Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

2004 Bulletins

Bulletin NB Vol 7 N. 23, December 2004
Québec's policy concerning drugs

On December 16, 2004, Health and Social Services Minister Philippe Couillard tabled a white paper on Québec's policy concerning drugs.
 

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N. 22, December 2004
The 2005 social security programs parameters

We are pleased to inform you about the latest developments regarding the main parameters of the major social security programs to assist you in planning your 2005 budget.

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N. 21, December 2004
Pension plan funding in Quebec

The performance of pension funds in 2004, coupled with the decline in interest rates throughout the year, could mean that the solvency position of many pension plans will be put to the test again. Pension plan sponsors that are required to do an actuarial valuation at the end of 2004 could be faced with significant increases in their funding costs.

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N. 20, November 2004
Interest rates applicable to actuarial valuations as at December 31, 2004

The Bank of Canada recently published the nominal interest rate on long-term Government of Canada bonds and the rate on real return Government of Canada bonds for the month of October 2004. It is on these rates that the interest rates to use for solvency valuations as at December 31, 2004 will be based.

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N. 19, November 2004
The latest pension plan governance guidelines

On October 25, the Canadian Association of Pension Supervisory Authorities (CAPSA) issued the final version of its governance guidelines for registered pension plans. Unlike the guidelines for capital accumulation plans (CAPs) issued by the Joint Forum of Financial Market Regulators on May 28, 2004 (see our June 2004 bulletin, Vol. 7, No. 11) that concerned only CAPs, including defined contribution plans with investment options, the latest guidelines also apply to defined contribution plans without investment options and to defined benefit plans.

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N. 18
The new regulation amending the Quebec Regulation Respecting Supplemental Pension Plans

On October 20, 2004, a new regulation amending the Regulation Respecting Supplemental Pension Plans ("Amended Regulation") was published in the Gazette officielle du Québec. This amendment deals with two aspects: payment of additional pension benefit and reference to the new Standard of Practice approved by the Canadian Institute of Actuaries (CIA) for determining pension commuted values. The consultation period for the Amended Regulation ends on December 3, 2004.

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N. 17, October 2004
The withdrawal of Vioxx from the world market

A few days ago, Merck Frosst announced that it was pulling its flagship drug Vioxx off the market worldwide because of the increased risk of cardiovascular events (heart attacks and strokes) for people who use this drug for a long period (more than 18 months).
 

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N. 16, October 2004
Taxable benefits to surviving spouses and dependents of deceased employees

Taxable benefits arising from contributions paid by an employer for a group insurance plan have existed for several years. Today, plan sponsors generally understand the tax consequences of providing group insurance. However, insurance coverage for a surviving spouse or dependents that continues after the death of an employee or retiree are not always as integrated.

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N. 15, September 2004
Making a pension plan beneficiary designation

Although it might seem a simple matter to designate a beneficiary to receive death benefits payable under a pension plan, there are some less obvious aspects to consider. This bulletin describes why it is a good idea to designate a beneficiary, defines the concept of eligible spouse within the meaning of the Act, and explains how to designate and change a beneficiary.
 

Bulletin NB Vol 7. N. 14, September 2004
The Ontario budget

This bulletin is not available in english.

If you want to read the french version click here.
 

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N. 13, September 2004
The implications of the Monsanto case for Quebec pension plans

After restructuring the company and reducing its workforce, Monsanto Canada Inc. wound up part of its pension plan registered under Ontario law. This was back in 1997 and at the time there was a surplus in the pension plan. Initially, the Superintendent of the Financial Services Commission of Ontario rejected the report on the grounds that it did not include a procedure for distributing the surplus relating to the part of the fund that had been wound up. After numerous appeals, the case ended up at the Supreme Court of Canada.

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N. 12, September 2004
Health Care Professionals' rates

This bulletin presents the results of our annual survey of the fees that are currently being charged by health care professionals. This survey was conducted during the month of June 2004.
 

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N. 11, June 2004
Current guidelines for capital accumulation plans

On May 28, the Joint Forum of Financial Market Regulators, which was created in 1999 to develop governance rules for capital accumulation plan sponsors and service providers, issued the final version of its guidelines.
 

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N. 10, June 2004
The new standard of practice for determining the pension commuted values

In February 2004, we informed you that the Canadian Institute of Actuaries (CIA) approved a new standard of practice for determining the pension commuted values payable under a registered pension plan upon termination of participation. The new standard of practice was supposed to take effect on September 1, 2004. The effective date of the standard was delayed by the CIA Board of Directors following a review process that took place recently. On June 15, 2004, the CIA Board of Directors reconfirmed the standard with an effective date of February 1, 2005.
 

