Publications

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
Normandin Beaudry

Civil unions

LinkedIn

There, in black and white

NB Bulletin Vol. 5 N. 7, July 2002

Bill 84¸ tabled on April 25¸ 2002¸ by the Minister of Justice and Attorney General¸ Mr. Paul Bégin¸ was adopted without amendment on June 7¸ 2002. The Act instituting civil unions and establishing new rules of filiation became effective on June 24¸ 2002.

This law creates a new marital institution¸ civil union¸ which is available to couples regardless of their sexual orientation and has all of the effects of marriage. It allows spouses to enter into a civil union agreement¸ and is subject to the same rules as a matrimonial contract. The only distinction made by the law between married couples and those in a civil union is in regards to the minimum age required to enter in such a union as well as the dissolution process. Partners who wish to establish a civil union can do so as of 18 years of age¸ where spouses must be at least 16 years of age for marriage. As for the dissolution process¸ a common declaration of dissolution of the civil union can be executed by a notary¸ unlike the divorce procedure for married couples which requires a judicial intervention. To do so¸ the spouses must resolve all consequences of the dissolution and the interest of any common children must not be at stake.

Civil union spouses will therefore be given the same rights and obligations as those granted by marriage. The new law specifies adoption rules for same-sex parents and establishes new rules regarding filiation (kinship between a child and his father and mother).

The addition of a new civil status will affect the definitions of spouses in pension plan provisions and group insurance policies.

After the bill was adopted¸ the Supplemental Pension Plans Act was modified in order to reflect the concepts of a civil union and dissolution of a civil union. Partners united by such a union will therefore have the same rights and benefits as married couples in terms of death benefits and the sharing of assets in the event of a dissolved civil union.

In most cases¸ before this law was introduced¸ same-sex spouses were eligible for group policies after a period of cohabitation of at least one year. The addition of the civil union does not change the definition of a common law spouse¸ but it now gives to civil union spouses the opportunity of joining a group plan earlier.

Insurance companies plan to change their definition of spouse in future policies¸ but will not amend existing policies since the law takes precedence over policy clauses.

 

Please feel free to contact us for additional information.

514.285.1122
 
630, René-Lévesque Blvd. West, 30th floor
Montreal, Quebec, H3B 1S6

Publications

  • Agrandir le texte
  • Rapetisser le texte
  • Imprimer
Normandin Beaudry

L'union civile

LinkedIn

noir sur blanc

Communiqué NB Vol. 5, N. 7, juillet 2002

Le projet de loi 84 déposé le 25 avril 2002 par le ministre de la Justice et Procureur général¸ M. Paul Bégin¸ a été adopté sans modification le 7 juin dernier. Ainsi¸ la Loi instituant l´union civile et établissant de nouvelles règles de filiation est entrée en vigueur le 24 juin 2002.

Cette loi crée une nouvelle institution conjugale¸ l´union civile¸ ouverte aux couples sans égard à leur orientation sexuelle et ayant tous les effets du mariage. Elle permet aux conjoints d´établir entre eux¸ par contrat¸ un régime d´union civile soumis aux mêmes règles que celles des régimes et des contrats matrimoniaux. Les seules distinctions faites par la loi entre les couples mariés et ceux unis civilement portent sur l´âge requis pour s´unir et le processus de dissolution. Les conjoints désirant s´unir civilement peuvent le faire à compter de l´âge de 18 ans¸ comparativement au mariage où les conjoints doivent être âgés d´au moins 16 ans. En ce qui a trait au processus de dissolution¸ contrairement à la procédure de divorce pour les conjoints mariés qui nécessite une intervention judiciaire¸ une déclaration commune de dissolution de l´union civile peut être enregistrée par un notaire. Pour ce faire¸ les conjoints doivent régler toutes les conséquences de la dissolution et aucun enfant ne doit être en cause.

Les conjoints unis civilement se verront donc octroyer sensiblement les mêmes droits et les mêmes obligations que ceux accordés par le mariage. Ainsi¸ la nouvelle loi vient préciser les règles d´adoption en ce qui concerne les parents de même sexe et fixe de nouvelles règles en matière de filiation (lien de parenté unissant l´enfant à son père et à sa mère).

Le fait d´ajouter un état civil aura un effet sur les définitions de conjoints dans les règlements des régimes de retraite et les contrats d´assurance collective.

Suite à l´adoption du projet de loi¸ la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite a été modifiée afin d´intégrer les concepts d´union civile et de dissolution de l´union civile. Les conjoints unis jouiront donc des mêmes droits et avantages que les conjoints mariés en ce qui concerne les prestations de décès et le partage de la valeur des droits en cas de dissolution de l´union civile.

Avant cette loi¸ les conjoints de même sexe étaient admissibles au régime d´assurance collective après une cohabitation¸ dans la plupart des cas¸ d´au moins un an. Le fait d´ajouter l´union civile ne change en rien cette définition de conjoint de fait mais donne maintenant l´opportunité au conjoint uni civilement de pouvoir adhérer plus rapidement au régime d´assurance collective.

Les compagnies d´assurance prévoient changer leur définition de conjoint dans les nouveaux contrats mais ne feront pas d´avenant pour les contrats déjà en vigueur puisque la loi a préséance sur les clauses du contrat.

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, communiquez avec les conseillers de Normandin Beaudry.

514.285.1122
 
630, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 30e étage
Montréal (Québec) H3B 1S6