Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Direct payment cards for reimbursement

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 6, N. 9, November 2007

This bulletin is addressed to groups who have access to dental care coverage and a direct claims submission system by virtue of their group insurance contract.

For almost twenty years, the Association des chirurgiens dentistes du Québec (ACDQ) has been offering the Dentaide direct payment service for dental care expenses to dentists, insurers, and insurees. This service allows insurees to pay only the uninsured portion of the fees when they visit the dentist.

Over the last few years, most of the insurers who use this service (Desjardins Financial Security, Industrial Alliance, La Capitale, and SSQ) have requested that certain changes be made to the Dentaide service in order to modernize it and to meet new needs. Several rounds of negotiations were held between these insurers and the ACDQ in order to work out a solution that would satisfy all the parties concerned. As a result of these meetings, the insurers came to the conclusion that a new system must be developed. They then gave ESI Canada (ESI) a mandate to design this new system.

This decision gave rise to a business dispute between the ACDQ (the sole owner of Dentaide) and the main insurers who use the service, which resulted in early termination of the Dentaide service. In light of this unexpected turn of events, the timetable for transferring insurees to the ESI system did not envision an interruption of service.

The table below shows the new schedule for each of the insurers involved:   


 End of Dentaide serviceChangeover to ESI

Desjardins Financial SecurityOctober 18, 2003October 27, 2003
La CapitaleOctober 31, 2003November 3, 2003
SSQNovember 8, 2003December 15, 2003

 

Starting on the dates listed above, insurees will no longer have access to the Dentaide service, and must submit claims for reimbursement using the dentist’s claims form or the form provided by the insurer. The result of this situation is that insurees will have to pay the full cost, and wait to be reimbursed for the expenses that are covered by the group insurance contract. In order to speed up the reimbursement process during this period, SSQ is offering insurees the option of submitting claims forms by fax or by e-mail (by attaching a digitized copy of the form completed by the dentist).

Once the ESI reimbursement system is in place, it is possible that some dentists will refuse to accept the new payment card. Although the system will be operational, it will not necessarily be available through all dentists, because the Dentaide service transmits claims information by telephone, while the ESI system transmits the information electronically. Therefore, not all dentists who offer the Dentaide service have the necessary technology required to offer the ESI service to their clients. At the present time, half of Quebec’s dentists have the software needed to submit claims electronically, whereas most dentists offer the Dentaide service. In addition, as a pressure tactic directed at insurers, the ACDQ has recommended to its members (the dentists) that they refuse to use the ESI card.

In order to alleviate the inconveniences resulting from this dispute, we suggest several approaches that you can pass on to your employees in order to assist them the next time they go to the dentist:

  • Ask the dentist’s administrative staff for assistance in completing the claims form;
  • Ask the dentist to submit the claims form electronically. In this case, the insuree must pay the full cost and wait to be reimbursed for the covered expenses, but will be saved the trouble of submitting the claims form to the insurer;
  • Pay the bill with a credit card and submit the claims form to the insurer immediately. By the time the credit card bill arrives, the insuree will probably have received the reimbursement from the insurer;
  • Ask the dentist to invoice for the fees incurred. By the time the insuree receives the invoice from the dentist, he will probably have received the reimbursement from the insurer.

In the case of the other insurers, Blue Cross will continue to use the Dentaide service, while Canada Life, Great-West, Maritime Life, Manulife Financial, Standard Life, and Sun Life use the service provided by BCE Emergis. Industrial Alliance has concluded a service agreement with BCE Emergis and Dentaide. The service provided by BCE Emergis is equivalent to the service offered by ESI. Because BCE Emergis is not involved in the dispute, insurees who use this system should not experience any problems with respect to claims. However, the ACDQ sent a message to its members that stated erroneously that the only card they should accept is Dentaide. This situation should be rectified during the next few weeks.

In order to facilitate the changeover and avoid any confusion, it is important to notify your employees of this situation without delay. The insurers involved in this dispute have already taken action to transmit the information to their respective insurees. Nevertheless, we recommend that you send your employees a message that outlines the situation in detail, along with the implications, and most importantly, the possibility that the dispute will persist beyond the implementation dates.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les cartes de paiement direct pour le remboursement

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 6 N. 9, novembre 2003

Le présent communiqué s'adresse aux groupes qui possèdent une protection d'assurance soins dentaires et un service de transmission directe des réclamations par le biais de leur contrat d'assurance collective.

Depuis près de vingt ans, l'Association des chirurgiens dentistes du Québec (ACDQ) offre aux dentistes, aux assureurs et aux assurés le service de paiement direct des frais de soins dentaires Dentaide. Ce service permet aux assurés de ne débourser que la portion des frais qui n'est pas assurée lors de leur visite chez le dentiste.