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N. 9, June 2004
The latest developments regarding payment cards for the reimbursement of dental care expenses

In November 2003, we issued a bulletin about a business dispute between the Association des Chirurgiens Dentistes du Québec (the sole owner of Dentaide) and the main insurers who use the ESI card to process the dental transactions of their insurees, namely Desjardins Financial Security, La Capitale, La Survivance and SSQ Financial Group. This dispute has led to a situation where many dentists refused to use the new ESI payment card.
 

Bulletin NB Vol. 9 N. 8, June 2004
The changes to the Quebec Prescription Drug Insurance Plan

On June 14, the Board of Directors of the Régie de l'assurance maladie du Québec (RAMQ) announced the latest modifications to the Quebec Prescription Drug Insurance Plan effective on July 1, 2004.

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N. 7, June 2004
The new disclosure requirements regarding employee future benefits

In April 2004 the Accounting Standards Board (AcSB) of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants (CICA) issued the final version of the amendments to the disclosure requirements regarding employee future benefits. These changes will apply to fiscal years ending on or after June 30, 2004. There are also new disclosure requirements for interim (quarterly) financial statements.

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N. 6, June 2004
Income trusts

FEDERAL FINANCE MINISTER ANNOUNCES THE SUSPENSION OF SPECIAL CAPS ON PENSION FUNDS’ INVESTMENTS IN INCOME TRUSTS

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N. 5, June 2004
Ontario Budget

This bulletin is not available in english.

If you want to read the french version click here.

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N. 4, May 2004
Simplified pension plans

On May 19, 2004, the Régie des rentes du Québec adopted the Regulation amending the Regulation respecting plans exempted from the application of certain provisions of the Supplemental Pension Plans Act ("the Regulation"). This Regulation, which takes effect June 3, 2004, contains important amendments to the provisions that apply to simplified pension plans (SPP). An SPP is a defined contribution pension plan (DC plan) with simplified administrative rules such as no obligation to hold annual meetings and no pension committee.
 

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N. 3, April 2004
Making a life-insurance beneficiary designation

At first glance, the designation of a life-insurance beneficiary might seem simple. However, in order to make an informed decision, it is important to be aware of the various subtleties involved. It should be noted that several aspects treated in this bulletin also apply to pension plans. However, the various subtleties pertaining to pension plans will be discussed in a later bulletin.

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N. 2, March 2004
The integration of long-term disability insurance benefits

Following a decision rendered by the Alberta Court of Appeal in the spring of 2003, in the case of Hennig v. Clarica, some insurers have issued bulletins over the past months concerning the integration of long-term disability insurance benefits.
 

Bulletin NB Vol. 7 N.1, February 2004
The new standard of practice for determining the pension commuted values

The Canadian Institute of Actuaries (CIA) recently approved a new standard of practice for determining the pension commuted values payable under a registered pension plan upon termination of participation. The new standard of practice will take effect September 1, 2004, and will replace the current one, which has been in use since September 1, 1993.

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Communiqués 2004

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 23, décembre 2004
La politique du médicament au Québec

Le 16 décembre dernier, le ministre de la santé et des services sociaux, M. Philippe Couillard déposait un document de consultation sur la politique du médicament au Québec.

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 22, décembre 2004
Les nouveaux paramètres des programmes de sécurité sociale pour l'année 2005

Il nous fait plaisir de vous communiquer les récents développements relatifs aux paramètres utilisés par certains programmes de sécurité sociale afin de vous aider dans la planification de votre budget pour l’année 2005.

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 21, décembre 2004
Le financement des régimes de retraite au Québec

Les rendements réalisés par les caisses de retraite en 2004, jumelés à la baisse des taux d’intérêt tout au long de l’année 2004, feront en sorte de détériorer à nouveau la solvabilité pour la plupart des régimes de retraite. Les promoteurs de régimes de retraite qui doivent procéder à une évaluation actuarielle à la fin de 2004 pourraient être confrontés à des hausses importantes des coûts de financement de leur régime.

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 21, novembre 2004
Les taux d'intérêt applicables aux évaluations actuarielles au 31 décembre 2004

La Banque du Canada a publié récemment le taux d’intérêt nominal des obligations à long terme du gouvernement du Canada ainsi que le taux des obligations à rendement réel du gouvernement du Canada pour le mois d’octobre 2004 sur lesquels seront basés les taux d’intérêt à utiliser pour une évaluation actuarielle sur base de solvabilité au 31 décembre 2004 seront basés sur ces taux d’intérêt.

