Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The continuation of health and dental coverage in the event of long-term disability

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 6 N. 10, December 2003

When an employee goes on disability leave - short-term or long-term - benefits coverage can take on new dimension for the employee, and the costs of the coverage can take on new importance for the employer. How do Canadian employers handle this situation?

We asked Normandin Beaudry clients about their practices with respect to continuing Health and Dental Care Benefits coverage for disabled employees. We also consulted the "Spec BookTM", an impressive database that contains comprehensive information on the employee benefits provided by close to 500 Canadian companies that belongs to our business partner, Hewitt Associates.

Extrapolating from these two sources of information, we were able to obtain the requisite information for 344 Canadian companies. The results of our study indicate that only one in ten companies ends Health and Dental Care Benefits for an employee who is on disability. Among these companies, some end the coverage as soon as the employee starts to collect long-term disability benefits, but most continue the coverage for a specific period of time (the most common period is two years).

Of those companies that continue health and dental coverage during long-term disability, we noted that one company in four requires its employees to pay their usual share of the premium payments. The other three out of four assume full payment of the premiums, unless they are exempted from doing so by their insurer.

Based on this data, most Canadian employers are meeting and well exceeding the statutory requirements. In Quebec, the Labour Standards Act stipulates that an employee with at least three months of uninterrupted service cannot lose his or her employee status by virtue of an accident or illness until 26 weeks of uninterrupted absence have elapsed. Furthermore, an employee’s participation in the employer’s group insurance plan must be maintained, provided that the employee pays his or her share of employer-employee contributions if the employer requires it. The Act also states that the employer must, as a minimum, continue to pay its usual contributions.

Only Saskatchewan and the federal legislation have similar provisions to Quebec’s legislation, and they only protect benefits coverage for an absence of 12 weeks instead of 26. Ontario, Newfoundland, New Brunswick and Yukon provide for absences due to accident or sickness which vary between five and 12 days.

However, employment standards laws are not the only laws to consider in this area. The treatment of disabled employees is a sensitive issue with a large number of legal implications and potential liabilities. Human rights laws across the country forbid discrimination against disabled employees. Employees who have employment contracts may have additional rights, subject to the contract’s terms. Depending on the circumstances, employees can also be entitled to job protection, including continuation of benefits, under Quebec Civil Law and the common law of wrongful dismissal, which applies outside of Quebec.

Regardless of an organization's management practices, all members of an organization should be aware of how their employer deals with the situation, either through reference to an employee booklet or a collective agreement.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

La continuation des protections d'assurance santé et dentaire lors d'une invalidité prolongée

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 6 N. 10, décembre 2003

Lorsqu'un employé est atteint d'une invalidité, la continuation des protections d'assurance santé et dentaire prend une toute nouvelle dimension pour l'employé. De la même façon, la prolongation de ces couvertures peut avoir des conséquences financières importantes pour l'employeur.

Dans le but de savoir de quelle façon les employeurs canadiens traitent cette question, nous avons sondé l'ensemble des clients de Normandin Beaudry sur leur pratique de gestion des employés en invalidité prolongée en ce qui a trait à la continuation des protections d'assurance santé et dentaire. De plus, nous avons utilisé l'imposante base de données, « Spec Book TM », de notre partenaire d'affaires Hewitt & Associés, laquelle renferme une mine d'information reliée aux avantages sociaux de près de 500 entreprises canadiennes.

Ces deux sources d'informations combinées nous ont permis d'obtenir l'information recherchée pour 344 entreprises canadiennes. Les résultats de l'étude indiquent que seulement une entreprise sur dix met fin aux protections d'assurance santé et dentaire d'un employé invalide. Parmi ces entreprises, certaines y mettent fin dès que l'employé reçoit des prestations d'assurance salaire de longue durée, alors que la plupart d'entre elles poursuivent les protections pour une période déterminée (le plus souvent. deux ans).

Pour ce qui est des entreprises qui continuent les protections d´assurance santé et dentaire lors d'une invalidité prolongée, on dénote qu'une entreprise sur quatre exige que l'employé paie sa part habituelle du coût de la prime pour que la protection soit prolongée, alors que trois entreprises sur quatre paient entièrement la prime d'assurance santé et dentaire, à moins qu'elle ne soit exonérée par l'assureur.

Sur la foi de ces données, nous constatons que la majorité des entreprises canadiennes respectent ou même excèdent les minimums légaux. Au Québec, la Loi sur les normes du travail stipule qu'un salarié, comptant au moins trois mois de service continu, ne peut perdre son lien d'emploi pour cause d'accident ou de maladie avant 26 semaines d'absence continue. De plus, la participation du salarié au régime d'assurance collective de son employeur doit être maintenue, sous réserve du paiement de sa part des cotisations, si l'employeur l'exige. On mentionne également que l'employeur doit continuer d'assumer au minimum sa part habituelle.

En ce qui concerne les législations des autres provinces ou territoires canadiens, la Saskatchewan et le fédéral prévoient des dispositions similaires à celles du Québec à l'exception de la durée de l'absence qui est de 12 semaines au lieu de 26 semaines. Pour ce qui est des autres législations canadiennes, seules l'Ontario, Terre-Neuve, le Nouveau-Brunswick et le Yukon ont statué sur la durée de l'absence pour cause d'accident ou de maladie qui varie de cinq à 12 jours.

Cependant, les lois sur les normes du travail ne sont pas les seules lois à considérer relativement à cette question. La gestion des employés invalides est un sujet délicat pour un grand nombre d'organisations et peut avoir des implications légales. Les lois canadiennes sur les droits de la personne empêchent la discrimination envers les employés invalides. Certains employés peuvent avoir des droits additionnels reliés à leur contrat d'embauche. Dans certaines situations, le code civil du Québec protège les employés contre la perte de leur emploi, incluant même quelque fois la continuation des protections d'assurance.

Peu importe la pratique de gestion d'une organisation, il est préférable qu'elle soit connue par l'ensemble des membres de l'organisation, soit par le biais d'un manuel d'employé ou d'une convention collective.
 

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6