Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Changes to the Quebec Prescription Drug Insurance Plan

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 6 N. 5, June 2003

On June 11, the Minister of Health and Social Services, Philippe Couillard, announced the latest modifications to the Quebec Prescription Drug Insurance Plan effective on July 1, 2003.

Firstly, it is important to note that children, students, Employment Assistance recipients as well as the elderly receiving the maximum Guaranteed Income Supplement will not be affected by the modifications.

The main impacts of the modifications on the remaining insured population by the Régie de l'assurance maladie du Québec (RAMQ) are the following:

  • Maximum annual premium increases from $422 to $460 per adult.
  • Maximum monthly deductible increases from $9.13 to $9.60 ($109.60 to $115.20 per year) per adult.
  • Maximum coinsurance (portion of the cost paid by the insured) increases from 27.4% to 28.0%.
  • Annual maximum contribution increases from $822 to $839. The maximum contribution is the maximum amount payable by an adult, including the deductible and coinsurance, for him/herself and any dependent children.

Since private plans must offer as a minimum conditions as generous as the public plan, the increase of the coinsurance from 27.4% to 28.0% and the raise of the annual maximum contribution from $822 to $839 could also be applied by private plans.

Recall that last year, when modifications to the Quebec Prescription Drug Insurance Plan became effective, a clause for annual indexation of the public plan parameters was added to allow for the revision of these parameters on July 1 of each year. Therefore, we can expect modifications to these parameters in years to come. Finally, please note that Minister Couillard has requested a report for the end of 2003 in order to analyse more in depth the state and parameters of the plan.


 

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Modifications au régime d'assurance médicaments du Québec

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 6 N. 5, juin 2003

Le ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux¸ M. Philippe Couillard¸ a annoncé le 11 juin dernier les modifications au régime d´assurance médicaments du Québec qui s´appliqueront à compter du 1er juillet 2003.

Tout d´abord¸ il est important de noter que les enfants¸ les étudiants¸ les prestataires d´assistance emploi et les personnes âgées recevant le supplément de revenu garanti maximal ne seront pas touchés par ces modifications.

Les principales conséquences de ces modifications sur le reste de la population assurée par le régime public via la Régie de l´assurance maladie du Québec (la « Régie ») sont les suivantes :

  • Prime annuelle maximale haussée de 422 $ à 460 $ par adulte.
  • Franchise mensuelle maximale haussée de 9¸13 $ à 9¸60 $ (109¸60 $ à 115¸20 $ par année) par adulte.
  • Coassurance (portion des frais payée par l´assuré) maximale haussée de 27¸4 % à 28¸0 %.
  • Plafond annuel haussé de 822 $ à 839 $. Rappelons que le plafond annuel correspond au montant maximal payable par un adulte pour lui-même et ses enfants à charge à titre de franchise et de coassurance.

Comme la loi sur l´assurance médicaments prévoit que les régimes privés doivent offrir minimalement des conditions aussi avantageuses que le régime public¸ les hausses de la coassurance de 27¸4 % à 28¸0 % et du plafond annuel de 822 $ à 839 $ pourraient ainsi être appliquées par les régimes privés.

Rappelons que l´an dernier¸ lorsque les modifications à la loi sur l´assurance médicaments du Québec ont été appliquées¸ une clause permettant l´indexation des paramètres a été ajoutée afin de permettre de réviser ces paramètres au 1er juillet de chaque année. Ainsi¸ nous pouvons nous attendre à ce que des modifications soient appliquées pour les années à venir. Enfin¸ veuillez noter que le ministre Couillard a commandé un rapport d´ici la fin de l´année 2003 afin d´analyser en profondeur la situation et les paramètres du régime.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6