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 19, novembre 2004
Les lignes directrices sur la gouvernance des régimes de retraite

Le 25 octobre dernier, l’Association canadienne des organismes de contrôle des régimes de retraite (ACOR) a publié la version finale des lignes directrices portant sur la gouvernance des régimes de retraite enregistrés. Contrairement aux lignes directrices sur les régimes de capitalisation (RC) publiées par le Forum conjoint des autorités de réglementation du marché financier le 28 mai 2004 (voir notre communiqué de juin 2004, vol. 7, no. 11) qui ne s’adressaient qu’aux RC, dont les régimes à cotisations déterminées avec options de placement, celles-ci sont également applicables aux régimes à cotisations déterminées sans options de placement et aux régimes à prestations déterminées.

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 18, novembre 2004
Le projet de règlement modifiant le Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite du Québec

Le 20 octobre 2004, un projet de règlement modifiant le Règlement sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite (« projet de règlement ») a été publié dans la Gazette officielle du Québec. Ce projet de règlement traite de deux sujets : le paiement de la prestation additionnelle et la référence à la nouvelle norme de pratique de l'Institut canadien des actuaires (ICA) concernant la détermination des valeurs actualisées des rentes. La période de consultation pour ce projet de règlement se termine le 3 décembre 2004.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 17, octobre 2004
Le retrait du Vioxx du marché mondial

Il y a quelques jours, Merck Frosst annonçait le retrait de son médicament vedette Vioxx du marché mondial en raison du risque accru d'accidents cardio-vasculaires chez les personnes utilisant ce médicament à long terme (plus de 18 mois).
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 16, octobre 2004
Les avantages imposables au conjoint survivant et aux personnes à charge d'un employé décédé

Les avantages imposables provenant des contributions payées par un employeur pour un régime d'assurance collective existent depuis plusieurs années déjà. Aujourd'hui, les conséquences fiscales de ce type d'assurances collectives sont généralement bien comprises par les promoteurs de régimes. Toutefois, les protections qui couvrent un conjoint survivant et les personnes à charge suite au décès d'un employé ou d'un retraité ne sont pas toujours aussi bien intégrées.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 15, septembre 2004
La désignation de bénéficiaire dans un régime de retraite

Bien que la désignation de bénéficiaire aux fins des prestations de décès payables en vertu d'un régime de retraite puisse paraître simple, elle est pourtant remplie de subtilités. Ce communiqué vise à énumérer les raisons justifiant la désignation de bénéficiaire, à définir la notion de conjoint admissible au sens de la Loi et à illustrer les façons de désigner et de modifier un bénéficiaire.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 14, septembre 2004
Le budget de l'Ontario

Ce communiqué fait suite à celui de juin 2004 traitant, entre autres, de la prime des soins de santé de l'Ontario. Le 21 juin 2004, le gouvernement ontarien a apporté les modifications suivantes relativement au calcul de cette prime :
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 13, septembre 2004
L'affaire Mosanto ayant un impact sur les régimes de retraite québécois

En 1997, Monsanto Canada Inc. a procédé à une terminaison partielle de son régime de retraite enregistré sous la juridiction ontarienne, suite à une restructuration de l'organisation ayant mené à une réduction d'effectifs. Le régime de retraite était alors en situation de surplus. Le rapport initial de terminaison fut d'abord refusé par le surintendant des services financiers de l'Ontario prétextant qu'aucune procédure de distribution du surplus de la partie terminée de la caisse n'avait été prévue. Les multiples appels des décisions ont par la suite mené l'affaire à la Cour suprême du Canada.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 12, septembre 2004
Les tarifs des spécialistes de la santé

Ce communiqué présente les résultats de notre enquête annuelle, menée au cours du mois de juin 2004, relativement aux tarifs exigés par les spécialistes de la santé au Québec.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 11, juin 2004
Les lignes directrices en vigueur pour les régimes de capitalisation

Le 28 mai dernier, le Forum conjoint des autorités de réglementation du marché financier, formé en 1999 pour élaborer des règles de gouvernance pour les promoteurs et fournisseurs de services de régimes de capitalisation, a publié la version finale des lignes directrices.

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 10, juin 2004
La nouvelle norme de pratique concernant la détermination des valeurs actualisées des rentes

Nous vous informions en février dernier (vol. 7 no. 1) que l'Institut canadien des actuaires (ICA) avait approuvé une nouvelle norme de pratique concernant la détermination des valeurs actualisées des rentes payables en vertu d'un régime de retraite agréé lors d'une cessation de participation. Cette nouvelle norme de pratique devait entrer en vigueur le 1er septembre 2004. Cette date d'entrée en vigueur a été reportée par le Conseil d'administration de l'ICA suite à la réception d'une requête visant à réviser la norme de pratique. Or, le 15 juin 2004, le Conseil d'administration de l'ICA a reconfirmé la norme de pratique mais avec prise d'effet le 1er février 2005.

