Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Making a pension plan beneficiary designation

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N. 15, September 2004

Although it might seem a simple matter to designate a beneficiary to receive death benefits payable under a pension plan, there are some less obvious aspects to consider. This bulletin describes why it is a good idea to designate a beneficiary, defines the concept of eligible spouse within the meaning of the Act, and explains how to designate and change a beneficiary.

First we should make it clear that there have been no recent changes in the laws governing the designation of a beneficiary. The sole purpose of this bulletin is to inform you about this subject and to answer a few questions we have been asked about it. Please note that we already discussed how to make a life insurance beneficiary designation in last April’s bulletin (Vol. 7, No. 3).

Why designate a beneficiary?

The purpose of making a beneficiary designation is to identify the person(s) who will receive the benefits payable under a pension plan if the plan member dies. It will also help to avoid conflicts about who will receive these payments.

Under the Quebec Supplemental Pension Plans Act (the SPP Act), pre-retirement death benefits from a pension plan are automatically paid to the member’s spouse, regardless of whether or not a beneficiary has been designated. However, if the member does not have a spouse at the time of death or if the member’s spouse dies at the same time, the death benefits are payable to the beneficiary(ies) whom the member designated under the pension plan. If the member does not have a spouse and has not designated a beneficiary at the time of death, the death benefits are payable to the member’s successors.

Where the beneficiary is the spouse, descendant or ascendant of the member, we recommend specifically naming this individual as the beneficiary to protect the benefits, i.e., prevent them from being seized by creditors for example, and to speed up payment of the benefits. The designation of a spouse as a beneficiary becomes null and void after a divorce or the dissolution of a civil union.

It is important to know that the spouse can waive his or her automatic right to pre-retirement death benefits at any time before payment of the benefits starts, by transmitting the appropriate form to the Pension Committee. If this right is waived, the death benefits will be payable to the beneficiary(ies) designated under the plan. The spouse can also revoke this waiver if the Pension Committee is notified in writing before the member dies.

Who qualifies as an eligible spouse?

Under the SPP Act, the eligible spouse is the person who:

  • is bound to a member by marriage or a civil union; or
  • has been living in a conjugal relationship with a member who is not married or united by a civil union, whether the person is of the opposite or the same sex, for a period of not less than three years, or for a period of not less than one year if:
    • at least one child is born, or to be born, of their union,
    • they have adopted, jointly, at least one child while living together in a conjugal relationship,
    • one of them has adopted at least one child who is the child of the other, while living together in a conjugal relationship.

Spousal status is established as of the day payment of the member’s pension begins or as of the day preceding the member’s death, according to which of these two options is provided in the pension plan, or if none, as of the first of these two events.

The birth or adoption of a child during a previous marriage, civil union or period of conjugal relationship may qualify a person as a spouse.

How do you designate a beneficiary?

The simplest way to designate a beneficiary is to complete the appropriate form and transmit it to the Pension Committee.

Instead of explicitly naming a beneficiary, the member can write "Successors" on the form in the space for the beneficiary’s name. If the member does not have a spouse, the successors are the legatees under the will or, if there is no will, the legal heirs as defined in the Civil Code of Québec.

The beneficiary can also be named in the will itself rather than by filling out a beneficiary designation form. If a member decides to do this, the names of the pension plan and the beneficiary must be clearly identified to ensure that the choice made in the will is valid. The most recent designation takes precedence, regardless of whether the designation was made in the will or on the form.

How do you change a beneficiary designation?

Most beneficiary designation forms include a provision for revoking all designated beneficiaries. However, if there is no mention of revocability on the form, the beneficiary is irrevocable. Unless the current beneficiary is irrevocable, the name of the designated beneficiary can be changed at any time, either through a will or by completing the appropriate form. An irrevocable beneficiary can waive the right to receive death benefits at any time.

It is important to understand that the beneficiary for the purpose of the benefits payable under a pension plan bears no relation to the beneficiary whom the member named for life insurance benefits payable under a group insurance plan.

Please note that this bulletin is intended to explain the basic rules that apply to naming a beneficiary under a pension plan registered with the Régie des rentes du Québec and that some exceptions may apply. We recommend that you contact a lawyer or notary regarding any questions or interpretations concerning the law or common practice.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

La désignation de bénéficiaire dans un régime de retraite

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 15, septembre 2004


Bien que la désignation de bénéficiaire aux fins des prestations de décès payables en vertu d’un régime de retraite puisse paraître simple, elle est pourtant remplie de subtilités. Ce communiqué vise à énumérer les raisons justifiant la désignation de bénéficiaire, à définir la notion de conjoint admissible au sens de la Loi et à illustrer les façons de désigner et de modifier un bénéficiaire.

Nous tenons à préciser qu’aucun changement législatif n’a été apporté aux lois réglementant la désignation de bénéficiaire dernièrement et que ce communiqué a pour unique but de vous informer sur le sujet et de répondre à quelques questions qui nous ont été formulées à ce sujet. Il est à noter que nous avons déjà traité de la désignation de bénéficiaire en assurance vie dans le communiqué du mois d’avril dernier (vol. 7, no. 3).

