Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The implications of the Monsanto case for Quebec pension plans

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N. 13, September 2004

After restructuring the company and reducing its workforce, Monsanto Canada Inc. wound up part of its pension plan registered under Ontario law. This was back in 1997 and at the time there was a surplus in the pension plan. Initially, the Superintendent of the Financial Services Commission of Ontario rejected the report on the grounds that it did not include a procedure for distributing the surplus relating to the part of the fund that had been wound up. After numerous appeals, the case ended up at the Supreme Court of Canada.

Result

The Supreme Court concluded that the portion of the surplus attributable to the members concerned should be distributed on the partial windup date. It is important to note that the Supreme Court did not decide who the surplus belonged to; its decision concerned how the surplus should be treated at the time of a partial windup.

The basis of the Supreme Court’s decision derived from its interpretation of subsection 70(6) of the Ontario Pension Benefits Act, which states that members affected by a partial windup "... shall have rights and benefits that are not less than the rights and benefits they would have on a full windup of the pension plan ...".

The Court’s decision applies to members subject to the Pension Benefits Act in Ontario but it could also be used as jurisprudence for legislation in other provinces containing a similar clause applying to a partial windup.

Impacts on registered plans in Quebec

For pension plans registered in Quebec, the concept of a partial termination ceased to exist in 2001. Between 1993 and 2000, the Supplemental Pension Plans Act contained clauses that were materially different from subsection 70(6) of the Ontario law. Prior to 1993, however, relevant clauses could be interpreted as being similar to that examined by the Supreme Court.

Following is a summary of scenarios that could potentially affect Quebec pension plan sponsors:

  • For Quebec members
    • A partial windup (or an event that might be construed as a partial windup) that occurred before 1993.
  • For members outside Quebec
    • A partial windup (or an event that might be construed as a partial windup) for Ontario members that occurred in the past;
    • For members from a province other than Ontario, we enter the subjective realm of comparative interpretation. Therefore, vigilance is called for and any decision affecting members from a province other than Ontario should be examined.

In addition, the Supreme Court decision did not clarify many aspects (who the surplus belongs to, how it should be allocated, application to provinces other than Ontario, etc.).

If any of the above scenarios apply to your plan, you should know that, even before the Supreme Court came down with its decision, the Canadian Institute of Actuaries issued an Educational Note suggesting the actuary to disclose in the valuation report the adverse effects that the Monsanto decision could have on the results of the actuarial valuation.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

L'affaire Mosanto ayant un impact sur les régimes de retraite québécois

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 13, septembre 2004

En 1997, Monsanto Canada Inc. a procédé à une terminaison partielle de son régime de retraite enregistré sous la juridiction ontarienne, suite à une restructuration de l’organisation ayant mené à une réduction d’effectifs. Le régime de retraite était alors en situation de surplus. Le rapport initial de terminaison fut d’abord refusé par le surintendant des services financiers de l’Ontario prétextant qu’aucune procédure de distribution du surplus de la partie terminée de la caisse n’avait été prévue. Les multiples appels des décisions ont par la suite mené l’affaire à la Cour suprême du Canada.

Décision

La Cour suprême du Canada a conclu que la partie du surplus attribuable aux participants visés devait être distribuée à la date de la terminaison partielle. Toutefois, il est important de noter que la Cour suprême n’a pas décidé à qui appartenait le surplus, elle a plutôt statué sur son traitement au moment d’une terminaison partielle.

La base de la décision de la Cour suprême vient de son interprétation de l’article 70(6) de la Loi sur les régimes de retraite de l’Ontario. Cet article stipule que les participants visés par une terminaison partielle «... ont des droits et prestations qui ne sont pas inférieurs aux droits et prestations qu’ils auraient à la liquidation totale du régime de retraite ...».

La décision vise les participants assujettis à la Loi sur les régimes de retraite en Ontario mais pourrait servir de jurisprudence pour les autres lois provinciales ayant une disposition similaire lors de la terminaison partielle d’un régime.

Impacts pour les régimes enregistrés au Québec

Pour les régimes de retraite enregistrés au Québec, notons que le concept de terminaison partielle n’existe plus depuis 2001. Les droits des participants sont maintenant déterminés comme lors d'une cessation de participation individuelle et aucune distribution immédiate de surplus n'est effectuée. Entre 1993 et 2000, la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite prévoyait des dispositions qui étaient sensiblement différentes de l’article 70(6) de la Loi sur les régimes de retraite de l’Ontario. Toutefois, les dispositions applicables avant 1993 pourraient être perçues comme étant similaires à celle étudiée par la Cour suprême.

Voici un résumé des situations qui pourraient potentiellement toucher les promoteurs de régimes de retraite québécois :

  • Pour les participants du Québec
    • Si une terminaison partielle (ou un événement pouvant être considéré comme une terminaison partielle) est survenue avant 1993.
  • Pour les participants hors Québec
    • Si une terminaison partielle (ou un événement pouvant être considéré comme une terminaison partielle) est survenue pour des participants de l’Ontario dans le passé;
    • Pour les participants d’une autre province que l’Ontario, nous entrons sur le terrain subjectif de l’interprétation comparative. Il faudra donc demeurer vigilant et surveiller toute décision affectant ces participants.

D'autre part, notons que beaucoup d’éléments n’ont pas été clarifiés par la décision de la Cour suprême dont notamment l'appartenance du surplus, la méthode d’allocation du surplus ou l'application de la décision aux autres provinces que l’Ontario.

Finalement, si votre régime se retrouve dans l’une des situations précitées, sachez qu’une note éducative produite par l’Institut canadien des actuaires, avant même de connaître la décision de la Cour suprême, suggère que l’actuaire divulgue dans le rapport d’évaluation actuarielle de votre régime de retraite les effets négatifs que pourrait avoir l’affaire Monsanto sur les résultats de l’évaluation.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6