Au cours des dernières années, la majorité des assureurs utilisant ce service (Desjardins Sécurité financière, Industrielle Alliance, La Capitale et SSQ) ont demandé à ce que certaines modifications soient apportées au système Dentaide afin d´actualiser ce service et ainsi répondre à de nouveaux besoins. Plusieurs négociations entre ces assureurs et l'ACDQ ont eu lieu pour trouver une solution qui donnerait satisfaction à toutes les parties. Suite aux résultats de ces rencontres, les assureurs en sont venus à la conclusion qu'un nouveau système devait être développé. Ils ont alors mandaté ESI Canada (ESI) pour développer ce nouveau système.

Cette décision a donné lieu à un différend commercial entre l'ACDQ (propriétaire unique de Dentaide) et les principaux assureurs usagers de ce service, résultant en l'arrêt prématuré du service Dentaide. Étant donné le déroulement inattendu des événements, l'agenda des transferts des assurés vers le système ESI ne prévoyait pas une interruption de service.

Le tableau suivant illustre le nouvel agenda pour chacun des assureurs concernés :


 Arrêt du service DentaideTransition vers ESI

Desjardins Sécurité financière18 octobre 200327 octobre 2003
La Capitale31 octobre 20033 novembre 2003
SSQ8 novembre 200315 décembre 2003

Depuis les dates mentionnées précédemment, les assurés ne bénéficient plus du service Dentaide et doivent présenter leur demande de remboursement par le biais du formulaire de réclamation du dentiste ou celui fourni par l'assureur. Cette situation implique que l'assuré devra défrayer la totalité des frais en attendant le remboursement des frais couverts par le contrat d'assurance collective. Pour accélérer le processus de remboursement au cours de cette période, SSQ offre à l'assuré la possibilité de transmettre le formulaire de réclamation par télécopieur ou par courriel (en ajoutant en pièce jointe une copie numérisée du formulaire rempli par le dentiste).

Par ailleurs, lorsque le système de remboursement ESI sera en place, il est possible que le dentiste refuse la nouvelle carte de paiement. Bien que le système soit fonctionnel, il ne sera pas nécessairement disponible chez tous les dentistes. En effet, le système Dentaide utilise le téléphone pour transférer le détail de la réclamation, alors que le système ESI transfère l'information par voie électronique. Les dentistes qui offrent le service Dentaide n'ont donc pas forcément la technologie nécessaire pour offrir le service ESI à leur clientèle. Actuellement, la moitié des dentistes du Québec possèdent le logiciel requis pour transmettre les demandes de réclamation électroniquement tandis que la majorité des dentistes offrent le service Dentaide. De plus, l'ACDQ, en guise de moyen de pression envers les assureurs, a recommandé à ses membres (les dentistes) de refuser l'utilisation de la carte ESI.

Afin de réduire les inconvénients occasionnés par ce conflit, nous vous suggérons quelques approches que vous pourriez communiquer à vos employés afin de les aider lors de leur prochaine visite chez le dentiste :

  • Demander l'aide du personnel administratif du dentiste pour compléter le formulaire de réclamation;
  • Demander au dentiste de transmettre le formulaire de réclamation de façon électronique. Dans ce cas, l'assuré devra défrayer la totalité des frais en attendant le remboursement des frais couverts, mais il n'aura pas à s'occuper de transmettre le formulaire de réclamation à l'assureur;
  • Payer la facture avec une carte de crédit et transmettre sans délai le formulaire de réclamation à l´assureur. Lors de la réception du compte de la carte de crédit, l'assuré aura probablement reçu le remboursement de l'assureur;
  • Demander au dentiste s'il peut facturer les frais engagés. Lorsque l'assuré recevra la facture du dentiste, il aura probablement reçu le remboursement de l'assureur.

En ce qui a trait aux autres assureurs, Croix Bleue continuera d'utiliser le service Dentaide, alors que Canada-Vie, Great-West, La Maritime, Financière Manuvie, Standard Life et Sun Life utilisent le service offert par BCE Emergis. Pour sa part, Industrielle Alliance a conclu une entente de service avec BCE Emergis et Dentaide. Le service offert par BCE Emergis est équivalent au service offert par ESI. Puisque BCE Emergis n'est pas impliqué dans le conflit, les assurés utilisant ce service ne devraient pas avoir de problèmes de réclamation. Par contre, l'ACDQ a émis un communiqué à ses membres mentionnant, par erreur, que la seule carte qu'ils doivent accepter est Dentaide. Cette situation devrait être corrigée dans les semaines à venir.

Afin de faciliter la transition et d'éliminer toute confusion, il est important que vos employés soient avisés de la situation sans délai. Les assureurs impliqués dans ce différend ont déjà pris soin de transmettre l'information à leurs assurés respectifs. Nous vous recommandons quand même de transmettre un communiqué à vos employés leur dressant un portrait précis de la situation, de ses implications et surtout des possibilités de la poursuite du conflit après les dates d´implantation.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6