Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The latest pension plan governance guidelines

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N. 19, November 2004

On October 25, the Canadian Association of Pension Supervisory Authorities (CAPSA) issued the final version of its governance guidelines for registered pension plans. Unlike the guidelines for capital accumulation plans (CAPs) issued by the Joint Forum of Financial Market Regulators on May 28, 2004 (see our June 2004 bulletin, Vol. 7, No. 11) that concerned only CAPs, including defined contribution plans with investment options, the latest guidelines also apply to defined contribution plans without investment options and to defined benefit plans.

Purpose of the guidelines

The guidelines are meant to be a guide to the best practices in terms of governance for registered pension plans. They are also meant to help plan administrators meet their governance responsibilities.

Governance is defined as the structure and processes for overseeing, managing and administering a pension plan to ensure that fiduciary obligations are met.

Summary of the guidelines

The guidelines are based on eleven principles which aim at establishing a good and effective system of governance. These principles include the following: 

  • Describe the plan administrator’s fiduciary obligations and the roles and responsibilities of all stakeholders.
    To avoid conflicts of interest, the roles and responsibilities of stakeholders that have other responsibilities and interests must be clearly defined.  
  • Establish performance measures for the various stakeholders and evaluate them.
    The plan administrator should regularly evaluate the performance of all the plan’s service providers.
  • Establish an internal control framework, commensurate with the type and size of the plan, to manage risk.
    The administrator should establish procedures to reduce the different types of risks that might affect the plan and to be ready to react if certain situations arise, for example, with respect to funding the plan, administration, communications, controlling expenses, etc.
  • Establish procedures and a process for communicating with plan members and the various stakeholders.
    The administrator should take the necessary steps to report on its administration to plan members and should adopt a communication policy that promotes transparency and members’ confidence.

Impact on your plans

For plans registered outside Quebec, the guidelines provide a framework and define what should constitute good governance in situations where provincial laws leave more leeway in regards to interpretation and good governance practices.

For plans registered in Quebec, the provincial legislation already incorporates some of the concepts in the guidelines, for example, the idea of having a pension committee, annual meeting and conflict of interest policy. However, the guidelines add some aspects of governance that were not explicitly required for pension committees, for example, having an internal control framework for managing risk that is commensurate with the type and size of the plan.

Effective date

Although there is no official date by which the guidelines must be applied, CAPSA encourages administrators to implement them immediately. Administrators can also complete the self-assessment questionnaire developed by CAPSA and included with the guidelines to determine how successfully their plan follows effective governance principles. Thereafter, plan administrators should review regularly their practices and procedures in order to assess them with the stated governance objectives.

Finally, although the guidelines do not have the force of law and their application is voluntary, it is probable that the courts will refer to them in any legal dispute regarding good governance of a pension plan. 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les lignes directrices sur la gouvernance des régimes de retraite

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 19, novembre 2004

Le 25 octobre dernier, l’Association canadienne des organismes de contrôle des régimes de retraite (ACOR) a publié la version finale des lignes directrices portant sur la gouvernance des régimes de retraite enregistrés. Contrairement aux lignes directrices sur les régimes de capitalisation (RC) publiées par le Forum conjoint des autorités de réglementation du marché financier le 28 mai 2004 (voir notre communiqué de juin 2004, vol. 7, no. 11) qui ne s’adressaient qu’aux RC, dont les régimes à cotisations déterminées avec options de placement, celles-ci sont également applicables aux régimes à cotisations déterminées sans options de placement et aux régimes à prestations déterminées. 

Objectifs visés 

Les lignes directrices se veulent un guide des meilleures pratiques souhaitées en terme de gouvernance pour les régimes de retraite enregistrés. Elles visent à aider les administrateurs de régimes à s’acquitter de leurs responsabilités de gouvernance. 

La gouvernance est définie comme l’ensemble des structures et processus utilisés pour surveiller, administrer et gérer un régime de façon à respecter les obligations fiduciaires. 

Sommaire des lignes directrices 

Onze principes de base émanent des lignes directrices dans l’optique d’établir un système efficace de saine gouvernance. Parmi ces principes, notons entre autres les suivants :  

  • Décrire les obligations fiduciaires de l’administrateur du régime et les rôles et responsabilités de tous les intervenants;
Notons que les rôles et responsabilités devront être clairement définis pour les intervenants ayant d’autres responsabilités et intérêts de façon à éviter les conflits d’intérêts;

 

  • Établir des mesures de rendement pour les divers intervenants et les évaluer;
L’administrateur devrait évaluer périodiquement le rendement (performance) de tous les fournisseurs de services du régime;

 

  • Établir un cadre de contrôle interne afin de gérer les risques selon le type et la taille du régime;
L’administrateur devrait établir des procédures afin de réduire les différents risques inhérents au régime et être en mesure de réagir lorsque certaines situations surviennent, que ce soit au niveau du financement du régime, de l’administration, des communications, du contrôle des dépenses, etc.;

 

  • Établir des procédures et un processus de communication aux participants et aux divers intervenants;
L’administrateur devrait prendre les moyens afin de rendre compte de son administration aux participants et devrait adopter des politiques de communication afin de favoriser la transparence et la confiance des participants. 

Impact pour vos régimes

Pour les régimes enregistrés hors Québec, les lignes directrices viennent encadrer et définir ce qui devrait être une bonne gouvernance dans un contexte où les diverses législations provinciales laissent une plus grande marge de manœuvre quant à l’interprétation et aux pratiques relatives à une saine gouvernance.

En ce qui concerne les régimes enregistrés au Québec, la législation provinciale incorporait déjà plusieurs notions émises dans les lignes directrices, par exemple les concepts de comité de retraite, d’assemblée annuelle et de politique de conflits d’intérêts. Toutefois, les lignes directrices ajoutent des notions de gouvernance qui n'étaient pas explicitement requis des comités de retraite, notamment quant au cadre de contrôle interne visant à gérer les risques selon le type et la taille du régime.

Délai d’application

Aucun délai d’application n’est prévu, mais l’ACOR encourage les administrateurs à se conformer aux lignes directrices dès maintenant. Ces derniers peuvent d’ailleurs compléter le questionnaire d’auto évaluation que l’ACOR a élaboré et joint aux lignes directrices afin de déterminer dans quelle mesure leur régime se conforme aux principes d’une gouvernance efficace. Par la suite, l'administrateur devrait examiner périodiquement les pratiques et procédures afin de les évaluer en fonction de ses objectifs de gouvernance.

Finalement, bien que les lignes directrices n’aient pas force de loi et sont applicables sur base volontaire, il est possible que les instances légales y référeront lorsqu’un litige se présentera relativement à la saine gouvernance d’un régime de retraite.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6