Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Changes to the Labour Standards Act

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 6 N. 4, May 2003

The adoption of Bill 143 in December 2002 introduced amendments to the Act respecting labour standards (the "Act"), with the majority of the changes taking effect on May 1, 2003. The following provisions of the Act affect pension or group insurance plans:

  • The Act increases the number of weeks that an employee can be absent from work without pay as a result of sickness or accident from 17 to 26 per year.
  • The Act increases the number of days that an employee can be absent from work to fulfil family obligations from 5 to 10 per year.
  • The Act introduces the right to be absent from work without pay for a period of not more than 12 weeks per year if an employee must stay with a close relative because of a serious illness or a serious accident, or not more than 104 weeks if a minor child of the employee suffers from a serious and potentially fatal illness.
  • The Act introduces a paternity leave of 5 consecutive weeks, without pay. The paternity leave begins no earlier than the week of the child’s birth, and ends no later than 52 weeks after the week of the child’s birth.
  • The Act already provided that one parent of a newborn child could take parental leave of no more than 52 consecutive weeks, without pay. Prior to May 1, this leave had to end no later than 70 weeks after the birth or adoption of the child. The Act now allows this period to be extended to 104 weeks under the conditions established by government regulation. Since this regulation has not been issued, the new provision is not applicable yet.

In the event of absence due to illness or accident, or to maternity, paternity, or parental leave, or when an employee must stay with a close relative because of a serious illness, the Act now provides that the recognized pension and group insurance plans in the employee’s workplace shall be maintained, subject to payment of the usual employee and employer contributions relating to these plans. In the past, the employer was required to pay its share of the contributions only during periods of maternity leave.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Modifications à la loi sur les normes du travail

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 6 N. 4, mai 2003

Suite au projet de Loi no. 143 adopté en décembre 2002, la Loi sur les normes du travail a été modifiée le 1er mai 2003. Les éléments de la Loi ayant un impact sur les régimes de retraite ou d’assurances collectives sont les suivants :

  • La Loi augmente de 17 à 26 semaines par année la possibilité pour le salarié de s’absenter sans salaire pour cause de maladie ou d’accident.
  • La Loi augmente de 5 à 10 journées par année la possibilité de s’absenter sans salaire pour remplir des obligations familiales.
  • La Loi introduit le droit pour le salarié de s’absenter sans salaire pendant une période d’au plus 12 semaines par année lorsque sa présence est requise auprès d’un proche parent en raison d’une grave maladie ou d’un grave accident, ou d’au plus 104 semaines si l’enfant mineur du salarié est atteint d’une maladie grave, potentiellement mortelle.
  • La Loi ajoute un congé de paternité d’au plus 5 semaines continues, sans salaire. Le congé de paternité débute au plus tôt la semaine de la naissance de l’enfant et se termine au plus tard 52 semaines après la semaine de la naissance.
  • La Loi prévoyait déjà que l’un ou l’autre des parents d’un nouveau-né ou d’un enfant nouvellement adopté avait droit à un congé parental sans salaire d’au plus 52 semaines consécutives. Avant le 1er mai, ce congé devait se terminer au plus tard 70 semaines après la naissance ou l’adoption de l’enfant. La Loi permet maintenant de repousser ce maximum à 104 semaines dans le cas et aux conditions prévues par règlement du gouvernement. Ce règlement n’ayant pas encore été émis, aucun salarié n’est pour l’instant admissible à cette clause.

En cas d’absence pour cause de maladie ou d’accident, de congé de maternité, de paternité ou parental ou lorsque la présence du salarié est requise auprès d’un proche parent en raison d’une grave maladie, la Loi prévoit dorénavant le maintien des régimes d’assurances collectives et de retraite du salarié reconnus à son milieu de travail, sous réserve du paiement des cotisations habituelles de l'employé et de l'employeur relativement à ces régimes. Notons qu’auparavant, l’employeur devait assumer sa part de cotisations au cours de la période de congé de maternité seulement.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6