Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

On Health Care Professionals' rates

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 6 N. 7, October 2003

Health care professionals: June 2003 rates

We are pleased to present the results of our annual survey of the fees that are currently being charged for consultations or treatments provided by health care professionals. This survey was conducted during the month of June of this year.

In order to make the survey as practical as possible for the purpose of comparison with your group insurance plan, we have made a number of changes to the presentation of the data.

The first step of our survey was to consult with professional associations for each specialty. These associations do not set compulsory fee schedules for private clinics, but merely recommend price levels to their members. A number of associations, however, compile data based on the fee schedules of their members. The collected data, or recommended fee schedules, apply only to the province of Quebec. Please note that the data is presented using the same methodology as in previous years.

The second step was to carry out our survey of private clinics in the Montreal and Quebec City regions. For the Montreal region, five clinics were consulted for each specialty (as compared to three in previous years) from selected geographical sectors: one clinic from the South Shore of Montreal, another from the downtown area, two from the rest of the Island of Montreal, and one from the North Shore of Montreal.

For the Quebec City region, a sample of five clinics for each specialty was consulted (as compared to two in the previous years). The results obtained showed that average fee per visit were generally lower in the Quebec City than those in the Montreal region. These differentials varied depending on the specialty studied, but a difference of approximately $10 per visit was observed. Dieticians and Occupational Therapists are an exception to the rule. According to our survey, their fees were generally higher in the Quebec City region than in the Montreal region. It should be noted, however, that visits for these specialties are generally of a longer duration in the Quebec City region than in the Montreal region, therefore the hourly fees are comparable.

We have elected to present the results on an average fee basis rather than on an hourly rate basis since group insurance plans usually establish their maximum reimbursement amounts on a per visit basis. Moreover, we have omitted the data on initial consultations, since group insurance plans rarely make a distinction for this fact. We should point out, however, that a number of specialists charge additional fees for opening a file as well as for conducting an assessment during the first visit.

Since the health care services provided by these specialists are generally covered by group insurance plans, we believe that the results of our survey will be of great interest to you. The average amounts per visit could be used to establish the maximum amounts reimbursable under your group insurance plans.

Comparative Table of Average Professional Fees per Visit for Health Care Services
Survey Conducted in June 2003 - Montreal and Quebec Region

 


Medical SpecialityProfessionnal
Associations(1)
Private Clinics (2)
   
   MontrealQuebec

            Acupuncturist$35 to $60$40$40
            Audiologist and
            Speech Therapist
n/a$85$70
            Chiropractor
            *   X-rays
$35
$12 to $34
$40
$25
$30
$20
            Dietician$70$35$50
            Occupational
            Therapist
n/a$60$75
            Homeopath$60$60$30
            Masseur and Massage
            Therapists
$45 to $70$55$50
            Naturopath$50 to $60$55$50
            Osteopath$55 to $75$65$60
            Physiotherapist n/a$45$40
            Podiatrist$40 to $80$55$35
            Psychologist$65 to $120$80$70

(1) Suggested rate per visit or based on collected data of their respective members.
(2) Average fee per visit based on a sample of five clinics consulted in the Montreal region and five clinics in the Quebec City region.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Les tarifs des spécialistes de la santé

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 6 N. 7, octobre 2003

Il nous fait plaisir de vous présenter les résultats de notre enquête annuelle relative aux tarifs courants exigés pour des consultations ou des traitements donnés par des spécialistes de la santé. Celle-ci a été menée au cours du mois de juin 2003.

Veuillez noter que nous avons apporté plusieurs modifications à la présentation de notre enquête afin que celle-ci vous soit le plus utile possible pour la comparaison avec votre régime d´assurance collective.

Les associations professionnelles de chaque spécialité ont d´abord été consultées. Ces associations ne fixent pas de fourchettes de tarifs obligatoires pour les cliniques privées¸ elles ne font que suggérer des prix à leurs membres. Certaines compilent toutefois des statistiques à partir de la grille de tarifs de leurs membres. Ces statistiques¸ ou tarifs suggérés¸ ne sont valables que pour la province de Québec. Veuillez noter que ces informations sont présentées selon la même méthodologie que nos études précédentes.

Nous avons par la suite poursuivi notre enquête auprès des cliniques privées des régions de Montréal et de Québec. Pour la région de Montréal¸ cinq cliniques (comparativement à trois pour les études antérieures) ont été consultées pour chacune des spécialités selon des secteurs géographiques précis : une clinique sur la Rive-Sud de Montréal¸ une au centre-ville¸ deux sur le reste de l´île de Montréal et une dernière sur la Rive-Nord de Montréal.

Pour la région de Québec¸ un échantillon de cinq cliniques par spécialité a été utilisé (comparativement à deux pour les sondages précédents). Les résultats obtenus révèlent des tarifs moyens par visite généralement inférieurs à ceux de la région de Montréal. L´écart entre les tarifs varie selon les spécialités¸ mais une différence d´environ 10 $ par visite est observée. Les diététistes et les ergothérapeutes font exception à cette règle puisque selon notre sondage¸ ils ont généralement des honoraires plus élevés à Québec qu´à Montréal. Toutefois¸ veuillez noter que la durée de la visite est généralement plus longue à Québec qu´à Montréal pour ces spécialités et qu´ainsi¸ le tarif horaire se compare.

Veuillez prendre note que nous avons décidé de présenter les tarifs moyens plutôt que les tarifs horaires puisque les régimes d´assurance collective prévoient habituellement des maximums de remboursement par visite. De plus¸ nous avons éliminé les données relativement à la première séance puisque les régimes d´assurance collective ne font que très rarement de distinction à ce niveau. Toutefois¸ nous devons spécifier que plusieurs spécialistes exigent des frais supplémentaires pour l´ouverture du dossier et l´évaluation lors de la première visite.

Puisque les soins donnés par ces spécialistes sont¸ pour la plupart¸ couverts par les régimes d´assurance collective¸ nous croyons que les résultats de notre enquête seront d´un grand intérêt pour vous. Les montants moyens par visite pourraient servir à établir les maximums remboursables par vos régimes d´assurance collective.

Tableau comparatif des tarifs moyens par visite des spécialistes de la santé.
Enquête effectuée en juin 2003 - Région de Montréal et de Québec.


Spécialiste Associations
professionnelles (1)
Cliniques privées (2)
   
    Montréal Québec

            Acupuncteur35 $ à 60 $40 $40 $
            Audiologiste et
            orthophoniste
n. d.85 $70 $
            Chiropraticien
            *   Radiographies
35 $
12 $ à 34 $
40 $
25 $
30 $
20 $
            Diététiste70 $35 $50 $
            Ergothérapeute n. d.60 $75 $
            Homéopathe60 $60 $30 $
            Masseur et
            massothérapeute
45 $ à 70 $55 $50 $
            Naturopathe50 $ à 60 $55 $50 $
            Ostéopathe55 $ à 75 $65 $60 $
            Physiothérapeute n. d.45 $40 $
            Podiatre40 $ à 80 $55 $35 $
            Psychologue65 $ à 120 $80 $70 $

(1) Tarifs suggérés par visite ou statistiques.
(2) Tarifs moyens par visite selon un échantillon de cinq cliniques consultées dans la région de Montréal et de cinq cliniques dans la région de Québec.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6