Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Interest rates applicable to actuarial valuations as at December 31, 2004

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N. 20, November 2004

The Bank of Canada recently published the nominal interest rate on long-term Government of Canada bonds and the rate on real return Government of Canada bonds for the month of October 2004. It is on these rates that the interest rates to use for solvency valuations as at December 31, 2004 will be based.

Solvency valuations for unindexed pensions

For these valuations as at December 31, 2004, the interest rate to use for unindexed pensions of active and non-active, non-retired members will be equivalent to 5.50% per year for the first 15 years and 6% for subsequent years (compared to 6% per year as at December 31, 2003). For the valuation of unindexed pensions at the end of 2004, this lower interest rate will result in an increase of approximately 5% to 7% in the actuarial liability.

We cannot yet confirm the interest rate to use as at December 31, 2004 for retired members. This rate should reflect the rate used when purchasing an annuity from an insurance company. The Canadian Institute of Actuaries does an informal survey of the main financial institutions to estimate the rates for purchasing unindexed group annuities in the past year. The results of this exercise are published at the beginning of each calendar year. This year, we expect this rate to be lower than the suggested rate as at December 31, 2003 (5% to 5.25% per year). It is interesting to note that each 0.25% drop in the rate results in an increase of about 2% to 3% in the liability associated with retirees.

Interest rates on long-term Government of Canada bonds remained relatively stable over the first six months of 2004 and then declined. For example, the interest rate applicable as at August 31, 2004 was 6% per year.

Solvency valuations for fully indexed pensions

For these actuarial valuations, the interest rate to use as at December 31, 2004 for fully indexed pensions of active and non-active, non-retired members will be equivalent to 2.50% year for the first 15 years and 3.25% for subsequent years (compared to 3.25% per year as at December 31, 2003). For the valuation of fully indexed pensions at the end of 2004,¸ this lower interest rate will result in an increase of approximately 8% to 10% in the actuarial liability.

For retired members, the interest rate to use as at December 31, 2004 should reflect the rate used when purchasing an annuity from an insurance company. For the purpose of solvency valuations, the rate used is the same as that for active and non-active, non-retired members. The effect of this lower rate will be to increase the actuarial liability associated with retirees by approximately 4% to 6%.

Valuations for accounting purposes

We cannot yet confirm the interest rate to use for valuations for accounting purposes as at December 31, 2004, which is based on the rate at that date for investment grade bonds whose cash flows match the expected benefit payments. However, if rates remain at their current levels, we expect a rate between 5.25% and 6% as at December 31, 2004, which would represent a drop of about 0.25% compared to December 31, 2003.

Impact of the new standard of practice for determining the discounted value of pensions

As we told you in our June 2004 bulletin, the Canadian Institute of Actuaries’ new standard of practice for determining the pension commuted values payable under a registered pension plan upon termination of participation will take effect on February 1, 2005. If this standard were to take effect on December 31, 2004, the rate to use for unindexed pensions would be 4.75% for the first 10 years and 6% thereafter. This rate is lower than that resulting from the application of the present standard but it applies to a shorter period (10 years instead of 15). If this new standard should be applicable as at December 31, 2004, the actuarial liability of pension plans, on the basis of a solvency valuation, should probably be higher, especially since the new standard provides for the use of a mortality table based on a longer life expectancy.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les taux d'intérêt applicables aux évaluations actuarielles au 31 décembre 2004

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 21, novembre 2004

La Banque du Canada a publié récemment le taux d’intérêt nominal des obligations à long terme du gouvernement du Canada ainsi que le taux des obligations à rendement réel du gouvernement du Canada pour le mois d’octobre 2004 sur lesquels seront basés les taux d’intérêt à utiliser pour une évaluation actuarielle sur base de solvabilité au 31 décembre 2004 seront basés sur ces taux d’intérêt.

