Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

The budget features related to retirement savings

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 6 N. 1, Febuary 2003

The February 18¸ 2003 federal budget proposes modifications to the Canadian retirement system: a new option at retirement for defined contribution plans (DC) as well as increases in the RRSP contribution limit¸ the DC limit and the defined benefit (DB) maximum pension accrual. The following table illustrates the differences between the current and the proposed limits: 


 Current rulesProposed rules
 

YearRRSP LimitDC Limit(1)DB LimitRRSP LimitDC Limit(1)DB Limit

2003 $13,500 $14,500 $1,722.22 $14¸500 $15¸500 $1¸722.22
2004 $14¸500 $15¸500 $1¸722.22 $15¸500 $16¸500 $1¸833.33
2005 $15¸500 Indexed(2) Indexed(2) $16¸500 $18¸000 $2¸000.00
2006
 
Indexed(2) Indexed(2) Indexed(2) $18¸000 Indexed(2) Indexed(2)

(1) The annual limit under deferred profit sharing plans (DPSP) is 50% of the DC limit.
(2) Indexed according to the increase in the Average Industrial Wage Index.

Impact on Group RRSPs and DC Plan

For group RRSPs and DC plans¸ the increase of the contribution limit may potentially raise employer contributions for higher paid members. Increases in contributions will also mean higher pension expense. Amendments to the plan text may be required if maximum contributions are tied to the previous limits set by the Income Tax Act (ITA) and the employer wishes to offer the possibility for members to contribute up to the maximum allowed under the ITA.

New Option at Retirement for DC Plans 

The transfer of the accumulated balance out of a DC plan account at retirement will no longer be required. Starting in 2004¸ a DC plan member will be allowed¸ at retirement¸ to leave his/her accumulated balance in the plan and make partial withdrawals from his/her account. This option is added to the two existing options: the purchase of a lifetime pension with an authorized financial institution and the transfer of the accumulated balance to a life income fund (LIF). Under the new option¸ the withdrawal amounts will be determined based on the same rules as those applicable to a LIF. This will provide an opportunity for retirees to save on investment fees. Moreover¸ it will also be possible to allow a former member of a DC plan to transfer back in the plan the balance of his/her LIF. Consequently¸ the plan text will need to be modified to include these new provisions.

Amendments to DB Plan Texts 

A DB plan providing for future increases in the maximum pension by defining the maximum pension as the maximum allowed under the ITA¸ will not require amendments to its plan text. However¸ a plan which limits its benefits to $1¸722.22 (the previous limit)¸ will need to be amended only if the employer´s objective is to offer from the registered pension plan the maximum benefit allowed under the ITA. If the plan text is not amended¸ there will be no financial impact for the plan. However¸ if the plan text is amended¸ the changes will have an immediate impact on the funding of the plan. The impact of these changes is outlined in detail below.

Unless stated otherwise¸ the following only affects DB plans that will be amended to modify the definition of the maximum pension or those that already define the maximum pension as the maximum allowed under the ITA.

Increase in Liabilities and Current Service Cost 

The increase in benefits will increase going concern liabilities as well as the current service cost of the plan. The effect will be more significant on final average earnings plans due to salary projections. The impact on the solvency liabilities will be less than on the going concern liabilities and will be revealed gradually with the increase in the annual limit. The impact on the plan cost will only be reflected at the next actuarial valuation of the plan.

For a plan that requires an amendment to provide for the maximum pension under the ITA¸ there will be¸ as a minimum¸ a partial actuarial valuation required. Such partial valuation may reveal a solvency deficiency resulting from the drop in the financial markets during the last two years¸ leading to a contribution increase. Consequently¸ the impact is much more significant for a company that has benefited from a contribution holiday before the amendment¸ since it will possibly have to start contributing the current service cost and possibly the amortization payments of the deficits. 

Supplementary Employee Retirement Plan (SERP) 

If an unfunded SERP exists to provide benefits to all employees in excess of the ITA limit¸ the SERP liabilities will decrease proportionally with the increase in the registered plan liabilities. The total liabilities will remain fairly stable but the cash contributions will increase. On the other hand¸ as the funded portion of the total member´s benefits increases¸ the member will have a better protection of his benefits¸ especially on termination of employment. However¸ benefits will now be locked-in.

For a SERP funded through a Retirement Compensation Arrangement (RCA)¸ the liabilities and contributions under the RCA will decrease¸ resulting in a more tax efficient use of the company´s money. Moreover¸ the employer shall receive an additional refundable tax to reflect the reduction in RCA obligations.

Accounting 

The current service cost and the liabilities for accounting purposes will increase and result in an increase in the pension expense.

