Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The integration of long-term disability insurance benefits

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N. 2, March 2004

Following a decision rendered by the Alberta Court of Appeal in the spring of 2003, in the case of Hennig v. Clarica, some insurers have issued bulletins over the past months concerning the integration of long-term disability insurance benefits.

Integration clauses are used to reduce the benefits paid to disabled employees who receive income from other sources, in order that the employee is not put into a better financial situation than prior to the start of his disability. As a result, integration clauses increase the incentive for returning to work. There are two types of integration: direct and indirect.

Direct integration consists of reducing the amount of the member’s disability benefits by any other disability or retirement benefit payable to the member under government programs such as the Quebec Pension Plan (QPP), the Canada Pension Plan (CPP), and occupational injury or automobile insurance statutes.

Indirect integration clauses are contained in most group insurance contracts. They generally stipulate that the disability benefit calculated by the insurer will be reduced so that the total of this benefit and any income from other sources does not exceed a certain percentage of the salary. Other income sources that are taken into account for the purpose of indirect integration include any salaries payable under salary continuance or sick leave policies, as well as any disability benefits payable by a government plan or body.

In the case of Hennig v. Clarica, the court ruled that the children’s benefits provided for by the CPP should not be included in the income from all sources that are taken into account in calculating Ms. Hennig’s long-term disability benefits under the indirect integration clause of her group insurance plan. Her group plan was taken out with the Clarica Insurance Company. The judgment does not deal with the legality of including or not including the CPP children’s benefits, but rather the ambiguity of an insurance contract.

Following this judgment, we surveyed the major insurance companies in order to find out what their practice is with respect to the integration of the children’s benefits paid in connection with the C/QPP disability benefits when calculating long-term disability benefits. Note that for the year 2004, the monthly children’s benefits paid in connection with QPP disability benefit is $61.18, while for CPP disability benefit is $192.68. The following outlines the results of our survey: 


 Children’s Benefits Paid in Connection with C/QPP are:
Insurance Companies
 considered to be part of the
income from other sources
not considered to be part of the
income from other sources

Blue Cross   x
Desjardins Financial Security   x
Great-West (includes Canada Life) x      
Industrial Alliance   x
Manulife Financial x(1)  
Maritime Life x      
SSQ   x
Standard Life   x
Sun Life Financial x(2)  

(1) However, C/QPP children’s benefits are not considered to be part of income from other sources for members in Alberta.
(2) However, for contracts whose wording is the same as that involved in the Hennig case, the C/QPP children’s benefits will no longer be considered to be part of income from other sources.  

However, insurers that consider C/QPP children’s benefits to be part of income from other sources would be prepared to change their integration clauses to exclude the C/QPP children’s benefits when calculating long-term disability benefits, but each reserves the right to review their pricing as needed.

Although each insurer disclosed their standard practice to us, it is possible that some contracts issued by these insurance companies do not reflect this practice. Each plan sponsor should check the clauses of their insurance contract in order to verify the practice of their current insurer.

Note also that the federal government is currently reviewing the provisions of the CPP. The parliamentary sub-committee in charge of considering the future of the CPP disability benefits program published its first report in the summer of 2003. One of the sub-committee’s recommendations is that the amount of the benefits payable under the CPP for dependent children should no longer be taken into account by private insurance plans in the calculation of disability benefits. In November 2003, the federal government published a report that responded to the sub-committee’s recommendations. With respect to the integration of children’s benefits under the CPP, the federal government indicated that it does not regulate the private insurance industry, which falls under provincial jurisdiction. Therefore, the federal government does not have the authority to make the integration of the children’s benefits under the CPP illegal.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

L'intégration des prestations d'assurance salaire de longue durée

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 2, mars 2004

Faisant suite à une décision de la cour d’appel de l’Alberta, rendue au printemps 2003, dans l’affaire Hennig c. Clarica, certains assureurs ont émis des communiqués au cours des derniers mois relativement à leurs clauses d’intégration des prestations d’assurance salaire de longue durée.

En assurance salaire de longue durée, les clauses d’intégration sont utilisées pour réduire la prestation versée à l’employé invalide qui reçoit des revenus d’autres sources de façon à ce que ce dernier ne se trouve pas dans une meilleure situation financière qu’avant le début de son invalidité. Ainsi, les clauses d’intégration permettent d’accroître l’incitatif de retour au travail. Par ailleurs, il existe deux types d’intégration : l’intégration directe et l’intégration indirecte.

