrement et que ce communiqué a pour unique but de vous informer sur le sujet et de répondre à quelques questions qui nous ont été formulées à ce sujet.

Bénéficiaire révocable ou irrévocable ?

En premier lieu, il importe d'expliquer cette notion fondamentale. Au moment de la désignation du bénéficiaire en assurance vie, l'assuré a le choix de désigner son bénéficiaire de façon révocable ou irrévocable. En cas de désignation révocable, l'assuré pourra changer son bénéficiaire en tout temps tandis que, dans le cas d'une désignation irrévocable, une signature du bénéficiaire nommé irrévocablement sera requise afin d'invalider la désignation antérieure.

Veuillez cependant noter qu'au Québec, à moins de stipulation contraire de l'assuré, la désignation d'un conjoint marié ou uni civilement est automatiquement irrévocable1. Cependant, cette irrévocabilité n'est définitive qu'à compter du moment où l'assureur ou l'administrateur la reçoit. Qui plus est, l'indication sur un formulaire mentionnant que l'absence d'information quant à la révocabilité du bénéficiaire implique une désignation révocable, est sans effet si le bénéficiaire désigné est le conjoint marié ou uni civilement. Par conséquent, la meilleure façon de désigner un conjoint marié ou uni civilement de façon révocable dans un formulaire de désignation est d'y spécifier clairement que la désignation est révocable.

Désignation de la succession (ou des héritiers légaux)

Il peut parfois sembler plus simple de désigner la succession comme bénéficiaire. Il est toutefois important de savoir que, dans ce cas, la prestation de décès pourrait être assujettie aux réclamations de créanciers et à des droits de succession, ce qui n’est pas le cas si un bénéficiaire explicite est nommé.

De plus, lors de telles désignations, il est recommandé de rédiger un testament afin que les prestations de décès soient versées à ceux que vous désirez protéger. Cependant, si la désignation contenue dans le testament va à l'encontre d'une désignation antérieure, le testament devra référer spécifiquement à la police d'assurance en cause où l'intention de modifier la désignation devra être évidente. Il est également recommandé de demander une assistance professionnelle pour préparer un testament.

Désignation ou modification d'un bénéficiaire sur Internet

Présentement, la désignation ou la modification du bénéficiaire doit se faire sur un formulaire prévu à cette fin et nécessite une signature originale de l’assuré. Toutefois, l'introduction récente par les provinces canadiennes de lois régissant les technologies de l'information2 devrait éventuellement permettre la désignation de bénéficiaire de façon électronique à l'aide d’une signature électronique reconnue par la Loi.

Nous avons sondé quelques assureurs à ce sujet et les réponses obtenues nous indiquent que les assureurs canadiens ne sont pas actuellement outillés pour accepter la désignation électronique de bénéficiaire. De plus, nous ne prévoyons pas qu’ils acceptent ce type de demande dans un avenir rapproché.

Autres aspects administratifs

« Qui doit détenir les désignations originales ? » En fait, il n'existe pas de réponse unique à cette interrogation fréquente. L'assureur ou l'employeur peut très bien conserver ces documents. Néanmoins, les pratiques d'une majorité d'assureurs prévoient que celui-ci conserve ces documents (à l’exception des régimes autoadministrés). Il est toutefois important de préciser qu’au moment du décès, l'assureur devra détenir la désignation originale afin de procéder au règlement.

Une autre interrogation survient lorsqu'il y a changement d'assureur ou de régime. « Une nouvelle désignation doit-elle être effectuée ou l'ancienne demeure-t-elle valide ? » Encore une fois, les deux options peuvent être envisagées en autant que la communication aux employés à ce sujet soit très claire. En effet, nous suggérons qu'un avis soit envoyé aux employés les informant qu'à défaut d'effectuer de nouvelles désignations, l'ancienne sera reconduite avec le nouvel assureur. Lorsque l'employé procède à une nouvelle désignation de bénéficiaire, il incombera alors à l'assureur ou à l'administrateur de porter une attention particulière aux désignations irrévocables antérieures afin d'éviter des litiges futurs. À cet effet, nous recommandons fortement aux employeurs de conserver une copie des désignations de bénéficiaire.

Bien que l'on s'attende de l'adhérent qu’il voit à ce que la nouvelle désignation ne contredise pas une désignation irrévocable antérieure, il n'en demeure pas moins que l'assureur ou l'administrateur pourrait être tenu responsable du défaut d'avoir effectué eux-mêmes cette vérification. Afin d'éviter une situation fâcheuse où l'assureur ou l'administrateur pourrait être contraint de verser le produit d'assurance à un nouveau bénéficiaire validement désigné en plus de dommages et intérêts à un ancien bénéficiaire lésé, nous n'avons aucun doute qu'une bonne communication de la part du promoteur de régime sur ce sujet pourra épargner bien des discussions ultérieures.

Que se passe-t-il si deux bénéficiaires se présentent au moment du décès de l'assuré ? Une fois de plus, nous avons interrogé les assureurs sur leur pratique. Devant une telle situation, l'assureur peut opter pour la consignation du produit d'assurance et des intérêts au Bureau général de dépôts ou auprès d'une société de fiducie. La partie qui sera reconnue comme étant un bénéficiaire dûment désigné par le Tribunal devra effectuer les démarches pour retirer les sommes auxquelles elle a droit. Il est également possible pour un assureur d'offrir et de déposer le produit d'assurance payable à la Cour en attendant l'issue d'un dossier litigieux. Enfin, il est également possible d'intervenir dans un dossier litigieux en déclarant s'en remettre à la décision du Tribunal, tout en conservant les sommes payables jusqu'à ce que jugement soit rendu.

Veuillez noter que ce communiqué vise à expliquer les règles de base s’appliquant à la désignation de bénéficiaire et que certaines exceptions peuvent s’appliquer. Nous vous recommandons de communiquer avec un avocat ou un notaire pour toute question ou interprétation relative aux lois ou aux pratiques courantes.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1 Veuillez noter que les désignations antérieures au 20 octobre 1976 ne sont pas régies par les mêmes règles. De plus, la désignation du conjoint à titre de bénéficiaire devient caduque en cas de divorce, de nullité du mariage, de dissolution ou de nullité de l'union civile mais demeure valide en cas de séparation de corps. Toutefois, le Tribunal peut, au moment où il prononce la séparation, déclarer les droits du conjoint révocables ou caducs.

2 Pour plus d’information, veuillez vous référer à notre communiqué paru en décembre 2001 et traitant de la Loi québécoise concernant le cadre juridique des technologies de l’information.
 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6