Pourquoi désigner un bénéficiaire?

La désignation de bénéficiaire permet d’identifier la ou les personne(s) qui bénéficieront des sommes payables en vertu d’un régime de retraite advenant le décès d’un participant. Plus particulièrement, cette désignation permet d’éviter les conflits relativement au règlement de ces sommes.

En vertu de la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite du Québec (la « Loi RCR »), les prestations de décès avant la retraite payables d’un régime de retraite sont automatiquement versées au conjoint du participant, peu importe si un bénéficiaire a été désigné ou non. Toutefois, à défaut de conjoint au moment du décès ou en cas de décès simultané du participant et de son conjoint, les prestations de décès seront payables au(x) bénéficiaire(s) que le participant aura désigné(s) aux fins du régime de retraite. S’il n’y a aucun conjoint lors du décès et si aucun bénéficiaire n’a été désigné, la prestation de décès sera alors payable aux ayants cause.

Lorsque le bénéficiaire est le conjoint, le descendant ou l’ascendant du participant, la désignation spécifique de celui-ci comme bénéficiaire permet de préserver le caractère insaisissable des prestations payables en vertu d’un régime de retraite, permettant ainsi de conserver les sommes payables à l’abri des créanciers, le cas échéant, et d’accélérer le paiement des prestations. Toute désignation d’un conjoint comme bénéficiaire devient caduque suite à un divorce ou à une dissolution d’union civile.

Il est important de savoir que le conjoint peut renoncer à son droit automatique à la prestation de décès avant la retraite à tout moment avant le règlement de la prestation en transmettant au Comité de retraite un formulaire prévu à cette fin. Advenant une telle renonciation, la prestation de décès serait alors payable au(x) bénéficiaire(s) désigné(s) aux fins du régime de retraite. Le conjoint peut également révoquer cette renonciation pourvu que le Comité de retraite en soit avisé par écrit avant le décès du participant.

Qui se qualifie comme conjoint admissible?

En vertu des dispositions de la Loi RCR, le conjoint admissible est la personne qui :

 

  • est liée par un mariage ou une union civile à un participant; ou
  • vit maritalement avec un participant non marié ni uni civilement, qu’elle soit de sexe différent ou de même sexe, depuis au moins trois ans ou depuis un an si :
    • un enfant au moins est né ou est à naître de leur union,
    • ils ont conjointement adopté au moins un enfant durant leur période de vie maritale,
    • l’un d’eux a adopté au moins un enfant de l’autre durant cette période.

Le statut de conjoint s’établit soit le jour où débute le service de la rente du participant, soit le jour qui précède son décès, suivant celle de ces options que retient le régime de retraite ou, à défaut, suivant la première de ces éventualités.

La naissance ou l’adoption d’un enfant pendant un mariage, une union civile ou une période de vie maritale antérieure peut permettre de qualifier une personne comme conjoint.

Comment désigner un bénéficiaire?

La façon la plus simple de désigner un bénéficiaire est de compléter un formulaire prévu à cette fin et de le transmettre au Comité de retraite.

À défaut de nommer expressément un bénéficiaire, le participant peut inscrire « Ayants cause » sur le formulaire dans l’espace réservé au nom du bénéficiaire. En l’absence d’un conjoint, les ayants cause sont les légataires en vertu d’un testament ou, à défaut de testament, les héritiers légaux tel que défini au Code civil du Québec.

Il est également possible d’identifier le bénéficiaire à l’intérieur même d’un testament plutôt qu’en remplissant le formulaire de désignation de bénéficiaire. Si un participant décide de procéder ainsi, le nom du régime de retraite et celui du bénéficiaire doivent être clairement identifiés dans le testament afin que le choix effectué soit valide. La dernière désignation effectuée, soit par testament, soit par formulaire, aura préséance.

Comment modifier une désignation de bénéficiaire?

Dans la majorité des cas, les formulaires relatifs à la désignation de bénéficiaire prévoient la révocabilité de tous les bénéficiaire désignés. Par contre, si aucune mention de révocabilité n’est stipulée dans le formulaire, alors le bénéficiaire est irrévocable. À moins que le bénéficiaire actuel soit irrévocable, il est possible de modifier le nom du bénéficiaire désigné en tout temps par testament ou en complétant un formulaire prévu à cette fin. Le bénéficiaire désigné de façon irrévocable peut renoncer en tout temps à son droit de recevoir la prestation de décès.

Il est important de noter que le bénéficiaire aux fins des prestations payables en vertu d’un régime de retraite n’est aucunement lié au bénéficiaire que le participant a identifié relativement à la prestation d’assurance vie payable en vertu d’un régime d’assurance collective.

Veuillez noter que ce communiqué vise à expliquer les règles de base s’appliquant à la désignation de bénéficiaire pour les régimes de retraite enregistrés auprès de la Régie des rentes du Québec et que certaines exceptions peuvent s’appliquer. Nous vous recommandons de communiquer avec un avocat ou un notaire pour toute question ou interprétation relative aux lois ou aux pratiques courantes.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6