Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The new exception drugs

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 6 N. 8, October 2003

In response to an opinion from the Conseil du Médicament, the Ministère de la Santé et des Services Sociaux du Québec has decided to transfer the Symbicort and Advair pumps for asthmatics to Québec's drug insurance plan's list of "exception drugs", as of October 1, 2003.

The two pumps contain both cortisone and a long-acting bronchiodilator. This combination gives chronic asthmatics more effective control over the disease than quick-relief medications such as Ventolin. Due to their high cost ($75 per month for Symbicort and $121 per month for Advair), the two medications should normally be prescribed only as a second recourse. However, Conseil du Médicament statistics indicate that this is not the case.

In the months of June to September of 2003, the two pumps alone cost the provincial drug plan approximately $11 million. Therefore, adding them to the list of exception drugs should reduce the overall cost of the plan. The Ministre de la santé et des services sociaux du Québec, Dr. Philippe Couillard, said that other medications might soon be subject to the same change. It is expected that this will apply to widely used and expensive medications, such as anti-inflammatories.

Reimbursement requests for medications on the list of exception drugs must be approved by the Régie de l'Assurance Maladie du Québec (RAMQ). From now on, doctors whose patients are covered by the government plan must fill out the exception request form so that asthmatics for whom they prescribe Symbicort or Advair pumps can be reimbursed by the provincial plan. However, please note that people who are considered as being under treatment, meaning that they obtained either pump between July 18 and September 30, 2003, should receive RAMQ approval automatically, and will continue to be reimbursed.

These changes may affect your group insurance plan. A plan that applies the same criteria as the RAMQ for medications on the list of exception drugs could see fewer claims. At the same time, members who are affected by this measure might decide to obtain a prescription for either pump (or both), even if they do not meet the criteria, and therefore, would have to cover the full cost themselves.

Insurer practice varies when it comes to reimbursement for medications on the list of exception drugs. Three insurers (Great-West, SSQ, and Sun Life) and one claims manager (Claims Secure) told us that they require a form from the treating physician in order to reimburse exception drugs. Four other insurers (Standard Life, Desjardins Sécurité financière, Maritime Life, and Manulife Financial) said that they require a form from the treating physician only for plans that replicate the RAMQ plan ("RAMQ clause"), but not for more generous plans (such as "limitation clause" plans or "open clause" plans which cover some drugs and drug costs beyond provincial minimums). L'Industrielle Alliance requires a form from the treating physician, but only applies the exception drugs clause if it is added to the policy by the client. Finally, La Capitale told us that they are applying the RAMQ rules to exception drugs in most cases, but they were not able to confirm what they will do in the case of Symbicort and Advair pumps.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

De nouveaux médicaments d'exception

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 6 N. 8, octobre 2003

Suite à un avis du Conseil du médicament¸ le Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec a décidé de transférer les pompes pour asthmatiques Advair et Symbicort sur la liste de médicaments d´exception du régime d´assurance médicaments du Québec à compter du 1er octobre 2003.

Ces deux pompes contiennent à la fois de la cortisone et un dilatateur des bronches qui agit sur une longue période. Leur combinaison permet aux asthmatiques chroniques de contrôler leur maladie plus efficacement qu´avec un médicament de dépannage comme le Ventolin. Leur coût étant élevé (75 $ par mois pour le Symbicort et 121 $ par mois pour l´Advair)¸ ces deux médicaments devraient normalement être prescrits comme des solutions de second recours. Cependant¸ les statistiques du Conseil du médicament montrent qu´en réalité il n´en est pas ainsi.

À elles seules¸ les deux pompes ont coûté environ 11 millions de dollars au régime provincial au cours des mois de juin à septembre 2003. L´ajout de ces médicaments sur la liste d´exception devrait donc réduire le coût global du régime. Le ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux¸ le Dr Philippe Couillard¸ a confirmé que d´autres médicaments pourraient bientôt subir le même changement. On peut penser que des médicaments très utilisés et coûteux tels que les anti-inflammatoires¸ pourraient être visés.

Rappelons que les demandes de remboursement de médicaments faisant partie de la liste d´exception doivent être approuvées par la Régie de l´assurance maladie du Québec (RAMQ). Les médecins des assurés du régime d´État devront donc dorénavant remplir un formulaire de demande d´exception afin que les patients à qui ils prescrivent les pompes Symbicort et Advair soient remboursés par le régime provincial. Notons toutefois que les personnes qui sont considérées sous traitement¸ c´est-à-dire qui se sont procuré l´une des pompes entre le 18 juillet et le 30 septembre 2003¸ devraient automatiquement obtenir l´autorisation de la Régie et continuer à être remboursées.

Il est possible que ces changements aient un effet sur votre régime d´assurance collective. Un régime qui appliquerait les même critères que la RAMQ pour les médicaments de la liste d´exception pourrait voir ses réclamations diminuées. Du même coup¸ des assurés touchés par cette mesure pourraient décider de se faire prescrire une des pompes (ou les deux) même s´ils ne satisfont pas les critères et devraient alors en assumer entièrement le coût.

La pratique des assureurs quant au remboursement des médicaments de la liste d´exception diffère d´un assureur à l´autre. Trois assureurs (Great-West¸ SSQ et Sun Life) et un gestionnaire de réclamations (Claims Secure) nous ont confirmé qu´ils exigent un formulaire du médecin traitant pour le remboursement des médicaments d´exception. Quatre autres assureurs (Standard Life¸ Desjardins Sécurité financière¸ la Maritime et Financière Manuvie) nous ont confirmé qu´ils exigent un formulaire du médecin traitant seulement pour les régimes qui reproduisent le régime de la RAMQ (« clause RAMQ ») mais pas pour les régimes plus généreux (« clause restrictive » ou « clause large »). L´Industrielle Alliance demande un formulaire du médecin traitant mais applique la clause de médicaments d´exception seulement si elle est ajoutée dans le contrat par le client. Finalement¸ La Capitale nous a informé qu´elle traitait les médicaments d´exception comme la RAMQ dans la plupart des cas mais n´a pu nous confirmer ce qu´elle ferait spécifiquement pour les pompes Symbicort et Advair.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6