Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The withdrawal of Vioxx from the world market

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N. 17, October 2004

A few days ago, Merck Frosst announced that it was pulling its flagship drug Vioxx off the market worldwide because of the increased risk of cardiovascular events (heart attacks and strokes) for people who use this drug for a long period (more than 18 months).

Vioxx is a drug prescribed to relieve pain and inflammation caused by osteoarthritis or rhumatoid arthritis.

According to some statistics, Vioxx was the second most prescribed drug in Canada in 2003-2004 and it accounted for 1.24% of the total cost of prescribed drugs (source: ESI Canada). Worldwide sales of this product totaled some $2.5 billion annually.

Will the withdrawal of Vioxx have an impact on the cost of private group insurance plans? There are similar drugs available on the market. For example, Celebrex and Bextra belong to the same drug class and cost about the same as Vioxx. Therefore, it is reasonable to assume that patients currently being treated with Vioxx will be directed to these other drugs, and thus there will be no impact on private group insurance plans.

However, side effects vary from patient to patient and a lack of confidence in these drugs could influence which alternative is chosen by patients being treated with Vioxx.

Much cheaper drugs like Naproxen and Voltaren (generic forms of which exist) were earlier prescribed to relieve pain and inflammation. However, because of stomach problems caused by absorption of these drugs, they were often prescribed in combination with a drug to treat gastrointestinal problems.

Therefore, at this time it is difficult to predict what effect the withdrawal of Vioxx will have on the cost of private group insurance plans. Rest assured that we will monitor developments closely and keep you informed.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Le retrait du Vioxx du marché mondial

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 17, octobre 2004

Il y a quelques jours, Merck Frosst annonçait le retrait de son médicament vedette Vioxx du marché mondial en raison du risque accru d’accidents cardio-vasculaires chez les personnes utilisant ce médicament à long terme (plus de 18 mois).

Vioxx est un médicament prescrit pour soulager la douleur et l’inflammation causées par l’arthrose ou la polyarthrite rhumatoïde.

Certaines statistiques démontrent que Vioxx était au deuxième rang en terme de nombre d’ordonnances au Canada en 2003/2004 et qu’à lui seul, il représentait 1,24 % des médicaments prescrits en terme de coût (statistiques obtenues de ESI Canada). Les ventes annuelles mondiales de ce produit se situaient à environ 2,5 milliards de dollars.

Mais le retrait du Vioxx aura-t-il un effet sur le coût des régimes privés d’assurance collective? D’autres médicaments similaires sont aussi disponibles sur le marché. En effet, Celebrex et Bextra font partie de la même catégorie de médicaments et coûtent environ le même prix que Vioxx. Nous serions donc en droit de penser que les patients traités actuellement au Vioxx seront dirigés vers ces autres médicaments et qu’aucun impact ne se fera sentir dans le coût des régimes privés d’assurance collective.

Cependant, les effets secondaires variant d’un patient à l’autre et la non confiance à l‘endroit de ces médicaments pourraient avoir un effet sur l’alternative choisie par les patients traités au Vioxx.

Auparavant, d’autres médicaments beaucoup moins coûteux comme Naproxen et Voltaren (pour lesquels des médicaments génériques existent) étaient prescrits pour soulager la douleur et l’inflammation. Cependant, en raison des problèmes gastriques causés par l’absorption de ces médicaments, ils étaient souvent prescrits en combinaison avec un médicament traitant les problèmes gastro-intestinaux.

Il est donc difficile pour le moment de déterminer l’effet qu’aura le retrait du Vioxx sur le coût des régimes privés d’assurance collective. Soyez assurés que nous suivons ce dossier de près et que nous vous tiendrons informés des développements.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6