Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The Income Tax Act

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 6 N. 6, June 2003

Proposed Regulations Amending the Income Tax Regulations (the "Regulations") were published in the Canada Gazette, Part I on May 17, 2003. Among the proposed amendments is a change to the rules concerning defined benefit Registered Pension Plans ("RPPs") whereby plan members are required to share in the funding of an unfunded actuarial liability.

Under the proposed Regulations, RPP eligible contribution rules under the Income Tax Act, often called excess surplus rules, would be relaxed for defined benefit RPPs. This relaxation would apply only to RPPs governed by a shared funding arrangement between the employer and the members that has been approved by the Minister. Under such an arrangement, the employer and the members share in the entitlement to surplus and the liability for unfunded actuarial deficiencies (jointly funded plans). Therefore, prescribed plans are those for which employer contributions are linked to employee contributions according to a pre-established contribution schedule. For example, the proposed Regulations would apply to a defined benefit plan under which employee and employer contributions are automatically adjusted according to the funded status of the plan so that employer contributions tend toward a defined percentage of employee contributions.

The table below describes how the proposed Regulations would permit employer contributions to be made to the prescribed plans, if the funding ratio (ratio of funded assets to liabilities) exceeds 110%, a level beyond which employer contributions are not permitted under the existing Regulations.  

 



Funding ratio
Total current employer and
employee service contributions

Between 110% and 115% inclusive75% of current service costs
Between 115% and 120% inclusive50% of current service costs
Between 120% and 125% inclusive25% of current service costs
Over 125% No contribution permitted

 

These amendments apply to contributions made after 2002.

The relaxation of RPP eligible contribution rules for jointly funded plans recognizes the fact that both employee and employer contributions are linked to a plan’s funded status. As a result, employee contribution rates have the potential to vary significantly in contrast to "traditional" plans, under which employee contribution rates remain constant regardless of the funded status of the plan. By relaxing the restrictions on employer contributions, changes in the funded status of jointly funded plans should be less volatile, and consequently required employee contributions should be more stable.

The proposed Regulations are subject to a 60-day consultation period that began on May 17, 2003. Another Bulletin will be sent to you when the provisions have been finalized.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

La Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 6 N. 6, juin 2003

En date du 17 mai 2003¸ la Gazette du Canada publiait le projet de Règlement modifiant le Règlement de l´impôt sur le revenu (le Règlement). Une des modifications proposées concerne les régimes de pension `agréés (RPA). Ces modifications visent uniquement les RPA à prestations déterminées selon lesquels les participants au régime sont tenus de prendre part au financement d´un déficit actuariel.

En vertu de ce Règlement proposé¸ un assouplissement des règles concernant les cotisations admissibles versées à un RPA en vertu de la Loi¸ souvent appelées les règles relatives à l´application du surplus excédentaire¸ est apporté aux RPA à prestations déterminées. Cet assouplissement s´applique uniquement aux RPA régis par une entente de partage des coûts¸ approuvée par le Ministre¸ entre l´employeur et les participants en vertu de laquelle l´employeur et les participants se partagent le droit au surplus et les obligations en regard des déficits actuariels (Régimes à capitalisation conjointe). Les régimes visés par ces modifications sont donc ceux pour lesquels la cotisation patronale est liée aux cotisations salariales selon une cédule de cotisations préétablie. Par exemple¸ un régime à prestations déterminées pour lequel les cotisations salariales et patronales sont automatiquement ajustées selon le niveau de provisionnement du régime¸ de telle sorte que les cotisations patronales tendent vers un pourcentage défini des cotisations salariales¸ serait visé par le Règlement proposé.

Le Règlement proposé permet que les cotisations patronales des régimes visés soient versées conformément au tableau qui suit lorsque le coefficient de capitalisation (c´est-à-dire le ratio de l´actif sur le passif de capitalisation) du régime excède 110 %¸ niveau au-delà duquel les cotisations patronales ne sont pas permises en vertu du Règlement actuel.



Coefficient de capitalisation
Cotisations patronales et salariales
totales pour service courant

Entre 110 % et 115 % inclusivement75 % du coût de service courant
Entre 115 % et 120 % inclusivement50 % du coût de service courant
Entre 120 % et 125 % inclusivement25 % du coût de service courant
Au-delà de 125 % Aucune cotisation permise

Ces modifications s´appliquent aux cotisations versées après 2002.

Cet assouplissement aux règles concernant les cotisations admissibles versées à un RPA à capitalisation conjointe tient compte du fait que les cotisations versées au régime¸ tant salariales que patronales¸ sont liées au niveau de capitalisation du régime. Par conséquent¸ les taux de cotisations salariales sont susceptibles de varier grandement en comparaison à ceux des régimes « traditionnels »¸ pour lesquels les taux de cotisations salariales demeurent constants sans égard au niveau de capitalisation du régime. Avec l´assouplissement des restrictions applicables aux cotisations patronales¸ le niveau de capitalisation des régimes à capitalisation conjointe devrait être moins volatil¸ ce qui favorisera une plus grande stabilité des cotisations salariales requises.

Le projet de Règlement a été déposé pour fins de commentaires pour une période de soixante jours suivant la date de publication. Un communiqué ultérieur vous sera transmis après l´expiration de ce délai¸ afin de vous informer sur les dispositions finales du Règlement.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6