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 9, juin 2004
Les derniers développements concernant les cartes de paiement pour le remboursement des frais dentaires

En novembre 2003, nous vous avons transmis un communiqué vous informant d'un différend commercial qui opposait l'Association des chirurgiens dentistes du Québec (ACDQ), propriétaire unique de Dentaide, et les principaux assureurs utilisant la carte ESI pour traiter les transactions dentaires de leurs assurés, soit Desjardins Sécurité financière, La Capitale, La Survivance et SSQ Groupe financier. Ce différend a eu pour résultat qu'un bon nombre de dentistes refusaient d'utiliser la nouvelle carte de paiement ESI.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 8, juin 2004
Les modifications au régime d'assurance médicaments du Québec

Le conseil d'administration de la Régie de l'assurance maladie du Québec (la « RAMQ ») a annoncé le 14 juin dernier les modifications qui s'appliqueront au régime d'assurance médicaments du Québec à compter du 1er juillet 2004.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 7, juin 2006
Les nouvelles exigences de divulgation en matière d'avantages sociaux futurs

Le Conseil des normes comptables (CNC) de l'Institut canadien des comptables agréés (ICCA) a publié en avril 2004 la version finale des modifications aux exigences de divulgation en matière d'avantages sociaux futurs. Ces modifications s'appliqueront aux exercices financiers se terminant le 30 juin 2004 ou après. La divulgation contenue dans les états financiers intermédiaires (trimestriels) devra également être revue afin de se conformer à de nouvelles exigences.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 6, juin 2007
Les fiducies de revenu

LE MINISTRE DES FINANCES DU CANADA ANNONCE LA SUSPENSION DES MESURES SPÉCIALES LIMITANT L'INVESTISSEMENT DES CAISSES DE RETRAITE DANS LES FIDUCIES DE REVENU.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 5, juin 2004
Budget de l'Ontario

Le gouvernement de l'Ontario a déposé son budget le 18 mai dernier. Dans ce budget, le gouvernement proposait l'ajout d'une prime de soins de santé basée sur le revenu imposable ainsi que des modifications à certains services couverts par le régime d'assurance santé provincial.
 

Communiqués NB Vol. 7 N. 4, mai 2004
Les régimes de retraite simplifiés

Le 19 mai dernier, la Régie des rentes du Québec a adopté le Règlement modifiant le Règlement sur les régimes soustraits à l'application de certaines dispositions de la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite (le « Règlement »). Ce Règlement, qui entrera en vigueur le 3 juin 2004, contient des modifications importantes aux dispositions s'appliquant aux régimes de retraite simplifiés (« RRS »). Un RRS est un régime de retraite à cotisation déterminée (« régime CD ») comportant des règles administratives simplifiées dont, entre autres, aucune obligation de tenue d'assemblée annuelle et de formation de comité de retraite.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 3, avril 2004
La désignation de bénéficiaire en assurance vie

Au premier abord, la désignation d'un bénéficiaire en assurance vie peut paraître simple. Toutefois, afin de faire un choix éclairé, il est bon d'en connaître les diverses subtilités. Il est à noter que plusieurs aspects traités dans le présent communiqué sont également applicables aux régimes de retraite. Toutefois, les différentes subtilités reliées aux régimes de retraite seront abordées dans un communiqué ultérieur.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 2, mars 2004
L'intégration des prestations d'assurance salaire de longue durée

Faisant suite à une décision de la cour d'appel de l'Alberta, rendue au printemps 2003, dans l'affaire Hennig c. Clarica, certains assureurs ont émis des communiqués au cours des derniers mois relativement à leurs clauses d'intégration des prestations d'assurance salaire de longue durée.
 

Communiqué NB Vol. 7 N. 1, février 2004
La nouvelle norme de pratique concernant la détermination des valeurs actualisées des rentes

L'Institut Canadien des Actuaires (ICA) a récemment approuvé une nouvelle norme de pratique concernant la détermination des valeurs actualisées des rentes payables en vertu d'un régime de retraite agréé lors d'une cessation de participation. Cette nouvelle norme de pratique entrera en vigueur le 1er septembre 2004 et remplacera la norme actuelle, en vigueur depuis le 1er septembre 1993.