If there is a SERP in place to cover the benefits exceeding the ITA limit¸ the total pension expense for most employers will not be affected significantly. For an unfunded SERP¸ the total prepaid asset will increase in the future (or the accrued liability will decrease) due to the increase in employer contributions. However¸ if the SERP is funded¸ a limited effect is expected.

Plan Administration

The required contributions for higher paid members are usually determined based on the salary that provides the maximum pension. For such plans¸ an adjustment to the payroll system will be necessary to increase the contributions of the affected members. In some cases¸ a fix dollar limit is applied either to the salary or the required contributions. Such dollar limits may have to be reviewed according to the new ITA limits. Moreover¸ adjustments may be required to the Pension Adjustment (PA) calculations. Similar adjustments may apply for group RRSPs and DC plans.

Most administrative calculations will not be affected before 2004. Only plans which provide for future increases in the maximum pension upon termination of employment or death will need to be adjusted to reflect the new ITA limits.

Furthermore¸ declaration of Past Service Pension Adjustments (PSPAs) will not be required where the increase in the benefits relates only to increase in the ITA limit.

As you may have noticed¸ these changes to the ITA limits improve pension benefits from registered pension plans for higher paid members. The impact of these changes are more significant for an employer with several higher paid members eligible for contributions and benefits exceeding the ITA limits.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

Mesures budgétaires visant l'épargne-retraite

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 6 N. 1, février 2003

Le budget fédéral déposé le 18 février 2003 apporte des modifications au système de retraite canadien : une nouvelle option à la retraite dans les régimes à cotisation déterminée (CD) ainsi que l´augmentation des plafonds de cotisations REER¸ de cotisations à des régimes CD et de prestations des régimes à prestation déterminée (PD). Le tableau suivant illustre la différence entre les anciens et les nouveaux plafonds : 


 Anciennes règlesNouvelles règles
 

AnnéesPlafond REERPlafond CD(1)Plafond PDPlafond REERPlafond CD(1)Plafond PD

2003 13 500 $ 14 500 $ 1 722¸22 $ 14 500 $ 15 500 $ 1 722¸22 $
2004 14 500 $ 15 500 $ 1 722¸22 $ 15 500 $ 16 500 $ 1 833¸33 $
2005 15 500 $ indexé(2) indexé(2) 16 500 $ 18 000 $ 2 000¸00 $
2006
 
indexé(2) indexé(2) indexé(2) 18 000 $ indexé(2) indexé(2)

(1) Le plafond annuel pour les régimes de participation différée aux bénéfices (RPDB) est égal à 50 % du plafond CD.
(2) Indexation selon l´augmentation de l´indice du salaire industriel moyen.

Impact sur les REER collectifs et les régimes CD

Pour les REER collectifs et les régimes CD¸ l´augmentation des plafonds de cotisations peut résulter en une augmentation de la cotisation de l´employeur pour les participants hauts salariés. Cette augmentation de cotisations affectera également la charge de retraite de l´employeur. Des modifications au règlement du régime pourraient s´avérer nécessaires si les cotisations maximales prévues sont liées aux anciens plafonds de la Loi de l´impôt sur le revenu (LIR) et que l´employeur a l´intention d´offrir la possibilité de cotiser jusqu´à concurrence du maximum permis par la LIR.

Nouvelle option à la retraite pour les régimes CD

À la retraite¸ il ne sera plus requis de transférer hors régime le solde accumulé dans un régime CD. Ainsi¸ à compter de 2004¸ un participant à un régime CD pourra¸ lors de sa retraite¸ y laisser son solde accumulé et effectuer des retraits partiels de son compte. Cette option vient s´ajouter aux deux options auparavant disponibles à la retraite¸ soit l´achat d´une rente viagère auprès d´une institution financière autorisée et le transfert du solde accumulé à un fonds de revenu viager (FRV). Les règles assujetties aux retraits selon cette nouvelle option seront les mêmes que celles applicables au FRV. Ceci permettra donc aux retraités d´épargner sur les frais de placements. Il sera également possible de permettre à un ancien participant d´un régime CD de transférer le solde de son FRV dans le régime CD. Évidemment¸ les règlements de régime devront être modifiés pour inclure ces nouvelles dispositions.

Modification du règlement des régimes PD

Pour un régime prévoyant les augmentations futures de la rente maximale en définissant la rente maximale comme étant le maximum prévu par la LIR¸ aucune modification au règlement du régime ne sera nécessaire. Dans le cas où le régime limite les prestations explicitement à 1 722¸22 $¸ le règlement du régime devra être modifié seulement si l´intention de l´employeur est d´offrir une prestation du régime agréé au maximum permis par la LIR. Si le règlement n´est pas modifié¸ il n´y aura pas d´impact financier pour le régime. Par contre¸ si le règlement du régime est modifié¸ les changements auront un effet immédiat sur le financement du régime. Ces effets sont décrits ci-après.