Évaluations actuarielles de solvabilité pour les rentes non indexées

Pour ces évaluations au 31 décembre 2004, le taux d’intérêt à utiliser pour les rentes non indexées des participants actifs et inactifs non retraités représentera 5,50 % par année pour les 15 premières années et 6 % pour les années suivantes (comparativement à un taux de 6 % par année au 31 décembre 2003). Pour l’évaluation des rentes non indexées à la fin de 2004, l’effet de cette baisse de taux d’intérêt résultera en une augmentation de l’ordre de 5 % à 7 % du passif actuariel.

Le taux d’intérêt à utiliser au 31 décembre 2004 pour les participants retraités ne peut pas être confirmé présentement. Ce taux, devrait répliquer le taux utilisé lors de l’achat d’une rente auprès d’une compagnie d’assurance. L'Institut canadien des actuaires effectue un sondage officieux auprès des grandes institutions financières pour estimer les taux d'achat de rentes collectives non indexées souscrites au cours de la dernière année. Les résultats de ce travail sont disponibles au début de chaque année civile. Cette année, nous pouvons nous attendre à ce que ce taux soit inférieur à celui suggéré au 31 décembre 2003 (5 % à 5,25 % par année). Veuillez noter que pour chaque baisse de 0,25 % du taux, il en résulte une augmentation de l’ordre de 2 % à 3 % du passif des retraités.

Il faut noter que les taux d’intérêt sur les obligations à long terme du gouvernement du Canada sont demeurés relativement stables au cours des six premiers mois de l’année 2004 et ont diminué par la suite. À titre d'exemple, le taux d’intérêt applicable au 31 août 2004 était de 6 % par année.

Évaluations actuarielles de solvabilité pour les rentes pleinement indexées

Pour ces évaluations actuarielles, le taux d’intérêt à utiliser au 31 décembre 2004 pour les rentes pleinement indexées des participants actifs et inactifs non retraités représentera 2,50 % par année pour les 15 premières années et 3,25 % pour les années suivantes (comparativement à un taux de 3,25 % par année au 31 décembre 2003). Pour l’évaluation des rentes pleinement indexées à la fin de 2004, l’effet de cette baisse de taux résultera en une augmentation de l’ordre de 8 % à 10 % du passif actuariel.

Pour les participants retraités, le taux d'intérêt à utiliser au 31 décembre 2004 devrait répliquer le taux utilisé lors de l'achat d'une rente auprès d'une compagnie d'assurance. Pour les fins de l'évaluation actuarielle de solvabilité, le taux utilisé est le même que celui des participants actifs et inactifs non retraités. L'effet de cette baisse de taux sera une augmentation de l'ordre de 4 % à 6 % du passif actuariel des retraités.

Évaluations comptables

Le taux d’intérêt à utiliser pour les fins d’une évaluation comptable au 31 décembre 2004 ne peut pas être confirmé présentement, celui-ci étant basé sur le taux à cette date des obligations de qualité supérieure dont les flux de trésorerie correspondent à ceux des versements prévus des prestations. Toutefois, si les taux se maintiennent au niveau actuel, nous pouvons anticiper un taux se situant entre 5,25 % et 6 % au 31 décembre 2004, ce qui représenterait une baisse d'environ 0,25 % par rapport au 31 décembre 2003.

Impact de la nouvelle norme de pratique concernant la détermination des valeurs actualisées des rentes

Tel que mentionné dans notre communiqué de juin 2004, la nouvelle norme de pratique de l’Institut canadien des actuaires concernant la détermination des valeurs actualisées des rentes payables en vertu d’un régime de retraite agréé lors d’une cessation de participation entrera en vigueur le 1er février 2005. À titre illustratif, si cette norme entrait vigueur en date du 31 décembre 2004, le taux à utiliser pour les rentes non indexées serait de 4,75 % pour les 10 premières années et 6 % par la suite. Ce taux est inférieur à celui résultant de l’application de la norme actuelle mais s’applique sur une plus courte période (10 ans au lieu de 15 ans). Si cette nouvelle norme avait été applicable au 31 décembre 2004, le passif actuariel sur base de solvabilité des régimes de retraite aurait vraisemblablement été plus élevé, d'autant plus que la nouvelle norme prescrit l'utilisation d'une table de mortalité prévoyant une plus longue espérance de vie.
 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6