L’intégration directe consiste à réduire le montant de prestation d’invalidité de l’adhérent de toute autre prestation d’invalidité ou de retraite payable à l’adhérent en vertu de programmes gouvernementaux comme le Régime de rentes du Québec (RRQ), le Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC) ou une loi sur les accidents du travail ou sur l’assurance automobile.

Pour ce qui est des clauses d’intégration indirecte faisant partie de la plupart des contrats d’assurance collective, elles stipulent généralement que la prestation d’invalidité calculée par l’assureur sera réduite de manière à ce que le total de cette prestation et de tout revenu provenant d’autres sources n’excède pas un certain pourcentage du salaire. Parmi les autres sources de revenu considérées pour des fins d’intégration indirecte, on retrouve tout salaire payable en vertu d’une politique de continuation de salaire ou de congé de maladie ainsi que toute prestation d’invalidité payable par un régime ou un organisme gouvernemental.

Dans l’affaire Hennig C. Clarica, la cour a statué que les prestations d’enfants à charge prévues par le RPC ne pouvaient être incluses dans les revenus de toutes sources pris en compte pour calculer les prestations d’invalidité de longue durée de Madame Hennig en vertu de la clause d’intégration indirecte de son régime d’assurance collective souscrit auprès de la compagnie d’assurance Clarica. Le jugement rendu dans cette affaire ne porte pas sur la légalité d’inclure ou non les prestations d’enfants à charge prévues par le RPC, mais plutôt sur l’ambiguïté d’un contrat d’assurance.

Suite à ce jugement, nous avons sondé les principales compagnies d’assurance pour connaître leur pratique relativement à l’intégration des prestations d’enfants à charge versées dans le cadre des prestations d’invalidité du RRQ ou du RPC lors du calcul des prestations d’invalidité de longue durée. Rappelons que pour l’année 2004, les prestations mensuelles d’enfants à charge versées par le RRQ sont de 61,18 $, alors que celles versées par le RPC sont de 192,68 $. Voici les résultats de notre sondage :  

 


 Les prestations d’enfants à charge du RRQ et du RPC sont :
Assureurs
 incluses aux revenus
d’autres sources
exclues des revenus
d’autres sources

Croix Bleue   x
Desjardins Sécurité financière   x
Great-West (incluant Canada vie) x      
Industrielle Alliance   x
Financière Manuvie x(1)  
La Maritime x      
SSQ   x
Standard Life   x
Financière Sun Life x(2)  

(1) Cependant, les prestations d’enfants à charge sont exclues des revenus d’autres sources pour les adhérents de l’Alberta.

(2) Cependant, les contrats dont le libellé équivaut à celui de l’affaire Hennig n’incluront plus les prestations pour enfants à charge prévues par le RPC ou le RRQ dans le calcul des revenus d’autres sources.

Toutefois, la plupart des assureurs qui incluent les prestations d’enfants à charge versées dans le cadre des prestations d’invalidité du RRQ ou du RPC lors du calcul des prestations d’invalidité de longue durée seraient disposés à modifier leur contrat pour les exclure. Chacun se réserve toutefois le droit de réviser sa tarification au besoin.

Bien que chaque assureur nous ait communiqué sa pratique habituelle, il est possible que certains contrats souscrits auprès de l’une ou l’autre de ces compagnies d’assurance ne reflètent pas cette pratique. Chaque promoteur de régime devrait donc vérifier les clauses de son contrat d’assurance pour s’assurer de la pratique de l’assureur en place.

Par ailleurs, le gouvernement fédéral s’affaire actuellement à passer en revue les modalités du RPC. Le sous-comité parlementaire chargé de se pencher sur l’avenir du programme de prestations d’invalidité du RPC a publié un premier rapport à l’été 2003. Une des recommandations du sous-comité est que le montant des prestations payables au titre du RPC pour les enfants à charge ne puisse plus être pris en compte pour calculer les prestations d’invalidité par les régimes d’assurance privés. Le gouvernement fédéral a publié un rapport en novembre 2003 répondant aux recommandations du sous-comité. Concernant l’intégration des prestations des enfants à charge du RPC, le gouvernement fédéral a indiqué qu’il ne régit pas l’industrie de l’assurance privée, qui est de compétence provinciale. Par conséquent le gouvernement fédéral se dit incapable de rendre illégale l’intégration des prestations des enfants à charge du RPC.  

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6