À moins de mentions contraires¸ les impacts suivants n´affectent que les régimes PD qui seront modifiés pour ajuster la définition de la rente maximale ou qui définissent déjà la rente maximale comme étant le maximum prévu par la LIR.

Augmentation du passif et du coût du service courant des régimes

La hausse des prestations augmentera le passif de capitalisation ainsi que le coût du service courant du régime. Dû aux projections salariales¸ l´effet sera plus marqué pour les régimes de type salaire final. L´impact sur le passif de solvabilité sera moindre que sur le passif de capitalisation et se révèlera graduellement avec l´augmentation annuelle du plafond de la LIR. L´effet sur le coût du régime sera reflété uniquement lors de la prochaine évaluation actuarielle du régime.

Pour un régime qui doit être modifié pour permettre la rente maximale prévue par la LIR¸ il y aura au minimum une évaluation partielle requise pour évaluer l´impact de la modification. Cette évaluation pourrait mettre en lumière une insolvabilité du régime causée par la chute des marchés financiers des deux dernières années¸ entraînant ainsi une hausse des cotisations. L´effet est encore plus significatif pour un employeur qui bénéficiait d´un congé de cotisation avant la modification¸ car il devra possiblement recommencer à verser la totalité du coût du service courant en plus des paiements d´amortissement de déficits¸ le cas échéant.

Régime d´appoint

Si l´employeur offre un régime d´appoint non capitalisé à tous ses employés couvrant la portion des prestations qui excède le plafond de la LIR¸ le passif du régime d´appoint diminuera proportionnellement avec l´augmentation du passif du régime agréé. Le passif total des régimes demeurera sensiblement le même mais les cotisations versées augmenteront. D´un autre côté¸ comme la portion capitalisée des prestations totales du participant augmente¸ ce dernier bénéficiera d´une meilleure protection de ses prestations¸ et ce¸ particulièrement en cas de cessation d´emploi. Toutefois¸ ces prestations seront dorénavant immobilisées.

Pour les régimes d´appoint capitalisés sous une convention de retraite¸ le passif et les cotisations en vertu de cette convention diminueront¸ augmentant ainsi l´efficacité fiscale des sommes dévolues par l´employeur. L´employeur pourra également recevoir un remboursement de taxes supplémentaires pour refléter la baisse des obligations de cette convention de retraite.

Comptabilisation

Le passif et le coût du service courant aux fins de la comptabilisation du régime augmenteront et auront pour effet de hausser la charge de retraite.

S´il y a un régime d´appoint en place couvrant les prestations qui excèdent le plafond de la LIR¸ la charge de retraite totale pour la plupart des employeurs ne devrait pas être affectée de façon significative. Si le régime d´appoint est non capitalisé¸ l´actif total inscrit au bilan augmentera ultimement (ou le passif diminuera¸ le cas échéant) grâce à l´augmentation des cotisations de l´employeur. Toutefois¸ il ne variera que très peu si le régime d´appoint est capitalisé.

Administration des régimes

Habituellement¸ la cotisation requise des hauts salariés est déterminée selon le salaire qui leur procure la rente maximale. Pour de tels régimes de retraite¸ le système de paie devra être ajusté pour augmenter les cotisations des participants affectés. Dans certains régimes de retraite¸ une limite fixe est appliquée sur le salaire utilisé ou sur la cotisation requise. Avec les nouveaux plafonds de la LIR¸ cette limite fixe pourrait devoir être révisée. Des ajustements seront également requis au système de calcul des facteurs d´équivalence (FE). Des ajustements similaires seront nécessaires pour un REER collectif ou un régime CD.

La majorité des calculs administratifs ne seront pas affectés avant l´année 2004. Seulement certains régimes prévoyant l´augmentation future de la rente maximale en cas de cessation d´emploi et de décès devront être ajustés pour considérer les nouvelles dispositions fiscales.

Finalement¸ les hausses de prestations découlant du relèvement du plafond de la LIR n´entraîneront aucune déclaration de facteurs d´équivalence pour services passés (FESP).

Comme vous pouvez le constater¸ ces changements aux plafonds de la LIR permettent l´amélioration des prestations de retraite provenant des régimes agréés pour les hauts salariés. Les effets sont donc plus importants pour l´employeur comptant plusieurs employés hauts salariés qui sont éligibles à des cotisations ou prestations excédant les plafonds de la LIR.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6